TSblacktubi
post Nov 14 2018, 11:35 AM

-
8,392 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Nov 14 2018, 12:26 AM)
Guys, I just got myself a T9UH adapter. Just wondering should I disable my laptop built in wifi adapter after installing the T9UH? Or just leave it on?
Turn it off when you are using the T9UH to prevent conflict.

Windows may use the wrong adapter sometime.
cskean
post Nov 14 2018, 06:30 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 14 2018, 11:35 AM)
Turn it off when you are using the T9UH to prevent conflict.

Windows may use the wrong adapter sometime.
Roger that~

Thanks for the suggestion~

PROVIDA2U
post Nov 15 2018, 06:08 PM

I am holding two maxis fibre account, and one of the account is not using now.

can i connect two WAN (both maxis) into single BTU unit?

Firmware lock or just not possible to make it work?
SilentVampire
post Nov 16 2018, 10:52 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(PROVIDA2U @ Nov 15 2018, 06:08 PM)

I am holding two maxis fibre account, and one of the account is not using now.

can i connect two WAN (both maxis) into single BTU unit?

Firmware lock or just not possible to make it work?
Not possible.
hanaxxaru
post Nov 16 2018, 05:46 PM

180 posts

Hi, im looking another router to be connected to my main router, archer c7.. should i buy the same model? Or other model that has good bridging function?
ebee
post Nov 16 2018, 06:41 PM

24 posts

Hi, I've recently purchased Amplifi HD to replace my default D-Link DIR-850L provided by time.

I'm having hard time setting up the Amplifi HD. It will auto-disconnect and says can't detect the internet.

I've tried a few ways, can't seem to get it work.

Need help.

This post has been edited by ebee: Nov 16 2018, 06:45 PM
SilentVampire
post Nov 16 2018, 09:58 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(hanaxxaru @ Nov 16 2018, 05:46 PM)
Hi, im looking another router to be connected to my main router, archer c7.. should i buy the same model? Or other model that has good bridging function?
Why do you want to buy another router to connect to your main router?
ebee
post Nov 17 2018, 01:33 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(ebee @ Nov 16 2018, 06:41 PM)
Hi, I've recently purchased Amplifi HD to replace my default D-Link DIR-850L provided by time.

I'm having hard time setting up the Amplifi HD. It will auto-disconnect and says can't detect the internet.

Need help.
Solved, thanks guys.
hanaxxaru
post Nov 17 2018, 06:57 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 16 2018, 09:58 PM)
Why do you want to buy another router to connect to your main router?
To expand the wireless range.. right now, im using c7 as main router and c20 as repeater (using bridging function).. wifi coverage is good but c20 has hardware limitation and cannot utilize unifi 500mbps..
FusionXY
post Nov 17 2018, 09:01 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(ebee @ Nov 16 2018, 06:41 PM)

Need help.
You can get the Archer C7 V5 which have Bridging function.
As C20 is limited to 100Mbps only.
Cannot guarantee will get the same speed near the router.

My suggestion is to put LAN Cable from your main router to your place that you want to expand. What's your C7 hardware version?

Let me know what are the speed results?
1. Near the router
2. Further away connect to C7
3. Further away connect to C20

Since your C7 is only AC1750, I recommend you to get AC1750 or below. What's your budget on getting new router?

SilentVampire
post Nov 17 2018, 09:55 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(hanaxxaru @ Nov 17 2018, 06:57 AM)
To expand the wireless range.. right now, im using c7 as main router and c20 as repeater (using bridging function).. wifi coverage is good but c20 has hardware limitation and cannot utilize unifi 500mbps..
I suggest getting the TP-Link C3150 v2 as your main router and your coverage problem will be solved, rather than using two separate routers.
AVFAN
post Nov 17 2018, 10:50 AM

24,448 posts

got a question here, hope sifus can help,TQ.

not so much of which router to give best wifi results but more of given a certain router(s), how much will change if ISP package is changed.

main router: asus rtac1300uhp
pc adaptor: asus ac55
repeater upstairs: asus rtn12hp_b1
isp: unifi 800mbps
no. of users/devices: max 4 at any one time.

my pc with wifi adaptor 5ghz at 50ft from router now is giving almost optimal results, not expecting much more:

repeater - at the worst possible spot, i am able to get a stable 30mbps or so with 2.4ghz which is OK for even Netflix.

i really do not need 800mbps, ethernet or wifi - not planning to spend big money on new equipment.

