Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion

skeith
post Aug 20 2018, 10:31 AM

342 posts

QUOTE(iq_myst @ Aug 20 2018, 09:32 AM)
Just sharing some experience driving the CX5 for 1st few days. Mine is 2.0GLS model.

1) I like how they system is intelligent enough to let you to control if you want to engage the auto hold and i-stop based on the brake pressure when you press the brake pedal upon stopping. I don't see any reason why need to deactivate the the i-stop when you have full control to activate it or not based on the situation.

2) Decent amount of power for 2.0 model. Accelerating to 150km/h was not an issue. in fact you'll never realize you've driven that fast if not by looking at the speedometer. Never need to change to sport mode so far. But upon testing the sport mode, it just revs the rpm higher. I don't notice any improvement on throttle response. But it was a short testing only. Will try again soon.

Our sport mode is rev the rpm higher. Nth more nth less.

3) GVC is over rated. Yes, it works. But i think it helps at a very minimum level. I think only driver could feel the difference but the passengers won't feel any difference.

Its overated. Just about 0.03G or 40 pounds different. The calculation just taken the cornering, steering angle, and engine throttle into account. Nth more nth less.

4) NVH is so damn good. Cruising at 150km/h is not an issue. The car is very stable. The road and wind noise is very minimum.
My dad drives the new CRV. I occasionally drive his car and obviously CX5 cabin is better insulated and isolated. It might not be the best in its class(I haven't drive the Tiguan yet) but sure one of the top in its class.

5) Handling is superb. CX5 is able to handle any low speed and high speed cornering without any problem and hassle. The steering responds was accurate and not much correction needed(might be due to GVC helps to normalize the weight balance of the car).

In straight road, its really good, the 40 pounds shifting really helpful in this case. But IMO, still got a lot of unneeded swing or vibration.

6) Built in navigation is so bad. A lot of POI is missing. Many address can't be searched. When I searched online, found that it is using Tom Tom GPS. There are tutorial to update the map our self. Will give it a try and see if the map improves. Overall Mazda infotainment system control is good. Very easy to use. All information is easily accessible via the rotary knob.

No. Tom Tom only available for CBU and older model. We are running Map by Here, which is downloadable in both itunes and google store. You can update your map tru mazda apps which i cant remember wat name. I wrote an article and step by step tutorial 3 mths ago on fb.

Overall, the car is perfect if huge space is not a main concern. I use the car daily with my wife and 2 kids(both sitting in car seat) and found the space amount is sufficient for me. If I were to describe the car in 1 sentence, it will be - WORTH EVERY PENNY.
This post has been edited by skeith: Aug 20 2018, 12:58 PM
inverstorG
post Aug 20 2018, 11:15 AM

QUOTE(Duckies @ Aug 20 2018, 10:16 AM)
Yep, it sucks so bad. I am using my own phone for navigation. Now we all are hoping Android Auto and Apple Car Play will be coming to Malaysia soon.
Sorry, not familiar Apple car play ...
is it means the Iphone to be screen play on cx5 monitor?
TSDuckies
post Aug 20 2018, 11:24 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(inverstorG @ Aug 20 2018, 11:15 AM)
Sorry, not familiar Apple car play ...
is it means the Iphone to be screen play on cx5 monitor?
You can use Waze/Google Maps or play videos at the screen there by connecting your phone via cable (or wireless? Not sure if it supports that now but if not mistaken it should be)

This post has been edited by Duckies: Aug 20 2018, 11:25 AM
inverstorG
post Aug 20 2018, 11:26 AM

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 20 2018, 12:24 AM)
Yeah, I remember that case well.. I believe it was with Raytech's security tint right? Didn't work out well cuz glass was shattered into pieces.
Nope, it can't.. Not without some hackery involved, which will undoubtedly void your warranty if discovered and reported.
Nope, don't think Jet Black is a popular color.. DCB and SRC appears to be the most popular.
Well, only you can truly answer this question. If you have no other commitments, decent cash for downpayment and even more cash stashed away incase of life emergencies.. Can see yourself earning the same or more throughout the loan repayments period and really need the car? Sure, by all means go ahead. I drove my last car for a decade before picking this up and it's not due to it being unaffordable.. Previous car was running great and cheap to maintain.. So didn't really need a new car until tax window kicked in.. Knowing Mazda gave crap discounts, SO and I decided might as well get now and save a couple thousand there too.

Plus point, you get free service and warranty for 3 years.
agreed. I drove our dearest proton for a decade..if not tax holiday, i would be here..lol
ze2
post Aug 20 2018, 12:10 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(iq_myst @ Aug 20 2018, 09:32 AM)
Just sharing some experience driving the CX5 for 1st few days. Mine is 2.0GLS model.

1) I like how they system is intelligent enough to let you to control if you want to engage the auto hold and i-stop based on the brake pressure when you press the brake pedal upon stopping. I don't see any reason why need to deactivate the the i-stop when you have full control to activate it or not based on the situation.

