301 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

firdausbhari
post Nov 22 2018, 05:14 PM

2,281 posts

QUOTE(kenny_nsc @ Nov 22 2018, 05:06 PM)
Compatible with Malaysia ISP?
Or need to do something like flush firmware and install Malaysia version?
Mind to share your experience?
The price really tempting....  drool.gif
i u really wanna buy, u can refer this thread cheap router

This post has been edited by firdausbhari: Nov 22 2018, 05:14 PM
irangan
post Nov 25 2018, 02:48 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

Hi guys,

I want to ask about Tp Link Deco M9 Plus; a replacement for my DIR 850L and damaged home plug. I already read the review in blacktubi but I just want to confirm whether can I still connect a LAN cable from M9 to my PC. I need a stable line for my PC. And I am using Unifi 800mb line, recommended to use M9 or I should wait for something about MESH router from Asus.

frontierzone
post Nov 25 2018, 02:22 PM

735 posts

What model or brand of Wifi Extender, can allow a separate SSID than the mother router?

Also for the network created under the Wifi Extender, I wish to limit the bandwidth as well.

(By wifi extender, what I have on mind is device that takes in wifi signal from the router (main router) and then rebroadcast a separate Wifi network, but bandwidth will be leeched from the main router or modem.)

This post has been edited by frontierzone: Nov 25 2018, 02:24 PM
TSblacktubi
post Nov 25 2018, 05:46 PM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Nov 25 2018, 02:48 AM)
Hi guys,

I want to ask about Tp Link Deco M9 Plus; a replacement for my DIR 850L and damaged home plug. I already read the review in blacktubi but I just want to confirm whether can I still connect  a LAN cable from M9 to my PC. I need a stable line for my PC. And I am using Unifi 800mb line, recommended to use M9 or I should wait for something about MESH router from Asus.

Yes, you can connect it to your PC

Asus is pushing hard on their AiMesh system
MX510
post Nov 25 2018, 05:49 PM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

Anybody interested let me know

https://www.amplifi.com/gamers-edition/

Gamers edition is the latest edition

luminaryxi
post Nov 26 2018, 11:25 AM

584 posts

hi all, between asus, linksys and netgear, which brand is the best?

currently on 100mbps, using tplink c1200(from unifi) and dir850l as AP downstairs.

thought of replacing to a proper router, budget is not an issue.

Please advise sifu, thanks
luminaryxi
post Nov 26 2018, 11:25 AM

584 posts

-double post-

This post has been edited by luminaryxi: Nov 26 2018, 11:26 AM
SilentVampire
post Nov 27 2018, 02:32 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(luminaryxi @ Nov 26 2018, 11:25 AM)
hi all, between asus, linksys and netgear, which brand is the best?

currently on 100mbps, using tplink c1200(from unifi) and dir850l as AP downstairs.

thought of replacing to a proper router, budget is not an issue.

Please advise sifu, thanks
Go for Asus high end routers, or if you want to save some money, get the TP-Link C3150 v2 or the Tp-Link C2300.
taqu
post Nov 27 2018, 06:23 PM

864 posts

https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/tools/chart...z-profile-dn/35

Asus high-end routers pack alot of features.
irangan
post Nov 27 2018, 11:00 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 25 2018, 05:46 PM)
Yes, you can connect it to your PC

Asus is pushing hard on their AiMesh system
Thanks for the info. Will go for AC5300 + 86U Aimesh.
musteck
post Nov 30 2018, 10:49 PM

91 posts

Hi, not sure if it's correct place to ask, need help for Maxis Fiber setup.

I just bought a Tenda AC6 as standby unit while waiting my defected ASUS to return.
'
I follow the manual instructions, to key in correct user name, password, 'PPPOE connection', 'Maxis profile' just like I did when setting up the aforementioned ASUS router back then. However after the setup completed, the internet couldn't connect no matter how many times i reboot/reset. I'm very sure the user name & password is correct.

