Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion

lee82gx
post Sep 3 2024, 09:17 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

seriously considering the CX-5 2.0 High. Is it true that during driving and motion the entire touch screen cannot touch? If I use a Carplay AI box thingy can i bypass this?
lee82gx
post Sep 4 2024, 07:35 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Sep 3 2024, 09:45 PM)
My wife got her cx5 2.0 high 3 months back.. still can touch when driving but not sure on CarPlay AI box

Lovely car to drive
Just to confirm, on CarPlay you can touch the screen while driving?

QUOTE(bokbokchai @ Sep 3 2024, 11:12 PM)
i think thats not a huge concern cuz once u used to the rotary knob, you can do everything with it while driving.
On CarPlay like waze / google maps is it able to navigate like search for an address? I am used to getting my wife to navigate on the go, like search for route or see the traffic those kind of things. It is literally impossible to stop the car on a highway to use the touch screen while the co-pilot passenger can easily do it….
lee82gx
post Sep 6 2024, 12:09 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

I called both Sg Tiram Bermaz and Jelutong in Penang Island, both unable to prepare 2.5NA model for test drive...is it typical for them ?
lee82gx
post Sep 6 2024, 10:36 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 6 2024, 08:55 PM)
Considering there's so many trims and engine choices for CX5, I guess its not surprising. Most likely they will only keep the volume seller which is 2.0 as long term test drive unit. Maybe try asking for 2.2D or 2.5T test drive to get a rough feeling since they share almost the same spec especially the rim size?
i trully wanna zoom zoom the engine...actually even the 2.2D is rare for test. Left the 2.5T but I worried it is far too powerful to properly represent the 2.5NA.
lee82gx
post Sep 7 2024, 03:37 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Axell @ Sep 7 2024, 06:46 AM)
Zoom zoom? 2.2D or 2.5T 😆
2.2D is too infamous and RM3.75 / liter....similarly the 2.5T is likely gonna tear a big hole in my wallet since I am actually a 90% traffic jam driver. Left 2.5 and 2.0 .....AND

QUOTE(squareballs @ Sep 7 2024, 01:04 AM)
Considering selling off civic and get cx5?
Yeah bro tbh I already book the 2.5

Because as you know the 1.5T from Civic is actually PERFECT. So damn perfect including the mild CVT drone. I will sorely miss it. A big F U to Honda for screwing up such a dream of mine to own and drive a Civic.

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Sep 7 2024, 11:19 AM)
Use the rotary knob to control..

A bit hard to touch the screwn while driving
I will have to learn, especially if its too far out of reach from my hands. Anyway I wanted to do the controls for the sake of Carlinkit Android Player also. It helps a lot to have a standalone Waze running all the time. Traffic, police, road hazards and the like. Wireless carplay also works for me, just that phone becomes hot. We'll see.

So, actually I was told that under panel tinted there is only Raytech..and another very far from me. I want to ask if my budget is like RM1.5k for the front windscreen + 2 front passenger will I be able to get stuff close to 3M Crystalline? I've used this in the past and I think its good.

My previous Honda Civic, I got a bad experience of installing it with my friend and got shafted when I had to claim warranty on the window run channel (Door window rubber seal). This time around I just wanna keep in house.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Sep 7 2024, 03:50 PM
lee82gx
post Sep 7 2024, 05:01 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Sep 7 2024, 04:32 PM)
congrats bro, seems like many selling off their civics due to the unsolved rack issue.

make me itchy already
this kind of thing very contagious lol.

Anyway got multiple push factor for me, including my wife dislike the low slung body a lot. She was fine in 2022 but now complain like hell. Anyway her knees gotten worse and that's a fact.

Not to mention we thought the Civic so wide at the back, but actually sit too many ppl the car scrapping the bottom of bumps..lol

Lastly the roads I drive in Penang getting worse with increased flooding and potholes.

In the end the rack is just the last straw for both of us. I figure I can bear with warranty claims, but in the end its matter of time and if touch wood bad luck Honda do more stupid things the car becomes worthless. So, bring forward the timeline.
lee82gx
post Sep 9 2024, 03:22 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 8 2024, 07:52 AM)
I just got my CX30 yesterday and coming from touch screen to the rotary knob it does take some time to get used to especially on AC / AA. However the trick i figured out was to search any planned destinations on your phone first, so when you connected the phone it can be selected from the history straight away.

