Item being held by Kastam! What to do?

TSC0deXeus
post Jul 25 2018, 05:13 PM, updated 4y ago

136 posts

My parcel from Japan arrived at Malaysia yesterday and now being held by customs. I called +603-87773680 and they confirmed it. Item location currently at KLIA Sepang and I appointed Pos Malaysia as the middleman. This is the first time I kena such case so I don't know how to solve. They said I have to attend Pos Malaysia cawangan LCCT Lama to do clearance and I really don't understand how I should work it out.
yeeck
post Jul 25 2018, 05:16 PM

3,571 posts

What did you order?
TSC0deXeus
post Jul 25 2018, 05:16 PM

136 posts

Amplifier
edan1979
post Jul 25 2018, 05:19 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,510 posts

sure kena tax. go to the said post office and bring money to pay the extra fee you need to bear.
nebula87
post Jul 25 2018, 05:21 PM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

Should need you to buy SIRIM sticker or something..
^pomen_GTR^
post Jul 25 2018, 05:24 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(C0deXeus @ Jul 25 2018, 05:13 PM)
My parcel from Japan arrived at Malaysia yesterday and now being held by customs. I called +603-87773680  and they confirmed it. Item location currently at KLIA Sepang and I appointed Pos Malaysia as the middleman. This is the first time I kena such case so I don't know how to solve. They said I have to attend Pos Malaysia cawangan LCCT Lama to do clearance and I really don't understand how I should work it out.
bring money and go to pos malaysia LCCT to pay for the tax la...

clearly said lagi mau tanya meh?
TSC0deXeus
post Jul 25 2018, 05:25 PM

136 posts

Ok. So now I go to the post office only I know the tax?

This post has been edited by C0deXeus: Jul 25 2018, 05:26 PM
skloda
post Jul 25 2018, 05:27 PM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

need to pay duties .

item cost more than RM500 rite ?
TSC0deXeus
post Jul 25 2018, 05:28 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(^pomen_GTR^ @ Jul 25 2018, 05:24 PM)
Then what are the documents I need to bring along?
TSC0deXeus
post Jul 25 2018, 05:29 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(skloda @ Jul 25 2018, 05:27 PM)
need to pay duties .

Cost around 1.2K. Usually no problem but Japanese seller to honest...
skloda
post Jul 25 2018, 05:33 PM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

QUOTE(C0deXeus @ Jul 25 2018, 05:29 PM)
Cost around 1.2K. Usually no problem but Japanese seller to honest...
yes , too honest then need to pay honest duties . hahahaha

wait for poslaju kastam call , they will let u know the amount for clearance ... usually take few working days stated in the form ....

^pomen_GTR^
post Jul 25 2018, 05:34 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(C0deXeus @ Jul 25 2018, 05:28 PM)
Then what are the documents I need to bring along?
your invoice from seller...and proof of your identification so they can verify the item is really yours
TSC0deXeus
post Jul 25 2018, 06:00 PM

136 posts

I emailed to pmk.cscustomsupervisor@pos.com.my I think now they're processing my duty.
Red_rustyjelly
post Jul 25 2018, 06:05 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Jul 25 2018, 05:21 PM)
Should need you to buy SIRIM sticker or something..
is not called just SIRIM Sticker. dont mislead.

If custom officer enquire for electrical specification registration, TS is pretty much in more trouble acquiring the MSDS, technical and electrical spec from manufacturer and register it before getting clearance note. the process will take weeks to months.

TS case as he describe is probably the Duty fees required to pay.
TheEvilMan
post Jul 26 2018, 08:21 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

i was about to order something 1.6k off the net from Japan, but scrap the idea since i knew it will be a hassle to drive all the way to LCCT just to get it release. However does services like DHL or FeDex help to pay and release item in case the custom did held it up?
nebula87
post Jul 26 2018, 08:23 AM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Jul 25 2018, 06:05 PM)
is not called just SIRIM Sticker. dont mislead.

If custom officer enquire for electrical specification registration, TS is pretty much in more trouble acquiring the MSDS, technical and electrical spec from manufacturer and register it before getting clearance note. the process will take weeks to months.

TS case as he describe is probably the Duty fees required to pay.
Sorry about that. nod.gif
TheEvilMan
post Jul 26 2018, 08:28 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(skloda @ Jul 25 2018, 05:27 PM)
need to pay duties .

after so many years still limit to RM500 when digital shopping era is beginning to shape,
meanwhile our currency dropping, inflation rate up, RM500 really seems pointless, even buying a normal sportshoe would cost more than that with shipping.
matkoi
post Jul 26 2018, 08:30 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Jul 26 2018, 08:21 AM)
i was about to order something 1.6k off the net from Japan, but scrap the idea since i knew it will be a hassle to drive all the way to LCCT just to get it release.  However does services like DHL or FeDex help to pay and release item in case the custom did held it up?
Normally they can helped you clear any held item by customs, but you have to pay the forwarder first the tax incurred and their service charges before they'll help with the release.
TheEvilMan
post Jul 26 2018, 08:31 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(matkoi @ Jul 26 2018, 08:30 AM)
Normally they can helped you clear any held item by customs, but you have  to pay the forwarder first the tax incurred and their service charges before they'll help with the release.
still quite pointless since if kena tax means the price u pay will be more than local price
i only dare to get items price between 500-700 (not electronics good) with shipment, usually these will still have chances to bypass the kastam