2) Decent amount of power for 2.0 model. Accelerating to 150km/h was not an issue. in fact you'll never realize you've driven that fast if not by looking at the speedometer. Never need to change to sport mode so far. But upon testing the sport mode, it just revs the rpm higher. I don't notice any improvement on throttle response. But it was a short testing only. Will try again soon.

3) GVC is over rated. Yes, it works. But i think it helps at a very minimum level. I think only driver could feel the difference but the passengers won't feel any difference.

4) NVH is so damn good. Cruising at 150km/h is not an issue. The car is very stable. The road and wind noise is very minimum.
My dad drives the new CRV. I occasionally drive his car and obviously CX5 cabin is better insulated and isolated. It might not be the best in its class(I haven't drive the Tiguan yet) but sure one of the top in its class.

5) Handling is superb. CX5 is able to handle any low speed and high speed cornering without any problem and hassle. The steering responds was accurate and not much correction needed(might be due to GVC helps to normalize the weight balance of the car).

6) Built in navigation is so bad. A lot of POI is missing. Many address can't be searched. When I searched online, found that it is using Tom Tom GPS. There are tutorial to update the map our self. Will give it a try and see if the map improves. Overall Mazda infotainment system control is good. Very easy to use. All information is easily accessible via the rotary knob.

Overall, the car is perfect if huge space is not a main concern. I use the car daily with my wife and 2 kids(both sitting in car seat) and found the space amount is sufficient for me. If I were to describe the car in 1 sentence, it will be - WORTH EVERY PENNY.
IMHO let me chip in some and I hope you don't mind.

Point 1) Agreed that this can be control but I had a few time trying to exit a boom gate out of a parking and press the brake pedal to hard to stop the car hence the iStop is activitated, and once the boom gate is open, the jerk of the engine starting back is quite annoying. It is just me......I need to learn how to control it esp exiting parking with boom gate.

Point 3) Last sat I fetched my family and mom to Genting, the GVC system works brilliantly as my mom and my kids didn't roll around too much at the back seat unlike my previous sedan cars. Bear in mind, this is an SUV and to be able to reduce the rolling effect of the passengers is really an amazing system developed by Mazda. I drove quite fast around the bends.

The conti tyres were noisy but grip is good.

Yeah worth every penny!! rclxm9.gif

Like a Bause
post Aug 20 2018, 12:20 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(Isendir1 @ Aug 19 2018, 11:29 AM)
Hi.

I just paid the deposit and signed the loan for the car. i am picking up next week my new CX-5 2.0L GLS (Meteor Gray). Booked since 16th July and got the car one month later, SA said i am lucky coz of high competitor from GST holiday shoppers.

Do you guys have a checklist i should carry along during the pick up of car? anything i should look out for?

Usually how long does the demonstration for new car will take? by current SA the service not that good and he tends to rush things, hence i need some preparation and advise.

tq bros
anyone here could share? I would like to know as well.. rclxms.gif biggrin.gif
inverstorG
post Aug 20 2018, 12:54 PM

QUOTE(Duckies @ Aug 20 2018, 11:24 AM)
You can use Waze/Google Maps or play videos at the screen there by connecting your phone via cable (or wireless? Not sure if it supports that now but if not mistaken it should be)
fantastic...too bad the Apple car play not in malaysia officially..
hope it come with minor cost...
I dun want to hack my car for that..
lyc1982
post Aug 20 2018, 01:09 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(love428 @ Aug 15 2018, 10:46 AM)
Few days with my 2.0 GLS
Some thoughts on I-stop system.
Actually is quite a intelligent system, I-stop only activate when I want it to.
When in traffic jam, if I not fully floor the brake pedal, by slowly slowly pressure it, It would engine stop (and I-stop indication blinking) and i fully floor the brake pedal (if i wanted to) then only I-stop activate.
So along my normal day ride every morning about 10km traffic jam, the I-stop won't disturb me with engine stop actually.....
QUOTE(nebula87 @ Aug 15 2018, 10:50 AM)
Yes bro, figured this out yesterday too.

Now I par that with my On-Hold button, when i fully floor my brake pedal, i-Stop and On-Hold activated. And i can rest my legs during traffic jam.  nod.gif

And also kind of get used to the jerking (i-Stop on and off).  smile.gif
the i-stop behaves the same on 1st gen too...
voncrane
post Aug 20 2018, 01:24 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(dc_hunter @ Aug 20 2018, 09:37 AM)
Hi. I need help again.

I was cruising at a normal road and suddenly i notice there's a bump in front of me.
I press the brake pedal harder than usual and i heard an "tuk tuk tuk" sound coming out from my brake. I don't think that's and ABS because i had a similar encounter with my previous car and both my older car doesn't have this issue.

