154 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Bracesians' Place, Bracesians' Support Group

sE_vIxEn
post Apr 30 2008, 02:14 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

sE_vIxEn's Guide to Orthodontic (Teeth Bracing) Treatment : All You Need to Know

Hi guys! I'm here to share my bracing experience with you all, and write in down in permanent form before all memories of my bracing experience is lost. I did my bracing at year 2006 and finished it at 2007. Took me 1 and a 1/2 years for the whole duration of the treatment. The doctor used the Damon Bracing System on me and that is what I'll talk about mainly. This guide is purely written based on personal experience so there might be room for error. Therefore, always check with your doctor and leave my guide as a secondary opinion. Now, let's proceed!

The Beginning

This is it. The day you decide whether to have your teeth done or not. This is the point where you need to give up your good food, sacrifice your dad's money and your precious time to fight for that winning smile that you've always wanted. Ever got laughed at because of your rabbit teeth? I did. Actually I wasn't really bothered (at the point where I had my braces, I was 15 - 16 so I couldn't be bothered about my looks) but my parents did. They say it was so bad, my lips look pursed all the time. -__-

Okay, first of all, you need to engage a doctor. For me, I engaged David Orthodontics to do it for me because I got influenced by my brother's girlfriend. Actually my brother had already done bracing eons ago but I was too young to understand my parent's good intention.

Now one thing to note about choosing a doctor: It's very, very, very important. Before bracing, I've seen friends who went for government hospitals to 'take a number' and line up for their turn and end up getting their teeth f***ed up. Sure, the gov hospital saved them from rabbit tooth-dom, but the teeth are still crooked. Why waste your time and go through that pain and end up with null results? It's simply not worth it. Of course, if you have budget limitations, then that's understandable.

When your doctor checks your teeth, bombard him with questions! Ask him everything you want to know. You're the rice bowl for the doc and you have a right to leech the best services out of him. Get to know your teeth condition, how the whole procedure will go so you don't open your mouth and wait for surprise buttshecks to happen.

I have a bracing buddy / classmate who just goes and opens his mouth for the doctor to do anything he wants without knowing his condition. How can? And I especially hate people like these because end up you kena bombarded with questions that are supposed to be directed to a doctor, not someone who has experience. Basically, everyone's treatment is customized to suit your own needs so one will never know what you're going through.

Settling Down with your Choice

So you've had a consultation with your doctor, he should be preparing what you need and what is suitable. In my guide, I'll mainly talk about the Damon Bracing System, which is the one that I opted for (and the main choice of most patients). For your information, here are the available options. Again, this is strictly to my own knowledge, I'm not a pro, merely a girl sharing her experience.

read the full entry here.

This post has been edited by sE_vIxEn: Apr 30 2008, 04:26 PM
reamer
post Apr 30 2008, 04:20 PM

28 posts

I wore braces before because I had 'tiger' teeth or also called 'vampire teeth'.
Now all done after two and half years.
At first it is so uncomfortable cant even eat porridge.
However it just for roughly a week then I used to it already.
The most annoying issues is I couldn't eat burger cuz the meat will stick at braces.
And it is so embarrassed. (vegetable also)

Although quite suffer but it worth thumbup.gif
Now my teeth looks nice and kissable.
I become more confident then before.
Last time I so afraid to smile widely.

Hehe this is me wub.gif

kentcp
post Apr 30 2008, 10:59 PM

37 posts

[quote=sE_vIxEn,Apr 30 2008, 02:14 PM]

sE_vIxEn, many thanks for your post. You did a great job to sharing with us. Thanks.

Our damon system is look a bit defferent ya ? May be version different..

Added on April 30, 2008, 11:08 pm[quote=reamer,Apr 30 2008, 04:20 PM]
I wore braces before because I had 'tiger' teeth or also called 'vampire teeth'.
Now all done after two and half years.
At first it is so uncomfortable cant even eat porridge.
However it just for roughly a week then I used to it already.
The most annoying issues is I couldn't eat burger cuz the meat will stick at braces.
And it is so embarrassed. (vegetable also)

Although quite suffer but it worth thumbup.gif
Now my teeth looks nice and kissable.
I become more confident then before.
Last time I so afraid to smile widely.

Hehe this is me wub.gif

[/quote]

Reamer,

wow.. really nice smile.. pretty big eye girls smile.gif

Recently, we can see the result for our friend after braces are so nice and natural. Not like us, still on the process, the teeth even come out a gap suddently. Well, i dun care my look already la..(even i am old) After installed braces, somehow i had build some self confident, dare to smile, dun care ppl will see my braces. May be I know, after the braces i will have a nice teeth. Nothing to worry then..

