Guide: Bikers 101, The codes, and how to not die

TSTheOnly
post Sep 10 2018, 09:49 PM, updated 7y ago

87 posts

As i’m new to the biking world, im not sure on all the unwritten rules of the road, can any experienced rider share abit? Like how to tell if someone “bakar line”? How to know when its safe to cut other biker during a corner? Cannot cut at all?

Here’s a few from me:

1. At traffic light tu, janganlah block the only fking way to the wide spot of roads. Ie. Don’t fking stop directly beside 2 cars if in front/around got alot of space! You’re causing all biker to queue in 1 line beside car - dangerous.

2. Lanesplitting, seriously do not farking race across traffic while lanesplitting, anything above 30km/h speed difference with other traffic jem is TOO dangerous, FU to those tailgaters causing unnecessary stress coz you’ll never know when they will do something stupid.

3. Don’t tailgate car, dont stay directly behind cars!! No matter u using 999mm brembo brake also no use, cars will always outbrake you in day to day situation. Also, u will lose your life if you tailgate and crash, as compared to driving, u lose your insurance only if crash while tailgating.

4. Similar to above, as a biker, please lah don’t, DO NOT follow cars traffic speed, you are annoying as fuck to car drivers. I hate the most when I driving and got bikes always speed matching with me. Apalanciao, you either cut me and get the fuck off or move away to slow lane. You are not safe riding at 100km/h at fastlane eventho all cars are moving at 100km/h.

5. Stop jumping the red light. Just.. stop.

6. Do not roadrage VS cars, you will undeniably die if you met someone that is not a pondan. Ie. For me i will without a question bang the fk out of you until you fly if you actually triggered me unnecessarily. I’m a biker myself, but no mercy for orang bodoh.

TSTheOnly
post Sep 11 2018, 03:06 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(qqmeng @ Sep 10 2018, 10:05 PM)
What bike are you riding?
Not sure why this matters bro... but z900 <1year as my first motorcycle...

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Sep 10 2018, 10:08 PM)
Do you know you are suppose to stop behind the line?
Car or bike, stop behind the line at the traffic light.  Don't fcking stop in front at the wide spot.  That area sometimes is for padestrian to cross the road.

Sorry but I'm those who stop behind the line.
When riding a motorcycle, especially in Malaysia - you do not really follow everything by-the-book. I stop wherever it's safe, and the place i ride usually have no pedestrian crossing. I'm not riding in downtown London or NYC.

Stopping behind the line is OK, as long as you don't cause alllll other motorcyclists to stop in 1 straight line just because u blocked the entrence, you're just causing traffic jem, and unnecessary dangers to others.

Do you realise how dangerous is it to stop in-between 2 cars? When the lights turn green, and all cars are moving, it's even more dangerous for those poor motorcyclists.

Don't be that motor underneath, everyone curses the hell out of him:

XXXX <-- dangerous spot as opposing side cars are turning in the junction
OO <-- Your traffic light

EEEEEEEEEEEEEE <<--- Empty spot
------------------- <line
Cars Motor Cars [Road divider]
Cars Cars [Road divider]
TSTheOnly
post Sep 11 2018, 03:10 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 11 2018, 12:44 PM)
in msia, lane splitting during jam,, hardly hv space to move aside to give way to those tht wana ride faster than you.

and if you do..
most likely there will be a long line of motorbikes tht follow, then when u cont to ride.. there will be another line of bikes wana speed  pass u again... lol..

can say tht majority of riders r having ' emergency '..

some can say.. the more msian riders ride reckless d better, cos tht will create more accident, more drivers will be aware of bikers , cos they r famous, n more drivers will wana avoid having accident with motors..

so kinda benefits the more carefull bikers out there...lol..
Bolted line is quoted for the fking truth. This is one of the reasoning i gave to my family when i bought my bikes LOL, everyone in Malaysia who drives a car is very VERY aware of "stupid motorcyclist". They never expect motor to stop, and will usually give way to motorcyclists since there is too many reckless motorcyclist around.

But in no way we should encourage reckless riding... always ride at a pace where you can afford to brake in-time incase of anything.
TSTheOnly
post Sep 18 2018, 11:24 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Sep 13 2018, 02:00 PM)
This one I disagree. Kapcai riders may think the gap is wide, but if you're riding a >600cc bike it may not be.

Besides, what's wrong with queuing up once in a while? Naik kapcai ada hak istimewa kah? This mentality is the root of most problems with bikers.

This too I disagree. There is NOTHING wrong riding a bike without wringing the throttle to the max. Tailgating is annoying, sure, but surely you can't fault someone who follows the traffic flow like a decent person should.

That said, bikers who can't overtake should let others pass instead of holding up the traffic on the right lane. But that's basic traffic rule which applies to all vehicles.
If I have one unwritten rule to contribute, it would be this:

DO NOT RIDE A MOTORCYCLE WITH A FEELING OF SELF-ENTITLEMENT.

In the traffic jungle, bikes are the insects at the bottom of the traffic collision food chain. If you hit others, you die. If others hit you, you also die. So just ride as if you truly acknowledge that fact.
For your first point, refer back to my 1st page post with some visual. Your sentences is all over the place so i'm not sure what exactly you're trying to contribute here.
If a >600cc bike "thinks" that the spot is NOT wide enough for himself, at least DON'T block it for everyone else la. I myself ride a z900 for first bike and have no experience riding any smaller bikes, but i am well aware that i am not the king of the road, unlike you who look down on kapchai and don't want to give way to kapchai saying stupid shit like "Naik kapcai ada hak istimewa kah?"