I fully understand the thought process Mazda lay out for their navigation system, which is to encourage the driver to pay full attention hands on wheels, look forward, plan the drive etc etc. But in Malaysia, there are times, you already on the way, example highway or already driving and suddenly you want to check the traffic with Waze. It happens more often than not, this kind of situations on PLUS highway etc. You don't automatically have Waze running, but already driving and suddenly encounter bad traffic or road conditions. It is not easy to find alternative routes with the knob (I guess). And with Waze especially when you already have Carplay ON, you won't be able to see maps but only able to see simplifed WORDs and big text prompts on the phone. So what you have to do is exit waze app on carplay (use knob), ask the wife / copilot to execute the search on waze and then re-choose the route / destination and THEN launch waze again on Carplay.

QUOTE(Duckies @ Sep 9 2024, 01:44 PM)
Didn't consider CRV? The new CRV look quite sexy especially the rear tail light...looks a bit like Volvo XC60 brows.gif
Please see quote below bro. My first car in the 90's as a teenager was a CVCC 1200, and boy I rocked that car. I drove it illegally and legally all the way to 2000's. It was my mom's car from the 80's. The first car I dream to own is a EG, my uncle's car, and eventually another uncle bought an EK. I SO looked forward to sit in both cars and it was a joy to see the dashboard being 10-15 years ahead of anything else on the market. My dad's first executive car was an Accord 97, and the immense pride we had when we drove it felt so atas. My 2nd car, which I drove in Uni and first job was a City 1.3 3A2 / SX8 2000 that was ONLY scrapped last week, after my dad can't keep with it anymore. You can see Honda runs in my family and I trully felt a bit of pride upon owning my own FE from my own savings. They have destroyed this bond that we have with their engineering that repeats failures, ignores safety of the customer, and down play customer anger.

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 9 2024, 02:40 PM)
He already had enough nightmares with Honda still suggest CRV lol
Yeah!
lee82gx
post Sep 25 2024, 10:06 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Hello everyone, I have gotten my CX-5.
First proper mod - Hacked the touchscreen and now I have all speed touch screen.
Its just a 3 min job and only requires a USB drive. I'm tempted to go full AIO but tbh I already have Carplay AI Box that runs full Android...not feeling the need right now.

First impressions;
Storage space is really lacking. Legit among Myvi 2005, Peugeot 208, Honda Civic 2022 this is the car with smallest arm rest and glovebox storage and the cover does not support my elbows. What gives....?
I am discarding 70% of the junk that I have from my old car....which is technically smaller.

Mazda lent me a CX-8 2.2D high for a few days, and boy did I get used to the HUD. It is a game changer in terms of road awareness. How I wish I never learnt about 400Nm torque and HUD.

More gripes - the boot does not have any way to open it except for the button...hmmm.

CTS - The steering aid is very very mild, in the internet there is a bragging sheet about how much torque / aid you get from the lane keep. This will surely be at bottom 1%.

Positives - very steady in turns, I feel the GVC at every turn of the steering.
Gearbox feels smooth to me, I come from CVT which drones, this is back to AT feels, but still, nothing spectacular.
NVH is really step up from Civic. Like Continental step up.

Ok la, all I want is a reliable car and I hope this is it.
lee82gx
post Sep 25 2024, 10:23 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 25 2024, 10:19 AM)
Just based on many user feedback from CX5 fb group, better change the atf after certain mileage interval, 40k/50k km where's Bermaz sold it as seal for life.
My salesman also drives a recent CX-5 and he swear and triple swear with witness present that in Bayan Lepas and Juru mazda service center we can request for ATF change without any impact to warranty in house.
He also does this on his 40/50k km interval.
lee82gx
post Sep 25 2024, 11:24 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Sep 25 2024, 10:56 AM)
congrats bro to your cx5..

getting my mazda 3 liftback this weekend..

Extra some sales for Mazda recently from ex civic FE owners  tongue.gif
Which spec you got bro?
I have said this many times and will say many times again, the Mazda 3 LB is the sexiest Japanese car alive. I pass by a gunmetal ignite everyday on my drive home and I wipe my drool everytime.

My team mate is even looking to trade his FE RS for an S70!

We live in weird times.

lee82gx
post Sep 25 2024, 02:10 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Sep 25 2024, 01:27 PM)
ATF change request only accepted by selected SC?

Shall see once hit that mileage for my ride
you can try give Sg tiram, Bayan Lepas, Penang service center a call, if they reject let me know I will ask my salesman apa cerita.
As I remember he even mention the SC oil is the "correct spec" and costs <RM200 etc.

QUOTE(squareballs @ Sep 25 2024, 11:29 AM)
got the polymetal ignite liftback.. because i feel if one is getting the m3 liftback, ignite is the way to go.

your teammate FE also kena rack ah..  tongue.gif
Not yet, but this particular owner has a bad back from the stiff and hard seats.

