154 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

Bracesians' Place, Bracesians' Support Group

leng_leng
post Aug 31 2009, 08:38 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(skyjuicegal @ Aug 26 2009, 05:07 AM)
hmm...totally feel the uncomfortable and pain =.= but just one day i can see my teeth moved!!so amazing!!but is it normal??i'm using Damon-3... i can't eat any solid food, and when gentle touch my upper teeth,i feel slightly numb or  pain...can't brush my teeth hard...i hope my situation is normal..well ..this thread is one of my motivation energy,1 nad a half year i will get my perfect teeth like you all did~
hi girl...im using Damon 3 also.. its normal that u feel the numb and tightness for few days-a week...

Pls remember dear, every effort we put is worth for it! Dun ever feel so down bcos we couldnt eat certain food or bcos of the hassle it brings.. Bcos we all know, after all, darkness will be replaced by our brightest smile!
NikkiDaTeddy
post Sep 1 2009, 11:05 AM

QUOTE(snowy_sharz @ Aug 30 2009, 10:44 AM)
no i am using self ligating type..maybe my case is too serious that's why need so much time.. i also extracted 4 teeth  sad.gif 

my ortho told me will only install braces on lower jaw after 5/6 months but later on she said my progress is good so she is going to install on the next appointment, which is just the 3rd month  smile.gif  hopefully everything is going good and i can debrace earlier..  smile.gif

Added on August 30, 2009, 10:49 am

don't give up!! just bear with it and eventually u will get used to it smile.gif after 1 week, u should be able to eat harder food, it's like that when u first put on that thing.. dont try too hard if your teeth cant bear.. dont brush too hard...  time really flies, i didn't even notice i already with braces for two months.. it was just like yesterday that i instaleld it.  gambateh  ya smile.gif
Yup, time just passed like a blink of an eye. So fast that i've been in treatment for 11 months already. smile.gif Glad to hear that your progress are going well.
smile.gif Since u said that ur case is quite serious, i bet u will be so happy when u see result...hehehe
snowy_sharz
post Sep 1 2009, 12:04 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Sep 1 2009, 11:05 AM)
Yup, time just passed like a blink of an eye. So fast that i've been in treatment for 11 months already. smile.gif Glad to hear that your progress are going well.
smile.gif Since u said that ur case is quite serious, i bet u will be so happy when u see result...hehehe
yupe.. hehe.. can see a big difference d.. my teeth is getting straighter as my teeth was overlapping with each other.. biggrin.gif 11 months.... so half a year to go for u smile.gif

Added on September 1, 2009, 12:09 pm
QUOTE(leng_leng @ Aug 31 2009, 08:38 PM)
hi girl...im using Damon 3 also.. its normal that u feel the numb and tightness for few days-a week...

Pls remember dear, every effort we put is worth for it! Dun ever feel so down bcos we couldnt eat certain food or bcos of the hassle it brings.. Bcos we all know, after all, darkness will be replaced by our brightest smile!
thanx for the motivation smile.gif

This post has been edited by snowy_sharz: Sep 1 2009, 12:09 PM
girlpowerx3
post Sep 1 2009, 01:01 PM

38 posts

i did mine like 7 years ago. government hospital. that time no long ques. was bout rm500. had it on for 4 years. pulled out 4 teeth. but i din finish up my process. i took off my braces and he gave me mouth piece to wear. i did, for two months == not my teeth up and down got gap (the one he pull) small la. not big. i don dare to see my dentist. sure kena bang kao kao
snowy_sharz
post Sep 1 2009, 01:28 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(girlpowerx3 @ Sep 1 2009, 01:01 PM)
i did mine like 7 years ago. government hospital. that time no long ques. was bout rm500. had it on for 4 years. pulled out 4 teeth. but i din finish up my process. i took off my braces and he gave me mouth piece to wear. i did, for two months == not my teeth up and down got gap (the one he pull) small la. not big. i don dare to see my dentist. sure kena bang kao kao
wah~ how come it took u four years and in the end u didn't finish your treatment? how is yr teeth now?
girlpowerx3
post Sep 2 2009, 03:54 AM