This post has been edited by TheEvilMan: Jul 26 2018, 08:35 AM
Zot
post Jul 26 2018, 08:46 AM

7,934 posts

This can be due to 2 main issues. The problem is one might be staying too far to go to LCCT.

1) They may need explanation on the item.
2) Need to pay tax

Most likely it is reason #1 because for #2, your agent can clear the tax. You just need to wire the money.

Since electricity in Japan is different from Malaysia, they might want you to get SIRIM QAS. If the product is being sold in Malaysia, then this might not be problem because someone has submit for approval before. However, if this is something new, then they may require you to submit the sample to SIRIM for testing. I think electrical/electronic product is not a problem because the product sure has met standard like UL and also CE. SIRIM might not need to do testing at all.

Maybe custom need owner to be there so that you can open the box contents in front of them to explain everything. All these exercise usually random and probably not your lucky day.
Zot
post Jul 26 2018, 08:49 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(ibrahim @ Jul 26 2018, 01:52 AM)
bought a drone from Hong Kong last month. DHL sangkut at KLIA. hire forwarder to clear it out but failed. stupid forwarder dunno how to get SIRIM letter. manage to get it after few phone call here and there. email back to custom. clear without any extra charges.
The agent need to be knowledgeable to give proper explanation to custom or SIRIM. If not, a problem like this will happen. smile.gif
smsseah5
post Jul 26 2018, 08:52 AM

117 posts

actually most of the guys here might mistaken on the rm500 value..
myself is a custom agent and i was surprised to know that the limit is 400 when i first time went to the course.
so it is not 500, 500 only applicable to stuff brought out from duty free zone in malaysia.
You guys may double confirm.
TSC0deXeus
post Jul 26 2018, 03:26 PM

136 posts

I just got called from Pos Malaysia. They charge me RM345.20 for RM1.2 item. WADDAFAK. So I told them I would go to LCCT lama. Go there can negotiate with kastam officer?
nebula87
post Jul 26 2018, 03:31 PM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

QUOTE(magasel @ Jul 26 2018, 03:30 PM)
ahhh that SIRIM sticker so troublesome
Weii...I just got told not SIRIM sticker.. sad.gif
mrlonely78
post Jul 26 2018, 03:32 PM

347 posts

if you know people inside, can help get it clear. bayar some helping fees only. sorry, i cant help. i have faced similar situation before, and managed to get it clear in a week after that using insider.

better than cover the sirim sticker process etc.

TSC0deXeus
post Jul 26 2018, 11:28 PM

136 posts

The Pos Malaysia at LCCT Lama, is it referring to this address: Pos Malaysia, Jalan Klia S1, Kuala Lumpur International Airport, Sepang, Malaysia? and what is the operational hours?

How can I get there using public transport? I stay at Nilai.

This post has been edited by C0deXeus: Jul 26 2018, 11:40 PM
HeheMW P
post Aug 2 2019, 01:25 PM

Probation

Hi, I would like to ask smth related to this as well. Is more prefer to go and collect from sepang or assign pos malaysia as the agent to do declaration or assign those outside agent to do declaration? As last time I tried case like this before. My aunt send a parcel to me as a gift but inside had few bags and I choose to assign pos malaysia to do clearance for me but I need to pay rm200++ and need to go Pos Malaysia Kelana Jaya to do collection (which they mention it is the nearest big pos office), and it take around more than a week like around 2 week to settle this and get my parcel back. And now my sis’s parcel got the same issue again ? Need help here
ongty
post Dec 13 2019, 04:19 PM

The appointment fees for POS Malaysia to perform the clearance is RM50, then Custom office will calculate the tax value, you will get a notification for collection from the nearest Poslaju office and make payment prior collecting your parcel. The whole process will take about 7WD or more, the customer service advises best go to the POS International Sepang to perform the clearance and you will get your parcel on the spot.
ongty
post Dec 13 2019, 05:13 PM

There are three (3) options available for customs clearance:

i. Appoint Pos Malaysia as an agent, customer may opt for;

a. Special Delivery (SD) service

• SD RM50.00 + Handling charges RM48.00

(kindly email us the invoice -item inside the box, quantity and price/proof of payment)

b. Self-Collect at Pos Laju counter

• Handling charges RM48.00

(kindly email us the invoice -item inside the box, quantity and price/proof of payment)

ii. Self-clearance (Post Malaysia International Hub Jalan KLIA S1 64000)-next to Cargo Village).

iii. Appoint other agent for clearance.