300 or 500mbps pack is good for me. i know these aint available yet... just thinking ahead.

now, if i change package to unifi 300 or 500, how much change will i likely get?

i.e. will i still be able to get 2xx on my same pc with 300mbps package?

will i still be able to get 2x-30 at the worst spot with repeater?

or all speeds will go down accordingly?

when i was using 100mbps, the pc can get full 100mbps wifi at same distance.

but the repeater could only give 1x-20 only.

appreciate any comments, thanks.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 17 2018, 10:55 AM
hanaxxaru
post Nov 17 2018, 05:14 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 17 2018, 09:01 AM)
You can get the Archer C7 V5 which have Bridging function.
As C20 is limited to 100Mbps only.
Cannot guarantee will get the same speed near the router.

My suggestion is to put LAN Cable from your main router to your place that you want to expand. What's your C7 hardware version?

Let me know what are the speed results?
1. Near the router
2. Further away connect to C7
3. Further away connect to C20

Since your C7 is only AC1750, I recommend you to get AC1750 or below. What's your budget on getting new router?

unifi notify me that i will get 500mbps in the future.. right now, the speed still 50mbps.. my c7 is v4 and LAN cable is not possible due to location problem.. so far, for 2.4ghz, both router can give 50++mbps even at the kitchen but for 5ghz, it will vary according to device range, cannot get full speed, needs to be really close or no obstacles.. my budget is around rm800 and below.. it will be nice if i can get only one router functioning, less hassle.. but it may give wifi coverage problem because my house is 2 storey bungalow..

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 17 2018, 09:55 AM)
I suggest getting the TP-Link C3150 v2 as your main router and your coverage problem will be solved, rather than using two separate routers.
c3150 can cover whole house? i noticed, the price is quite good for its tier..

This post has been edited by hanaxxaru: Nov 17 2018, 05:15 PM
FusionXY
post Nov 17 2018, 05:38 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(hanaxxaru @ Nov 17 2018, 05:14 PM)
unifi notify me that i will get 500mbps in the future.. right now, the speed still 50mbps.. my c7 is v4 and LAN cable is not possible due to location problem.. so far, for 2.4ghz, both router can give 50++mbps even at the kitchen but for 5ghz, it will vary according to device range, cannot get full speed, needs to be really close or no obstacles.. my budget is around rm800 and below.. it will be nice if i can get only one router functioning, less hassle.. but it may give wifi coverage problem because my house is 2 storey bungalow..
c3150 can cover whole house? i noticed, the price is quite good for its tier..
You may get the TP-Link C3150 as SilentVampire recommended. Using one router can save electricity. You may sell the C7 and C20 once you bought new router.
Get it when he replies you about the coverage to you.

muncheno
post Nov 17 2018, 05:58 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 17 2018, 10:50 AM)
got a question here, hope sifus can help,TQ.

not so much of which router to give best wifi results but more of given a certain router(s), how much will change if ISP package is changed.

main router: asus rtac1300uhp
pc adaptor: asus ac55
repeater upstairs: asus rtn12hp_b1
isp: unifi 800mbps
no. of users/devices: max 4 at any one time.
Surprise to see ur repeater perform badly.
I guessed it is distance problem and ur device connecting to repeater on 2.4ghz while also repeating at 2.4g.

If distance not that bad I would recommend you to get a 2nd hand xiaomi wi mini (price in garage around rm40) and Flash to padavan.
Then if you connect to main router with 2.4ghz (link speed 300mbps) u should get around 100-160mbps on you 5ghz with your mobile devices. Or repeating at 5ghz still can get devices on 5ghz around 1XX Mbps due hardware limitations.

If you download grade to 300 Mbps package, I believe above speed still achieve able.

My point is it is more on hardware limitation.

As for your example of 100mbps plan that give lower speed on repeater, I see it like friction, there always minimum toll on speed. Again I m guessing if your speed already way above the toll on speed, you should be back ur usual 3X Mbps via your repeater on 2.4ghz.

Edited: too many typo due auto correction.

This post has been edited by muncheno: Nov 17 2018, 07:00 PM
AVFAN
post Nov 17 2018, 06:34 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(muncheno @ Nov 17 2018, 05:58 PM)
Surprise to see ur repeat perform badly.
I guessed it distance problem and ur device connecting to repeater on 2.4ghz while also repeating at 2.4g.

If distance not that bad I would report you to get a 2nd hand xiaomi wi mini (price in garage around rm40) and Flash to padavan.
Then if you connect to main router with 2.4ghz (link speed 300mbps) u should get around 100-160mbps on you 5ghz with your mobile devices. Or repeating at 5ghz still can get devices on 5ghz around 1XX Mbps due hardware limitations.

If you download grade to 300 Mbps package, I believe above speed still achieve able.

My point is it is more on hardware limitation.

