Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

AVFAN
post Nov 17 2018, 10:50 AM

24,448 posts

got a question here, hope sifus can help,TQ.

not so much of which router to give best wifi results but more of given a certain router(s), how much will change if ISP package is changed.

main router: asus rtac1300uhp
pc adaptor: asus ac55
repeater upstairs: asus rtn12hp_b1
isp: unifi 800mbps
no. of users/devices: max 4 at any one time.

my pc with wifi adaptor 5ghz at 50ft from router now is giving almost optimal results, not expecting much more:

repeater - at the worst possible spot, i am able to get a stable 30mbps or so with 2.4ghz which is OK for even Netflix.

i really do not need 800mbps, ethernet or wifi - not planning to spend big money on new equipment.

300 or 500mbps pack is good for me. i know these aint available yet... just thinking ahead.

now, if i change package to unifi 300 or 500, how much change will i likely get?

i.e. will i still be able to get 2xx on my same pc with 300mbps package?

will i still be able to get 2x-30 at the worst spot with repeater?

or all speeds will go down accordingly?

when i was using 100mbps, the pc can get full 100mbps wifi at same distance.

but the repeater could only give 1x-20 only.

appreciate any comments, thanks.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 17 2018, 10:55 AM
AVFAN
post Nov 17 2018, 06:34 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(muncheno @ Nov 17 2018, 05:58 PM)
Surprise to see ur repeat perform badly.
I guessed it distance problem and ur device connecting to repeater on 2.4ghz while also repeating at 2.4g.

If distance not that bad I would report you to get a 2nd hand xiaomi wi mini (price in garage around rm40) and Flash to padavan.
Then if you connect to main router with 2.4ghz (link speed 300mbps) u should get around 100-160mbps on you 5ghz with your mobile devices. Or repeating at 5ghz still can get devices on 5ghz around 1XX Mbps due hardware limitations.

If you download grade to 300 Mbps package, I believe above speed still achieve able.

My point is it is more on hardware limitation.

As for you example of 100mbps plan get lower speed on repeater, I see it like friction, there always minimum toll on speed. Again I m guessing if your speed already way above the toll on speed, you should be back ur usual 3X Mbps via your repeater on 2.4ghz.
thanks for response.

i am not sure if the repeater is doing that badly becos the 30mbps i get is at the worst possible position - longest distance (60ft) from one bottom corner to top far end corner, with many obstacles.

if it is just 5ft nearer in a better spot, i can get 50-60 with repeater 2.4ghz.

but not always possible to use better spots due to constraints from power supply points, fixtures, connections to other eqpt like home theater, etc.

for that area, all my devices are rather old, all on 2.4ghz only, so i will have to use that freq.

xiaomi wi min... i will check it up, may be useful.

thanks again.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 17 2018, 06:57 PM
AVFAN
post Nov 19 2018, 01:06 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(ReginaJune @ Nov 18 2018, 08:35 PM)
Currently already replaced the RG4332 and using the Archer C1200 now but noticed that at one time the Router WiFi rebooted itself, I guess maybe the uptime was too long and need to reboot ?
guess u r new to this section.

that tplink is notorious for rebooting although it doesn't happen to all.

read the associated router threads, u find lots of comments.

that dlink is not too bad, i used it for a few days, no rebooting.
AVFAN
post Nov 19 2018, 10:45 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Nov 19 2018, 10:39 AM)
my issue with the router was not rebooting, but losing the 5Ghz wifi. this is after keeping it on more than a week. had to reboot it once every two weeks to get around this
that, i hv also seen.

bottomline is... TM's stock routers are low level... very common to find them giving irritating problems like that.

which is why many will spend own money to buy own better router.

it is normal for a decent router to keep working good for days, weeks and months w/o need to reboot!
AVFAN
post Dec 9 2018, 06:34 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Dec 9 2018, 05:13 PM)
Hi, I may suggest you to select the option 2.

Using repeater will reduce the Internet Speed over Wi-Fi.
You may get the AC5400X.

What results can he expect with 500mbps and this router at 85ft diagonal distance with 5ghxz, different devices... 2x2, 3x3, 4x4...?
AVFAN
post Dec 9 2018, 08:06 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Dec 9 2018, 07:23 PM)
Near the router can get 500Mbps on 2X2 devices via T9UH.
Further away will be less than 500Mbps.

