Got my loan approved on Monday and car is ready for collection on Saturday.
CX5 2.0!
Is there anything I should check when collecting the car? Plan to change tint right after collection
Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion
Sep 6 2024, 04:26 PM
1,124 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Got my loan approved on Monday and car is ready for collection on Saturday.
CX5 2.0! Is there anything I should check when collecting the car? Plan to change tint right after collection |
Sep 6 2024, 08:55 PM
12,410 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: KL - Cardiff - Subang - Sydney |
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Sep 6 2024, 12:09 PM) I called both Sg Tiram Bermaz and Jelutong in Penang Island, both unable to prepare 2.5NA model for test drive...is it typical for them ? Considering there's so many trims and engine choices for CX5, I guess its not surprising. Most likely they will only keep the volume seller which is 2.0 as long term test drive unit. Maybe try asking for 2.2D or 2.5T test drive to get a rough feeling since they share almost the same spec especially the rim size? |
Sep 6 2024, 10:36 PM
3,117 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Penang |
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 6 2024, 08:55 PM) Considering there's so many trims and engine choices for CX5, I guess its not surprising. Most likely they will only keep the volume seller which is 2.0 as long term test drive unit. Maybe try asking for 2.2D or 2.5T test drive to get a rough feeling since they share almost the same spec especially the rim size? i trully wanna zoom zoom the engine...actually even the 2.2D is rare for test. Left the 2.5T but I worried it is far too powerful to properly represent the 2.5NA. |
Sep 7 2024, 01:04 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
4,330 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Sep 7 2024, 06:46 AM
920 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Somewhere in Malaysia |
Sep 7 2024, 11:19 AM
717 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
Sep 7 2024, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(Axell @ Sep 7 2024, 06:46 AM) 2.2D is too infamous and RM3.75 / liter....similarly the 2.5T is likely gonna tear a big hole in my wallet since I am actually a 90% traffic jam driver. Left 2.5 and 2.0 .....ANDQUOTE(squareballs @ Sep 7 2024, 01:04 AM) Yeah bro tbh I already book the 2.5Because as you know the 1.5T from Civic is actually PERFECT. So damn perfect including the mild CVT drone. I will sorely miss it. A big F U to Honda for screwing up such a dream of mine to own and drive a Civic. QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Sep 7 2024, 11:19 AM) I will have to learn, especially if its too far out of reach from my hands. Anyway I wanted to do the controls for the sake of Carlinkit Android Player also. It helps a lot to have a standalone Waze running all the time. Traffic, police, road hazards and the like. Wireless carplay also works for me, just that phone becomes hot. We'll see.So, actually I was told that under panel tinted there is only Raytech..and another very far from me. I want to ask if my budget is like RM1.5k for the front windscreen + 2 front passenger will I be able to get stuff close to 3M Crystalline? I've used this in the past and I think its good. My previous Honda Civic, I got a bad experience of installing it with my friend and got shafted when I had to claim warranty on the window run channel (Door window rubber seal). This time around I just wanna keep in house. This post has been edited by lee82gx: Sep 7 2024, 03:50 PM |
Sep 7 2024, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Sep 7 2024, 03:37 PM) Yeah bro tbh I already book the 2.5 Because as you know the 1.5T from Civic is actually PERFECT. So damn perfect including the mild CVT drone. I will sorely miss it. A big F U to Honda for screwing up such a dream of mine to own and drive a Civic. make me itchy already |
Sep 7 2024, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(squareballs @ Sep 7 2024, 04:32 PM) congrats bro, seems like many selling off their civics due to the unsolved rack issue. this kind of thing very contagious lol. make me itchy already Anyway got multiple push factor for me, including my wife dislike the low slung body a lot. She was fine in 2022 but now complain like hell. Anyway her knees gotten worse and that's a fact. Not to mention we thought the Civic so wide at the back, but actually sit too many ppl the car scrapping the bottom of bumps..lol Lastly the roads I drive in Penang getting worse with increased flooding and potholes. In the end the rack is just the last straw for both of us. I figure I can bear with warranty claims, but in the end its matter of time and if touch wood bad luck Honda do more stupid things the car becomes worthless. So, bring forward the timeline. squareballs and KingArthurVI liked this post
Sep 8 2024, 07:52 AM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Sep 7 2024, 03:37 PM) I will have to learn, especially if its too far out of reach from my hands. Anyway I wanted to do the controls for the sake of Carlinkit Android Player also. It helps a lot to have a standalone Waze running all the time. Traffic, police, road hazards and the like. Wireless carplay also works for me, just that phone becomes hot. We'll see. I just got my CX30 yesterday and coming from touch screen to the rotary knob it does take some time to get used to especially on AC / AA. However the trick i figured out was to search any planned destinations on your phone first, so when you connected the phone it can be selected from the history straight away. Much faster and simpler than messing with the keyboard using the knob lol So, actually I was told that under panel tinted there is only Raytech..and another very far from me. I want to ask if my budget is like RM1.5k for the front windscreen + 2 front passenger will I be able to get stuff close to 3M Crystalline? I've used this in the past and I think its good. My previous Honda Civic, I got a bad experience of installing it with my friend and got shafted when I had to claim warranty on the window run channel (Door window rubber seal). This time around I just wanna keep in house. I don't know about CX5 but I thought Bermaz use the same tint for all their CKD models which is Activ e-film (used to be called Skytint I think)? This is the spec for CX30. Windscreen and front windows a bit crap, the rear is quite good actually ![]() https://ice-u.com.my/activ-e/ This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 8 2024, 07:57 AM lee82gx liked this post