This post has been edited by kentcp: Apr 30 2008, 11:08 PM
reamer
post May 1 2008, 04:40 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(kentcp @ Apr 30 2008, 10:59 PM)
Reamer,

wow.. really nice smile.. pretty big eye girls smile.gif 

Recently, we can see the result for our friend after braces are so nice and natural. Not like us, still on the process, the teeth even come out a gap suddently. Well, i dun care my look already la..(even i am old) After installed braces, somehow i had build some self confident, dare to smile, dun care ppl will see my braces. May be I know, after the braces i will have a nice teeth. Nothing to worry then..
thanx for ur compliment notworthy.gif
yea you are right thumbup.gif
a confident mind is important thru out the way...
i wish everything gonna be smooth for you and remember after braces taken out must wear the retainer in a require period, don ever feel lazy to wear it. This is because retainer helps to strengthen the teeth so it won have tendency to move.
TSgreen_apple
post May 3 2008, 08:24 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(sE_vIxEn @ Apr 28 2008, 02:39 PM)
i still think Oral-B is the best because Colgate is starting to get a bit too commercial, dunno whether their stuff is good.
for me, i choose to believe in my own doctor. he knows best i can say. smile.gif
won't scrape till so serious gua? when i am particularly heaty only i will get disturbed by it. or last time when my friend's hand gesture went smack! on my mouth and caused an ulcer. laugh.gif
dun reveal my secret k. tongue.gif

no prob, wish to dig my 'before' pics but i couldn't find any that didn't reveal my ugliness. tongue.gif
can eat one leh, don't so no semangat, it'll be over! just relax. btw, it's a once-in-a-lifetime experience, cherish it! i still have my spare parts with me ya know. tongue.gif

wah! they let you keep the spare parts?? so cool leh.... but I also dun have the steel thingy... maybe urs is Damon 2 system?? hmm.gif

Added on May 3, 2008, 8:37 pm
QUOTE(reamer @ May 1 2008, 04:40 AM)
thanx for ur compliment  notworthy.gif
yea you are right  thumbup.gif
a confident mind is important thru out the way...
i wish everything gonna be smooth for you and remember after braces taken out must wear the retainer in a require period, don ever feel lazy to wear it. This is because retainer helps to strengthen the teeth so it won have tendency to move.
totally agree.some of my colleague whom had done braces years ago, malas wanna wear the retainer, now the teeth slowly moves back to the old position.... unsure.gif

must not lazy wear retainer..!

Added on May 3, 2008, 8:40 pm
QUOTE(dianaklutz @ Apr 29 2008, 02:44 PM)
waaa... cant wait to take out my braces
the dentist said it will be soon..
i had braces almost 1 year already this may
last appointment i had to do the 'operation' to the gum around the front teeth
wahh.. so sakit lah..
the dentist also said "ok, kita potong gusi u sikit dekat depan ni guna pisau ye"
waaa.. saja to frightened me..
but after all.. not that bad la..
I also can't wait until that day comes! but I think I still got long way to go... nowadays got gap some more... blink.gif

This post has been edited by green_apple: May 3 2008, 08:40 PM
kanzakicyn
post May 7 2008, 05:02 PM

449 posts

just put on braces ^^
TSgreen_apple
post May 7 2008, 07:13 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ May 7 2008, 05:02 PM)
just put on braces ^^
hello!Welcome to this thread!

Can tell us what type of braces did you take??
ikanpari9
post May 8 2008, 12:06 AM

QUOTE(ysbabe @ Apr 30 2008, 02:07 AM)
Hi ikanpari9,

You mentioned that you have on the clear self-ligating type of braces, how much did you pay for it? Where did you get it done? How's the experience this far, both at with the doctor and the pain after getting it fixed on? Please advise as I am interested in this sort of braces too coz I am not "that" young anymore. So attention grabbing ones are out for me.  smile.gif
dear sorry for the late reply,
hmmm its quite costly, i've asked the doc for the braces brand, its equivalent to GAC Innovation and from the same manufacturer but named Tomy(for Japan market) and cost rm9500, normally you have to pay 40% after the bonding (excluding extraction, moulding, xray, scaling), and rm250 for the monthly treatment. Maybe its cheaper at other clinic, i'm not sure but mine done at DentalPro Bangsar but the ortho only available on Tuesday. Recommended for working adult thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif , just swipe your card like mine biggrin.gif

http://www.gacinovation.com/

Regards
kanzakicyn
post May 8 2008, 12:06 AM

449 posts

uh, normal one kua. How many types are there? i got vhampire teeth, my tiger teeth is on top of my other teeth, if u get what i mean.

i did it at pristine, but my teeth seems very painful, (1 month oni la i put) and it seems like its wobbly, like wanna fall off >_<

i wan to put the colro one tho XD next month my wire is red color! wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
kentcp
post May 8 2008, 12:01 PM

37 posts

Just some update on my braces..

