10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Guide: Bikers 101, The codes, and how to not die

Kaboku
post May 20 2019, 02:46 PM

I guess each of us have our own safe riding method. Might be safe for us but not for others. What I recommend for those new riders reading this is to take all the advice in and see what works for you and what not. Not every method is suitable for everyone.

All in all we just want to get home safely to our loved ones and live to ride again another day
basilisk
post May 20 2019, 03:31 PM

30 posts

yes agree.

but the rempits will say thts their 'safe riding' method as well..... lol... biggrin.gif
Kaboku
post May 20 2019, 05:40 PM

QUOTE(basilisk @ May 20 2019, 03:31 PM)
yes agree.

but the rempits will say thts their 'safe riding' method as well..... lol... biggrin.gif
true but if new riders wish to follow them then we have no control over them but these: bangwall.gif icon_question.gif doh.gif ranting.gif sweat.gif
ajaibman
post May 20 2019, 05:43 PM

233 posts

Bike does not have crumple zone unlike cars.. just saying...

https://www.roadandtrack.com/car-culture/a2...es-on-the-road/
TSTheOnly
post May 26 2019, 02:00 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(mypie @ May 19 2019, 11:49 PM)
If I were the first to arrive, I would rather be in the middle of the lane. Yes, it is a bad choice but car driver who can't see a stopping bike in front is a distracted driver and will hit you even if you on the left most side. By stopping in the middle, the car will hit your bike, not you. The mass and the chassis of the bike will absorb most of the impact energy and transfer to you as a secondary impact with much less energy. Yes you get thrown away from the car which is better than under the car.

By stopping at the left side, there is high probability for the car directly hit you especially you leg and flip you under the car. It is also the reason I ride in the middle of the lane when I ride slow. The idea is not to give enough space for the car behind or incoming to filter trough. Yea, the thing most hated by car driver is seeing bike filtering during jam but given a chance, car will do the same if rider is slow. This is dangerous and where hit and run case usually happen.

The other benefits of riding in the middle is if car do filtering beside you, you still have enough space to move aside to a proper tarmac, not to dirt or grass or longkang.

Lastly, if accident do happen, your bike being in the middle will block the car from running away.
1. stopping at the middle is very bad, target fixation for cars do happen also, if the whole traffic light you're the only thing stopped at the middle.... errr.. I would much rather take my chances and stop at the left side or right side with my leg resting on the divider. I don't take up a whole lane, i will try to stop at the most extreme left/right so cars can blow past me if they wish. Also, there is no such thing as crumple zone for bike, dude - bikes are made stiff, for performance and reliability for such a small "volume" of vehicle, if someone bang your bike no matter where, you can bet your ass all the kinetic energy will transfer to the rider.

2. holy shit, the bolded line, bro do you even drive? if you do - i think you don't drive enough. You are contradicting yourself, you know it's dangerous, you know car driver hates that the most and will easily trigger roadrage, and you know cars will filter your slow ass. NOW, since you already know all these.... you still ride at middle when SLOW. Dude, wtf? Cars WILL filter your slow ass even if you ride in the middle of the lane, you've just made the situation more dangerous by giving less space for car behind to filter you - they will squeeze, tailgate, and most probally cut straight in front of you because you treat the road like your father's. NOTE: you said you're riding slow, if ride slow takkan u still cannot react to cars in front masuk your lane? or u never ever want to touch the brakes izzit? if you're riding fast - then by all means take the middle of the road all you want la.

lastly, bike on the middle of the road shakehead.gif i'll take my chances and rather go down at the side as compared to right the the middle of the road, i would much rather the car run away than run over me and my bike, remember it's an accident already, shit's unpredictable, ppl might confuse brake/gas pedal, the car might not be able to stop in time, the 2 cars BEHIND might bang the one infront and run you over, the driver might panic and go "o fuk it i ain''t stopping, later rempit group come" and etc etc etc

well... everyone have their own perceived choice of what's "safe", im not attacking you or even trying to change your view - just to tell you i'm completely the opposite of what you shared. Everyone will feel most comfortable at their perceived safe riding, and naturally once you're comfortable - you should technically be safer.
mypie
post May 27 2019, 08:53 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ May 20 2019, 07:56 AM)
there is case where the driver is having seizure, n the car just plow tru everthing @ high speed.
Like I said in the bold part.
If I were the first to arrive, I would rather be in the middle of the lane. Yes, it is a bad choice but car driver who can't see a stopping bike in front is a distracted driver and will hit you even if you on the left most side. By stopping in the middle, the car will hit your bike, not you.
QUOTE(basilisk @ May 20 2019, 02:10 PM)
idiot driver tak sabar wana cut u.. n u riding in the middle..

he will purposely cut u so close n might even knock u off cos he is  'angry' at u blocking.
Idiot... yes, psychopath... no. No sane man will purposely hit you with a very least reason is the don't want to calar their car. Hopefully I don't encounter one.

