781 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V20, 5% M2 Amex on weekend spending (NOT ALL)

wilson1149
post Nov 9 2018, 11:24 AM

508 posts

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Nov 9 2018, 11:21 AM)
All of the time Amex cash back I always max (RM50) per month.

Should I continue using it for the rest of the month for the 5x TreatsPoints ? is it worth it when exchange for AEON cash vouchers? I remember it's like 2% if calculated as cash vouchers
Worth 1% +- only

for me i will use for offset SST.
CloudComputer
post Nov 9 2018, 11:25 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(ememes @ Nov 8 2018, 11:59 PM)
for anyone traveling to South Korea or has plans to:

AMEX is widely accepted in Korea, thumbup.gif  as they're registered as Samsung card payment processor.
Samsung card is like everyday card for most Korean, thus their merchants can be found in any nook and cranny.

good way to rack up TP!

my TP solely from AMEX spending since October  whistling.gif

the extra charges (currency exchange + overseas charges) aren't too bad as well. My transactions averaged 2.63% on top of the transacted amount.

Great news for travelling Korea but do we need to have Samsung Pay to make use?
ClarenceT
post Nov 9 2018, 11:26 AM

14,944 posts

All of the time Amex cash back I always max (RM50) per month.

Should I continue using it for the rest of the month for the 5x TreatsPoints ? is it worth it when exchange for AEON cash vouchers? I remember it's like 2% if calculated as cash vouchers
1TP worth 0.2%. 5TP worth 1%.
charlesj
post Nov 9 2018, 01:26 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Nov 8 2018, 09:25 PM)
Hi, just to ask if paying insurance premium using Amex card is eligible for the cashback?
Do take note as someone tried before but the actual transaction only happens on Monday.
The insurance company may not process your payment on weekend.

QUOTE(MGM @ Nov 9 2018, 09:46 AM)
So while in NZ as long it is on weekend, dont need to care about GMT+13?
For local spend (shop/restaurant), follow local time.
Unless you purchase online, ie. buy from lazada Malaysia, then it will follow Msia time
ememes
post Nov 9 2018, 01:47 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(CloudComputer @ Nov 9 2018, 11:25 AM)
Great news for travelling Korea but do we need to have Samsung Pay to make use?
Not necessary. Just swipe as usual
BIGPAY ABUSER BENJAMIN
post Nov 9 2018, 02:30 PM

60 posts

Yes. All redemption rates other than for transferring to airline miles are terrible. If you prefer cashback, get a different card.
MGM
post Nov 9 2018, 05:20 PM

18,433 posts

QUOTE(charlesj @ Nov 9 2018, 01:26 PM)
Do take note as someone tried before but the actual transaction only happens on Monday.
The insurance company may not process your payment on weekend.
For local spend (shop/restaurant), follow local time.
Unless you purchase online, ie. buy from lazada Malaysia, then it will follow Msia time
OK TQ.
Vex86
post Nov 9 2018, 05:24 PM

78 posts

hi all, missed a bunch of the discussion on SST but heard that M2C is less attractive due to it. Why so and why are people cancelling cards yea?
fruitie
post Nov 9 2018, 05:26 PM

Rise and Shine
72,826 posts

QUOTE(Vex86 @ Nov 9 2018, 05:24 PM)
hi all, missed a bunch of the discussion on SST but heard that M2C is less attractive due to it. Why so and why are people cancelling cards yea?
M2AmEx is attractive, we are still keeping it. It is the Visa/MC which is not attractive and most of can cancel it and save RM 25.
cybpsych
post Nov 9 2018, 05:27 PM

---------------------
65,317 posts

QUOTE(Vex86 @ Nov 9 2018, 05:24 PM)
u heard wrong laugh.gif

ppl are cancelling the useless/unattractive card for M2C
Vex86
post Nov 9 2018, 05:36 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 9 2018, 05:27 PM)
u heard wrong  laugh.gif

ppl are cancelling the useless/unattractive card for M2C
haha okay... thinking whether I should keep citibank cash back visa over maybank m2visa hmm.gif
SUSDavid83
post Nov 9 2018, 05:39 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Vex86 @ Nov 9 2018, 05:36 PM)
haha okay... thinking whether I should keep citibank cash back visa over maybank m2visa hmm.gif
Both cards are not attractive if compared to MBB FCB VS.
cclim2011
post Nov 10 2018, 09:23 AM

1,702 posts

Aiyks. Tried pay tnb in M2u but said I have reached maximum time to this payee. It is 2nd payment to tnb today and 6th this month.
hankeymeal
post Nov 10 2018, 09:55 AM

74 posts

Can pay pdrm summon by AMEX?
kart
post Nov 10 2018, 10:21 AM

1,603 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 9 2018, 09:57 AM)
Just need to make sure the transaction date recorded by Amex (NZ) is either Sat/Sun.
I tried in London (GMT+0) on a Sunday night (it was a Monday morning in Malaysia), I did get the weekend rebate.
Just to confirm, to be eligible for 5% weekend cashback, the time for retail swiping at credit card terminals in foreign countries, and the time of online payment gateways hosted in foreign countries must be on Saturday and Sunday, based on the local time of foreign countries, which is independent of Malaysia time, right?

