302 Pages « < 254 255 256 257 258 > » Bottom

Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

ijuanp03
post Aug 21 2023, 11:08 PM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ Aug 21 2023, 11:55 AM)
Umobile promise a minimum 100Mbps for 5G. IMO that good enough especially for RM68 a month. While Maxis is 300Mbps if I'm not mistaken. Not sure for CelcomDigi thou.
Yeah for now I'm enjoying the 500-600Mbps in my area. Big upgrade for me from Unifi 100Mbps  biggrin.gif
I'm using Digi Postpaid 150. In my area, the speed goes up to 350mbps but opposite my condo the speed is around 1gbps lol.

For Uhome 5G, I'm getting a constant speed of 700+mbps but it is SLOW during daytime (from 11AM to 5PM) - I can only get 120mbps. Sometimes it even goes down to 80mbps.
AweFace
post Aug 23 2023, 09:25 PM

276 posts

I've purchased Deco M9 but I can't connect from modem to Deco router, need connect from Unifi provided router to Deco like pic

Link: Pic

I tried to connect Deco to modem LAN1, PPPoE with my Unifi account, still get red light. Only the setup above can work. Any ideas why?
eclectice
post Aug 27 2023, 10:43 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(AweFace @ Aug 23 2023, 09:25 PM)
I've purchased Deco M9 but I can't connect from modem to Deco router, need connect from Unifi provided router to Deco like pic

Link: Pic

I tried to connect Deco to modem LAN1, PPPoE with my Unifi account, still get red light. Only the setup above can work. Any ideas why?
Please follow these instructions and let us know...

yongtjunkit
post Aug 29 2023, 07:23 AM

2,517 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Oct 15 2022, 11:42 AM)
Just want to leave this here, for those using Apple devices, consider getting a Broadcom based router.

Apple is using exclusively Broadcom Wi-Fi 6 SoC on all their products and they seem to perform better and more stable when paired with a Broadcom based router.
Just wondering does this still apply today? sweat.gif

Like for example with new asus router model such as tuf ax4200 and tuf ax6000?

What about RT model such as ax53U and also the ax57?

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Aug 29 2023, 10:23 AM
eclectice
post Aug 30 2023, 06:21 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Aug 29 2023, 07:23 AM)
Just wondering does this still apply today? sweat.gif

Like for example with new asus router model such as tuf ax4200 and tuf ax6000?

What about RT model such as ax53U and also the ax57?

Update:
Corrected the max wireless speeds and bands. (All are dual-band routers)

This post has been edited by eclectice: Aug 30 2023, 07:37 PM
ben3003
post Aug 30 2023, 07:20 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(eclectice @ Aug 30 2023, 06:21 PM)
blacktubi review of tuf ax4200 seems promising. Bought 1 to replace my ax30 lol. Hopefully can reduce wifi latency.
eclectice
post Aug 30 2023, 07:32 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Aug 30 2023, 07:20 PM)
blacktubi review of tuf ax4200 seems promising. Bought 1 to replace my ax30 lol. Hopefully can reduce wifi latency.
see my updated table in my previous post (due to mistakes I have made)

You might be surprised to learn that WiFi 6 SoC, the BCM6756 in the ASUS RT-AX57 (2022), may also support WiFi 6E. The BCM6756 SoC is the successor to the BCM6755 SoC used in the ZenWIFI AX XT8 (2020), which is only a WiFi 6 SoC.

https://www.broadcom.com/products/wireless/...ructure/bcm6756
https://www.broadcom.com/products/wireless/...ructure/bcm6755

This post has been edited by eclectice: Sep 2 2023, 12:50 PM
choohaoyin
post Aug 31 2023, 03:42 PM

Anyone have experience with both Huawei WA8021V5 and Huawei HG8145X6 provided by TIME?

Wondering how big is the different between these two as I'm using Huawei WA8021V5 other than Wifi5 vs Wifi6
BOTAK_WAI
post Aug 31 2023, 05:28 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,166 posts

for those who want to gain knowledge on wifi, here is a very comprehensive info website:

https://www.duckware.com/tech/wifi-in-the-us.html
TSblacktubi
post Sep 3 2023, 09:58 PM

-
8,421 posts

QUOTE(choohaoyin @ Aug 31 2023, 03:42 PM)
Anyone have experience with both Huawei WA8021V5 and Huawei HG8145X6 provided by TIME?

