Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion

ZeneticX
post Dec 20 2023, 10:48 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(New_Zekk @ Dec 20 2023, 10:45 PM)
mine is post 2018 model, which its interior is about the same as the upcoming facelift... yeah, not an upgrade but my budget can only go for those below 250k and not much suv choices.. any other suggestion for new suv within this range??
BMW X1?
ZeneticX
post Feb 4 2024, 11:30 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ Feb 4 2024, 09:55 PM)
Today, i saw one blue facelift CX5 zoom pass my car at high speed on 2nd Penang Bridge.
Delivery has begin?
Some units already delivered before the official launch on Mon according to SA (i was test driving CX30 on Sunday 28th)
ZeneticX
post Feb 18 2024, 11:35 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(zroter @ Feb 18 2024, 10:47 PM)
2.5T vs 2.2D ?
2.2D got well known engine issue after 50 - 60k km. Not sure if Mazda ever resolved it

2.5T well known for heavy fuel consumption

For me the best engine is actually the 2.5 NA. Reliable and still powerful enough

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Feb 18 2024, 11:36 PM
ZeneticX
post Feb 21 2024, 10:37 AM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Feb 21 2024, 08:15 AM)
If you don't know anything don't simply spill your BS statement here.
Which part is BS? 2.5T heavy fuel consumption this is true, dont try to say its not

2.2D engine issues, indeed some owners encounter issues after long run, some did not. Its all over owners group. As I said maybe Mazda resolved it

2.5 NA best engine, this is my own opinion

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Feb 21 2024, 10:42 AM
ZeneticX
post Feb 21 2024, 11:09 AM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Feb 21 2024, 10:50 AM)
My company has both of these.
2.5T is around 10 - 10.5km/L if you drive like a normal person in city setting. For a AWD 2.5 Turbo engine this is acceptable.
2.2D engine problem does not occur at 50k-60k. Only a handful of cases happen and mileage above 100k, but for peace of mind this is covered with unlimited mileage warranty from Mazda until August 2030.
You expect someone to drive like a normal person when its a 2.5T? biggrin.gif Most people report 8 - 9 km/L at best and we know why

My bad for the range estimate for 2.2D issues. Still what does that say? Diesel engines are supposedly more reliable than petrol counterparts

So for me the less fussy engine option is the 2.5 NA

2.5T and 2.2D can still be considered if someone knows and ready to accept the other side of the spec sheet. Im not saying they are bad engines

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Feb 21 2024, 11:09 AM
ZeneticX
post Feb 21 2024, 12:07 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(xAmdx @ Feb 21 2024, 11:13 AM)
I been driving 2.5T for 4yrs and my fuel consumption for city driving around 7 and highway is around 6. no complaint as i am enjoying the power i wanted.

* been using ron97 since day 1 as Malaysia fuel is cheap
That fc figure is definitely something that will catch someone by surprise if they are not aware of it

Depends whether someone is willing to accept it in exchange for the power
ZeneticX
post Feb 21 2024, 02:32 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(xAmdx @ Feb 21 2024, 02:21 PM)
its all depends how heavy foot you are. If on highway, i cruise 140-60 you still get around 7km/l i guess. it will only drop to 6km/l if you do >180 which i try from kl to JB and full tank gone without really reach JB town center.
still kinda thirsty for me....

i think the main issue was the gearbox. FC probably could be better if its a 8 speed instead of 6 speed
ZeneticX
post May 11 2024, 04:20 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ May 11 2024, 01:33 PM)
Hi, i bought this logo cover from shopi but the the finishing is not up to expectation.

Can anyone recommend a better quality logo cover from online or accessories shop?

Thanks!

Can do plasti dip on the original logo instead...

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: May 11 2024, 04:21 PM
ZeneticX
post Jul 20 2024, 02:00 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Jul 20 2024, 08:58 AM)
Anyone can share where to get CX5 with highest rebate please?
Mazda SA very seldom give high rebates iinm
ZeneticX
post Sep 4 2024, 05:21 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

