Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

ReginaJune
post Nov 18 2018, 08:35 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 18 2018, 08:22 PM)
Wow! So lucky!

First thing, will you be using the USB Port?
The D-Link one got label TM?
I suppose 4 antennas got more coverage

You may try and compare both.
Which one is suitable for you.
Your stock router is single band or dual band?
If single band only then it will be good upgrade to either one.

Currently already replaced the RG4332 and using the Archer C1200 now but noticed that at one time the Router WiFi rebooted itself, I guess maybe the uptime was too long and need to reboot ?

the USB port I attached to the desk fan as of now, but it is not an important thing and a non-factor to me.

Yes, the old RG4332 is a single band of 2.4 Ghz WiFi only, some more the WiFi was not so stable, sometimes WiFi connected but no internet access, sometimes not able connect to the WiFi at all, need to on/off the Router WiFi when this issue encountered and it occurred quite frequently too.

Maybe I will use ad test the Archer C1200 for a month then try for the DIR-842 too.

FusionXY
post Nov 18 2018, 10:19 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(ReginaJune @ Nov 18 2018, 08:35 PM)
Currently already replaced the RG4332 and using the Archer C1200 now but noticed that at one time the Router WiFi rebooted itself, I guess maybe the uptime was too long and need to reboot ?

the USB port I attached to the desk fan as of now, but it is not an important thing and a non-factor to me.

Yes, the old RG4332 is a single band of 2.4 Ghz WiFi only, some more the WiFi was not so stable, sometimes WiFi connected but no internet access, sometimes not able connect to the WiFi at all, need to on/off the Router WiFi when this issue encountered and it occurred quite frequently too.

Maybe I will use ad test the Archer C1200 for a month then try for the DIR-842 too.
Hmm... 100Mbps should be fine with C1200.
Well, I think this model have a lot of issues if more devices are connected.

Do try out the D-Link 842 later ya.

AVFAN
post Nov 19 2018, 01:06 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(ReginaJune @ Nov 18 2018, 08:35 PM)
guess u r new to this section.

that tplink is notorious for rebooting although it doesn't happen to all.

read the associated router threads, u find lots of comments.

that dlink is not too bad, i used it for a few days, no rebooting.
slaveone
post Nov 19 2018, 10:39 AM

1,229 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 19 2018, 01:06 AM)
guess u r new to this section.

that tplink is notorious for rebooting although it doesn't happen to all.

read the associated router threads, u find lots of comments.

that dlink is not too bad, i used it for a few days, no rebooting.
my issue with the router was not rebooting, but losing the 5Ghz wifi. this is after keeping it on more than a week. had to reboot it once every two weeks to get around this
AVFAN
post Nov 19 2018, 10:45 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Nov 19 2018, 10:39 AM)
my issue with the router was not rebooting, but losing the 5Ghz wifi. this is after keeping it on more than a week. had to reboot it once every two weeks to get around this
that, i hv also seen.

bottomline is... TM's stock routers are low level... very common to find them giving irritating problems like that.

which is why many will spend own money to buy own better router.

it is normal for a decent router to keep working good for days, weeks and months w/o need to reboot!
SilentVampire
post Nov 19 2018, 11:00 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Nov 19 2018, 10:39 AM)
Get a new router. That router is very notorious for problems. Once you get a new router, you won't have any problems.
slaveone
post Nov 19 2018, 11:03 AM

1,229 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 19 2018, 10:45 AM)
that, i hv also seen.

bottomline is... TM's stock routers are low level... very common to find them giving irritating problems like that.

which is why many will spend own money to buy own better router.

it is normal for a decent router to keep working good for days, weeks and months w/o need to reboot!
mine's from TIME, but yeah planning to upgrade the router but not so soon
ebee
post Nov 19 2018, 05:04 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 17 2018, 09:01 AM)
You can get the Archer C7 V5 which have Bridging function.
As C20 is limited to 100Mbps only.
Cannot guarantee will get the same speed near the router.

My suggestion is to put LAN Cable from your main router to your place that you want to expand. What's your C7 hardware version?

