Bracesians' Place, Bracesians' Support Group

evin
post Nov 1 2009, 01:17 PM

hey..im evin from ipoh~
and im thinking to go for braces~

it just bcoz of my future job~
i wanted to be a air stewardess~ i think they need to have nice teeth..
my teeth is not that bad~ but it just not that straight~

and i've alr went for the consultation~
in ipoh it cost RM 3800 for the besi one~and for transperent one it cost RM 4800~
and it does not include all those additional things like xray, mold, and i have to plug 4 teeth and that coz RM 200
im still worry of the pain...im really scare icon_question.gif

and will wear that for 1 1/2 to 2 yrs time^^
but doctor said is the same thing..is just transperent and it looks nicer~

my sister and my cousin went braces few yrs back..
that time only RM 2k+
by the time im just 12 or 13 yrs old..
i saw their tears drop when the doctor try to pull their teeth out...
its scary~~ doh.gif

im still thinking wanna go for it anot?
any suggestions from all of the bracesiansss?

and i want to brace is just bcoz of my future job...
btw,anyone knows ..do i need to have straight teeth to become a air stewardess?

NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 1 2009, 03:34 PM

Hi Evin,

As for your dream job. You may be surprise that qualification as air hostess are not that high. Cos my sister-in-law is an air hostess in Singapore Airline. Honest speaking, she doesnt hav nice teeth. Now, i have nicer teeth than her. So, ....u decide...

In case you didnt know, I'm a bracesian. I had braces on for 12 mths already. Extracted 4 teeth + 2 wisdom tooth. Honestly, the extraction is not painful at all cos doctor will inject the anesthetics to numb it. I cant feel anything during the extraction. I know this is a life changing decision that you hav to decide.

You're still young. So maybe you dunno how is it like to step into working world with a regret. Cos i experienced it. I'm 20++ yrs old. And had been in the working world for some time. i always felt sad and miserable with the way i look. Often hav to cover my mouth when i laugh. And i decided to make a change to myself. And i'm now more than happy. Cos even with braces, i'm not shy to laugh with mouth wide open.

I may not be a air hostess or any other glamour job. But i have at least made something out for myself so that i would not regret.

Hope u get what i mean. Anyway, unfortunately i could not attached picture for u to view. Something is wrong with my LYN... Anyway, Good Luck! smile.gif

evin
post Nov 1 2009, 05:49 PM

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Nov 1 2009, 05:04 PM)
Hi Evin,

As for your dream job. You may be surprise that qualification as air hostess are not that high. Cos my sister-in-law is an air hostess in Singapore Airline. Honest speaking, she doesnt hav nice teeth. Now, i have nicer teeth than her. So, ....u decide...
In case you didnt know, I'm a bracesian. I had braces on for 12 mths already. Extracted 4 teeth + 2 wisdom tooth. Honestly, the extraction is not painful at all cos doctor will inject the anesthetics to numb it. I cant feel anything during the extraction. I know this is a life changing decision that you hav to decide.

You're still young. So maybe you dunno how is it like to step into working world with a regret. Cos i experienced it. I'm 20++ yrs old. And had been in the working world for some time. i always felt sad and miserable with the way i look. Often hav to cover my mouth when i laugh. And i decided to make a change to myself. And i'm now more than happy. Cos even with braces, i'm not shy to laugh with mouth wide open.

I may not be a air hostess or any other glamour job. But i have at least made something out for myself so that i would not regret.

Hope u get what i mean. Anyway, unfortunately i could not attached picture for u to view.  Something is wrong with my LYN... Anyway, Good Luck! smile.gif
hi..
NikkiDaTeddy

Thanks for your information~im thinking to join SIA too~~ but still hunting for other airlines..hehe
hows the paid and all the bonus? izit good?
but is still 2years time away..im still studying for my PR degree~
i know is better for me to brace my teeth to look even more nicer then now~~ biggrin.gif
hehe...wanted it to be nicer...but i have to tahan the pain..
as i can see those previous post...all of them says its pain pain pain..
cant eat and worry of many thing~
aarrgg...really cant make a decison~

anywhere...thanks ya~~
im still considering...
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 2 2009, 10:22 AM

QUOTE(evin @ Nov 1 2009, 05:49 PM)
hi..
NikkiDaTeddy

Thanks for your information~im thinking to join SIA too~~ but still hunting for other airlines..hehe
hows the paid and all the bonus? izit good?
but is still 2years time away..im still studying for my PR degree~
i know is better for me to brace my teeth to look even more nicer then now~~ biggrin.gif
hehe...wanted it to be nicer...but i have to tahan the pain..
as i can see those previous post...all of them says its  pain pain pain..
cant eat and worry of many thing~
aarrgg...really cant make a decison~

anywhere...thanks ya~~
im still considering...
The pay in SIA is good. Better than alot of other airlines.