* For self-clearance, representative kindly bring along tracking number, invoice and a copy of receiver's passport or identification card and company's seal

*Charges quote excluding OGA, extra K1, Tax & Customs Tax/SST
hft
post Dec 13 2019, 05:15 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(C0deXeus @ Jul 25 2018, 05:13 PM)
My parcel from Japan arrived at Malaysia yesterday and now being held by customs. I called +603-87773680  and they confirmed it. Item location currently at KLIA Sepang and I appointed Pos Malaysia as the middleman. This is the first time I kena such case so I don't know how to solve. They said I have to attend Pos Malaysia cawangan LCCT Lama to do clearance and I really don't understand how I should work it out.
They make papers and customs will charge tax. Just pay upon arrival later. Couple days.
Nub!
post Dec 13 2019, 06:39 PM

478 posts

I usually just go to lcct2 and settle there. Paid and ciao
jasonanthony
post Dec 14 2019, 12:04 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Jul 26 2018, 08:21 AM)
i was about to order something 1.6k off the net from Japan, but scrap the idea since i knew it will be a hassle to drive all the way to LCCT just to get it release.  However does services like DHL or FeDex help to pay and release item in case the custom did held it up?
Yes . if use FEDEX or DHL , no issues . Myself ordered so many things from Japan and UK no issues at all. They settle everything and and fees involved can pay to them
andrekua2
post Dec 15 2019, 12:54 AM

13,461 posts

Sometimes depends on your luck. If officer good, can clear without paying. If officer strict, then gg. They even add normal shipping rates on top and then calculate the tax. This especially sucks if it's free shipping or seller didn't mention on invoice.

Btw, stop declaring as gift. Just under declare it. Declaring as gift is not brilliant at all. I saw many gifts related issues there.
mivec1200
post Dec 15 2019, 03:16 PM

37 posts

Hi Guys, I have bought 2 items from japan through buyee.jp.. sorry newbie here need some help.. (as per today check, it is stated in custom)..
1) car seat cover - 7k yen
2) wheel racing nuts - 9k yen
both items consolidated into one package.
i just aware that >RM500 above will kena tax.. >RM500 is meant for each item or the package total cost?
Also for item 1 & 2, is that mandatory taxable? how to find out from custom website? and what is HS code?
Appreciate if anyone can enlighten me..
Thank you!
eymc
post Dec 16 2019, 11:37 AM

852 posts

they tax you based on the invoice and the complete box. TOTAL amount inside the box not per item

example: 2 items each is rm500 = rm1000 you will be tax based on 1k. No cerita as it is separate unless you pay 2 shipping in 2 boxes ! hahahahah normally 10 percent of your total bill.

GO KLIA post office at the old air aisa airport. This is the best solution. If you hire agent will cost you more! con lan firm.

1. Register at guard with your tracking number , ic and they will give you a green form.

2. take the green form go counter 1 , at a small window, a guy will take your form and process and bring your item out.

3.Take your item to counter 2 , thats where the custom officer seats they will ask u open the box and pass over the invoice and then tell them the items and they will calculate your tax based on their " FOREVER NO CHANGE EXCHANGE RATES" lol. Then you seat and wait and they pass your document to the boss to sign and tax you when its ready they call your name and by now you know how much kena already.

3. go counter 3 pass the document at payment counter and wait they call you for payment and after pay go back to the custom table collect your stuffs and give them payment slip.

4. go back to the guard house show your item collect back your ic.

5. You are welcome!

This post has been edited by eymc: Dec 16 2019, 11:40 AM
mivec1200
post Dec 16 2019, 01:48 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(eymc @ Dec 16 2019, 11:37 AM)
they tax you based on the invoice and the complete box. TOTAL amount inside the box not per item

example: 2 items each is rm500 = rm1000 you will be tax based on 1k. No cerita as it is separate unless you pay 2 shipping in 2 boxes ! hahahahah normally 10 percent of your total bill.

GO KLIA post office at the old air aisa airport. This is the best solution. If you hire agent will cost you more! con lan firm.

1. Register at guard with your tracking number , ic and they will give you a green form.

2. take the green form go counter 1 , at a small window, a guy will take your form and process and bring your item out.

3.Take your item to counter 2 , thats where the custom officer seats they will ask u open the box and pass over the invoice and then tell them the items and they will calculate your tax based on their " FOREVER NO CHANGE EXCHANGE RATES" lol. Then you seat and wait and they pass your document to the boss to sign and tax you when its ready they call your name and by now you know how much kena already.

3. go counter 3 pass the document at payment counter and wait they call you for payment and after pay go back to the custom table collect your stuffs and give them payment slip.

4. go back to the guard house show your item collect back your ic.

