423 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V34, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

tolorati
post Aug 17 2018, 07:53 PM

596 posts

I’ve checked tm’s website, my fiberhome model is 100mbps only. But I also did change to a newer cat5e cable. Still 100mbps. So most likely upgrade will be late la. 😭
lol4291
post Aug 17 2018, 08:35 PM

550 posts

I have a question regarding the recent turbo upgrade and the packages displayed on the site. Is it turbo upgrade only for customers already subscribed to a plan or eventually everyone [newer subscribers] be entitled to the same thing?

If everyone will eventually use 100/300/800 Mbps, so the unifi packages will change, right?
killdavid
post Aug 17 2018, 08:37 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,633 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Aug 17 2018, 05:33 PM)
killdavid better check your Unifi Care page,
if your package is the same as before (50Mbps?) then congrats!

if 'someone' downgraded your package - well, that's a story for another day..
High rise building, not eligable for upgrade.Thats most likely the reason. 30mbps is more than enough for me. Thanks to PH for saving me RM 50 per month. Never expect TM would reduce our bill charges. Give them another point for election promise fulfilled
soultaker
post Aug 17 2018, 08:38 PM

1,323 posts

IINM, new subscriber will only get the speed upgrade next year.
5p3ak
post Aug 17 2018, 09:17 PM

CPE, FIG Certified Gymnastics Coach
5,648 posts

Question, will Unifi Edu pack subscribers get upgraded too? unsure.gif
janson_kaniaz
post Aug 17 2018, 09:20 PM

6,955 posts

Anyone from BU got upgraded?
xperiaVuser
post Aug 17 2018, 09:25 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Aug 17 2018, 02:09 PM)
Not sure, should be C1.
Then it should be better than the dir-850l right? although it's still a 2 stream mimo.

I've read somewhere that a 3x3 mimo ap can still provide benefits to 1x1 or 2x2 clients.

The first improvement occurs on the AP side through a technique called Space Time Block Coding.  Since the 3 x 3 AP knows that it is only transmitting to a 1×1 client, it uses the leftover antenna chains to break up and transmit blocks of data to ensure that the client device can reconstruct the original signal even if parts of some streams get lost during transmission.

The second improvement occurs at the AP end. Even though a 1×1 client can only send 1 stream, that single stream bounces off walls, furniture, and other objects to arrive at the AP’s three receiving antennas as separate signals.  The AP uses the same signal recombination algorithm (discussed earlier – called MRC) to take the signal received on each antenna chain and piece together the original data signal by combining the strongest segments from each chain.

QUOTE(mylinear @ Aug 17 2018, 03:34 PM)
See picture on post #100. It shows MU-MIMO on box.
ahh missed this post, thanks for pointing it out.

This post has been edited by xperiaVuser: Aug 17 2018, 09:29 PM
zerorating
post Aug 17 2018, 09:26 PM

Miskin Adab
970 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Aug 17 2018, 03:48 PM)
Its almost confirmed tm will use G.fast to accelerate SUBB rollout. Source: http://www.tmrnd.com.my/research-themes/access-technologies
To verify and validate the high speed digital subscriber line (VDSL2) performance at Sub-Urban Broadband (SUBB) areas and explores VDSL vectoring and gigabyte fast access to the subscriber terminal based on copper cable characteristics and network study. Gigabyte fast access sounds like G.fast to me..
in my opinion implementing g.fast is a bad investment, you can only get very high bandwidth at very short loop, it is unlikely for TM to install DSL Distribution Point Unit on every(or two) apartment floor. it doesnt bring speed benefit as well for >350m loop.

JohnLai
post Aug 17 2018, 09:32 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Aug 17 2018, 09:26 PM)
in my opinion implementing g.fast is a bad investment, you can only get very high bandwidth at very short loop, it is unlikely for TM to install DSL Distribution Point Unit on every(or two) apartment floor. it doesnt bring speed benefit as well for >350m loop.

In my opinion, implementing g.fast is a 'great' investment. Those 'suppliers' gonna love it when TM orders 'new' DSL equipments from them. The purpose = kena jaga periuk nasi orang tengah. Tahu-tahu je lah
. whistling.gif
silrave
post Aug 17 2018, 10:10 PM

5,893 posts

i ask the unifi helpdesk
useless
all say dunno when will upgrade the package
Doraku
post Aug 17 2018, 10:12 PM

Old threads digger
1,155 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Aug 17 2018, 06:38 PM)
from previous thread where my issue not yet solve
port forwarding already set up which have been assign specific ip address to the equipment however i still not able to get the port open whenever i tested it still show connection time out, port close etc

call up tm they not able to help me on the issue either
Try plug your computer directly to BTU then connect using windows built in PPPOE client,and check is port open or not hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Doraku: Aug 17 2018, 10:17 PM
AVFAN
post Aug 17 2018, 10:12 PM

