Bracesians' Place, Bracesians' Support Group

crapoccur
post Sep 4 2009, 11:18 PM

489 posts

anyone know if there is an age limit for getting braces in gov hospitals/?
crapoccur
post Nov 27 2009, 11:13 PM

489 posts

Anyone here after removing braces, ur lips look different? as in how it rests on ur teeth..
crapoccur
post Jan 14 2010, 07:23 PM

489 posts

Dear diary,

Just installed my braces about 1.5 hours ago. Feeling the tension in my teeth. It's making my jaws abit numb.
crapoccur
post Jan 15 2010, 03:16 PM

489 posts

i'm using self-ligating braces...my biggest problem now is the tubes at my last bracket is poking the side of my mouth...dental wax helps...but i duwanna wear dental wax for so long... icon_question.gif
crapoccur
post Jan 15 2010, 03:26 PM

489 posts

the area that always get poked won't get tougher or something?
crapoccur
post Jan 15 2010, 04:15 PM

489 posts

haha..only reason i want it to get tough is so it won't hurt next time...its quite tedious to always put dental wax and remove when eating...
crapoccur
post Jan 15 2010, 05:24 PM

489 posts

oo...thanks for the advice..but mine is not the wire..its the like a sharp object on the bracket itself..
crapoccur
post Jan 18 2010, 03:45 PM

489 posts

i think i am in a similar situation. My ortho told me I might need to extract one front tooth at the bottom to make space. But right now we're just 'wait and see'.

Added on January 18, 2010, 3:46 pm
QUOTE(DaiLagann @ Jan 18 2010, 10:28 AM)
My advice is ask around for a good orthodontist.
i got an okay but not great ortho and i think he did a mistake on my teeth.
he did'nt want to remove any of my teeth prior to installing in my braces because he said it was a new method. i had too much teeth in my lower jaw that stuffed up my teeth in the first place. now my teeth are in order but i have to get oral surgery done because to make room for all my teeth my lower jaw is now longer than my upper jaw. That's more pain for me so i just wanna say ask the ortho about oral surgery and if you will need it after the braces come off if you don't want to remove any teeth.
This post has been edited by crapoccur: Jan 18 2010, 03:46 PM
crapoccur
post Jan 20 2010, 06:04 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(karynkhoo @ Jan 20 2010, 05:48 PM)
first appointment for inspection etc. + installation of braces can be on the same day. yes, Damon 3 and InOvation C treatments are self-ligating.
Seldom lah, usually the dentist will ask u to go for X-ray, explain to you the whole process, quote a price, maybe extract some teeth, take a mould, put dental separators if necessary.

Hard to put in braces in one day. One week more reasonable.
crapoccur
post Jan 21 2010, 09:52 AM

489 posts

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Jan 21 2010, 09:12 AM)

Added on January 21, 2010, 9:15 am
It also depend if the appt and time allow. Btw, the doctor are called Orthodontist not dentist. Dentist are ur normal dental doctor where else i believe orthodontist has higher qualification and are allow to do braces for you.
That's what I thought too. But any dental surgeon who took the ortho course can do braces actually. But of course an orthodontist knows better, I;m going to an orthodontist as well.
crapoccur
post Jan 25 2010, 02:43 AM

489 posts

@lengleng
wow, incredible transformation there! how long did the whole process take?
crapoccur
post Feb 1 2010, 02:40 AM

489 posts

wow,thats cheaper than mine...
crapoccur
post May 20 2010, 11:13 AM

489 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ May 20 2010, 08:52 AM)
Last night one of my white blocker has just drop off. Do I need to head back to top it up straight away or just wait my next appointment?? Cause my next appointment will be on june.
You have blockers both sides right? as long as what its supposed to block is still prevented, its not urgent..

0.0725sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:48 PM