7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

I want a BMW 328i M sport so BADLY, Please advise

Muscabee
post Aug 23 2018, 03:19 PM

48 posts

this is like the same old case when a dude managed to save up 1 million to buy a lamborghini then realize that the cost of servicing, spare parts, insurance, etc is wayy more than whats he capable of. Dear TS, u want to buy a used car.. and u r just 24 years old, there are still more commitment in life.. u surely dont want to waste most of ur income for car... lol
kelvinfixx
post Aug 23 2018, 03:21 PM

1,590 posts

Go for it, I also want one.
kingz113
post Aug 23 2018, 03:29 PM

323 posts

You sound like a smart kid. If your figures are true, and you keep expanding your skillsets while more or less maintaining your lifestyle, the money will flood in.

the bang factor is alot larger driving a nice car when you are in your 20s, compared to when you are 30 or above. Not to mention the tonnes of commitments when you are older and more concerned with the car's practicality (family) than fun-ness of the car.

You can always sell the car when you get bored of it. Yes you'll lose money but the respect and turned heads will more than make up for those money. I've had my fair share of throwing stupid money at stupid things, do not regret a single part of it, and like i say, if you are good at what you do, these money will eventually seem like chump change.

This post has been edited by kingz113: Aug 23 2018, 03:31 PM
leeyn
post Aug 23 2018, 03:31 PM

52 posts

go get one, YOLO.
mushigen
post Aug 23 2018, 04:09 PM

4,954 posts

You can definitely afford it. It's just a matter of prioritizing your money - instant gratification or delayed gratification (savings for old age).

Only you will know, when you are 60 years old, whether you will regret spending a chunk of money on the BMW, or regret not buying the BMW because "we only live once".

6UE5T
post Aug 23 2018, 04:10 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Aug 23 2018, 02:30 PM)
big bro, let them be la.....don't judge them.....

School of hard knocks is the best of all schools  icon_rolleyes.gif

Just think of it as either the financial drag will pull them down to the abyss or (hopefully) become a motivator for them to improve themselves financially.
QUOTE(StanleySAPBasis @ Aug 23 2018, 02:31 PM)
Thanks for your compliment. At least I earn more than the majority in my age. Age doesn't define everything, CASH does.

I buy it with the minimal lost. Used car, low depreciation, low commitment. At the same time, I still have CASH.

SORRY NOT TO SHOW OFF, BUT EARN FOR WHAT WE WANT.

It's hard to own a fancy car after you're married. So if I can afford it when I'm young (BY OWN MY CASH), why not? Do it only when I'm old?

THAT'S OLD SCHOOL THEORY.......
SOWEEYYY..
Ok then buy lor! laugh.gif Hopefully that 328i can help drive you to achieve saving rm15k per month consistently. icon_rolleyes.gif

Btw I'm in the same industry as you for 20yrs now (but not Basis) so I know how your main job is. I might get to know you someday coz SAP is a small world. If I meet a young Basis guy with a shinny 328i then it's probably you. Careful though, many Basis roles are outsourced to India already while in S/4HANA SAP Cloud, Basis is not needed anymore.
skloda
post Aug 23 2018, 04:12 PM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

nvm its just 1.5k monthly installment , your side income can cover it.
wkc5657
post Aug 23 2018, 04:17 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(StanleySAPBasis @ Aug 23 2018, 02:31 PM)
Thanks for your compliment. At least I earn more than the majority in my age. Age doesn't define everything, CASH does.

I buy it with the minimal lost. Used car, low depreciation, low commitment. At the same time, I still have CASH.

SORRY NOT TO SHOW OFF, BUT EARN FOR WHAT WE WANT.

It's hard to own a fancy car after you're married. So if I can afford it when I'm young (BY OWN MY CASH), why not? Do it only when I'm old?

THAT'S OLD SCHOOL THEORY.......
SOWEEYYY..
Dah settle....close thread....no point further query anymore...

All else google settle, happy driving biggrin.gif
TSStanleySAPBasis
post Aug 23 2018, 04:24 PM

QUOTE(dman @ Aug 23 2018, 02:19 PM)
On the current BMW lineup- they dropped the 320 and 330/328 and replaced with 330e M Sport. So 328i M Sport became rare breed currently and it's one of the most BMW-ish of the lot with pure petrol performance without the heavy battery of the 330e.

Since this is Fast and Furious section and not financial section so my advice is Go for it bro!
I see. So basically 330e is the 328i with E-technology, that's the difference? But I think I'm not gonna buy 330e since I don't really travel much. Just buy it for my goal achievement and satisfaction. Thanks for your info anyway.
TSStanleySAPBasis
post Aug 23 2018, 04:27 PM

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Aug 23 2018, 04:10 PM)
Ok then buy lor!  laugh.gif  Hopefully that 328i can help drive you to achieve saving rm15k per month consistently.  icon_rolleyes.gif 

Btw I'm in the same industry as you for 20yrs now (but not Basis) so I know how your main job is. I might get to know you someday coz SAP is a small world. If I meet a young Basis guy with a shinny 328i then it's probably you. Careful though, many Basis roles are outsourced to India already while in S/4HANA SAP Cloud, Basis is not needed anymore.
It's okay. Because my goal is not to survive with my main job. Thanks for your advise senior. Good luck to you as well.
TSStanleySAPBasis
post Aug 23 2018, 04:31 PM

QUOTE(Muscabee @ Aug 23 2018, 03:19 PM)
this is like the same old case when a dude managed to save up 1 million to buy a lamborghini then realize that the cost of servicing, spare parts, insurance, etc is wayy more than whats he capable of. Dear TS, u want to buy a used car.. and u r just 24 years old, there are still more commitment in life.. u surely dont want to waste most of ur income for car... lol
Yes true. But if I don't do it when I'm young, and capable to seek for more money, then I might missed this in my life.