To get accurate full speed is by using LAN Cable connection.
It is impossible to get full 500Mbps further away from from the router.
Wait for Wireless AX. There will be more improvements over Wireless AX Router.

err... the question was about 500mbps wifi 85ft using tplink AC5400X as u suggested.

not ethernet or next to router.

i am as interested as he is...

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 9 2018, 08:15 PM
AVFAN
post Dec 9 2018, 10:46 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Dec 9 2018, 09:14 PM)
Hmm... I don't get what do you mean.
I cannot understand much what was your question about.

he said:

currently using Unifi 500Mbps. need WiFi to cover a 50feet x 70feet, double storey area (with brick wall rooms). the router have to be place at one corner so the WiFi will have to cover until 85feet (diagonal)

u suggested he get a certain "beast" router, no repeater.

i asked what results he will get with that router.

becos wifi 85ft is difficult... will he get 20, 50, 100, 200 mbps with that router?

for 3x3 5ghz devices, 2x2 2.4ghz devices?

becos not everyone has the latest n best devices even if u have the best-best router.

i'm also looking for improvement...
AVFAN
post Dec 10 2018, 12:41 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Dec 9 2018, 11:55 PM)
Under 5GHz can get about 100Mbps or above if it is further away from the router.
for 500mbps, 100mbps can be obtained for 5ghz wifi 85ft diagonal assuming typical conditions?

50-60 ft, ok.

85 ft... seems too optimistic...?

also... been wondering.... if a device 85ft away is consuming 100mbps out of 500mbps, is the 400mbps "left" still fully available with ethernet?

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 10 2018, 01:07 AM
AVFAN
post Dec 10 2018, 02:38 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(ahaha @ Dec 10 2018, 11:02 AM)
Remeasured the distances, actual diagonal distance is closer to 70 feet; add 10 feet buffer so coverage needed is 80 feet.
Receiving devices are the typical Smart TVs, mobile phones, tablets, laptops and security devices.

Coverage is important since there are devices (laptops) which need reliable WiFi at 70 feet of coverage.
Speed is also preferred but i understand that a WiFi bandwidth of ~25Mbps is sufficient for 4k streaming and gaming?

1) if i use "beast" routers such as the AC5400X, what WiFi bandwidth can i reasonably expect at 70 feet, passing through 3 brick walls?
>25Mbps? which is equivalent to 3MBps... a speed i can work with

@AVFAN
also... been wondering.... if a device 85ft away is consuming 100mbps out of 500mbps, is the 400mbps "left" still fully available with ethernet?
Good question... assuming the limit is 500Mbps, then 400Mbps should be "left" available. But how to determine if 100Mbps is consumed by WiFi? If the device's speed test is say 25Mbps, is it consuming only 25Mbps or much more due to drop (signal loss) in bandwidth over the long distance.
yr scenario is a fairly common one, not very diff from mine.
2 storey superlinks, semi-ds.... router at bottom corner to opposite top corner max diagonal 70-80ft.
3 storey will be more difficult - for this, i can't see which single superman krypton router can cover it all! biggrin.gif

it is unreasonable to even plan to replace all devices to new with 5ghz as typically, there are a dozen or so, can't change so easily.
so, it is very normal to try to find a "good" router than can do both 2.4 and 5ghz well for different devices, old and new at diff locations.
no need 200, 300mbps for all of them; 50-100mbps at 50-60ft, 30-40mbps at 70-80ft will be very very good!
one will be sensible enough to optimize and cope with the various limitations at various locations in the house.

for 800mbps, i am getting 30mbps at 60ft with an average router (rtac1300uhp) for 2.4ghz devices, quite acceptable.
i would like to improve it to 50-100mbps or so for those distances.
i am just not sure if a "good" router can improve to that level for my current devices.
also, i may want to downgrade from 800 to 500 or 300mbps in the near future - gotta prepare for this scenario too.

AVFAN
post Dec 11 2018, 03:48 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(zeefri @ Dec 11 2018, 03:03 PM)
I'm still using stock router supplied by TM (TP-Link Archer C5 AC1200) and now turbo-ed to 300 Mbps. The router is located on the ground floor but unfortunately my main PC is on the 2nd. I can only get around 80-110 Mbps through 5 GHz using the TP-Link Archer T4U. Also, around 70-100 Mbps on my iPhone. On the ground floor, I can fully utilize the max speed (300 Mbps) with either 5 GHz or Ethernet LAN.