5. You are welcome!
Thanks bro for your detailed information.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Very much appreciated.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
By the way, the invoices i have will show japan domestic shipping cost (as well as other services fee) and international shipping cost.. will they add up all these cost or only the international shipping cost? if add all then will be very expensive.. cry.gif

eymc
post Dec 16 2019, 05:15 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(mivec1200 @ Dec 16 2019, 01:48 PM)
Thanks bro for your detailed information..  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Very much appreciated..  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
By the way, the invoices i have will show japan domestic shipping cost (as well as other services fee) and international shipping cost.. will they add up all these cost or only the international shipping cost? if add all then will be very expensive..  cry.gif
PM me
chloetsl
post May 7 2020, 02:28 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(HeheMW @ Aug 2 2019, 02:25 PM)
Hi, I would like to ask smth related to this as well. Is more prefer to go and collect from sepang or assign pos malaysia as the agent to do declaration or assign those outside agent to do declaration?  As last time I tried case like this before. My aunt send a parcel to me as a gift but inside had few bags and I choose to assign pos malaysia to do clearance for me but I need to pay rm200++ and need to go Pos Malaysia Kelana Jaya to do collection (which they mention it is the nearest big pos office), and it take around more than a week like around 2 week to settle this and get my parcel back. And now my sis’s parcel got the same issue again ? Need help here
Hi, wanna ask, did they open your package??
I heard Pos Malaysia is the cheapest.

This post has been edited by chloetsl: May 7 2020, 02:30 PM
boonwuilow
post May 7 2020, 02:45 PM

Diesel rocks
3,834 posts

2 time my items kena stuck, but i evaded tax by telling them these are faulty item, but in the end all the items are working condition.
chloetsl
post May 7 2020, 08:24 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ May 7 2020, 03:45 PM)
2 time my items kena stuck, but i evaded tax by telling them these are faulty item, but in the end all the items are working condition.
Like that also can? They din open? U told them on the phone or u went over there?
boonwuilow
post May 7 2020, 10:09 PM

Diesel rocks
3,834 posts

QUOTE(chloetsl @ May 7 2020, 08:24 PM)
Like that also can? They din open? U told them on the phone or u went over there?
I went there to self collect. Yeah i open in front of them, i just told them this one no display, this one got display but not stable, this one no audio, this one ram no detect... I just wanted it for spare parts. Then immediately put a duty free chop on the paper, and i m clear to go scot free.
chloetsl
post May 7 2020, 10:48 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ May 7 2020, 11:09 PM)
I went there to self collect. Yeah i open in front of them, i just told them this one no display, this one got display but not stable, this one no audio, this one ram no detect... I just wanted it for spare parts. Then immediately put a duty free chop on the paper, and i m clear to go scot free.
Oh I see~ Haha
Ewww!
post May 8 2020, 06:40 AM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ May 7 2020, 10:09 PM)
Bijak-bijak. Now you're my idol. Lol!

This post has been edited by Ewww!: May 8 2020, 06:40 AM
supaztyler
post Nov 4 2020, 11:01 AM

128 posts

hi guys, just wanna ask if i only have the tracking number from my sender, is it useable to claim the item there or they will reissue a new number once item enters malaysia? there is no update on my parcel since item reached customs 9 12 days ago. i didnt receive any call/letter from pos/customs
HuggyBuggy
post Nov 29 2020, 11:36 AM

Hi guys, i have my parcel coming in from Sg to MY (Pen) but idk why kastam it's being held at for several days it's just been updated as being held by kastam and no location stated, how do i go about confirming how i can collect my parcel which costs more than rm1k? I can't find the declaration form k1 to download too. Someone help me pls and tq~ rclxub.gif
xianw
post Nov 29 2020, 02:50 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(HuggyBuggy @ Nov 29 2020, 11:36 AM)
Hi guys, i have my parcel coming in from Sg to MY (Pen) but idk why kastam it's being held at for several days it's just been updated as being held by kastam and no location stated, how
Normally custom would send a letter to the recipient of the parcel notifying that the parcel has been held. Cannot be certain if its been held or it's delayed bcos backlog.
You can try calling the Customs /Poslaju at Juru. Jln Perindustrian Bukit Minyak 18.
But they don't pick up one.
Tongkat Ali
post Dec 13 2020, 02:10 PM

52 posts

Kalau barang percuma hadiah dari discord US, barang hoodies, kena bayar jugak ke custom tax?
kcchong2000
post Dec 13 2020, 02:23 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(^pomen_GTR^ @ Jul 25 2018, 05:24 PM)
This. Kena tahan normally tak pass clearance, so kena bayar lor.
sunghajung11
post Jun 18 2021, 04:24 PM

37 posts

Hi guys... I ordered a bike and it is shipped from Holland via EMS and should reach here in a few weeks time.
As far as i understand, EMS delivery will be by Pos Malaysia.
By right it is under racing bike and shouldn't be taxed. But Customs might think otherwise and claim it is under "other bike" category and will subject to 15% tax.
So since now it is FMCO and I believe it will still be when my parcel arrives... I'm sort of sure it will be detained
will I be able to go customs during these period to explain? Will Pos Malaysia help clear the item without taxed?