Anyone of you encounter this issue before?
Hmm, was there any vibrations while pressing the pedal and was the sounds before, during or after hitting the bump?

QUOTE(skeith @ Aug 20 2018, 10:31 AM)
Hey, could you pls share the tutorial here.. Thanks.. Be good for those who don't mind.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Aug 20 2018, 08:21 PM
TSDuckies
post Aug 20 2018, 01:38 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(Isendir1 @ Aug 19 2018, 11:29 AM)
Hi.

I just paid the deposit and signed the loan for the car. i am picking up next week my new CX-5 2.0L GLS (Meteor Gray). Booked since 16th July and got the car one month later, SA said i am lucky coz of high competitor from GST holiday shoppers.

Do you guys have a checklist i should carry along during the pick up of car? anything i should look out for?

Usually how long does the demonstration for new car will take? by current SA the service not that good and he tends to rush things, hence i need some preparation and advise.

tq bros
QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Aug 20 2018, 12:20 PM)
anyone here could share? I would like to know as well..  rclxms.gif  biggrin.gif
Could take about 1-2 hour. SA should show you what each button does, how each functions works and behaves. You should also look around the car to see if there's any scratches or dent. Check to see if there's any missing stuffs. Check the VIN to make sure it's the correct VIN registered to your name and also it's a 2018 car.

You can also request to drive around to find any abnormality.
dc_hunter
post Aug 20 2018, 02:18 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 20 2018, 01:24 PM)
Hmm, was there any vibrations while pressing the pedal and was the sounds before, during or after hitting the bump?
Hey, coil you pls share the tutorial here.. Thanks.. Be good for those who don't mind.
No, not yet hit the bump. It's just when out of sudden you saw a bump and u just step the brake harder then you will feel the "tuk tuk tuk" sound comes out from the brake.
stallionxp
post Aug 20 2018, 06:57 PM

44 posts

Just received confirmation, will be receiving 2.0 GLS DCB next week.
Anyone took the GTechniQ coating package? Other options? Opinions please?
LHleong
post Aug 20 2018, 08:16 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(dc_hunter @ Aug 20 2018, 02:18 PM)
No, not yet hit the bump. It's just when out of sudden you saw a bump and u just step the brake harder then you will feel the "tuk tuk tuk" sound comes out from the brake.
Is your vehicle still new? I had the similar experience too but it goes off after a while...probably the virgin brake pad that caused the noise biggrin.gif
voncrane
post Aug 20 2018, 08:23 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(dc_hunter @ Aug 20 2018, 02:18 PM)
I don't remember experiencing such.. My earlier brake issue was noisy release.. Like a grinding sound.

QUOTE(LHleong @ Aug 20 2018, 08:16 PM)
Is your vehicle still new? I had the similar experience too but it goes off after a while...probably the virgin brake pad that caused the noise  biggrin.gif
Probably..
Isendir1
post Aug 20 2018, 11:05 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Aug 20 2018, 01:38 PM)
Could take about 1-2 hour. SA should show you what each button does, how each functions works and behaves. You should also look around the car to see if there's any scratches or dent. Check to see if there's any missing stuffs. Check the VIN to make sure it's the correct VIN registered to your name and also it's a 2018 car.

You can also request to drive around to find any abnormality.
thank you duckies sir!
dc_hunter
post Aug 21 2018, 08:40 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(LHleong @ Aug 20 2018, 08:16 PM)
Is your vehicle still new? I had the similar experience too but it goes off after a while...probably the virgin brake pad that caused the noise  biggrin.gif
Yes... 5 days only.
iq_myst
post Aug 21 2018, 08:40 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(skeith @ Aug 20 2018, 10:31 AM)

thanks for the insights. biggrin.gif
plim_123
post Aug 21 2018, 09:54 AM

86 posts

Just got mine.

Question: Should I install Android Interface now or wait of official Android Auto?
TSDuckies
post Aug 21 2018, 10:33 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(plim_123 @ Aug 21 2018, 09:54 AM)
Just got mine.

Question: Should I install Android Interface now or wait of official Android Auto?
Wait for the official. Should be coming soon or end of the year hopefully. They had already released it for Mazda 6 in western countries.
chuah_ph
post Aug 21 2018, 10:44 AM

951 posts

QUOTE(stallionxp @ Aug 20 2018, 06:57 PM)
Just received confirmation, will be receiving 2.0 GLS DCB next week.
Anyone took the GTechniQ coating package? Other options? Opinions please?
I am using Gtechniq CS Black 7 years paint protect... the platinum 5 years paint protect is more commonly select by most users.

My car is about ~2.3 years and so far still look great... no regret getting UK Gtechniq....
Total 4 of my family members cars (Altis - Sold, CX5, Myvi & Accord) are using Gtechniq Coating...mostly choose Platinum version.

This post has been edited by chuah_ph: Aug 21 2018, 10:56 AM

485 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0655sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:22 AM