My question is, do I need to splurge some money to replace the router with something that would allow me to still get 300 mbps through WiFi on my 2nd floor or is it not possible or just plain waste of money?
i am of the view u r getting it quite good as it is.

spending big $ will to give small improvement... point of diminishing return.

AVFAN
post Dec 14 2018, 12:56 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(storky20 @ Dec 14 2018, 12:36 AM)
Hi all, just bought a second D-Link DIR-842 to cover for the top floor of the house.
Previously TM installed a DIR-842 when Turbo was implemented so I thought the setup is the same.

However, it seems that if I want to setup this second router, I need to setup using a Static IP connection instead of a PPPoE like the first router? Could anyone help give like a brief overview of what needs to be different for this second router?

Sorry if the question's a bit noob, not too familiar with networking setups.

Thanks guys.
how u mean "cover top floor"?

u mean as a repeater (wireless) or AP (access point, wired to main router)?

i think this DIR842 cannot serve as repeater or AP.

i asked in Dlink thread before, nobody bothered to answer.
AVFAN
post Dec 14 2018, 01:15 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(storky20 @ Dec 14 2018, 01:10 AM)
Should be as a repeater?
However, I do remember using a router using repeater mode and all it did was basically take in the primary router's wireless signal and transmit it over a wider range, albeit at a slower speed.

I've no idea on the proper definition of the word.
Just want it to connect to a telephone port and transmit.
Oh, that's something I haven't tried.
Thanks. Will let you guys know how it works.
if wireless, it's a repeater.

if wired to main router, it's AP.

do comment if u manage to do it, thanks.
AVFAN
post Dec 14 2018, 02:05 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(storky20 @ Dec 14 2018, 11:53 AM)
Googled around and tried different setups and nope, no connection.
Looks like I need something with a Wireless Bridge mode in order to connect my main router (that's hooked up to the ISP Modem) to any secondary router (which my 2.4Ghz old Asus has) that this DIR-842 is lacking,

Used this link from the DLink forums as reference.
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=66953.0

Ah, looks like I need another model. Any recommendations for a truly wireless router?

Thanks guys.
i had wanted to use that dir842 as repeater but i could not find the option to set as repeater.

that's why i think it hasn't got that feature.

repeater in general is not a good option as it loses too mcuh by the time it gets there wirelessly.

add other losses, u won't get much.

however for 2.4ghz devices, longer distances like 60-80ft, main->repeater->devices arranged to avoid major obstacles can come out better than straight main->devices.

i am using rtac1300uhp as main, rtn12hp as repeater... only becos of one spot at far corner heavily blocked by many walls and doors.

quite ok now... no plans to buy super router. biggrin.gif

dir842 in the drawer.
AVFAN
post Dec 14 2018, 03:57 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(storky20 @ Dec 14 2018, 02:21 PM)
Hahahah bro. I have the same rtn12 as a repeater in my current setup.
Reason I wanted the DIR842 is to possibly setup a repeater with 5GHz connection but I guess if not possible then I’ll just wait for a better solution.
What u use as main router?

Really, unless u need high wifi speeds at far away bad spots, average eqpt for most purposes are acceptable.

If one can get 30-50mbps for browsing, phones, android apps, smart tv... good enough.

Only when u do heavylifting stuff will u need 300, 500, 800 full... for that, use ethernet will be best.

Gotta balance usage and benefits vs additional $ spending...
AVFAN
post Dec 14 2018, 04:54 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(storky20 @ Dec 14 2018, 04:32 PM)
Using the TM supplied DIR-842 as the main router connected to the ISP modem and BTU.

Hmm true that. Thought sometimes the need for speed > rational thought.
Guess I'm going to sell this spare DIR-842 then.
i used that stock router for a few days.
quite OK but not as stable as my own asus.

if u find a buyer that wants TWO of them, count me in. laugh.gif
else, keep as spare...

AVFAN
post Dec 16 2018, 05:23 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(H8T3R5G0NN8H8T3 @ Dec 16 2018, 02:06 PM)
Hi, could someone please advice how we can setup two routers for Unifi (primary router for normal internet access, secondary router exclusive for VPN access)?

I tried setting up my routers. The primary router (Asus AC1300UHP) has access as expected, however the second router (Asus RT-N12HP) is not able to connect to internet (even before installing VPN on the router).