For your second point, that's a good summary of what i just wrote, so agree that DO NOT RIDE A MOTORCYCLE WITH A FEELING OF SELF-ENTITLEMENT, and you riding and eating up 1 lane and keeps on following a car at their blindspot or making it hard for them to switch lane because you're speedmatching, then when car want to switchlane - you go cut and horn horn thinking you own the road. Also, it's quite annoying that my car has a blindspot monitor which lights up my sidemirror and gives intermittent beeps forever as the bikes just fking sticks around forever.

In summary, riding a motorcycle as if you're driving a car is a stupid idea in Malaysia at least. That's what i learned from multiple close call during my first 9 months on the road on a motorcycle. However on my 20+ years of car driving experience, is only very rarely i see bikes do that - so now i'm guessing they are just new riders, hence this post is to educate newer rider. Care to contribute instead of ego-boosting yourself? Ya most probly your comeback will be like "wah gua boss riding 99years what u 9months old noob know la - judging by the way your responses are rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(leon898 @ Sep 14 2018, 09:27 AM)
if you actually consider banging the so-called 'orang bodoh' then u are actually no different than him/her. LOL.
Yeap, it is what it is, sad right - even with me riding a motorcycle, i still give no mercy to motorcyclist trying to act like a gangster when i'm driving a car. Without a doubt, you'll get sideswiped if you met the wrong person. So don't risk road-raging, i myself won't roadrage when on a bike.
TSTheOnly
post Sep 19 2018, 11:04 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(mypie @ Sep 19 2018, 11:03 AM)
Wow.. so much anger, are you Romano Fenati in disguise. shocking.gif

Oh.. your Z900 literary small to my bike, and this might be why we have a difference riding approach. Just enjoy your ride.
Ok let’s not turn this thread which already contain numerous useful advice and viewpoint from more experienced riders into a /k style topic.

I can imagine everyone will have their own viewpoint and it’s good to share with new and old riders alike, same as how im sharing my view as a car driver for 2 decades + as a brand new rider.

Keep the useful advice or unwritten rules on the roads as a motorbikers coming in guys.
TSTheOnly
post Sep 22 2018, 05:37 PM

87 posts

indeed very very important point about safety gear;

For all commuters, it is very important to at the very bare minimum wear these :

Knee pads, a cheap made-in-china one is way more protective then your jeans alone, these type very easy to wear & take off, also can put in saddlebag/backpack when you reach your destination.
[attachmentid=10034878]

Even more important is; a glove!! I personally never rode a bike without a glove, sometimes forget - but still U-turn go home take glove. As falling off a bike already sucks majorly, try to minimize the damage... and those better designed gloves will have a palm slider (IMPORTANT), so you don't bust your collarbone while bracing an impact with your hand.
[attachmentid=10034879]
TSTheOnly
post May 26 2019, 02:00 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(mypie @ May 19 2019, 11:49 PM)
If I were the first to arrive, I would rather be in the middle of the lane. Yes, it is a bad choice but car driver who can't see a stopping bike in front is a distracted driver and will hit you even if you on the left most side. By stopping in the middle, the car will hit your bike, not you. The mass and the chassis of the bike will absorb most of the impact energy and transfer to you as a secondary impact with much less energy. Yes you get thrown away from the car which is better than under the car.

By stopping at the left side, there is high probability for the car directly hit you especially you leg and flip you under the car. It is also the reason I ride in the middle of the lane when I ride slow. The idea is not to give enough space for the car behind or incoming to filter trough. Yea, the thing most hated by car driver is seeing bike filtering during jam but given a chance, car will do the same if rider is slow. This is dangerous and where hit and run case usually happen.

The other benefits of riding in the middle is if car do filtering beside you, you still have enough space to move aside to a proper tarmac, not to dirt or grass or longkang.

Lastly, if accident do happen, your bike being in the middle will block the car from running away.
1. stopping at the middle is very bad, target fixation for cars do happen also, if the whole traffic light you're the only thing stopped at the middle.... errr.. I would much rather take my chances and stop at the left side or right side with my leg resting on the divider. I don't take up a whole lane, i will try to stop at the most extreme left/right so cars can blow past me if they wish. Also, there is no such thing as crumple zone for bike, dude - bikes are made stiff, for performance and reliability for such a small "volume" of vehicle, if someone bang your bike no matter where, you can bet your ass all the kinetic energy will transfer to the rider.

2. holy shit, the bolded line, bro do you even drive? if you do - i think you don't drive enough. You are contradicting yourself, you know it's dangerous, you know car driver hates that the most and will easily trigger roadrage, and you know cars will filter your slow ass. NOW, since you already know all these.... you still ride at middle when SLOW. Dude, wtf? Cars WILL filter your slow ass even if you ride in the middle of the lane, you've just made the situation more dangerous by giving less space for car behind to filter you - they will squeeze, tailgate, and most probally cut straight in front of you because you treat the road like your father's. NOTE: you said you're riding slow, if ride slow takkan u still cannot react to cars in front masuk your lane? or u never ever want to touch the brakes izzit? if you're riding fast - then by all means take the middle of the road all you want la.

lastly, bike on the middle of the road shakehead.gif i'll take my chances and rather go down at the side as compared to right the the middle of the road, i would much rather the car run away than run over me and my bike, remember it's an accident already, shit's unpredictable, ppl might confuse brake/gas pedal, the car might not be able to stop in time, the 2 cars BEHIND might bang the one infront and run you over, the driver might panic and go "o fuk it i ain''t stopping, later rempit group come" and etc etc etc

well... everyone have their own perceived choice of what's "safe", im not attacking you or even trying to change your view - just to tell you i'm completely the opposite of what you shared. Everyone will feel most comfortable at their perceived safe riding, and naturally once you're comfortable - you should technically be safer.

0.0145sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:57 AM