38 posts

bottom still straight biggrin.gif

top moved. not jagged. but front bck lidat. gov hospital.. == sure 4 yrs min.
relentless_wind
post Sep 2 2009, 04:34 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(girlpowerx3 @ Sep 1 2009, 01:01 PM)
how do you get it done at a government hospital? Can you just go there and say you want braces? I hate my teeth but my parents are against getting braces for me even though we definitely can afford it, because they refuse to pay for something unnecessary :'( so I want to try to fund it myself!
eyhc89
post Sep 3 2009, 07:29 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(relentless_wind @ Sep 2 2009, 04:34 PM)
how do you get it done at a government hospital? Can you just go there and say you want braces? I hate my teeth but my parents are against getting braces for me even though we definitely can afford it, because they refuse to pay for something unnecessary :'( so I want to try to fund it myself!
Wow. Tell them it's definitely necessary girl. For my case, both my parents insisted that I put on braces although mine wasn't that serious. My dad said it's important that one's teeth is presentable. It makes a difference somehow. And I'm happy with how my teeth looks like now. You have nice teeth ---> you become more confident ----> you smile more -----> people perceive that you're friendly and sweet (just some sort of philosophy to convince parents). lol
leng_leng
post Sep 3 2009, 08:51 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(eyhc89 @ Sep 3 2009, 07:29 PM)
Wow. Tell them it's definitely necessary girl. For my case, both my parents insisted that I put on braces although mine wasn't that serious. My dad said it's important that one's teeth is presentable. It makes a difference somehow. And I'm happy with how my teeth looks like now. You have nice teeth ---> you become more confident ----> you smile more -----> people perceive that you're friendly and sweet (just some sort of philosophy to convince parents). lol
Totally agreed with you. Before this my life was a full of darkness... laugh.gif
NikkiDaTeddy
post Sep 3 2009, 09:16 PM

Yup, eventho with all the metal in your mouth, u still smile and laugh confidently. With mouth wide open and u dont have to cover with hands anymore.
When u smile or laugh confidently, that's what ppl refer as bright smile. I never regret having braces eventho at age, much older than most of you. smile.gif

I love my straighter teeth now.
snowy_sharz
post Sep 4 2009, 12:27 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Sep 3 2009, 09:16 PM)
Yup, eventho with all the metal in your mouth, u still smile and laugh confidently. With mouth wide open and u dont have to cover with hands anymore.
When u smile or laugh confidently, that's what ppl refer as bright smile. I never regret having braces eventho at age, much older than most of you. smile.gif

I love my straighter teeth now.
yes.. i agree with all of u here.. i never regret wearing braces.. i'm now more confident of myself and yes.. confidence is very very important... smile.gif as what leng leng says.. it will make u look presentable and eventually appearing a more friendly person.. before this, i was very shy because of my teeth, now i have more confidence and definitely a more happy person ^^
crapoccur
post Sep 4 2009, 11:18 PM

489 posts

anyone know if there is an age limit for getting braces in gov hospitals/?
relentless_wind
post Sep 4 2009, 11:29 PM

70 posts

I've been telling them about it for ages and they're pretty much sick of hearing it sad.gif strangely they were born with relatively good and straight teeth so they don't understand how it's like to be constantly conscious about your teeth.... like always making sure to control myself from smiling with teeth because when i do people make comments :\ and then i get perceived as being someone unfriendly on first impressions sad.gif

QUOTE(crapoccur @ Sep 4 2009, 11:18 PM)
yeah that too and like i asked previously, can you just walk in and ask to get braces done? :|
leng_leng
post Sep 5 2009, 11:22 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(crapoccur @ Sep 4 2009, 11:18 PM)
if not mistaken is <17 years old. Last time after form5 i go n ask they said i overage d.. sweat.gif
snowy_sharz
post Sep 5 2009, 03:06 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(relentless_wind @ Sep 4 2009, 11:29 PM)
I've been telling them about it for ages and they're pretty much sick of hearing it sad.gif strangely they were born with relatively good and straight teeth so they don't understand how it's like to be constantly conscious about your teeth.... like always making sure to control myself from smiling with teeth because when i do people make comments :\ and then i get perceived as being someone unfriendly on first impressions sad.gif
yeah that too and like i asked previously, can you just walk in and ask to get braces done? :|
i understand your feeling.. my whole family have nice straight teeth and i wonder why am i the only one with ugly teeth sad.gif my parents didnt want me to have braces, but i insisted that i want it so much that i fork my own money out for this... my mum always said that let it be natural~ but she never knows how low self esteem i was having when talking to other people or doing presentation... i didn't smile much because i was very cautious with my teeth... but now i'm not afraid to smile anymore smile.gif