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 25 2024, 01:19 PM)
Should promote this on CRV group as well..
My best buddies drive the latest CRV and the previous model (this one upon my suggestion, not knowing about the steering rack thingy), both of them bought after I bought my Civic. I am torn.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Sep 25 2024, 02:22 PM
lee82gx
post Sep 25 2024, 10:01 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 25 2024, 06:34 PM)
congrats on your CX5. if yours is the 2.5NA then just take good care of it and it will be a bulletproof powertrain. Also try not to get stuck in jam or slow traffic too much since it's a high compression DI engine. Rev it up as high as you want (after 1000km lah) whenever you have the chance

the HUD is one of the reasons I went for CX30 instead of 5... weirdly enough its available on all specs of CX30 but only the highest spec (2.5T) on CX5. Another reason is as you mentioned the weird center arm rest shape, for some reason its very short if you compare it to Mazda 3 and CX30.

however the one thing I wished I have are the ventilated seats. This one even if you want to retrofit also near impossible hahah

what was your concern about the boot? there should be a button on the boot itself and also bottom right of the steering. Are you referring to kick sensor?
thanks, yea its the 2.5NA. I can't help it but 90% of my daily commute is traffic jam.

Regarding the boot - yes why doesn't it have kick sensor? Because to close it requires to reach up and sometimes your hands are already full.
lee82gx
post Oct 4 2024, 02:17 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Hi guys, I am wondering what is the problem with my infotainment.
I have a carplay plugged in all the time (wired) and it is running.

Then I switch ON the radio, by going to the favourites. I simply select any station, and it takes upwards of 20-30s for the station to come out with sound. After that I can freely change station.

When I go back to "Nav" ie go back to carplay, my radio playing will gone after a few minutes. Then I am back to silence and need to do the whole thing all over again.

Is it because my carplay wanting to take over for music etc? Problem is I don't start any thing playing or media, just Waze running, without navigation.
In my previous car, whether I run navigation or not, when waze is active it can announce the road condition and hazards ahead, while radio can play in the background.

With CX-5 feels like cannot do so ?
lee82gx
post Oct 4 2024, 02:41 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Oct 4 2024, 02:39 PM)
No issue for my CX-5 with Android Auto connected. Waze or Google maps navigation sound will come on top of the radio sound. It'll come on top of music player like Spotify and Youtube Music too.
when you have AA connected, lets say you select the favourite radios does it take long for sound to come out? Like mine, can be up to 10-30s before radio plays....??
lee82gx
post Oct 9 2024, 02:46 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(lai_dm @ Oct 9 2024, 01:56 PM)
tq  so much
i found the usb hub on shopeee for RM200-300
any sifoo here can pasang ? can charge me labor

location PJ
look in shopee for sellers that include labor. Your location PJ should not be a problem.....
lee82gx
post Oct 29 2024, 09:57 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Hi guys has anyone got a link to buy this for the cx-5?
lee82gx
post Nov 6 2024, 07:56 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Nov 6 2024, 07:06 AM)
From shopi, smth like this?

https://my.shp.ee/kHBbS8y
Yeah but your link is for Mazda 3, and the seller also don't have CX-5... confused.gif
lee82gx
post Nov 7 2024, 05:03 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Came back from 1st warranty claim...sigh this month I have to claim Iphone warranty and now car.

But was a smooth process, I had a lot of squeaking noise from the windows, end up replaced the windows rubber run channel.

I was skeptical about this whether it will solve, but to my surprise the technicians seem very confident and it works. So hats off to them.

I asked about it and they mention this is pretty common. So if you have some leather / rubber sticky squeak sound near the doors especially on uneven / bumpy road you can try or am I very late to the party lol.
lee82gx
post Nov 7 2024, 08:27 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Nov 7 2024, 05:09 PM)
Which part of the windows rubber run channel ya? Got picture?

I think you can refer the part number.
lee82gx
post Nov 9 2024, 11:22 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Nov 9 2024, 07:46 AM)
Definitely smoother than Honda SC claim process

Honda we are like begging them to change
Yes, and YES. What can you say, first party and third party.
Mazda once the technician check he can verbally confirm the claim under warranty and take action. 30 seconds.

Honda dealer because they are third party they need to do report, file claim like insurance agent and then wait for the review by Honda Malaysia for the approval. 1 hour and then you are wondering how will it go.

btw, I tot Made in Japan is flawless one... tongue.gif

0.0318sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:39 AM