CX5 facelift supposedly comes with a setting to enable touchscreen during motion

but our facelift doesn't come with the new screen and software (seriously Bermaz....) so not sure if its applicable
ZeneticX
post Sep 6 2024, 08:55 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Sep 6 2024, 12:09 PM)
I called both Sg Tiram Bermaz and Jelutong in Penang Island, both unable to prepare 2.5NA model for test drive...is it typical for them ?
Considering there's so many trims and engine choices for CX5, I guess its not surprising. Most likely they will only keep the volume seller which is 2.0 as long term test drive unit. Maybe try asking for 2.2D or 2.5T test drive to get a rough feeling since they share almost the same spec especially the rim size?
ZeneticX
post Sep 8 2024, 07:52 AM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Sep 7 2024, 03:37 PM)
I will have to learn, especially if its too far out of reach from my hands. Anyway I wanted to do the controls for the sake of Carlinkit Android Player also. It helps a lot to have a standalone Waze running all the time. Traffic, police, road hazards and the like. Wireless carplay also works for me, just that phone becomes hot. We'll see.
So, actually I was told that under panel tinted there is only Raytech..and another very far from me. I want to ask if my budget is like RM1.5k for the front windscreen + 2 front passenger will I be able to get stuff close to 3M Crystalline? I've used this in the past and I think its good.

My previous Honda Civic, I got a bad experience of installing it with my friend and got shafted when I had to claim warranty on the window run channel (Door window rubber seal). This time around I just wanna keep in house.
I just got my CX30 yesterday and coming from touch screen to the rotary knob it does take some time to get used to especially on AC / AA. However the trick i figured out was to search any planned destinations on your phone first, so when you connected the phone it can be selected from the history straight away. Much faster and simpler than messing with the keyboard using the knob lol

I don't know about CX5 but I thought Bermaz use the same tint for all their CKD models which is Activ e-film (used to be called Skytint I think)? This is the spec for CX30. Windscreen and front windows a bit crap, the rear is quite good actually

https://ice-u.com.my/activ-e/

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 8 2024, 07:57 AM
ZeneticX
post Sep 9 2024, 02:40 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Sep 9 2024, 01:44 PM)
Didn't consider CRV? The new CRV look quite sexy especially the rear tail light...looks a bit like Volvo XC60 brows.gif
He already had enough nightmares with Honda still suggest CRV lol
ZeneticX
post Sep 9 2024, 05:28 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Sep 9 2024, 03:22 PM)
I fully understand the thought process Mazda lay out for their navigation system, which is to encourage the driver to pay full attention hands on wheels, look forward, plan the drive etc etc. But in Malaysia, there are times, you already on the way, example highway or already driving and suddenly you want to check the traffic with Waze. It happens more often than not, this kind of situations on PLUS highway etc. You don't automatically have Waze running, but already driving and suddenly encounter bad traffic or road conditions. It is not easy to find alternative routes with the knob (I guess). And with Waze especially when you already have Carplay ON, you won't be able to see maps but only able to see simplifed WORDs and big text prompts on the phone. So what you have to do is exit waze app on carplay (use knob), ask the wife / copilot to execute the search on waze and then re-choose the route / destination and THEN launch waze again on Carplay.
Yeah agreed there's still some scenarios where a touch screen is more intuitive (not surprising since AC and AA are designed based on touch ux in the first place)

After 2 days with my car, I kinda figured it out already. Just need to know how and which direction to rotate (to switch icons, options), and when to push the knob left or right (to switch sections like from maps to spotify)

But typing in destination is really a pain with the knob lol. No getting around this. Only way is the method above (search in phone first)

QUOTE(Duckies @ Sep 9 2024, 03:48 PM)
I cannot use Waze on phone when plugged in with Android Auto...not sure just mine cause old model or what  hmm.gif
I dont know about waze but I can search on phone with google maps connected to AA

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 9 2024, 05:31 PM
ZeneticX
post Sep 25 2024, 06:34 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Sep 25 2024, 10:06 AM)
Hello everyone, I have gotten my CX-5.
First proper mod - Hacked the touchscreen and now I have all speed touch screen.
Its just a 3 min job and only requires a USB drive. I'm tempted to go full AIO but tbh I already have Carplay AI Box that runs full Android...not feeling the need right now.

First impressions;
Storage space is really lacking. Legit among Myvi 2005, Peugeot 208, Honda Civic 2022 this is the car with smallest arm rest and glovebox storage and the cover does not support my elbows. What gives....?
I am discarding 70% of the junk that I have from my old car....which is technically smaller.

Mazda lent me a CX-8 2.2D high for a few days, and boy did I get used to the HUD. It is a game changer in terms of road awareness. How I wish I never learnt about 400Nm torque and HUD.

More gripes - the boot does not have any way to open it except for the button...hmmm.