Yesterday, went to replace even thicker wire and this time Dr put some yellow rubber on top of the string. According to him, this will close my teeth's gap. My progess is good, the 2 upper vampires teeth already move in after 4 months..now is the time to allign the teeth gap.

He asked me to schedule another to install the braces in lower teeth. I make it on next Tuesday.

He also suggest me to put 4 screw (2 upper, 2 lower) in my front ohmy.gif , so that can put in rubber to pull my teeth more effectively. This will help me to have better smile line. If just purely braces, it may take one year ++ for my situation, if installed screw, it will take around 6 months time only (somemore the time to put bite stoper will shorter thumbup.gif ) The screw is not free sad.gif I think i will put it, since can shorten the time. Although, will make me look ugly (i think)

so, will install braces on lower teeth, bite stoper and 4 screws on next Tuesday! sweat.gif Need lot of support from u guys ya icon_question.gif
Babypearl
post May 8 2008, 01:00 PM

QUOTE(kentcp @ May 8 2008, 12:01 PM)

Yesterday, went to replace even thicker wire and this time Dr put some yellow rubber on top of the string. According to him, this will close my teeth's gap. My progess is good, the 2 upper vampires teeth already move in after 4 months..now is the time to allign the teeth gap.

He asked me to schedule another to install the braces in lower teeth. I make it on next Tuesday.

He also suggest me to put 4 screw (2 upper, 2 lower) in my front ohmy.gif , so that can put in rubber to pull my teeth more effectively. This will help me to have better smile line. If just purely braces, it may take one year ++ for my situation, if installed screw, it will take around 6 months time only (somemore the time to put bite stoper will shorter thumbup.gif ) The screw is not free sad.gif I think i will put it, since can shorten the time. Although, will make me look ugly (i think)

so, will install braces on lower teeth, bite stoper and 4 screws on next Tuesday! sweat.gif Need lot of support from u guys ya  icon_question.gif
uiks...mine also have to put screw leh...but mine put up nia...he told me when i consulted him the first time...gonna meet dr how next week for the second appointment....so far so good for now.., not pain, bite stop is irritating as usual, cant eat awesome food as usual...looking forward to the next appointment....screw is definetly not free...if not mistaken is rm 350.00 PER SCREW....geez...i am so broke...
sazzzhi
post May 9 2008, 03:57 AM

143 posts

hi all, i just went to dr how few hours ago..i think 10pm..put the braces on my gigi bawah.now very pain oh..some more hor..i so gatal, go eat mi kari(right opposite dr how clinic's entry)..then hor,,one behind bracket come off.now d wire keep cucuk me,,make me dun dare eat anything sticky le..tomolo dr how not wrking, i guess, i'll go there to cut off d wire.then wait next tues lo..

Moral of d story: Dun eat food(especially hot) after put d braces..coz d glue need time to stick it strongly..

haha..just sharing
kentcp
post May 9 2008, 06:56 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(sazzzhi @ May 9 2008, 03:57 AM)
hi all, i just went to dr how few hours ago..i think 10pm..put the braces on my   gigi bawah.now very pain oh..some more hor..i so gatal, go eat mi kari(right opposite dr how clinic's entry)..then hor,,one behind bracket come off.now d wire keep cucuk me,,make me dun dare eat anything sticky le..tomolo dr how not wrking, i guess, i'll go there to cut off d wire.then wait next tues lo..

Moral of d story: Dun eat food(especially hot) after put d braces..coz d glue need time to stick it strongly..

haha..just sharing
Wow !! Sazzzhi, welcome back here ! your appointment day always almost same day with me ya.. Dr. How open till so late ah? I tot till 7pm only. THanks for remind me here (not to eat hot food after braces).. Still wondering want to take half day leave on next tuesday or not, afraid after place screw, the pain caused me no mood to work.

What time u plan to come on next tues wor.. dun conflict with my appointment time le..later i have to wait longer outside.. haha.. just joking la..smile.gif

After change to even thicker string on last 2 days, now my back teeth also painful..can't chew anymore..also, the position of upper teeth is no longer tally with lower teeth a bit after 4 months of treament.