Thanks for sharing your discovery. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kart: Nov 10 2018, 10:22 AM
ClarenceT
post Nov 10 2018, 10:41 AM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Nov 10 2018, 10:21 AM)
Just to confirm, to be eligible for 5% weekend cashback, the time for retail swiping at credit card terminals in foreign countries, and the time of online payment gateways hosted in foreign countries must be on Saturday and Sunday, based on the local time of foreign countries, which is independent of Malaysia time, right?

Thanks for sharing your discovery. smile.gif
M2 Amex - don't look at Malaysia date & time.

Transaction date must be Sat or Sun. For foreign transactions, it takes 1-3 days to be posted in M2U (not same day posting), you can check the transaction date.

For online transactions, there is always a risk to be posted in Friday or Monday; eg you perform a transaction at Taobao China (not Amex), it may turn up the payment is processed by Taobao London! The safest time frame is Malaysia Time Saturday 8pm to Sunday 7pm.
beLIEve
post Nov 10 2018, 10:46 AM

三軍都督
7,821 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Nov 10 2018, 09:23 AM)
Aiyks. Tried pay tnb in M2u but said I have reached maximum time to this payee. It is 2nd payment to tnb today and 6th this month.
Go to Post #3 and see if you've hit the 5000 limit.

Below info contributed by hebe87
(hebe87 @ Sep 3 2015, 08:04 PM)
for payment via maybank2u
-telekom (maximum 5 bills per week)
-TNB (maximum payment is RM5000 per week)

This said, i also kena this error the other day when they were doing maintenance. 1-2 hours later ok already.
cclim2011
post Nov 10 2018, 10:56 AM

1,702 posts

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Nov 10 2018, 10:46 AM)
Go to Post #3 and see if you've hit the 5000 limit.

Below info contributed by hebe87
This said, i also kena this error the other day when they were doing maintenance. 1-2 hours later ok already.
Checked page 3 earlier. Nope not even reaching 500. Let me check later. Hehe. Tq.
kart
post Nov 10 2018, 11:20 AM

1,603 posts

Thank you for your explanation. smile.gif

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 10 2018, 10:41 AM)
M2 Amex - don't look at Malaysia date & time.
Transaction date must be Sat or Sun. For foreign transactions, it takes 1-3 days to be posted in M2U (not same day posting), you can check the transaction date.
It is ok. We all know that the cashback is given based on the transaction date, not posting date. So, it is not much of a issue, if the transactions at credit card terminals in foreign countries are posted several days later.

Rather than waiting for the foreign transaction to be posted in M2U, we can choose to call Maybank Customer Service to know about the transaction date and time as recorded by Maybank systems.

As you rightly said, we need to make sure that we swiped our Maybank 2 Amex on Saturday and Sunday based on local time of foreign countries.

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 10 2018, 10:41 AM)
For online transactions, there is always a risk to be posted in Friday or Monday; eg you perform a transaction at Taobao China (not Amex), it may turn up the payment is processed by Taobao London! The safest time frame is Malaysia Time Saturday 8pm to Sunday 7pm.
Thank you for highlighting the risk of missing cashback for online transactions.

Let's say that I first performs online transaction of a small amount through foreign payment gateways. Then, I call Maybank Customer Service to know about the transaction date and time as recorded by Maybank systems. Comparing that transaction date and time with the transaction date and time based on Malaysia's time (GMT+8), we would know the timezone of the foreign payment gateways, and then make necessary adjustment on when we should perform such online transaction.

Your method of swiping between Malaysia Time Saturday 8pm to Sunday 7pm is definitely the safest method. As we all know, the method I just mention is tedious, and I need to perform the same method for each foreign payment gateway. But, it gives me much wider duration for me to perform such online transactions hosted at foreign payment gateways.

In short, each method has its own pros and cons. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kart: Nov 10 2018, 11:22 AM
SwarmTroll
post Nov 10 2018, 12:17 PM

1,401 posts

Guys can change statement date correct? Cause my other cc different date, rather have the same.

781 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:03 AM