regarding the governent clinic/hospital.. no, u cant just walk in and have your teeth done.. u'll be put in the waiting list and if u are called before u finish schooling (form 5), then u can get it done in government clinic.. if the waiting list is too long and u r not lucky enough to get your turn while u r still studying then u cant have it done in government hospital d.. when in form 3, i did asked the dentists and nurse that came to my school to regularly check our teeth, i asked them how to apply for braces, and they told me just forget about it because the waiting list is very long (5-7 years) and i was already form 3 at that time.. and my friend told me they applied through the nurse /dentists that came to our school.. but they applied very early, most of them applied during primary ..
relentless_wind
post Sep 5 2009, 03:59 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(snowy_sharz @ Sep 5 2009, 03:06 PM)
i understand your feeling.. my whole family have nice straight teeth and i wonder why am i the only one with ugly teeth sad.gif my parents didnt want me to have braces, but i insisted that i want it so much that i fork my own money out for this... my mum always said that let it be natural~ but she never knows how low self esteem i was having when talking to other people or doing presentation... i didn't smile much because i was very cautious with my teeth... but now i'm not afraid to smile anymore smile.gif

regarding the governent clinic/hospital.. no, u cant just walk in and have your teeth done.. u'll be put in the waiting list and if u are called before u finish schooling (form 5), then u can get it done in government clinic.. if the waiting list is too long and u r not lucky enough to get your turn while u r still studying then u cant have it done in government hospital d.. when in form 3, i did asked the dentists and nurse that came to my school to regularly check our teeth, i asked them how to apply for braces, and they told me just forget about it because the waiting list is very long (5-7 years) and i was already form 3 at that time.. and my friend told me they applied through the nurse /dentists that came to our school.. but they applied very early, most of them applied during primary ..
GREAT sad.gif i'm too old for government!

i have been asking for braces since i was 13/14 and my parents have never agreed, now i'm already 18 and its too late and my teeth are worse than ever! so much for wanting to fund my own braces sad.gif

So you went privately? Did you still end up funding your own braces?

yeah, my parents are like that too sad.gif like after i tell them that i really want braces for the 100th time, my mum will point out random people with braces in public and go "See? Doesn't that look so ugly? When you smile all people see is ugly metal" sleep.gif
summer gurl
post Sep 5 2009, 11:55 PM

will putting on braces this thurday... i most most propably will put on normal braces, heard that ur guys put on Damon whch is nt so pain, wuwuwu dunno i can tahan the pain anot ?

anyone here is putting on the normal braces??
snowy_sharz
post Sep 6 2009, 11:55 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(relentless_wind @ Sep 5 2009, 03:59 PM)
GREAT  sad.gif i'm too old for government!

i have been asking for braces since i was 13/14 and my parents have never agreed, now i'm already 18 and its too late and my teeth are worse than ever! so much for wanting to fund my own braces sad.gif

So you went privately? Did you still end up funding your own braces?

yeah, my parents are like that too sad.gif like after i tell them that i really want braces for the 100th time, my mum will point out random people with braces in public and go "See? Doesn't that look so ugly? When you smile all people see is ugly metal" sleep.gif
yes.. i'm doing privately and funding it myself.. u also planning to fund it yourself and dong privately?

yes.. my mum always says people with braces look so ugly and geli... but i feel ppl with braces are cool looking tongue.gif she always ask, why want to pay to suffer and look ugly ? just let eveything be natural la.. yada yada.. and eventually i gave up discussing this matter with her lor.. and not long time ago two of my cousins got their braces on and my mum commented again that they look so ugly in braces, and my aunt told my mum it is just temporary.. and told all the benifits of braces that my mum is starting to accept braces. =.= My aunt also suggested me to go for braces since my teeth is really ugly in front of my mum.. so i am wondering.. why other ppl have much greater persuasive power than i do to my mum eh?