CTS - The steering aid is very very mild, in the internet there is a bragging sheet about how much torque / aid you get from the lane keep. This will surely be at bottom 1%.

Positives - very steady in turns, I feel the GVC at every turn of the steering.
Gearbox feels smooth to me, I come from CVT which drones, this is back to AT feels, but still, nothing spectacular.
NVH is really step up from Civic. Like Continental step up.

Ok la, all I want is a reliable car and I hope this is it.
congrats on your CX5. if yours is the 2.5NA then just take good care of it and it will be a bulletproof powertrain. Also try not to get stuck in jam or slow traffic too much since it's a high compression DI engine. Rev it up as high as you want (after 1000km lah) whenever you have the chance

the HUD is one of the reasons I went for CX30 instead of 5... weirdly enough its available on all specs of CX30 but only the highest spec (2.5T) on CX5. Another reason is as you mentioned the weird center arm rest shape, for some reason its very short if you compare it to Mazda 3 and CX30.

however the one thing I wished I have are the ventilated seats. This one even if you want to retrofit also near impossible hahah

what was your concern about the boot? there should be a button on the boot itself and also bottom right of the steering. Are you referring to kick sensor?

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 25 2024, 06:38 PM
ZeneticX
post Sep 25 2024, 10:45 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Sep 25 2024, 10:01 PM)
thanks, yea its the 2.5NA. I can't help it but 90% of my daily commute is traffic jam.

Regarding the boot - yes why doesn't it have kick sensor? Because to close it requires to reach up and sometimes your hands are already full.
dont need to worry too much about it also, just use the deposit cleaner (i think they're offered as optional every service)

for CX5 the kick sensor can be retrofitted apparently.... now I wish there's one for CX30 as well

https://shopee.com.my/Mazda-CX5-CX8-Automat...3724.6862105570

ZeneticX
post Sep 26 2024, 08:04 AM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 26 2024, 06:32 AM)
If rev high, put deposit cleaner to prevent carbon deposit for gdi, unfortunately it wont work that well. Best to send walnut carbon cleaning every 60k km for few hundred might be a better solution and results
better do that only after your warranty expired after 5 years / 100k km...
ZeneticX
post Sep 26 2024, 10:45 AM

stars for what
12,409 posts

Can check out Endurance Power Center @ Bukit Jalil as well

Boss is a Mazda owner

https://maps.app.goo.gl/r6vKsp2NMuxBJpEk6
ZeneticX
post Nov 9 2024, 06:33 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Nov 9 2024, 03:08 PM)
I honestly made a mistake to buy Civic, low sedan really make me headache with 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Even the extra space in the seats cannot be used to carry 1 more person as the car will squat and scrape the ground.
Perhaps next phase in life I can re-consider a sedan or even CX-30 style. But, CX-30 really expensive for what it offers....CX-5 still you can drag a bit the comparison to CR-V and close one eye.

I hope when the time comes I can directly jump to hot hatch style, my heart is pinned on Golf GTI. Or a Mini. Hopes hopes hopes.

If Mazda 3 comes to malaysia on the 2.5T 4WD system, under the GTI pricing I will jump at it!
eh i spent like 160k for the highest spec CX30... yes I could've went for CX5 as well but to me the only spec worth getting is the 2.5NA or above, and that's over my budget already

furthermore i dont have a family yet and not planning to have one anytime soon, so CX30 it is. Lastly the deciding factor is the interior definitely less uncle compared to CX5 tongue.gif

spec to spec comparison you will find CX30 is actually slightly more well equipped than CX5 (except for engine and interior space). the seats are also better designed, it's Mazda latest generation seat design based on human ergonomic

btw the best thing about CX5 is the front double glazed windows... this I wish CX30 have

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 9 2024, 06:51 PM
ZeneticX
post Jan 13 2025, 10:13 AM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jan 13 2025, 08:55 AM)
Is there any way to check the upcoming service in the car dashboard or infotainment, if I already did a reset of the head unit?

I was checking my next service and it doesn't show up on the head unit / dashboard. I know I had to reset everything due to carplay issues recently.

I probably not due for service until march or april 25. but no reminder in the car is a bit worrying
contact your previous sc? pretty sure they have the record. or did you keep the service request form? they should hand a copy to you before each service

or just login to Mazda portal, under your Vehicle info, you can find when you last had your service with the mileage

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jan 13 2025, 10:16 AM

0.0284sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:50 AM