Thanks in advance
TSC0deXeus
post May 25 2022, 10:42 PM

136 posts

This thread is 4 years old. Guess what?

My parcel from Japan got detained.

Ah shit, here we go again...Gonna visit LCCT Lama. Hope things are still the same as the last time I went there.

john123x
post May 25 2022, 10:50 PM

3,019 posts

is it so rare that you cant get it from Shopee?

RoofTopPrince
post Jun 14 2022, 06:06 PM

As long as you have the memories, you can be with that person fo
593 posts

QUOTE(C0deXeus @ May 25 2022, 10:42 PM)
This thread is 4 years old. Guess what?

My parcel from Japan got detained.

Ah shit, here we go again...Gonna visit LCCT Lama. Hope things are still the same as the last time I went there.
Hey bro, i gonna go there also... Mind to give me the details?
TSC0deXeus
post Jun 14 2022, 06:20 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(RoofTopPrince @ Jun 14 2022, 06:06 PM)
Hey bro, i gonna go there also... Mind to give me the details?
I ended up appointing Pos Malaysia as agent as the amount was around RM90. Not worth to go LCCT Lama. Suggest you check with kastam directly. My info ald outdated.
RoofTopPrince
post Jun 14 2022, 06:22 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(C0deXeus @ Jun 14 2022, 06:20 PM)
I ended up appointing Pos Malaysia as agent as the amount was around RM90. Not worth to go LCCT Lama. Suggest you check with kastam directly. My info ald outdated.
I see, cause my item cost around rm489.90 + rm150.10 shipping..m Wonder how much they charge for OEM motorcycle parts.
RoofTopPrince
post Jun 14 2022, 06:23 PM

593 posts

edit

This post has been edited by RoofTopPrince: Jun 14 2022, 06:24 PM
h@ksam
post Jun 14 2022, 07:45 PM

@ is a
3,460 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Jul 26 2018, 08:28 AM)
after so many years still limit to RM500 when digital shopping era is beginning to shape,
meanwhile our currency dropping, inflation rate up, RM500 really seems pointless, even buying a normal sportshoe would cost more than that with shipping.
yeap, full of shit as usual.

everything sudah inflation, but the threshold still same 20 years later.
sokei
post Jul 1 2022, 03:43 PM

19 posts

I have one parcel from Japan as well via EMS. Got detained from what I saw from the tracking.

So far, no one calling me and I am not sure how to reach them to ask about the process.

The support chat is not responding, and call the EMS Pos Malaysia, forever ringing.
squall_12
post Jul 1 2022, 04:44 PM

1,779 posts

QUOTE(sokei @ Jul 1 2022, 03:43 PM)
I have one parcel from Japan as well via EMS. Got detained from what I saw from the tracking.

So far, no one calling me and I am not sure how to reach them to ask about the process.

The support chat is not responding, and call the EMS Pos Malaysia, forever ringing.
u should be receiving mail from poslaju soon asking u to go kastam paid or ask poslaju to settle the issue for a fee.
sokei
post Jul 1 2022, 07:09 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Jul 1 2022, 05:44 PM)
u should be receiving mail from poslaju soon asking u to go kastam paid or ask poslaju to settle the issue for a fee.
Thanks bro. You are right about it. I received a SMS saying need custom clearance and required to contact POS MY.
squall_12
post Jul 1 2022, 07:33 PM

1,779 posts

QUOTE(sokei @ Jul 1 2022, 07:09 PM)
Thanks bro. You are right about it. I received a SMS saying need custom clearance and required to contact POS MY.
no problem hope u can settle soon and get your item.
sokei
post Jul 7 2022, 04:32 PM

19 posts

Edited.

This post has been edited by sokei: Jul 7 2022, 04:33 PM
sokei
post Jul 7 2022, 04:32 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Jul 1 2022, 08:33 PM)
no problem hope u can settle soon and get your item.
Thanks again bro.

Finally I have collected my item. First time experiencing this with POS MY. I used DHL before and what I can say is DHL has much more proper system in place and faster turn around time. Everything is automated with notification of paying tax duty.

As for EMS-MY POS. I need to contact askpos to declare invoice/ agree with the charges. Then decide whether to pickup myself at Sepang or nearest hub. And wait and wait to be informed to collect at the hub.

Just don't find it quite worth it to top up another Rm50 for special delivery to your doorsteps while I have been charged Rm48 for handling charges already.

For DHL, my experience is duty tax + handling charges, that's all. Straight send to your doorstep. And it is fast!
squall_12
post Jul 7 2022, 04:38 PM

1,779 posts

QUOTE(sokei @ Jul 7 2022, 04:32 PM)
Thanks again bro.