actually i already saved enough few years ago to have braces but due to my studies, i have to wait until recently only to put on ... so i am grateful because though i know my mum still doesn't really like this idea of getting braces, at least she is not objecting .. i dont wan to go against her will ma smile.gif

trust me, braces is worth the money smile.gif

Added on September 6, 2009, 12:02 pm
QUOTE(summer gurl @ Sep 5 2009, 11:55 PM)
will putting on braces this thurday... i most most propably will put on normal braces, heard that ur guys put on Damon whch is nt so pain, wuwuwu dunno i can tahan the pain anot ?

anyone here is putting on the normal braces??
no pain, no gain ma.. tongue.gif i am using self ligating type, so far, no unbearable pain to me.. hopefully no too in the future smile.gif

This post has been edited by snowy_sharz: Sep 6 2009, 12:02 PM
NikkiDaTeddy
post Sep 6 2009, 09:36 PM

QUOTE(relentless_wind @ Sep 5 2009, 03:59 PM)
QUOTE(snowy_sharz)
yes.. my mum always says people with braces look so ugly and geli... but i feel ppl with braces are cool looking tongue.gif she always ask, why want to pay to suffer and look ugly ? just let eveything be natural la.. yada yada.. and eventually i gave up discussing this matter with her lor.. and not long time ago two of my cousins got their braces on and my mum commented again that they look so ugly in braces
I'm so sorry to hear that about how your parents thinks about braces. As a braces wearer, i should give you more courage to put on braces. Trust me, i've been ugly for the past 20+ years with ugly teeth. People make fun of me bcos of my teeth. I cried too many times bcos of the humiliation. But my parent dont really care about it and i cant financially support the treatment. Thats why i waited until now. I'm a working adult now and still decided to wear braces.

No doubt, people around me like colleagues and clients will stare and ask about my braces. But i'm more than happy to share about the experience. Some asked me why i want to sacrifice so much for this, i just tell them, u never experience what i experienced and you wont understand how it feel to be ugly.

So far, i see a lot of benefits. After 11 months of treatment, my teeth are straighter, i'm able to close my mouth without force, my lips and mouth appear smaller and my face become smaller too.

Maybe it was alot of sacrifices during the treatment, but actually i gain much more compared to what i've lost. I rather be UGLY for 2 years then pretty for the rest of my life than ugly for my whole life.

Braces is not that ugly, really!

This post has been edited by NikkiDaTeddy: Sep 6 2009, 09:37 PM
snowy_sharz
post Sep 6 2009, 10:48 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Sep 6 2009, 09:36 PM)
QUOTE(snowy_sharz)
yes.. my mum always says people with braces look so ugly and geli... but i feel ppl with braces are cool looking tongue.gif she always ask, why want to pay to suffer and look ugly ? just let eveything be natural la.. yada yada.. and eventually i gave up discussing this matter with her lor.. and not long time ago two of my cousins got their braces on and my mum commented again that they look so ugly in braces
I'm so sorry to hear that about how your parents thinks about braces. As a braces wearer, i should give you more courage to put on braces. Trust me, i've been ugly for the past 20+ years with ugly teeth. People make fun of me bcos of my teeth. I cried too many times bcos of the humiliation. But my parent dont really care about it and i cant financially support the treatment. Thats why i waited until now. I'm a working adult now and still decided to wear braces.

No doubt, people around me like colleagues and clients will stare and ask about my braces. But i'm more than happy to share about the experience. Some asked me why i want to sacrifice so much for this, i just tell them, u never experience what i experienced and you wont understand how it feel to be ugly.

So far, i see a lot of benefits. After 11 months of treatment, my teeth are straighter, i'm able to close my mouth without force, my lips and mouth appear smaller and my face become smaller too.

Maybe it was alot of sacrifices during the treatment, but actually i gain much more compared to what i've lost. I rather be UGLY for 2 years then pretty for the rest of my life than ugly for my whole life.

Braces is not that ugly, really!
yes.. braces is not ugly.. i like them because they are like 'accessories' to me smile.gif in fact, i feel braces is kinda cool looking. lol

154 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0443sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:30 PM