However when I reconnect the Maxis provided Technicolor router, it can connect without any problems.

Is that anything I did wrong during the setup? Or did I get a faulty unit?

Pls Help, thanks.
FusionXY
post Nov 30 2018, 11:33 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(musteck @ Nov 30 2018, 10:49 PM)
Hi, not sure if it's correct place to ask, need help for Maxis Fiber setup.

I just bought a Tenda AC6 as standby unit while waiting my defected ASUS to return.
'
I follow the manual instructions, to key in correct user name, password, 'PPPOE connection', 'Maxis profile' just like I did when setting up the aforementioned ASUS router back then. However after the setup completed, the internet couldn't connect no matter how many times i reboot/reset. I'm very sure the user name & password is correct.

However when I reconnect the Maxis provided Technicolor router, it can connect without any problems.

Is that anything I did wrong during the setup? Or did I get a faulty unit?

Pls Help, thanks.
Hi. Did you connect back from where the old router is connected?
Selected Maxis profile?
Is VLAN set?

musteck
post Dec 1 2018, 01:53 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 30 2018, 11:33 PM)
Hi. Did you connect back from where the old router is connected?
Selected Maxis profile?
Is VLAN set?

If select Maxis profile, there's no VLAN option to set as it does it automatically

If select Manual, WAN VLAN ID is 621, then LAN VLAN ID is 823 correct?

FusionXY
post Dec 1 2018, 02:16 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(musteck @ Dec 1 2018, 01:53 AM)
If select Maxis profile, there's no VLAN option to set as it does it automatically

If select Manual, WAN VLAN ID is 621, then LAN VLAN ID is 823 correct?

Yes. Try that.

Is your router connected to LAN 2 of the BTU?

musteck
post Dec 1 2018, 02:33 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Dec 1 2018, 02:16 AM)
Yes. Try that.

Is your router connected to LAN 2 of the BTU?

Just tried that, failed sad.gif

BTU was connected at LAN1, just now changed to LAN2, still same
FusionXY
post Dec 1 2018, 02:47 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(musteck @ Dec 1 2018, 02:33 AM)
Just tried that, failed  sad.gif

BTU was connected at LAN1, just now changed to LAN2, still same
Hmm...

You may PM me the settings you set.

raemon
post Dec 1 2018, 12:32 PM

112 posts

I finally managed to find time to change the stock TP-Link AC1200 to AC1750 (bought from OOKAS). Has some initial hiccups with the settings but all is good now. Just thought I shared a strange experience with the setup.

After I have entered all the necessary settings, especially for wifi, the 2.4GHz band was 'missing' although I enabled it. Only 5GHz was visible. I thought I messed up, but after I reboot, it was available. sweat.gif rclxub.gif thumbup.gif

Just sharing.

thumbup.gif

car8on3t
post Dec 1 2018, 11:12 PM

Hello,

Is Tenda AC10U suitable for 2 storey house? Current supplied tplink C1200 not stable enough. The signal seems strong, but quite slow at the upper floor. And, I greatly appreciate any recommendation for router around RM200-Rm250 budget.

Oh, I'm using the 300mbps turbo.

Appreciate your help. Thanks
TSblacktubi
post Dec 1 2018, 11:34 PM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(car8on3t @ Dec 1 2018, 11:12 PM)
Hello,

Is Tenda AC10U suitable for 2 storey house? Current supplied tplink C1200 not stable enough. The signal seems strong, but quite slow at the upper floor. And, I greatly appreciate any recommendation for router around RM200-Rm250 budget.

I recommend the TP-Link Archer C6. One of the best affordable routers I tested.

FusionXY
post Dec 1 2018, 11:36 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(car8on3t @ Dec 1 2018, 11:12 PM)
Hello,

What's your plan speed?

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 1 2018, 11:34 PM)
I recommend the TP-Link Archer C6. One of the best affordable routers I tested.
Hi, no disconnection at all?
How's the boot time? Is it very fast? Faster than C1200?

301 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:06 AM