Finally I have collected my item. First time experiencing this with POS MY. I used DHL before and what I can say is DHL has much more proper system in place and faster turn around time. Everything is automated with notification of paying tax duty.

As for EMS-MY POS. I need to contact askpos to declare invoice/ agree with the charges. Then decide whether to pickup myself at Sepang or nearest hub. And wait and wait to be informed to collect at the hub.

Just don't find it quite worth it to top up another Rm50 for special delivery to your doorsteps while I have been charged Rm48 for handling charges already.

For DHL, my experience is duty tax + handling charges, that's all. Straight send to your doorstep. And it is fast!
good to have your item safely. icon_rolleyes.gif
il0ve51
post Jul 7 2022, 04:43 PM

1,054 posts

if got usb hole need go get sirim from shah alam. in sirim they need full spec of the goods pay few some fee and then got that only can release. alternatively if you ask to go in small room, just give "good gesture" to kopi lover to release.
leftycall9
post Jul 7 2022, 07:37 PM

Left of leftist
1,046 posts

QUOTE(supaztyler @ Nov 4 2020, 11:01 AM)
hi guys, just wanna ask if i only have the tracking number from my sender, is it useable to claim the item there or they will reissue a new number once item enters malaysia? there is no update on my parcel since item reached customs 9 12 days ago. i didnt receive any call/letter from pos/customs
What courier did the sender use? What item did you purchase?
sokei
post Jul 7 2022, 07:46 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Jul 7 2022, 05:43 PM)
if got usb hole need go get sirim from shah alam. in sirim they need full spec of the goods pay few some fee and then got that only can release. alternatively if you ask to go in small room, just give "good gesture" to kopi lover to release.
LMAO!
ZeroHavoc
post Aug 9 2022, 09:49 PM

103 posts

Hi guys i have few question. biggrin.gif

Does kastam will ask u to open all the detained item in front of them?

They do x ray scan on every incoming parcel or not?

How does kastam pick which item to hold? Parcel size? Invoice info?

Ive only ordered from overseas once. bought an earpad replacement from brainwavz, just small parcel (from the mail looks like its shipped from sg)

Took around 1 month+ and since the tracking doesnt give full info on the whereabouts of my parcel, idk at which point did it arrive at kastam.

Now im planing to order few items which could be bigger. Im afraid it will be detained and forced to fork out more $$ to get the item on hand.
ZeroHavoc
post Aug 9 2022, 09:53 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(C0deXeus @ Jun 14 2022, 07:20 PM)
You appoint agent means, The agent open your parcel in front of the officer?

Whats the procedure here? i really want to knw.

sadly none of my friend ever berurusan with kastam, idk who to ask rclxub.gif
scorgio
post Aug 9 2022, 09:55 PM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(ZeroHavoc @ Aug 9 2022, 09:49 PM)
Hi guys i have few question.  biggrin.gif

Does kastam will ask u to open all the detained item in front of them?

They do x ray scan on every incoming parcel or not?

How does kastam pick which item to hold? Parcel size? Invoice info?
Ive only ordered from overseas once. bought an earpad replacement from brainwavz, just small parcel (from the mail looks like its shipped from sg)

Took around 1 month+ and since the tracking doesnt give full info on the whereabouts of my parcel, idk at which point did it arrive at kastam.
Now im planing to order few items which could be bigger.  Im afraid it will be detained and forced to fork out more $$ to get the item on hand.
If you're going to clear the detained goods yourself, yes, you'll need to open in front of a Customs official.

The fella will then write a note (value + tax rate), and u go pay at another counter. You may also bring a copy of the invoice to show them the price you paid.

You'll know your item got held when Pos Malaysia send you a card informing you & whether you want to appoint them as agent.
ZeroHavoc
post Aug 9 2022, 10:10 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Aug 9 2022, 10:55 PM)
If you're going to clear the detained goods yourself, yes, you'll need to open in front of a Customs official.

The fella will then write a note (value + tax rate), and u go pay at another counter. You may also bring a copy of the invoice to show them the price you paid.

You'll know your item got held when Pos Malaysia send you a card informing you & whether you want to appoint them as agent.
Meaning if it is detained and i appoint agent, i wont have to go to lcct?

Does the agent still unbox my parcel in front of the officers?

chilskater
post Aug 9 2022, 10:20 PM

1,124 posts

i order HF radio and antenna from Japan buyee got held at PosLaju Custom..filled SIRIM online declaration form, paid RM40 and 10% custom tax...few times kena and the officer kenal the face already..small items he let go, but big items he charged...fair enough..and i am licensed RA Ops
sokei
post Aug 25 2022, 03:16 PM

19 posts

I have no place to voice my frustration so I post it here. I have another order that just arrived today. But sad to say my item was held by customs for 2 days and then only released. Paid the sales tax and got it today.

To my horror, my item has been opened, played with, and put back. An officer with no dignity!

Do you guys experience as such before?