Let me know what are the speed results?
1. Near the router
2. Further away connect to C7
3. Further away connect to C20

Since your C7 is only AC1750, I recommend you to get AC1750 or below. What's your budget on getting new router?

I wanted to replace the default router provided by Time.

Anyway, managed to solve the issue. It's working, for now. Managed to get speed more than 400mbps. smile.gif
Kieff
post Nov 20 2018, 09:05 PM

80 posts

Need some urgent advises!
I'm using Tp-link TL-MR6400 WIFI MODEM ROUTER DIRECT SIM, with XOX prepaid data plan. I Move around the modem router in my house and found that the best strength of signal received is only 2 bar. This making the internet performs badly. Kindly advise what are the option that I can do to improve the received signal effectively! Many thanks!
taqu
post Nov 20 2018, 09:48 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(Kieff @ Nov 20 2018, 09:05 PM)
Need some urgent advises!
I'm using Tp-link TL-MR6400 WIFI MODEM ROUTER DIRECT SIM, with XOX prepaid data plan. I Move around the modem router in my house and found that the best strength of signal received is only 2 bar. This making the  internet performs badly. Kindly advise what are the option that I can do to improve the received signal effectively! Many thanks!
Use 4G booster. It may work but no guarantee.
Kieff
post Nov 20 2018, 10:13 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(taqu @ Nov 20 2018, 09:48 PM)
Use 4G booster. It may work but no guarantee.
Do I need to know the band of xox mobile to buy the 4G LTE booster??
taqu
post Nov 21 2018, 07:47 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(Kieff @ Nov 20 2018, 10:13 PM)
Do I need to know the band of xox mobile to buy the 4G LTE booster??
No. You can try asking xox support.
new2city
post Nov 21 2018, 08:03 AM

83 posts

Concerning, Mesh routers, is it possible to configure the IPTV port on the secondary mesh router instead of the primary (connected to modem)?

If this is possible, the mesh router would be perfect, for me.

TSblacktubi
post Nov 21 2018, 11:08 AM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(new2city @ Nov 21 2018, 08:03 AM)
Concerning, Mesh routers, is it possible to configure the IPTV port on the secondary mesh router instead of the primary (connected to modem)?

If this is possible,  the mesh router would be perfect, for me.
Not possible now.
kkm
post Nov 21 2018, 12:56 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 21 2018, 11:08 AM)
Not possible now.
I'm also eagerly awaiting such a firmware update...
kenny_nsc
post Nov 22 2018, 12:11 PM

Hi all sifu here,
Would like to ask anyone here purchase router from oversea use for Unifi?
Checked the same router selling in oversea is way cheaper than Malaysia much more.
Does it compatible with our Unifi?

This post has been edited by kenny_nsc: Nov 22 2018, 12:12 PM
raemon
post Nov 22 2018, 02:59 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(kenny_nsc @ Nov 22 2018, 12:11 PM)
Hi all sifu here,
Would like to ask anyone here purchase router from oversea use for Unifi?
Checked the same router selling in oversea is way cheaper than Malaysia much more.
Does it compatible with our Unifi?
You may want to be more specific with what router are you referring to.

kenny_nsc
post Nov 22 2018, 04:10 PM

QUOTE(raemon @ Nov 22 2018, 02:59 PM)
You may want to be more specific with what router are you referring to.
The model is ASUS RT-AC86U and other ASUS as well from AliExpress also way cheaper than Malaysia. hmm.gif
firdausbhari
post Nov 22 2018, 04:29 PM

2,281 posts

QUOTE(kenny_nsc @ Nov 22 2018, 04:10 PM)
The model is ASUS RT-AC86U and other ASUS as well from AliExpress also way cheaper than Malaysia.  hmm.gif
Yeah. Most people now buy router online. Half price compared to local.
kenny_nsc
post Nov 22 2018, 05:06 PM

QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Nov 22 2018, 04:29 PM)
Yeah. Most people now buy router online. Half price compared to local.
Compatible with Malaysia ISP?
Or need to do something like flush firmware and install Malaysia version?
Mind to share your experience?
The price really tempting.... drool.gif

301 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:22 AM