Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023
goliath
Oct 2 2023, 09:26 AM
Hi all... I am currently using Tenda MW6 but the speed that I am getting is around 350mbps (out of 500mbps) despite standing beside it.
If I use the Huawei HG8145X6 router (provided by TIME), I am able to get close to 450mbps but it drops to 150mbps when I am in my room while Tenda MW6's speed lingers around 300mbps or so.
Hence, I am wondering if Asus ZenWiFi XD5 (which suits my limited budget) is better replacement in this case.
kevchinyl
Oct 6 2023, 10:48 AM

Hi, anyone has any information about the new unifi mesh router D Link Router AX3000 (DIR X3000Z)? Not much info online and how does it compare to TP link M5? Thanks
1qaz1qaz
Oct 6 2023, 11:12 AM
hi guys.... i recent change/upgrade TM unifi package and they provided mesh router D-link DIR-X3060Z (D-Link DIR-X3000Z) 1 at room (main) 1 at living room (mesh)
i notice my phone wifi keep dc & reconnect? is this because the phone try to connect to main router and mesh router constantly? or what is the issues?
This post has been edited by 1qaz1qaz: Oct 6 2023, 11:12 AM
Khan92
Oct 7 2023, 02:35 AM
QUOTE(kevchinyl @ Oct 6 2023, 10:48 AM) Hi, anyone has any information about the new unifi mesh router D Link Router AX3000 (DIR X3000Z)? Not much info online and how does it compare to TP link M5? Thanks Hey I just upgrade to this router. Well i haven't use m5 but before upgrade I'm using deco m4, and tbh the speed and stability I'd say deco m4 way better
ITLearner
Oct 7 2023, 05:36 AM

ROG Rapture GT-BE98 ProBest WIFI 7 router in the world now?? This post has been edited by ITLearner: Oct 7 2023, 05:39 AM
kevchinyl
Oct 7 2023, 10:09 AM