Slowly having more commitments, and probably will not have a chance to get these experience.
TSStanleySAPBasis
post Aug 23 2018, 04:34 PM

QUOTE(mushigen @ Aug 23 2018, 04:09 PM)
You can definitely afford it. It's just a matter of prioritizing your money - instant gratification or delayed gratification (savings for old age).

Only you will know, when you are 60 years old, whether you will regret spending a chunk of money on the BMW, or regret not buying the BMW because "we only live once".
I believe nowadays everyone is having more than 1 income source. So by the day when I'm 60, I believe I won't be only relying on my own saving. I'm not a lazy guy. =)

Thanks for the concern anyway. =)
TSStanleySAPBasis
post Aug 23 2018, 04:39 PM

QUOTE(kingz113 @ Aug 23 2018, 03:29 PM)
You sound like a smart kid. If your figures are true, and you keep expanding your skillsets while more or less maintaining your lifestyle, the money will flood in.

the bang factor is alot larger driving a nice car when you are in your 20s, compared to when you are 30 or above. Not to mention the tonnes of commitments when you are older and more concerned with the car's practicality (family) than fun-ness of the car.

You can always sell the car when you get bored of it. Yes you'll lose money but the respect and turned heads will more than make up for those money. I've had my fair share of throwing stupid money at stupid things, do not regret a single part of it, and like i say, if you are good at what you do, these money will eventually seem like chump change.
I'm just a hard work boy same as the other. Yes the figure is true, but I can't guaranteed that this can last for 7 years (Thanks god if it does).

Regarding to the commitments, that is the purpose I'm posting this to get to know a rough idea of the cost that I need to commit soon, so that I could plan.

I'm ready to lose the money, I don't smoke and drink much, so that's the only thing that I'll need to spend. We earn to cover the lose, that's the game.

No lose, no motivation. That's my theory la XD..

Thanks for your advise ya.
TSStanleySAPBasis
post Aug 23 2018, 04:42 PM

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Aug 23 2018, 02:29 PM)
Driving a 5 years old 328i M-Sport over 100k km. Never give me any problems so far. Even the battery also haven't change.
The tyre is going to be expensive. Especially the rear one. I think it I paid around Rm1.5k per piece. Brake pad and brake disc cost around 1.5k per pair. You just have to pray the adaptive suspension don't spoil.
The engine air intake is quite low. If your car suck in water cost around RM30k to repair. Many F30 suffer from this. So drive slow during haeavy rain.
Ah great. This is what I'm looking for. The user experience. Thank you bro.
mushigen
post Aug 23 2018, 04:48 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(StanleySAPBasis @ Aug 23 2018, 04:34 PM)
I believe nowadays everyone is having more than 1 income source. So by the day when I'm 60, I believe I won't be only relying on my own saving. I'm not a lazy guy. =)

Thanks for the concern anyway. =)
Nah, I have no concern for you as it's your life.

Actually I don't know why you opened this thread if you only want to hear supporting opinion.
ayamxxx
post Aug 23 2018, 04:51 PM

4,066 posts

Since ts is buying a used unit, the most parts that need to be replace n pricey is the steering column. Not sure why it only happen at Germany car and not sure how much for 328i.

Please hope that the idrive notification dont blink2 any service /part notification if not u will stress out. Sometimes it just a false alarm
TSStanleySAPBasis
post Aug 23 2018, 04:51 PM

QUOTE(mushigen @ Aug 23 2018, 04:48 PM)
Nah, I have no concern for you as it's your life.

Actually I don't know why you opened this thread if you only want to hear supporting opinion.
These are the questions.

1. How much would I lost from buying this after I sell it off after 5 years.

2. How much would cost me to maintain? (installment + maintenance)

3. Is it really that bad to buy a German continental car (used car) because I've seen so many bad review on it.

corad
post Aug 23 2018, 04:52 PM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

QUOTE(StanleySAPBasis @ Aug 23 2018, 12:17 PM)

My concerns:

1. How much would I lost from buying this after I sell it off after 5 years.

2. How much would cost me to maintain? (installment + maintenance)

3. Is it really that bad to buy a German continental car (used car) because I've seen so many bad review on it.

PLEASE TO ALL SIFU TO GIVE ME A PROPER ADVISE....
1. Look at 3's that are 5 years older on mudah/oto and you'll get the idea. Once a new model comes out they plummet.
2. Local BMW's have 5 year warranty, so hopefully the one you're eyeing was well maintained. Depends how it's been / being driven, RM250/month just for maintenance would be a safe budget for a normal driver
3. They're way less forgiving than Jap/local cars ... so if you see any warning lights get it taken care of asap.
ayamxxx
post Aug 23 2018, 04:52 PM

4,066 posts

Since ts is buying a used unit, the most parts that need to be replace n pricey is the steering column. Not sure why it only happen at Germany car and not sure how much for 328i.

Please hope that the idrive notification dont blink2 any service /part notification if not u will stress out. Sometimes it just a false alarm
TSStanleySAPBasis
post Aug 23 2018, 04:56 PM

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 23 2018, 04:51 PM)

Hi thanks for your info. May I know more about it please? Because I can't get this on google.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0332sec    1.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:08 AM