Dont worry too much. Some of us experienced more pain than others and some didnt feel any pain at all. But i think the advance system wont be as painful as traditional type. Probably you wont feel comfortable in your first month. After that, you'll slowly get use to it.

Many of us in this thread went to the same doctor. Our doctor will suggest things to be done while wearing braces. At times, screws will be installed at gum to help to speed up the process, to minimize the gum part and more. So that is why each of us experienced differently.

So i suggest you go consult a doctor as soon as u can, then maybe take some time to consider about it. IF u start one month earlier, u will finish one month earlier... hehehe... fast fast kao tim and u'll be pretty to go for air hostess interview. hehehe....
evin
post Nov 2 2009, 05:49 PM

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Nov 2 2009, 11:52 AM)
The pay in SIA is good. Better than alot of other airlines.

Dont worry too much. Some of us experienced more pain than others and some didnt feel any pain at all. But i think the advance system wont be as painful as traditional type. Probably you wont feel comfortable in your first month. After that, you'll slowly get use to it.

Many of us in this thread went to the same doctor. Our doctor will suggest things to be done while wearing braces. At times, screws will be installed at gum to help to speed up the process, to minimize the gum part and more. So that is why each of us experienced differently.

So i suggest you go consult a doctor as soon as u can, then maybe take some time to consider about it. IF u start one month earlier, u will finish one month earlier... hehehe... fast fast kao tim and u'll be pretty to go for air hostess interview. hehehe....
thanks nikkiDaTeddy~~

i will call up and make my appointment..and will post my feeling...after i extracted my 4 nice nice teethh~^owee^
hehe~ im still scare ...anywhere..
thanks for your info ler~~

keep in touch ya all bracesiansss~~ thumbup.gif
SilkyLene
post Nov 4 2009, 05:47 PM

Anyone has any idea where can get Damon 3 in RM5K?
jasmineh2y
post Nov 5 2009, 03:10 PM

Nothing
1,104 posts

Anyone knows where can i find Damon System dentist in KL/PJ?

NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 5 2009, 03:18 PM

QUOTE(jasmineh2y @ Nov 5 2009, 03:10 PM)
Anyone knows where can i find Damon System dentist in KL/PJ?
My dear, there are plenty in PJ and KL la....
How's Orthodontics in Bangsar? or Tmn Tun also got one big clinic which is ortho and dental specialist...
kentcp
post Nov 5 2009, 03:25 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Nov 5 2009, 03:18 PM)
My dear, there are plenty in PJ and KL la....
How's Orthodontics in Bangsar? or Tmn Tun also got one big clinic which is ortho and dental specialist...
one of my screw removed during last Tuesday visit... suspected it block the wire, so, just remove it. Lucky, not much pain during & after removed..
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 5 2009, 03:28 PM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Nov 5 2009, 03:25 PM)
one of my screw removed during last Tuesday visit... suspected it block the wire, so, just remove it. Lucky, not much pain during & after removed..
Block wire? meaning?
Then now got one hole lo? I mean...two holes.

This post has been edited by NikkiDaTeddy: Nov 5 2009, 03:30 PM
kentcp
post Nov 5 2009, 04:22 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Nov 5 2009, 03:28 PM)
Block wire? meaning?
Then now got one hole lo? I mean...two holes.
one of the backet is glue on lower teeth, so, it near to screw. Only one screw removed, 3 remains. The hole? it's closed within same day lo..
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 5 2009, 04:32 PM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Nov 5 2009, 04:22 PM)
one of the backet is glue on lower teeth, so, it near to screw. Only one screw removed, 3 remains. The hole? it's closed within same day lo..
Closed within a day? so believable... shakehead.gif

Added on November 5, 2009, 4:45 pmBtw, I extracted my wisdom tooth two weeks ago. Then that part where doc injected the anesthetic was somehow turned into ulcer cos the injection caused me a wound.

After more than one week, the ulcer almost completely healed. But i can feel a small bit of something hard there at the wound. Then i used my finger to touch it.

To my surprise, it was hard and it feels like teeth. I suspect that it was the root of my teeth? Then i was waiting for the wound/ulcer to heal and close up. However, after so many days, i can still feel it and it didnt show any sign of recovery...