My setup is as below;
Modem ---> Wan port Primary Router ---> Lan port 1 (not Lan4 for IPTV) to WAN port Secondary Router.

What am I doing wrong? Thanks.

*Note: Connecting the secondary router to Modem directly does give internet access so I assume that the problem is connecting secondary router to primary router for internet access.
if using lan cable from primary to secondary, u r trying to set rtn12hp as AP or access point.

first, u need to access the rtn12hp, set to AP (access point) mode (yr previous setting is likely router mode) - u did that?

i hv never set it as AP but i believe it's the same steps as setting it as repeater which i did.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 16 2018, 05:26 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 21 2019, 11:20 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(Omega5777 @ Mar 21 2019, 11:14 AM)
Hi Guys,

Looking to buy a new router to cover new condo (around 1800sqft).
Currently looking at Asus RT-AC1300UHP with quad core processor.
The placement of the router would be on the TV console which is in front of the house and the bedroom location (especially master bedroom) is located at the end of the house.
Not sure if this is the best router to cover this.

Appreciate any suggestion or advice on the setup or different router.
condo dimensions? single floor or duplex?
what router u used so far?
what broadband speed?
how many and what devices u use? old, new, cheap, high end?
mostly on wifi?
AVFAN
post Mar 21 2019, 01:53 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(Omega5777 @ Mar 21 2019, 12:08 PM)
condo dimensions? single floor or duplex? Singe floor
what router u used so far? Currently using Tenda AC1200
what broadband speed? 100Mbps
how many and what devices u use? old, new, cheap, high end? Will be using on 2 TVs, few mobile devices and laptops. Looking for router than can cover the range, so price wise anything between RM400-Rm600.
mostly on wifi? Yes, mostly on WiFi
u did not state dimensions... i assume it is squarish, max diagonal 50ft.

single floor, high rise, max 50ft, 100mbps... asus rt1300uhp should be able to do what u want.

the only thing u shud check is how many devices u have that can work on 5ghz.

with 5ghz, u will get full 100mbps wifi or just below.

for laptops and pc's, u can buy ac adaptor to run on 5ghz.

however, if a device can only run on 2.4ghz, expect to get 20-50 only.

and 2.4ghz can be congested in highrise; u may need to play around to find the best channel.

this router is good for wifi up to 300mbps so u can upgrade speed in future.

beyond that, good for ethernet only, wifi will not improve; u need to buy costly router, those that look like spiders with 8 legs. biggrin.gif

i am using this router, which has better wifi than tplink ac1200 and dlink 842.

AVFAN
post Mar 21 2019, 03:12 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(Omega5777 @ Mar 21 2019, 02:41 PM)
Tried to find the dimension but didn't manage to get it, ya it is squarish  nod.gif
On my current router and devices, all can support 5ghz but only if its really close to the router, if in the room than connect to 2.4ghz.
Thanks for the info  thumbsup.gif

You are currently using the asus rt1300uhp?
Those spider looking routers are out of budget
using it for 15 months now, from 100mbps to now 800mbps, very satisfied.
compared to tplink 1200 and dlink842 which i have used before, rtac1300uhp is more stable and better wifi coverage.
but like i said, ethernet 800 is fine, wifi max 300.

i get good 5ghz at 50ft same floor, thru 1 staircase, 1 wall, furniture/cabinets.
that's why i think it will be ok for yr case.
surely there are better wifi routers but for 100mbps and yr layout, i think not worth it.

if u do buy the router, make sure u update to this latest firmware:
RT-AC1300UHP_3.0.0.4_380_8457-g43a391a.trx
u can visit asus thread too:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2651405/+10000#bottom

AVFAN
post Aug 11 2023, 07:19 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jul 31 2023, 06:13 PM)
House type:  Condo
Size of house: 900+ sqft
Features required: Stable full bar connection in whole house
Number of devices connected to WiFi: Many. Since I'm running a smart home
Internet Speed: Unifi 100mbps
Budget: less than RM500 if possible

Below is the layout of my house and the current router position. Router is stock Unifi Wifi 6 router
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 11 2023, 06:45 PM)
Hahah its in my consideration now but not an urgent upgrade

Any good ones to recommend for <RM500?
why not consider upgrading to 300/500mbps?

there's a good unifi SWU3.0 campaign now, everyone's raving about it.

with 300/500mbps, i dun think u need a repeater at all for condo 900sqft.

0.3660sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:40 PM