Mr.7
post Aug 25 2022, 04:03 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(sokei @ Aug 25 2022, 03:16 PM)
I have no place to voice my frustration so I post it here. I have another order that just arrived today. But sad to say my item was held by customs for 2 days and then only released. Paid the sales tax and got it today.

To my horror, my item has been opened, played with, and put back. An officer with no dignity!

Do you guys experience as such before?
Yes
Klsa
post Aug 25 2022, 04:22 PM

243 posts

go and pay the tax then u get ur item..just not sure how much u need to pay
sokei
post Aug 25 2022, 04:23 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(Mr.7 @ Aug 25 2022, 05:03 PM)
Yes
Abuse of authority. That's sick.
tadashi987
post Aug 25 2022, 11:00 PM

2,106 posts

AFAIK the kastam will call you, u need to settle the tax, then ur item will be delivered, but not sure how's the settlement process
mianghuei
post Sep 10 2022, 01:34 PM

I had 2 packages that kena tahan over the past year and 1 more need to release today, here's my experience:

Pos Malaysia(Ezipoz)

Item: Phone - Pixel 6

Duty - 0.00
Excise Tax - 0.00
Sales Tax - 84.20

0) Electronic item so need get SIRIM cert, fortunately Pos Malaysia recommended agent who could get it done and sent back via email for RM80.

1) Travel to KLIA post office (near old LCCT). Google Maps a little misleading. You're supposed to go towards end of the long road and take 3 o' clock turn at roundabout towards LCCT, got some parking space nearby.

Sidenote: The last time I was there the new Alibaba sorting facility almost done.

2) Take note of dress code (since is Customs Government office area, security guard emphasize this).

3) Fill out green form and pass them IC.

4) Head inside, go to counter 1 and pass them green form to retrieve parcel package.

5) Once get item, head to counter 2 and pass the form + SIRIM (if applicable) to custom officer. Need to open the parcel in front of officer to verify the item. If everything is ok, the officer will process the documents and call you back later to give you an invoice to pay at counter 3.

6) Go to counter 3 and pass the worker the invoice and pay. CASH ONLY. (I was lucky another guy willing to exchange cash while I send him TNG/Duitnow).

7) Go back to counter 2 once paid and get back your items and green form.

8) Show items to guard outside and pass them back the green form.

*If travel to KLIA Post Office, no RM 48 handling charge and RM 50 special delivery

DHL

DHL everything can be done by them, but the fees a bit exorbitant.

SIRIM:

Sirim processing fees (individual) - RM 20 – RM 40 per application

Sirim processing fees (Business) - As per the commodity. Quotation will be provided for approval

DHL service fees - RM 100 per application

Additional charge:

Storage Charges of RM 0.50 per kg/ day or RM 25 per shipment/ day (whichever higher) will be imposed for holding exceeding 3 working days. This charge will be subject to Service Tax 6%.

On top of that will have the standard CUSTOMS DUTIES & TAXES and DISBURSEMENT FEE (RM50).

1 good thing is you will be given a link to pay and any additional charge you can do bank transfer.

POS New option available as of Sept 2022

Going to do 1 more trip to KLIA today to release 1 more package, even though now Pos Malaysia new website allow you do pay over internet.

1)Visit https://pos.com.my

2) Click on let's chat at bottom right corner.

3) click on Customs Enquiries

4) Key in Parcel number

5) Confirm Email (for payment receipt)

6) Click Pay now to pay via Web Cash.

7) Once Payment Done, click on "Check Payment Status" back in the chat.

8) Pos Malaysia should arrange for delivery after checking.

If do self clearance, they will give you a message like below:

CODE
✔️ To proceed with self-clearance you may come to the following address by the <date kena tahan +1 month> 👇

🛣 Address: Pos Malaysia International Hub, Jalan KLIA S1, 64000 Sepang, Selangor

Business Hours:
Monday-Thursday
8.30am - 5.30pm
Friday
8:30am - 12:30pm & 2:00pm - 5:30pm
Saturday
8:30am - 4:00pm
Note: Closed on 3rd Saturday of the month, Sunday and public holiday.

⚠️ Kindly remember to bring your identity card/passport, and your item purchase receipt/invoice.

Edit:

So after going there today, adding some pointers:

1) If you don't have anything that require permit (e.g. SIRIM), you don't have to open the package in front of customs again.

2) When make payment, if you self collect, no need pay Agent Handling fee liao (remember ask them remove). OGA fee still need pay btw.

Permit agency list:

Current operating hours:

This post has been edited by mianghuei: Sep 10 2022, 11:03 PM
munchoong
post Aug 14 2024, 12:05 PM

414 posts

I kena like this today... first time in over 10 years have a parcel held by customs.

Tried to follow the instructions above, but the chatbot didn't offer payment option.