I'm not sure whether this is normal... and i cant find some time to visit doctor to let him check... Anyone encounter similar case before?

This post has been edited by NikkiDaTeddy: Nov 5 2009, 04:45 PM
ysbabe
post Nov 7 2009, 02:23 AM

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Nov 5 2009, 04:32 PM)
Closed within a day? so believable... shakehead.gif

Added on November 5, 2009, 4:45 pmBtw, I extracted my wisdom tooth two weeks ago. Then that part where doc injected the anesthetic was somehow turned into ulcer cos the injection caused me a wound.

After more than one week, the ulcer almost completely healed. But i can feel a small bit of something hard there at the wound. Then i used my finger to touch it.

To my surprise, it was hard and it feels like teeth. I suspect that it was the root of my teeth? Then i was waiting for the wound/ulcer to heal and close up. However, after so many days, i can still feel it and it didnt show any sign of recovery...

I'm not sure whether this is normal... and i cant find some time to visit doctor to let him check... Anyone encounter similar case before?
yes, it shud be some bone/tooth fragments (small sharp piece rite?) leftover from the extraction.

i removed a large molar in april 2008, the dr had some trouble pulling it out becoz of the roots. Anyway, finally got it out (thank GOD). After some time, when it was healing, small sharp fragments started to appear on the gums. It kinda grew or drop out from the inside. Overall, had about 4-5 small pieces that came out over....2-3 months?? Can't exactly remember. But it didn't really bother me, just felt abit annoying to have sharp pieces on my gums.

so from time to time, i'll touch it with my fingers, if it's loose enough, i'll just try to take it out. Most of the pieces, no problem came out rather easily. Only 1 bigger piece when I forcefully pulled it out, it bled a bit and had a small hole in the gums but it was just really small.

So I think you shouldn't worry about it. Just sharing my experience smile.gif

This post has been edited by ysbabe: Nov 7 2009, 02:24 AM
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 7 2009, 09:52 AM

QUOTE(ysbabe @ Nov 7 2009, 02:23 AM)
yes, it shud be some bone/tooth fragments (small sharp piece rite?) leftover from the extraction.

i removed a large molar in april 2008, the dr had some trouble pulling it out becoz of the roots. Anyway, finally got it out (thank GOD). After some time, when it was healing, small sharp fragments started to appear on the gums. It kinda grew or drop out from the inside. Overall, had about 4-5 small pieces that came out over....2-3 months?? Can't exactly remember. But it didn't really bother me, just felt abit annoying to have sharp pieces on my gums.

so from time to time, i'll touch it with my fingers, if it's loose enough, i'll just try to take it out. Most of the pieces, no problem came out rather easily. Only 1 bigger piece when I forcefully pulled it out, it bled a bit and had a small hole in the gums but it was just really small.

Thanks for sharing. I hope nothing too serious also. smile.gif

Tooth fragments? Woh....sounded scary to me... Um...i really dunno what is it. But it hard. My worry is that i scared its the root of another tooth beside. Just scared that it will affect the tooth. Or if it got lose and lost of grip then the whole tooth fall out by itself. Abit scary to imagine. Anyways, I think to be on the safe side, i will let Dr check today la.

martiolativo
post Nov 7 2009, 05:12 PM

a lil update from me.. i'm now wearing Bear rubber band thumbup.gif
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 14 2009, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(ysbabe @ Nov 7 2009, 02:23 AM)

OMG, u know what? You're right!!! That thing is gone already. I discovered that it was gone after having breakfast. I guess i swallowed it. tongue.gif
Just glad that its no longer there...
baby_boi
post Nov 14 2009, 07:51 PM

WHOA!!!
its has been such a long while hhahahaha.
Hows everyone!? Nikki?! how r u?

Hope evyones got some major improvements..

So i extracted 4 tooth,and now im focusing on closing the gaps..im on elastics now.
im telling u,theres been a HUGE change to my facial structure..especially the lower parts..
i recently uploaded new pix to my facebook and my mom saw them,she sort of noticed how my mouth area changed..its rather smaller now but i love it,it doesnt look like last time. and im totally excited on seeing the final outcome..i know im still quite far,but its getting really exciting that idont mind anymore..hahaha

doctor how sed id be done in six to nine months..hopefully i make it before graduation next july!!

But i have one huge prob tho...two of my front lower brackets kept detaching from the teeth..doctor how has fixed it 3 times and they still pop off..first of all its not my fault..cuz after every session i dont eat,just in case me eating might have been the cause..but the last time i went to get it fixed,on my way home they pop off again! was soo shocked.