As for you example of 100mbps plan get lower speed on repeater, I see it like friction, there always minimum toll on speed. Again I m guessing if your speed already way above the toll on speed, you should be back ur usual 3X Mbps via your repeater on 2.4ghz.
thanks for response.

i am not sure if the repeater is doing that badly becos the 30mbps i get is at the worst possible position - longest distance (60ft) from one bottom corner to top far end corner, with many obstacles.

if it is just 5ft nearer in a better spot, i can get 50-60 with repeater 2.4ghz.

but not always possible to use better spots due to constraints from power supply points, fixtures, connections to other eqpt like home theater, etc.

for that area, all my devices are rather old, all on 2.4ghz only, so i will have to use that freq.

xiaomi wi min... i will check it up, may be useful.

thanks again.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 17 2018, 06:57 PM
ReginaJune
post Nov 18 2018, 07:51 PM

104 posts

@ dear all WiFi Router Sifu and expert,

Which one is a better Router WiFi between D-Link DIR 842 and TP-Link Archer C1200. I have a unit of both of these model and are deciding which one to use at my home Unifi 100 Mbps, stability is an important factor for me, such as able to last for a long uptime without the need of occasionally on/off the WiFi Router.

Both devices are around the same price, and both models are AC1200 lower-end budgeted Router WiFi and competing against each other directly.

According to blacktubi.com review, the D-Link DIR 842 wireless performance is tested actually faster than the TP-Link Archer C1200.
DIR-842 comes with 4 ext antenna while Archer C1200 comes with 3 ext antenna.
Archer C1200 has a more solid exterior material built than the DIR-842.

The DIR-842 comes with the MU-MIMO support while the Archer C1200 does not. However, DIR-842 lacks a USB port while the Archer C1200 comes with one USB port.

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by ReginaJune: Nov 18 2018, 07:57 PM
FusionXY
post Nov 18 2018, 08:02 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(ReginaJune @ Nov 18 2018, 07:51 PM)
@ dear all WiFi Router Sifu and expert,

Which one is a better Router WiFi between D-Link DIR 842 and TP-Link Archer C1200. I have a unit of both of these model and are deciding which one to use at my home Unifi 100 Mbps, stability is an important factor for me, such as able to last for a long uptime without the need of occasionally on/off the WiFi Router.

Both devices are around the same price, and both models are AC1200 lower-end budgeted Router WiFi and competing against each other directly.

According to blacktubi.com review, the D-Link DIR 842 wireless performance is tested actually faster than the TP-Link Archer C1200.
DIR-842 comes with 4 ext antenna while Archer C1200 comes with 3 ext antenna.
Archer C1200 has a more solid exterior material built than the DIR-842.

The DIR-842 comes with the MU-MIMO support while the Archer C1200 does not. However, DIR-842 lacks a USB port while the Archer C1200 comes with one USB port.

Thanks in advance.
Hi. You said you have a unit of both means you have it or don't have?

I would suggest you try Archer C6 which just launched.
What's your budget actually?

ReginaJune
post Nov 18 2018, 08:11 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 18 2018, 08:02 PM)
Hi. You said you have a unit of both means you have it or don't have?

I would suggest you try Archer C6 which just launched.
What's your budget actually?

Actually, I have a unit of both of the model. My brother applied an unifi line at his house and TM gave him the D-Link DIR-842 but my brother not using it so he passed to me, while another friend of mine applied for a TIME broadband Internet line at his house and TIME provided him a TP-Link Archer C1200, but he was not using it too, so now I got both unit of DIR-842 and Archer C1200 Router WiFi for free. biggrin.gif

Gonna replace the TM RG4223 resident gateway the square look Router WiFi that provided by TM which I am using it for almost 2 years by now.

I believe either one (the DIR-842 or the Archer C1200), although is the lower-end model, will both be a significant upgrade over my current RG4223 Router WiFi. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ReginaJune: Nov 18 2018, 08:13 PM
FusionXY
post Nov 18 2018, 08:22 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(ReginaJune @ Nov 18 2018, 08:11 PM)
Actually, I have a unit of both of the model. My brother applied an unifi line at his house and TM gave him the D-Link DIR-842 but my brother not using it so he passed to me, while another friend of mine applied for a TIME broadband Internet line at his house and TIME provided him a TP-Link Archer C1200, but he was not using it too, so now I got both unit of DIR-842 and Archer C1200 Router WiFi for free.  biggrin.gif

Gonna replace the TM RG4223 resident gateway the square look Router WiFi that provided by TM which I am using it for almost 2 years by now.

I believe either one (the DIR-842 or the Archer C1200), although is the lower-end model, will both be a significant upgrade over my current RG4223 Router WiFi.  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Wow! So lucky!

First thing, will you be using the USB Port?
The D-Link one got label TM?
I suppose 4 antennas got more coverage

You may try and compare both.
Which one is suitable for you.
Your stock router is single band or dual band?
If single band only then it will be good upgrade to either one.

301 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:33 PM