Can't imagine how it will after tues..hmm.. sweat.gif

Added on May 9, 2008, 6:58 am
QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ May 8 2008, 12:06 AM)
uh, normal one kua. How many types are there? i got vhampire teeth, my tiger teeth is on top of my other teeth, if u get what i mean.

i did it at pristine, but my teeth seems very painful, (1 month oni la i put) and it seems like its wobbly, like wanna fall off >_<

i wan to put the colro one tho XD next month my wire is red color! wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
kanzakicyn, i saw your teeth seem normal le smile.gif

Added on May 9, 2008, 7:07 am
QUOTE(Babypearl @ May 8 2008, 01:00 PM)
uiks...mine also have to put screw leh...but mine put up nia...he told me when i consulted him the first time...gonna meet dr how next week for the second appointment....so far so good for now.., not pain, bite stop is irritating as usual, cant eat awesome food as usual...looking forward to the next appointment....screw is definetly not free...if not mistaken is rm 350.00 PER SCREW....geez...i am so broke...
oh !! your only 2 screws ah.. mine is 4! even broke moneyflies.gif ...u r next week too ? hmm.gif which day u r ?

Add some oil to you ya.. cheers.gif

This post has been edited by kentcp: May 9 2008, 07:07 AM
Babypearl
post May 9 2008, 10:57 AM

QUOTE(kentcp @ May 9 2008, 06:56 AM)
Wow !! Sazzzhi, welcome back here ! your appointment day always almost same day with me ya.. Dr. How open till so late ah? I tot till 7pm only. THanks for remind me here (not to eat hot food after braces).. Still wondering want to take half day leave on next tuesday or not, afraid after place screw, the pain caused me no mood to work.

What time u plan to come on next tues wor.. dun conflict with my appointment time le..later i have to wait longer outside.. haha.. just joking la..smile.gif

After change to even thicker string on last 2 days, now my back teeth also painful..can't chew anymore..also, the position of upper teeth is no longer tally with lower teeth a bit after 4 months of treament.

Can't imagine how it will after tues..hmm.. sweat.gif

Added on May 9, 2008, 6:58 am
kanzakicyn, i saw your teeth seem normal le smile.gif

Added on May 9, 2008, 7:07 am
oh !! your only 2 screws ah.. mine is 4! even broke moneyflies.gif ...u r next week too ? hmm.gif  which day u r ?

Add some oil to you ya.. cheers.gif
----wahhh...mine he said 4 screws at first, then he changed his mind and say 2 screws...entah la...see how it goes...mine is saturday...i stay very far leh...so i dont make appointment on weekdays...tongue.gif...just wanna ask..each time u go appointment, dr how will clean your teeth for you boh??..
kentcp
post May 9 2008, 11:38 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(Babypearl @ May 9 2008, 10:57 AM)
----wahhh...mine he said 4 screws at first, then he changed his mind and say 2 screws...entah la...see how it goes...mine is saturday...i stay very far leh...so i dont make appointment on weekdays...tongue.gif...just wanna ask..each time u go appointment, dr how will clean your teeth for you boh??..
No.. he didn't clean.. just check the progress status. i think nowaday everything also talking about money. if anyone of u still single, should look for dentist as bf --rich ma.. brows.gif
Babypearl
post May 9 2008, 02:20 PM

QUOTE(kentcp @ May 9 2008, 11:38 AM)
No.. he didn't clean.. just check the progress status. i think nowaday everything also talking about money.  if anyone of u still single, should look for dentist as bf --rich ma.. brows.gif
wahlau...your teeth must be very clean...but i think mine need cleaning...feels weird...fast fast clean else who knows got something stuck inside...laaa...scaling lagi need money lagi...damn broke liao...
kentcp
post May 9 2008, 02:24 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Babypearl @ May 9 2008, 02:20 PM)
wahlau...your teeth must be very clean...but i think mine need cleaning...feels weird...fast fast clean else who knows got something stuck inside...laaa...scaling lagi need money lagi...damn broke liao...
err.. my teeth consider clean kuar.. i spent 3~5min to clean my teeth each time.. tongue.gif
sE_vIxEn
post May 9 2008, 04:48 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(kentcp @ May 8 2008, 12:01 PM)

so, will install braces on lower teeth, bite stoper and 4 screws on next Tuesday! sweat.gif Need lot of support from u guys ya  icon_question.gif
haha, sounds the same as me. the yellow rubber damn disgusting hor? but it works like a charm in pulling your braces back. so patience!
Babypearl
post May 9 2008, 06:32 PM

QUOTE(sE_vIxEn @ May 9 2008, 04:48 PM)
haha, sounds the same as me. the yellow rubber damn disgusting hor? but it works like a charm in pulling your braces back. so patience!
cant imagine...wait till my next appointment only i know...hehe...damn..i miss awesome food...seriously miss yummy food...awww....
sE_vIxEn
post May 10 2008, 08:58 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(Babypearl @ May 9 2008, 06:32 PM)
cant imagine...wait till my next appointment only i know...hehe...damn..i miss awesome food...seriously miss yummy food...awww....
can't imagine? you can read about it here, you'll see some pics with the so-called 'rubber band'.

154 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:22 PM