I Cant afford going to and fro from cyberjaya to bangsar often so this is kinda frustrating..and i can tell dr how is kinda frustrated by it too..u think this might obstruct my progress? has this happen to anyone before? or am i all alone? somehow i think he shud change the brackets but he has never done that..its been fixed three times and all three times they pop off

i downgraded to a thinner wire,and he moved the positions jst in case i was biting on them..he even said that if i still bite on them i might get that thing that blocks u from chewing..what do u call it again??? arrghh..

any thoughts?
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 14 2009, 09:19 PM

QUOTE(baby_boi @ Nov 14 2009, 07:51 PM)
WHOA!!!
its has been such a long while hhahahaha.
Hows everyone!? Nikki?! how r u?

Hope evyones got some major improvements..

So i extracted 4 tooth,and now im focusing on closing the gaps..im on elastics now.
im telling u,theres been a HUGE change to my facial structure..especially the lower parts..
i recently uploaded new pix to my facebook and my mom saw them,she sort of noticed how my mouth area changed..its rather smaller now but i love it,it doesnt look like last time. and im totally excited on seeing the final outcome..i know im still quite far,but its getting really exciting that idont mind anymore..hahaha
doctor how sed id be done in six to nine months..hopefully i make it before graduation next july!!

But i have one huge prob tho...two of my front lower brackets kept detaching from the teeth..doctor how has fixed it 3 times and they still pop off..first of all its not my fault..cuz after every session i dont eat,just in case me eating might have been the cause..but the last time i went to get it fixed,on my way home they pop off again! was soo shocked.

I Cant afford going to and fro  from cyberjaya to bangsar often so this is kinda frustrating..and i can tell dr how is kinda frustrated by it too..u think this might obstruct my progress? has this happen to anyone before? or am i all alone? somehow i think he shud change the brackets but he has never done that..its been fixed three times and all three times they pop off

i downgraded to a thinner wire,and he moved the positions jst in case i was biting on them..he even said that if i still bite on them i might get that thing that blocks u from chewing..what do u call it again??? arrghh..
any thoughts?
Hi Ronnie,

I'm good. Closing gaps too. The holes are almost closed. Maybe left back some milimetres. Doctor will re-position my brackets on my next appt.
Yeah, i agree with you that our face structure will change...to better of course. Every now and then, i have to check my smile cos i dont smile the same way now.

I didnt encounter bracket getting lose or popped out. Maybe you should tell doctor your worries. That 'blocks'? They are called bite stopper. Tell you what, the bite stopper suck. You cant chew and speak properly with it. I'm glad thati only had it for very short period.

6 to 9 months to completion for you? That's great! I'm not sure how long more i have to go thru... I didnt ask doctor. :>
baby_boi
post Nov 14 2009, 09:32 PM

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Nov 14 2009, 09:19 PM)
Hi Ronnie,

I'm good. Closing gaps too. The holes are almost closed. Maybe left back some milimetres. Doctor will re-position my brackets on my next appt.
Yeah, i agree with you that our face structure will change...to better of course. Every now and then, i have to check my smile cos i dont smile the same way now.

I didnt encounter bracket getting lose or popped out. Maybe you should tell doctor your worries. That 'blocks'? They are called bite stopper. Tell you what, the bite stopper suck. You cant chew and speak properly with it. I'm glad thati only had it for very short period.

6 to 9 months to completion for you? That's great! I'm not sure how long more i have to go thru... I didnt ask doctor. :>
Yep!! thats it! A Bite Stopper...urgh..i wouldnt want one of those..hoho
but this is a huge prob..i dont want dr how to think i purposely do it tho u know what i mean ahha..im not that mad..
but this is worrying me..almost up to a point where everytime i look at the mirror it pops into my mind..

HAIZZ

anyways..im off for now..will update more soon,.and take care ppl!

evin
post Nov 14 2009, 11:45 PM

Nikki~

do you still remember me?

i have make up my mind~~
im going for xray and 2 tooth extraction on next monday~~
and im scare~

im still thinking to take besi 1 or transparent 1~~
transparent 1 need to pay more 500 per jaws~ means have to pay 1k extra~

mummy say upper jaw takes transparent..~ lower jaw takes besi one~ haha...got abit cacat ^^ sweat.gif

most of the bracesians here says that transparent is not that effective rite?
aarrgghh....dunno which 1 to take~~

any suggestions?

hehe~
im still scare~~

~ cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif ~

154 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:35 AM