24,448 posts

it's wrenching to read... after so many pages and post aug15...

not even sure if ANYONE got turbo-ed for real!! laugh.gif

all this anxiety, expectations, hope, faith.... all looks like evaporating.

seriously... has TM said everything is in order, anyime now?

or it has said suspended, forget the whole turbo myth?

or zipped mouth, nothing... see no evil, talk no evil?!!
Doraku
post Aug 17 2018, 10:33 PM

Old threads digger
1,155 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Aug 17 2018, 03:34 PM)
Meh too many trashtalk on the picture
kwss
post Aug 17 2018, 10:52 PM

1,207 posts

Hi all,
I am not so sure if TM really can give 10x speed upgrade right now.
As I understand it, GPON is shared bandwidth. Meaning the 2.5Gbps down / 1.25Gbps up is per port on the OLT. If there are 32 ONU connected to the one OLT port, all 32 ONU will share the 2.5Gbps down / 1.25Gbps up.
Furthermore, GPON is TDM based so each ONU is allocated a fixed transmit / receive time slot. Eg: If everyone on the OLT port is upgraded to 300mbps, the splitter for that port can only connect a maximum of 8 ONU (I am not factoring IPTV / VOIP / TR069 yet)

In my understanding, to mass upgrade everyone to turbo speed, TM need to rollout NG-PON2. Since the wavelength of GPON and NG-PON2 is different (meaning they can co-exist but not compatible), TM need to give everyone a new ONU, regardless of your ONU has gigabit port or not

I really don't think TM will buy more OLT and convert their PtMP PON infrastructure into a PtP PON

This post has been edited by kwss: Aug 17 2018, 10:53 PM
JohnLai
post Aug 17 2018, 10:58 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Aug 17 2018, 10:52 PM)
Hi all,
I am not so sure if TM really can give 10x speed upgrade right now.
As I understand it, GPON is shared bandwidth. Meaning the 2.5Gbps down / 1.25Gbps up is per port on the OLT. If there are 32 ONU connected to the one OLT port, all 32 ONU will share the 2.5Gbps down / 1.25Gbps up.
Furthermore, GPON is TDM based so each ONU is allocated a fixed transmit / receive time slot. Eg: If everyone on the OLT port is upgraded to 300mbps, the splitter for that port can only connect a maximum of 8 ONU (I am not factoring IPTV / VOIP / TR069 yet)

In my understanding, to mass upgrade everyone to turbo speed, TM need to rollout NG-PON2. Since the wavelength of GPON and NG-PON2 is different (meaning they can co-exist but not compatible), TM need to give everyone a new ONU, regardless of your ONU has gigabit port or not

I really don't think TM will buy more OLT and convert their PtMP PON infrastructure into a PtP PON
Not everyone in the same OLT port will use max 800Mbps etc sustained on a daily basis. sweat.gif
NyOx
post Aug 17 2018, 11:04 PM

585 posts

anyone can access tm web portal? https://unifi.com.my/unifi-en/index.page
richard1226
post Aug 17 2018, 11:07 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(NyOx @ Aug 17 2018, 11:04 PM)
anyone can access tm web portal? https://unifi.com.my/unifi-en/index.page
can't login, probably server overload, database mainty or well, could be anything......
NyOx
post Aug 17 2018, 11:07 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(richard1226 @ Aug 18 2018, 12:07 AM)
can't login, probably server overload, database mainty or well, could be anything......
ahhh not me alone. i was thought issues from my end. thanks for confirmation!!
kwss
post Aug 17 2018, 11:25 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Aug 17 2018, 10:58 PM)
Not everyone in the same OLT port will use max 800Mbps etc sustained on a daily basis. sweat.gif
I understand that. However it is TDM based so in GPON Line Profile, each ONU will end up having a time slot that is so small it limit throughput for each ONU even though the fiber is not utilized.

For PON infrastructure, concurrent transmission is not possible because all ONU in the same splitter (OLT port) transmit on the same wavelength, causing frame corruption, hence the TDM design where everyone wait for their configured time slot
poh880
post Aug 17 2018, 11:35 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Aug 17 2018, 11:25 PM)
I understand that. However it is TDM based so in GPON Line Profile, each ONU will end up having a time slot that is so small it limit throughput for each ONU even though the fiber is not utilized.

For PON infrastructure, concurrent transmission is not possible because all ONU in the same splitter (OLT port) transmit on the same wavelength, causing frame corruption, hence the TDM design where everyone wait for their configured time slot
This has been happening since day 1, so? It happened to be so fast, no big issue for home users anyway.

423 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0334sec    1.05    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:01 AM