QUOTE(TheOnly @ May 26 2019, 02:00 AM)
1. stopping at the middle is very bad, target fixation for cars do happen also, if the whole traffic light you're the only thing stopped at the middle.... errr.. I would much rather take my chances and stop at the left side or right side with my leg resting on the divider.

I don't take up a whole lane, i will try to stop at the most extreme left/right so cars can blow past me if they wish.
Riding bike is dangerous in nature. You don't take a chance and hope for the good. Instead you plan and control the future outcome. Wise man say 'a fail to plan is a plan to fail'. Wise man also say 'in order to predict the future... you create it'. Dont assume, other people wish might not inline with your wish. Explaination below...

QUOTE(basilisk @ May 20 2019, 02:10 PM)
he will purposely cut u so close n might even knock u off cos he is 'angry' at u blocking.
You are contradicting yourself, you know it's dangerous, you know car driver hates that the most and will easily trigger roadrage, and you know cars will filter your slow ass.
By purposely ride a the middle you control when the driver can overtake you. Both of you stated the same outcome. I bet anybody will do. People get angry and easly trigger.
Angry is a result of you controlling them. Nobody likes to be control by others. I can deal with angry driver because angry is intention behaviour and intension will only be execute in control manner. What I can't deal is careless driver missjudge the availabe space to filter and unintensionally hit you.

they will squeeze, tailgate, and most probally cut straight in front of you because you treat the road like your father's. NOTE: you said you're riding slow, if ride slow takkan u still cannot react to cars in front masuk your lane?
Now me and the driver behind being inline. Since you can predict the outcome, you can take necessary precaution. You have enough space on your left to play.

Also, there is no such thing as crumple zone for bike, dude - bikes are made stiff, for performance and reliability for such a small "volume" of vehicle, if someone bang your bike no matter where, you can bet your ass all the kinetic energy will transfer to the rider.
I'm not talking abuut crumple zone. I would rather someone bang my bile and get trown than bang on me and get splatted.

remember it's an accident already, shit's unpredictable, ppl might confuse brake/gas pedal, the car might not be able to stop in time, the 2 cars BEHIND might bang the one infront and run you over, the driver might panic and go "o fuk it i ain''t stopping, later rempit group come" and etc etc etc
Yes, accident do happen.

Lastly... aware of your surrounding at all time, I left out the basic thing like always looking at the side mirror and gradually slowing down at teh trafic light. Make your intension be known by others behind because control works both way.

Cyphereza
post May 27 2019, 08:58 AM

Jedi Catâ„¢
2,311 posts

Hmmm, my views differ from yours.

If I were the first to arrive, I would rather be in the middle of the lane. Yes, it is a bad choice but car driver who can't see a stopping bike in front is a distracted driver and will hit you even if you on the left most side. By stopping in the middle, the car will hit your bike, not you. The mass and the chassis of the bike will absorb most of the impact energy and transfer to you as a secondary impact with much less energy. Yes you get thrown away from the car which is better than under the car.
If I were the first to arrive at a red traffic light, I will stop to the left/right most. Never in the middle of an empty lane, which I think has the most risk of getting rear ended. No matter how or what side the car hit you, it will be painful.

It is also the reason I ride in the middle of the lane when I ride slow. The idea is not to give enough space for the car behind or incoming to filter trough. Yea, the thing most hated by car driver is seeing bike filtering during jam but given a chance, car will do the same if rider is slow. This is dangerous and where hit and run case usually happen.
When the road is not in a jam, I never ride slow. Usually I will be a bit faster than other vehicles. If there is a faster car behind me, see first what car, if it is a 400 HP car, I'll give way. If not, I'll pull away. tongue.gif

The other benefits of riding in the middle is if car do filtering beside you, you still have enough space to move aside to a proper tarmac, not to dirt or grass or longkang.
Dirt is softer than asphalt.

Lastly, if accident do happen, your bike being in the middle will block the car from running away.
Car will run away if they want to run away. Doesn't matter if they need to reverse or do 3-point turn or even drag your motorcycle if they want to get away.
mypie
post May 27 2019, 09:07 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ May 27 2019, 08:58 AM)
When the road is not in a jam, I never ride slow. Usually I will be a bit faster than other vehicles. If there is a faster car behind me, see first what car, if it is a 400 HP car, I'll give way. If not, I'll pull away. tongue.gif
Me too. But sometime you need to wait your slower colic to catch up. And whe I i ride slow, it mean a tad slower the average current traffic speed. Not till hogging la.
basilisk
post May 27 2019, 09:23 AM

30 posts

even tho u dont mean crumple zone, but ur statement

"The mass and the chassis of the bike will absorb most of the impact energy and transfer to you as a secondary impact with much less energy. Yes you get thrown away from the car which is better than under the car."

is explaining the crumple zone...