Sep 8 2024, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Sep 7 2024, 05:01 PM) this kind of thing very contagious lol. I'm now looking at Mazdas too. Anyway got multiple push factor for me, including my wife dislike the low slung body a lot. She was fine in 2022 but now complain like hell. Anyway her knees gotten worse and that's a fact. Not to mention we thought the Civic so wide at the back, but actually sit too many ppl the car scrapping the bottom of bumps..lol Lastly the roads I drive in Penang getting worse with increased flooding and potholes. In the end the rack is just the last straw for both of us. I figure I can bear with warranty claims, but in the end its matter of time and if touch wood bad luck Honda do more stupid things the car becomes worthless. So, bring forward the timeline. fedup with Honda. lee82gx liked this post
Sep 8 2024, 06:03 PM
596 posts Joined: May 2010 From: KL |
Sep 8 2024, 06:22 PM
2,215 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh/Penang/PJ/Melaka |
Sep 9 2024, 01:44 PM
9,789 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Rubber Duck Pond |
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Sep 7 2024, 05:01 PM) this kind of thing very contagious lol. Didn't consider CRV? The new CRV look quite sexy especially the rear tail light...looks a bit like Volvo XC60 Anyway got multiple push factor for me, including my wife dislike the low slung body a lot. She was fine in 2022 but now complain like hell. Anyway her knees gotten worse and that's a fact. Not to mention we thought the Civic so wide at the back, but actually sit too many ppl the car scrapping the bottom of bumps..lol Lastly the roads I drive in Penang getting worse with increased flooding and potholes. In the end the rack is just the last straw for both of us. I figure I can bear with warranty claims, but in the end its matter of time and if touch wood bad luck Honda do more stupid things the car becomes worthless. So, bring forward the timeline. |
Sep 9 2024, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Sep 6 2024, 10:36 PM) i trully wanna zoom zoom the engine...actually even the 2.2D is rare for test. Left the 2.5T but I worried it is far too powerful to properly represent the 2.5NA. 2.2D and 2.5T is actually too powerful IMO...too much for normal driving unless you are the spirited type that suka vroom vroom. 2.5T makan minyak tho while 2.2D might get some engine issue.2.0 is just ngam ngam, reliable and good enough for normal driving. This post has been edited by Duckies: Sep 9 2024, 01:46 PM |
Sep 9 2024, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(Lotus1109 @ Sep 6 2024, 04:26 PM) Got my loan approved on Monday and car is ready for collection on Saturday. As usual, check everything make sure no scratch, no rosak and all working fine before u sign that paper. Once signed then salesman lepas tangan adi.CX5 2.0! Is there anything I should check when collecting the car? Plan to change tint right after collection Lotus1109 liked this post
Sep 9 2024, 02:40 PM
Sep 9 2024, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 8 2024, 07:52 AM) I just got my CX30 yesterday and coming from touch screen to the rotary knob it does take some time to get used to especially on AC / AA. However the trick i figured out was to search any planned destinations on your phone first, so when you connected the phone it can be selected from the history straight away. I fully understand the thought process Mazda lay out for their navigation system, which is to encourage the driver to pay full attention hands on wheels, look forward, plan the drive etc etc. But in Malaysia, there are times, you already on the way, example highway or already driving and suddenly you want to check the traffic with Waze. It happens more often than not, this kind of situations on PLUS highway etc. You don't automatically have Waze running, but already driving and suddenly encounter bad traffic or road conditions. It is not easy to find alternative routes with the knob (I guess). And with Waze especially when you already have Carplay ON, you won't be able to see maps but only able to see simplifed WORDs and big text prompts on the phone. So what you have to do is exit waze app on carplay (use knob), ask the wife / copilot to execute the search on waze and then re-choose the route / destination and THEN launch waze again on Carplay.QUOTE(Duckies @ Sep 9 2024, 01:44 PM) Didn't consider CRV? The new CRV look quite sexy especially the rear tail light...looks a bit like Volvo XC60 Please see quote below bro. My first car in the 90's as a teenager was a CVCC 1200, and boy I rocked that car. I drove it illegally and legally all the way to 2000's. It was my mom's car from the 80's. The first car I dream to own is a EG, my uncle's car, and eventually another uncle bought an EK. I SO looked forward to sit in both cars and it was a joy to see the dashboard being 10-15 years ahead of anything else on the market. My dad's first executive car was an Accord 97, and the immense pride we had when we drove it felt so atas. My 2nd car, which I drove in Uni and first job was a City 1.3 3A2 / SX8 2000 that was ONLY scrapped last week, after my dad can't keep with it anymore. You can see Honda runs in my family and I trully felt a bit of pride upon owning my own FE from my own savings. They have destroyed this bond that we have with their engineering that repeats failures, ignores safety of the customer, and down play customer anger.QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 9 2024, 02:40 PM) Yeah! ZeneticX liked this post
Sep 9 2024, 03:42 PM
3 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Sep 7 2024, 03:37 PM) 2.2D is too infamous and RM3.75 / liter....similarly the 2.5T is likely gonna tear a big hole in my wallet since I am actually a 90% traffic jam driver. Left 2.5 and 2.0 .....AND Wanted to change my Civic FE as well , already having Tuk sound . Maybe to a used CX5 . I wonder how much the bank can let go for early settlement , currently mine is about 1 year paid , 130k balance and 110k principle .Yeah bro tbh I already book the 2.5 Because as you know the 1.5T from Civic is actually PERFECT. So damn perfect including the mild CVT drone. I will sorely miss it. A big F U to Honda for screwing up such a dream of mine to own and drive a Civic. |
Sep 9 2024, 03:42 PM
| Change to: | 0.0199sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:37 PM |