Response from PosMalaysia is "Kindly be informed that both of your item has just been detained from the Customs side and there are no reports lodge yet. It is advisable that you wait for a notice from the Customs side."
SuperTuhan
post Aug 15 2024, 10:04 PM

277 posts

I kena for first time last month
Kena tax for 8500 thai baht

Use Waze to follow to go Lcct Sepang Post Office , don’t follow 100%, follow the post like written up there in this thread

Kena rm100 tax in the end

pgsiemkia
post Aug 15 2024, 10:45 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(C0deXeus @ Jul 25 2018, 05:16 PM)
Amplifier
Pay customs and excise tax cos electrical item is taxed. Never know such things? Ingat Singapore or Langakawi where its duty free?

hksgmy
post Aug 16 2024, 01:25 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Aug 15 2024, 10:45 PM)
Pay customs and excise tax cos electrical item is taxed. Never know such things? Ingat Singapore or Langakawi where its duty free?
Singapore will collect GST. In the past, a few of my camera lenses from Japan kena tahan until GST paid.
pgsiemkia
post Aug 16 2024, 01:41 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 16 2024, 01:25 PM)
Singapore will collect GST. In the past, a few of my camera lenses from Japan kena tahan until GST paid.
Since you hold an Oz PR, can you claim that back when you leave Sg? I do the same when I buy stuff frm the UK.

hksgmy
post Aug 16 2024, 02:01 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Aug 16 2024, 01:41 PM)
Since you hold an Oz PR, can you claim that back when you leave Sg? I do the same when I buy stuff frm the UK.
No, if delivered to Sg, it is subject to GST.

If you BUY from Sg and take that away, yes, can claim smile.gif

Same with Aus - leaving, I get my GST back at airport, if item purchased is more than $300 in a single receipt
ShadowR1
post Aug 16 2024, 02:49 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

3 bimbo caliper
3 disk
steel braided hose
Some ti nut, bolts and bracket

Go there buat muka sepuluh sen tak sampai ayat baek baek.
Tax Rm50 ada receipt.
Admin fee Rm100 tada receipt.
hksgmy
post Aug 16 2024, 04:05 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Aug 16 2024, 02:49 PM)
3 bimbo caliper
3 disk
steel braided hose
Some ti nut, bolts and bracket

Go there buat muka sepuluh sen tak sampai ayat baek baek.
Tax Rm50 ada receipt.
Admin fee Rm100 tada receipt.
Siape yg bilang… rasuah budaya kito?
ShadowR1
post Aug 19 2024, 01:48 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 16 2024, 04:05 PM)
Siape yg bilang… rasuah budaya kito?
From top to bottom suma sama 2 x 5 le.
munchoong
post Sep 3 2024, 04:37 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(SuperTuhan @ Aug 15 2024, 10:04 PM)
I kena for first time last month
Kena tax for 8500 thai baht

Use Waze to follow to go Lcct Sepang Post Office , don’t follow 100%, follow the post like written up there in this thread

Kena rm100 tax in the end
I did everything online... the RM30++ fees charged by Pos Malaysia is fair so that dont have to make mistakes or trips to LCCT.
niu_niu
post Dec 21 2024, 07:13 PM

Remember to feed the cat!
580 posts

Import mirrorless camera with WiFi need sirim permit ?
Here the photo don't mention but the HS Code website checking mention need....

ShadowR1
post Dec 21 2024, 07:45 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

Yini soalan I lost count dy brape orang suda tanya dan jawap.
cakoilembutgebu
post Nov 12 2025, 05:38 PM

147 posts

Sorry for necro-ing this thread, but thank you so much for this information. My item from overseas just kena tahan and i managed to find this old thread. Made my life so much easier just paying it online and having Pos Malaysia sending it directly to my house instead of driving all the way to Sepang. Not sure why this "pay and gaodim everything online" option is not mentioned anywhere in the letter that they sent to me. Thank you notworthy.gif

QUOTE(mianghuei @ Sep 10 2022, 01:34 PM)

POS New option available as of Sept 2022

Going to do 1 more trip to KLIA today to release 1 more package, even though now Pos Malaysia new website allow you do pay over internet.

1)Visit https://pos.com.my

2) Click on let's chat at bottom right corner.

3) click on Customs Enquiries

4) Key in Parcel number

5) Confirm Email (for payment receipt)

6)  Click Pay now to pay via Web Cash.

7) Once Payment Done, click on "Check Payment Status" back in the chat.

8) Pos Malaysia should arrange for delivery after checking.

If do self clearance, they will give you a message like below:

[code]✔️ To proceed with self-clearance you may come to the following address by the <date kena tahan +1 month> 👇

🛣 Address: Pos Malaysia International Hub, Jalan KLIA S1, 64000 Sepang, Selangor

Business Hours:
Monday-Thursday
8.30am - 5.30pm
Friday
8:30am - 12:30pm & 2:00pm - 5:30pm
Saturday
8:30am - 4:00pm
Note: Closed on 3rd Saturday of the month, Sunday and public holiday.

0.0335sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:57 PM