@ traffic light

possibility of driver not able to stop in time is high, yes driver is distracted, but not all distracted driver will be able to plow bikers from left to right and the middle..

a car is only how many feet wide? it is not bigfoot...

drivers distracted cant stop in time.. but they are able to drive a straight line..

so a bike parked to the most side will hv better chance of not getting hit.

trying to digest ur " control behind driver" emotion+ anger..

maybe will add more thoughts later...

This post has been edited by basilisk: May 27 2019, 09:30 AM
basilisk
post May 30 2019, 11:26 AM

30 posts

this is the latest local car dash cam vid.

which shows a vehicle following 2 kapchai. the kapchai seems to be riding kinda slow n blocks the vehicle behind.

then they move to the side and the vehicle overtakes them.
after a while one of the kapchai rider in a rage, over took and block the vehicle, n smash the windscreen with his helmet.

As we all know.. road users will do all sorts of thing when they are in a rage / angry..

so to say they wont wana ' scratch ' their car, purposely bumping a biker for revenge cos blocking is... naive?

we hv seen alphard driver reverse in purpose to hit the car behind it.

sg cyclist got bumped off the road by lorry driver...

druggie biker punched/slapped female driver caught on cam..

etc etc..

to say one can control other road users' anger.. is like...

better dont try...

This post has been edited by basilisk: May 31 2019, 11:36 AM
mypie
post May 31 2019, 12:36 AM

40 posts

It's ok bro. I'm merely saying how and why I did it that way. I'm not saying it's the right way. Don't do it if you not comfortable with it. Don't do it because someone say so. It is not everybody cups of tea.
basilisk
post May 31 2019, 12:10 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(mypie @ May 31 2019, 12:36 AM)
It's ok bro. I'm merely saying how and why I did it that way. I'm not saying it's the right way.  Don't do it if you not comfortable with it. Don't do it because someone say so. It is not everybody cups of tea.
yes i understand, we are here to provide thoughts for better road safety, it is up to the reader to decide which suits them.

Your thoughts of riding in the middle of the lane should be used depending on they type of road, which i will give some inputs later. biggrin.gif
ajaibman
post May 31 2019, 05:46 PM

233 posts

Everyone have their own opinion, we here to share...

For me personally.. will stand on left most lane at the edge of the road during empty traffic light situation..

Eventhoug back side of my bike is as wide as Kancil car, still it is a bike.. not a steel cage..

cmah89
post Jun 28 2019, 03:10 PM

157 posts

bwahaha... rode for 2 years seldom wear gear.
After tukar kunci, jatuh 2nd month end up 5 stitches on knee... ouchy and now really considering to either stop riding / wear proper gear.

Kaboku
post Jul 1 2019, 09:50 AM

QUOTE(cmah89 @ Jun 28 2019, 03:10 PM)
bwahaha... rode for 2 years seldom wear gear.
After tukar kunci, jatuh 2nd month end up 5 stitches on knee... ouchy and now really considering to either stop riding / wear proper gear.
Get some gears first when you are back to riding (provided you are not afraid to get on the bike). Once you stop riding you will always have this phobia of bikes and might turn to be one of those people who preaches that bikes are dangerous.
cmah89
post Jul 1 2019, 11:03 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(Kaboku @ Jul 1 2019, 09:50 AM)
Get some gears first when you are back to riding (provided you are not afraid to get on the bike). Once you stop riding you will always have this phobia of bikes and might turn to be one of those people who preaches that bikes are dangerous.
haha, agreed. Getting nagged by parents in a pain as well.
We'll see how it goes when I'm back.
Quazacolt
post Jul 3 2019, 08:22 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(cmah89 @ Jul 1 2019, 11:03 AM)
haha, agreed. Getting nagged by parents in a pain as well.
We'll see how it goes when I'm back.
It's the mindset bro smile.gif
cmah89
post Jul 8 2019, 10:27 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 3 2019, 08:22 AM)
It's the mindset bro smile.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
PedangGila
post Jul 9 2019, 08:01 PM

918 posts

A road rage is mysterious that you can get caught in one out of nothing but I think don't chance on anything bigger than you're ie car or even triple wheeled kapchai (this one facepalmed you anytime and very fast at it). Give way or get smashed.
mypie
post Jul 16 2019, 08:43 AM

40 posts

Clearly the bike is in the wrong lane but this is the case of careless driver misjudged the available space. Block the entire lane or move away. Send a clear message. Don't put yourself in 50/50 situations.

10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:00 AM