Wondering how big is the different between these two as I'm using Huawei WA8021V5 other than Wifi5 vs Wifi6
HG8145X6 slight improvement in speed but range is still kinda horrible

Buy your own router if you care about performance
TSblacktubi
post Sep 3 2023, 10:05 PM

-
8,421 posts

QUOTE(eclectice @ Aug 30 2023, 07:32 PM)
see my updated table in my previous post (due to mistakes I have made)

You might be surprised to learn that WiFi 6 SoC, the BCM6756 in the ASUS RT-AX57 (2022), may also support WiFi 6E. The BCM6756 SoC is the successor to the BCM6755 SoC used in the ZenWIFI AX XT8 (2020), which is only a WiFi 6 SoC.

https://www.broadcom.com/products/wireless/...ructure/bcm6756
https://www.broadcom.com/products/wireless/...ructure/bcm6755
The only difference of 6E and Wi-Fi 6 is just on the frequency

The technology is almost similar with no capacity improvement. In fact, the range of 6GHz is weaker than 5GHz.

However, when 6GHz band is used as mesh wireless backhaul, the performance is better than 5GHz due to reduced interference and the ability to operate reliably on 160MHz mode.

You can see that in my ASUS ZenWiFi XT12 and ET12 comparison.

5GHz 160MHz is kinda handicaped as half of it will step into DFS territory.
IceBikers
post Sep 9 2023, 03:11 PM

960 posts

Hi is deco M4 mesh still a good buy ? Any alternative for its price range?
TSblacktubi
post Sep 9 2023, 09:14 PM

-
8,421 posts

QUOTE(IceBikers @ Sep 9 2023, 03:11 PM)
Hi is deco M4 mesh still a good buy ? Any alternative for its price range?
TP-Link mastered the skill of making cheap mesh Wi-Fi that's not trash

Don't think you can get anyting better than Deco M4 at the price range
yongtjunkit
post Sep 11 2023, 09:25 PM

2,517 posts

Hi, does anyone knows what features(if enabled) would disable nat acceleration on asus TUF-AX4200?

BOTAK_WAI
post Sep 12 2023, 08:28 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,166 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Sep 11 2023, 09:25 PM)
Hi, does anyone knows what features(if enabled) would disable nat acceleration on asus TUF-AX4200?
normally enable QoS will disable hardware NAT acceleration.
yongtjunkit
post Sep 12 2023, 09:37 AM

2,517 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Sep 12 2023, 08:28 AM)
normally enable QoS will disable hardware NAT acceleration.
I see, this means that Adaptive QOS would disable NAT acceleration?
BOTAK_WAI
post Sep 12 2023, 10:57 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,166 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Sep 12 2023, 09:37 AM)
I see, this means that Adaptive QOS would disable NAT acceleration?
i am not sure if adaptive QoS will disable the nat acceleration or not but for sure QoS Bandwidth Limiter and NAT Acceleration are functions that cannot work at the same time. You can only choose for one function to work at a time.
Edify
post Sep 12 2023, 05:17 PM

17 posts

Hi Sifus, I am currently subscribed to Time fibre 500-mbps package and am using the originally installed sets:
Modem: Huawei HG8240H
Router: DLink DIR 850L
Aged: 5 1/2 years (approx.)

Please kindly advice what and how best to upgrade my hardware since they are aged above recommended usage. Thank you.
yongtjunkit
post Sep 13 2023, 03:45 PM

2,517 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Sep 12 2023, 10:57 AM)
i am not sure if adaptive QoS will disable the nat acceleration or not but for sure QoS Bandwidth Limiter and NAT Acceleration are functions that cannot work at the same time. You can only choose for one function to work at a time.
hmm.gif, just performed a factory reset and I’ve found out that enabling adaptive QOS and IPSec VPN Sever would disable Nat Acceleration

Don’t recall this is an issue on older asus router with Broadcom chipset sweat.gif
IceBikers
post Sep 13 2023, 09:40 PM

960 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 9 2023, 09:14 PM)
TP-Link mastered the skill of making cheap mesh Wi-Fi that's not trash

Don't think you can get anyting better than Deco M4 at the price range
Thanks for the feedback.

302 Pages « < 254 255 256 257 258 > » Top

0.0516sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled