Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V34, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

zerorating
post Aug 17 2018, 09:26 PM

Miskin Adab
970 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Aug 17 2018, 03:48 PM)
Its almost confirmed tm will use G.fast to accelerate SUBB rollout. Source: http://www.tmrnd.com.my/research-themes/access-technologies
To verify and validate the high speed digital subscriber line (VDSL2) performance at Sub-Urban Broadband (SUBB) areas and explores VDSL vectoring and gigabyte fast access to the subscriber terminal based on copper cable characteristics and network study. Gigabyte fast access sounds like G.fast to me..
in my opinion implementing g.fast is a bad investment, you can only get very high bandwidth at very short loop, it is unlikely for TM to install DSL Distribution Point Unit on every(or two) apartment floor. it doesnt bring speed benefit as well for >350m loop.

zerorating
post Aug 18 2018, 01:06 AM

Miskin Adab
970 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Aug 18 2018, 12:42 AM)
Maybe they using gfast for building basement to deliver turbo over copper, then can use the old vdsl dslams for subb deployment??
possible, but it is still very hard for them to provide 300mbps to alot of customer since alot of vdsl2 users cant even get proper 50mbps connection.
zerorating
post Aug 18 2018, 01:30 AM

Miskin Adab
970 posts

QUOTE(newbienew @ Aug 18 2018, 01:25 AM)
You have any idea the Fibre cable given by TM. Is on single mode or multi-mode? What will be data rate
We can't take Australia as an example, their country is far more bigger than Europe you know. Inject Fibre to a population which is less than Malaysia. Can you imagine the investment return
of course it is single mode, multi-mode could not exceed 1.2km for gigabit connection.
zerorating
post Aug 18 2018, 01:34 AM

Miskin Adab
970 posts

QUOTE(newbienew @ Aug 18 2018, 01:12 AM)
For them to provide 300mbps and above. Most household is on ONU with a fibre patch cord. VDSL2 is unlikely to happen mate
we are talking about g.fast, whoever saying 300mbps on vdsl2 is possible probably ignorance or cant accept the truth.
zerorating
post Aug 18 2018, 01:43 AM

Miskin Adab
970 posts

QUOTE(newbienew @ Aug 18 2018, 01:36 AM)
Since you claim is a single mode. Can I conclude that, from the pole outside my box to my home ONU. It's less than 100 meter away, the speed transmission is up to 10 Gbps

Typical transmission speed and distance limits are
- 100 Mbit/s for distances up to 2 km (100BASE-FX),
- 1 Gbit/s up to 1000 m,
- and 10 Gbit/s up to 550 m.
first of all, you should not take the distance between those GPON box/fiber splitter and your ONT, the actual distance is from OLT (Optical Line Terminal) and your ONT, Splitting fibers also contribute to optical loss as well, meaning losses of potential bandwidth.
second,TM is using the older standard of GPON, it can only goes as high as 2.5Gbps (which this is shared among others user)
zerorating
post Aug 18 2018, 01:51 AM

Miskin Adab
970 posts

QUOTE(newbienew @ Aug 18 2018, 01:48 AM)
I understand each OLT generally planted close to the are we living in. Still <1000 meter to the fibre splitter.

Appreciate some insider expert be able to check and reveal, if TM looking to upgrade their GPON?
if they are going to upgrade to 10-GPON, they need to upgrade their OLT as well as all costumer equipment, we can safely said they will not upgrade anytime soon. biggrin.gif
zerorating
post Aug 18 2018, 02:04 AM

Miskin Adab
970 posts

QUOTE(newbienew @ Aug 18 2018, 01:54 AM)
Their staff answered like a robot.
- The implementation by stages. Rollout 1st phases starting August 2018 until December 2018. Phases 2 started 2019
-  We are now rolling out our turbo upgrades as pilot phase first to selected existing unifi customers to the new high speeds of 100 Mbps, 300 Mbps, 500 Mbps and 800 Mbps. We will keep you updated once this pilot phase is completed and when we are ready to roll out to our existing customers nationwide. The eligible customer will be contacted via phone call and SMS upon the confirmation of appointment for the free speed upgrade.
- We cannot check our microsite, and our intranet is down since 18th July.

Put Malaysia to shame. Boo on YOU

- If you case go to their director, means very serious mate
- I deal with most their managers previously. Very poor knowledge, should send them for more training. I think they seriously need to appointment foreign skill workers to guide them on this
Can you describe further. By upgrading their OLT, what are the impact to existing ONT/ONU?
simple, it cant work. Your ONT are not sensitive enough to receive light running at 10GHz frequency.

but im not sure if the 10-GPON ONT/OLT are backward compatible with older standard.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Aug 18 2018, 02:05 AM
zerorating
post Sep 5 2018, 10:40 AM

Miskin Adab
970 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Sep 5 2018, 10:34 AM)
How come Xioami Mi R3P is not listed on the first page? I thought it’s quite a decent gigabit wireless router

Xiaomi Mi R3P
i dunno why this list is important anyway, do TM provide turbo speed only on approved router only?
zerorating
post Sep 5 2018, 05:06 PM

Miskin Adab
970 posts

QUOTE(mat_7824 @ Sep 5 2018, 05:03 PM)
now eyeing for TP-Link Archer C3150. It's recommended right for 800 Mbps speed?
you also need wireless adapter that support 4x4:4 configuration too, which is kinda rare.

i only know this.
https://wikidevi.com/wiki/ASUS_PCE-AC88

This post has been edited by zerorating: Sep 5 2018, 05:08 PM
zerorating
post Sep 8 2018, 09:32 PM

Miskin Adab
970 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Sep 8 2018, 02:55 PM)
Anyone considering buying ubiquiti onu? https://www.ubnt.com/ufiber/ufiber-nano-g/
Even supports native vlan, inbuilt pppoe client and has some handy leds..
what makes it better than alcatel-lucent one other than fancy led? hmm.gif
zerorating
post Sep 9 2018, 11:47 PM

Miskin Adab
970 posts

QUOTE(ace4828 @ Sep 9 2018, 11:43 PM)
Dear All Sifu,

I am facing some problem with my wifi connection. I have split it into 2 channel 2.5 gHZ and 5.0 gHZ.

5.0 GHZ has delivered download speed at 300++ and upload speed around 120.
However, for 2.5 GHZ, download speed is stuck at 30++ but upload speed is around 90++

Is this speed rational or is there some hiccup happening here?

Router : TP Link C1200
Unifi Turbo 500 MBPS
that 5.0ghz speed is normal for a 2x2 setup router, but that 2.4ghz are not normal, it should be able to hit more than 50mbpd
zerorating
post Sep 10 2018, 05:48 PM

Miskin Adab
970 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Sep 10 2018, 03:48 PM)
Anyone tried openwrt on tplink c1200?
Edit: Apparently the stock firmware is a modified version of openwrt.
broadcom devices are likely not to be supported by openwrt since their drivers are not open source or not included in limux kernel. Get something like qualcomm atheros or mediatek for openwrt (although both cant be compared with broadcom best chipset)
zerorating
post Sep 12 2018, 12:11 AM

Miskin Adab
970 posts

QUOTE(ace4828 @ Sep 11 2018, 10:52 PM)
Yah. dats why. i dont expect to get same as 5.0GHZ, but the speed is like 200 mbps difference.
I also not sure why it is like this
that much different are still expected, with 2.4GHz. there are much more devices that utilizing those frequency causing interference and dont forget wifi overlapping channel. Also wireless AC utilize 80 and 160 MHz bandwidth which is alot bigger than wireless N common 20mhz bandwidth (it is not recommended to use 40mhz because it is going to affect other people network significantly)

This post has been edited by zerorating: Sep 12 2018, 12:12 AM

0.0282sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:57 PM