20 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Microsoft Banned Modded Console Connect To Live!, Time to buy core unit for Live.

gnome
post May 20 2007, 11:25 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ May 20 2007, 11:23 PM)
1 noobie question. i tot ms cannot detect dvdrom mod?
Seems like they can now laugh.gif
aegis`-
post May 20 2007, 11:29 PM

1,480 posts

they cant detect but the latest update must have been able to see it and sent some logs over to ms
PrivateJohn
post May 20 2007, 11:31 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(aegis`- @ May 20 2007, 11:29 PM)
they cant detect but the latest update must have been able to see it and sent some logs over to ms
I think some at xbox-scene didn't do spring update also get ban.
Wait, must update only can connect to Live right?

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: May 20 2007, 11:32 PM
marauderz
post May 20 2007, 11:33 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

It was only ASSUMED that MS was not able to detect the mod. While others speculated that MS was just waiting for the right moment to do it.. and I guess this is the right moment.
aegis`-
post May 20 2007, 11:35 PM

1,480 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ May 20 2007, 11:33 PM)
It was only ASSUMED that MS was not able to detect the mod. While others speculated that MS was just waiting for the right moment to do it.. and I guess this is the right moment.
yea prolly
they are just waiting to collect as much xbox sales and one time bomb there goes
buy more consoles from me says bill gates
singleguy
post May 20 2007, 11:35 PM

relax lah!
1,090 posts

theres goes my friend list. tons of them not online for weeks..., hehe
gnome
post May 20 2007, 11:36 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Found this in xbox-scene forum

OK, I have emailed a few hundred of my 360 customers and from a brief sample of responses this is what seems most likely:

1. Microsoft definitely detected back-up disc usage long before the Spring updates and compiled a list of console IDs.
2. Microsoft is now selectively banning from this list in waves (possibly as a ruse to disperse suspicion about what exactly it is they are detecting).

Here is an example of one customer's scenario:

1. Played back-ups until about two (2) months ago and then the Xbox died (3RoD).
2. Flashed console back to original firmware.
3. Replaced warranty sticker with new undamaged one (this is my specialty!)
4. Sent the console in under warranty and had it serviced (last month).
5. Console came back, still remaining unmodded.
6. Went on Live yesterday - immediately banned!

There you go - if you played back-ups two months ago you are !@#$ed!
It has NOTHING to do with what firmware you had during the recent updates!

Possibly what they detect is unstealthed back-ups - as a high percentage out there are still unstealthed! (amongst other things they could check for).

Interesting hmm.gif
SUSgogo2
post May 20 2007, 11:40 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

so if the mod is stealth, it will be undetected? so far, who doesn't get banned yet?
cannavaro

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Wow. That's sneaky. Hahahaha!
redbull_y2k

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ May 20 2007, 11:31 PM)
I think some at xbox-scene didn't do spring update also get ban.
Wait, must update only can connect to Live right?
If didn't update then how to online Live? laugh.gif There's one guy who never play games for the past 2 months, only XBLA games. His console is modded n he did play copied games before that, just not recently. His console is also banned. So that means MS have been keeping track for a while already.
ganaz-x
post May 20 2007, 11:43 PM

1,025 posts

Wow! Imagine being Jack Sparrow few months back, then decided to turn over new leaf, went legit, unmod the box, goes on Live and still kena banhammer...heh heh heh...pity sweat.gif
shanda104862
post May 21 2007, 12:30 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(ganaz-x @ May 20 2007, 11:43 PM)
Wow! Imagine being Jack Sparrow few months back, then decided to turn over new leaf, went legit, unmod the box, goes on Live and still kena banhammer...heh heh heh...pity  sweat.gif
hmm.. suddenly so few ppl playing winning eleven X liao..
<_>"
ghostdevice
post May 21 2007, 12:39 AM

53 posts

you all sure happy to see downfall of others ...50 years of Independent Malaysian Unite ..bah crap
xxboxx
post May 21 2007, 12:39 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

Wow! Imagine being Jack Sparrow few months back, then decided to turn over new leaf, went legit, unmod the box, goes on Live and still kena banhammer...heh heh heh...pity  sweat.gif

in MS views either you are black or white, no grey... sweat.gif
maybe now the manufacturing cost per-box has gone down enough to make a profit out of it so thats why they ban the console, make people go out and buy new set, which give MS higher number of sets sold. bet May NPD number for 360 is unusually higher than before. icon_idea.gif
marauderz
post May 21 2007, 01:07 AM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

There's no per console profit for the 360, or the PS3, only console that has profit during sales is the Wii
DjiNn
post May 21 2007, 01:15 AM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

want to pity also no use already. There already know its coming what~. unless.. they have no idea of it ?

Added on May 21, 2007, 1:16 am
QUOTE(marauderz @ May 21 2007, 01:07 AM)
There's no per console profit for the 360, or the PS3, only console that has profit during sales is the Wii
darn right you are. Hence I'm loosing money for the Xbox 360 Sales due to 3 Rods because I have to send it back.. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

This post has been edited by DjiNn: May 21 2007, 01:16 AM
un9ku
post May 21 2007, 06:07 AM

335 posts

then u sell rojak la....
mari mari, rojaks hideout. rm1 for 1 plate ~~~
then eddy sell cendol beside u.
n ah biao play halo 3 shocking.gif doh.gif
Xrated
post May 21 2007, 08:58 AM

i dont think play backup games would cause the 3rod
ganaz-x
post May 21 2007, 10:18 AM

1,025 posts

QUOTE(ghostdevice @ May 21 2007, 12:39 AM)
you all sure happy to see downfall of others ...50 years of Independent Malaysian Unite ..bah crap
I dunno who u're refering to but I for one will not glee to see my fallen comrades icon_rolleyes.gif I won't play the role of Mr. Righteous just bcoz my 360 is not modded.
silencer
post May 21 2007, 10:39 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(ganaz-x @ May 21 2007, 10:18 AM)
I dunno who u're refering to but I for one will not glee to see my fallen comrades  icon_rolleyes.gif I won't play the role of Mr. Righteous just bcoz my 360 is not modded.
I am 100% behind your statement....no one here is happy 2 c any of his online frens being banned from the live.... icon_rolleyes.gif

20 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0161sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:05 AM