QUOTE(Khan92 @ Oct 7 2023, 02:35 AM) Hey I just upgrade to this router. Well i haven't use m5 but before upgrade I'm using deco m4, and tbh the speed and stability I'd say deco m4 way better So the usual crap Unifi router. Only thing is the deco m4 and M5 won't support 500mbps. Ah well. Best alternative?
Khan92
Oct 7 2023, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(kevchinyl @ Oct 7 2023, 10:09 AM) So the usual crap Unifi router. Only thing is the deco m4 and M5 won't support 500mbps. Ah well. Best alternative? I've been eyeing for tp link ax53 and ax73, both been reviewed by @blacktubi
pluginbaby
Oct 9 2023, 12:23 AM
Guys, I'm on 500mbps unifi and my current D-Link x1860z keeps giving me headache as the mesh node keeps on getting no internet connection so I keep on needing to pair it weekly. Currently staying in a medium sized apartment with 2 bedroom.
Can suggest me a router/mesh/mix setup with the below requirements: - Main router should have 4ports or 3 minimum - Node mesh/second router has at least 2 ports (gigabit) - Wired backhaul is no go for me
I've been looking into Asus XT12 but that seems to be too overpowered as my connection is only 500mbps. XT8 meanwhile has only 3 LAN ports. Is it better that I go for two triband router or stick to mesh routers or mix? But I'm worried about mixing in terms of performance on the node as my workstation and master bedroom will be near to the node.
This post has been edited by pluginbaby: Oct 9 2023, 12:25 AM
Eternalgl0ry
Oct 9 2023, 12:59 AM
ASUS ROG Rapture GT6 or Zenwifi XT8 Better ?
TSblacktubi
Oct 9 2023, 10:25 PM
-
QUOTE(Eternalgl0ry @ Oct 9 2023, 12:59 AM) ASUS ROG Rapture GT6 or Zenwifi XT8 Better ? ROG Rapture GT6 On a mesh Wi-Fi system, capacity matters the most for the speed on mesh node
TSblacktubi
Oct 9 2023, 10:25 PM
-
QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Oct 9 2023, 12:23 AM) Guys, I'm on 500mbps unifi and my current D-Link x1860z keeps giving me headache as the mesh node keeps on getting no internet connection so I keep on needing to pair it weekly. Currently staying in a medium sized apartment with 2 bedroom. Can suggest me a router/mesh/mix setup with the below requirements: - Main router should have 4ports or 3 minimum - Node mesh/second router has at least 2 ports (gigabit) - Wired backhaul is no go for me I've been looking into Asus XT12 but that seems to be too overpowered as my connection is only 500mbps. XT8 meanwhile has only 3 LAN ports. Is it better that I go for two triband router or stick to mesh routers or mix? But I'm worried about mixing in terms of performance on the node as my workstation and master bedroom will be near to the node. The ZenWiFi XT8 would be great for you. It has the same amount of LAN ports as the ZenWiFi XT12 However, do bear in mind of the free upgrade from Unifi
Oltromen Ripot
Oct 9 2023, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Oct 9 2023, 12:23 AM) - Wired backhaul is no go for me Is it better that I go for two triband router or stick to mesh routers or mix? if you can't have wired backbone, then attempt to get tri-band. inter-node communication will drag down performance of overall mesh. with dual-band mesh, it will need to steal bandwidth that is otherwise could be dedicated to servicing clients. lets say if you have 100Mbps 5Ghz, you will be left with half of that as the other half is used to transmit back to root of the mesh.
pluginbaby
Oct 9 2023, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Oct 9 2023, 10:25 PM) The ZenWiFi XT8 would be great for you. It has the same amount of LAN ports as the ZenWiFi XT12 However, do bear in mind of the free upgrade from Unifi What about the offering from Tp-Link in your opinion. Is XT8 worth compared to Deco X95 + Unmanaged switch if I really need the ports I saw ROG Rapture GT6 support UNII-4 however can it be used in Malaysia for GT6 bought in Malaysia? Seems like handy additional freq for wireless backhaul but I'm worried it can't be utilized.here. Any downsides? This post has been edited by pluginbaby: Oct 9 2023, 11:37 PM
Khan92
Oct 10 2023, 12:46 AM
Giving with current 500 mbps and my Ax3000 being crap, I need a decent router that can transmit 500 mbps on mesh as well..
I'm down between Ax53 and Ax55. Since Ax73 cannot mesh with the same unit
In term of mesh compatibility which one was better?
ben3003
Oct 10 2023, 05:09 AM
QUOTE(Khan92 @ Oct 10 2023, 12:46 AM) Giving with current 500 mbps and my Ax3000 being crap, I need a decent router that can transmit 500 mbps on mesh as well.. I'm down between Ax53 and Ax55. Since Ax73 cannot mesh with the same unit In term of mesh compatibility which one was better? Ax4200 tuf. Btw, wanna ask as im current on ax4200, what is the cheapest way other than pulling ethernet cable to make my wifi5 device connected to wifi6? I changed my router from ax20 go ax4200, but the ax20 cannot be used as a wireless bridge.. dang.. Im planning to connect my xbox via lan to a wifi6 device, then the device can connect to my ax4200 via wifi6.. cos wifi5 latency really not good This post has been edited by ben3003: Oct 10 2023, 06:29 AM
enixcv123
Oct 10 2023, 08:13 AM
Hello All,
I am looking for some recommendations. My house is actually a three storey link house, and my main router is sitting at the third floor, the current setup is as below:-
1. Main Router - at third floor (TP-Link C80) it was quite cheap but it served me quite well for past few years without any issue, even managed to achieve 500mbps with the recent upgrade. (Only third floor, 2nd floor only managed to receive mostly up to 100mbps)
2. At the ground floor, I have an AP setup with Archer c7 by using the power line (since I didn't pull any Lan cable, so this was only the option that I had) , my powerline is TP-Link av600, so resulted my ground floor only managed to received about 50-60mbps, of course it's enuf for blackbox movies and CCTV, but still I am looking something more robust solution in term of bigger coverage like going to kitchen area and more mbps.
I was thinking a few options, no sure how effective would be.
1. Change the powerline to av1300 so that it support 1300mpbs then would able to help on the archer c7 as an AP. 2. Change both to mesh routers, but only with the wireless backhaul, not sure how it going to perform. 3. Pull a cable (this would be something very difficult.
Any comment guys.
This post has been edited by enixcv123: Oct 10 2023, 08:15 AM
BuKeYi
Oct 10 2023, 09:13 AM
Hi, would like to ask For 3 floor landed, which mesh is suitable? My internet speed is 300mbps only
Currently using Maxis wifi 6 router, 2nd floor still ok. 3rd floor quite weak. Any sifu got good recommendation?
deepan84
Oct 10 2023, 04:05 PM
Using TP-Link AX73 for 2 years.. but 5Ghz coverage on second floor quite low and end of house WIFI coverage almost non-existent.
Expensive to pull cable to upstairs.. and Deco X models quite pricey.
Bought the RE705X wifi extender just now for RM185. Gonna use it as OneMesh. Hope it solves the coverage issue.
yongtjunkit
Oct 11 2023, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Oct 9 2023, 10:25 PM) Hi just wondering, the AX92U speed 9ft with line of sight(unobstructed) to the router, is it normal for me to sometimes get 300-400 mbps on the 5ghz-2 band(wifi 6), tried my laptop(intel AX210), iPhone 12 both getting similliar results? Was able to achieve 500mbps over Ethernet, looking to improve my WiFi performance This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Oct 11 2023, 09:41 AM
TSblacktubi
Oct 11 2023, 11:30 AM
-
QUOTE(BuKeYi @ Oct 10 2023, 09:13 AM) Hi, would like to ask For 3 floor landed, which mesh is suitable? My internet speed is 300mbps only Currently using Maxis wifi 6 router, 2nd floor still ok. 3rd floor quite weak. Any sifu got good recommendation? Budget solution = get extender and put it at second floor Decent solution = replacing entire thing with at least AX3000 mesh Wi-Fi Good solution = replacing entire thing with Tri-Band mesh Wi-Fi QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Oct 11 2023, 09:32 AM) Hi just wondering, the AX92U speed 9ft with line of sight(unobstructed) to the router, is it normal for me to sometimes get 300-400 mbps on the 5ghz-2 band(wifi 6), tried my laptop(intel AX210), iPhone 12 both getting similliar results? Was able to achieve 500mbps over Ethernet, looking to improve my WiFi performance Use fast.com to run your speedtest and set at least 30 seconds test duration and see whether it can reach 500Mbps eventually. This post has been edited by blacktubi: Oct 11 2023, 11:35 AM