ILLEGEAR Onyx Discussion Thread V1, Illegear's first Bazel-less Notebook
Winn@Illegear
Nov 5 2018, 06:55 PM
 Great cooling system comes great portability. The SELENITE is a gnarly 17.3” machine but it has an ultra-slim figure of 25mm and weighing in at only 2.25kg with a petite 15.6” form factor – a portable powerhouse that doesn’t compromise immersive experiences even on the go. #ILLEGEAR #WhenPerformanceMatters #Selenite #INFINIVISION #SilentMechanicalKeyboard #GENESWITCH
michealelsie
Nov 6 2018, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(Winn@Illegear @ Nov 5 2018, 06:55 PM)  Great cooling system comes great portability. The SELENITE is a gnarly 17.3” machine but it has an ultra-slim figure of 25mm and weighing in at only 2.25kg with a petite 15.6” form factor – a portable powerhouse that doesn’t compromise immersive experiences even on the go. #ILLEGEAR #WhenPerformanceMatters #Selenite #INFINIVISION #SilentMechanicalKeyboard #GENESWITCH Anyone using this monster? I’m so boring and lonely hahahahahahaha
ZM Fong
Nov 6 2018, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(michealelsie @ Nov 6 2018, 05:44 PM) Anyone using this monster? I’m so boring and lonely hahahahahahaha This model is very new from TongFang - GK7CN5S/6S Guess not much people using, although I can see some resellers in other countries are starting to sell it
michealelsie
Nov 6 2018, 07:46 PM
QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 6 2018, 06:15 PM) This model is very new from TongFang - GK7CN5S/6S Guess not much people using, although I can see some resellers in other countries are starting to sell it Hope more and more people start using this, if not then kinda sad because no discussion...
Cimo
Nov 6 2018, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(michealelsie @ Nov 6 2018, 07:46 PM) Hope more and more people start using this, if not then kinda sad because no discussion... Of course no one else is talking about it.. this is Onyx discussion thread.. go open Selenite own thread lah. Heheheh.
michealelsie
Nov 7 2018, 07:16 AM
QUOTE(Cimo @ Nov 6 2018, 09:31 PM) Of course no one else is talking about it.. this is Onyx discussion thread.. go open Selenite own thread lah. Heheheh. Of course i know this is Onyx thread la bro
SUSIdiuU
Nov 8 2018, 08:50 PM
how big is the onyx power brick?
AZIM@ILLEGEAR
Nov 9 2018, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(IdiuU @ Nov 8 2018, 08:50 PM) how big is the onyx power brick? Hi IdiuU, the ONYX charging adapter is measured as below: 15.7cm x 7.3cm x 2.4cm (Length x Width x Thickness)
tr|n|ty
Nov 9 2018, 12:50 PM
Hi
I am looking at Onyx. Not a very pc savvy guy. I wanted to know GTX1060 worth the money or not? Or better invest the money for better RAM and Processor for about the same money.
I dont really gaming. Only play games like DOTA2 and CS once awhile. Mostly play Chinese mobile rpg games using 3rd party software like bluestack. I'm considering illegear as I got bored with all those ultrabook from other makers. They are laggy when using bluestack. Normally i will use for 3-4 years only changed.
Or with my low requirement, i just get the most basic version of onyx and it will do me good for the next few years?
One more question, how long the battery last for video playing? I travel a lot by plane and train.
limewekit
Nov 9 2018, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(tr|n|ty @ Nov 9 2018, 12:50 PM) Hi I am looking at Onyx. Not a very pc savvy guy. I wanted to know GTX1060 worth the money or not? Or better invest the money for better RAM and Processor for about the same money. I dont really gaming. Only play games like DOTA2 and CS once awhile. Mostly play Chinese mobile rpg games using 3rd party software like bluestack. I'm considering illegear as I got bored with all those ultrabook from other makers. They are laggy when using bluestack. Normally i will use for 3-4 years only changed. Or with my low requirement, i just get the most basic version of onyx and it will do me good for the next few years? One more question, how long the battery last for video playing? I travel a lot by plane and train. Hi bro, I recently purchase the ONYX i7 (1050Ti) . If you don't do content creation or heavy game loading, 1050TI is suffice even for dota 2 with good framerate. Battery life is not all good given it's using a intel H processor.. not U(for power saving) if you bring it along and use it for web only and casual browsing ..expect up to maximum 3hr 50min or 4 hour usage. If you have the budget perhaps consider a good CPU & GPU as these aren't changeable in future, however ram can. Hope this helps
tr|n|ty
Nov 9 2018, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(limewekit @ Nov 9 2018, 02:21 PM) Hi bro, I recently purchase the ONYX i7 (1050Ti) . If you don't do content creation or heavy game loading, 1050TI is suffice even for dota 2 with good framerate. Battery life is not all good given it's using a intel H processor.. not U(for power saving) if you bring it along and use it for web only and casual browsing ..expect up to maximum 3hr 50min or 4 hour usage. If you have the budget perhaps consider a good CPU & GPU as these aren't changeable in future, however ram can. Hope this helps Thx bro for the info. Seems battery life isnt that good but understandable since it focus on performance. 4 hours light surfing maybe translate to less than 2 hours video/gaming. By the way I noticed this battery pack which is to replace the hard disk drive. Do you know how much battery time it can provide and how much it will increase the overall weight?
michealelsie
Nov 11 2018, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(tr|n|ty @ Nov 9 2018, 04:20 PM) Thx bro for the info. Seems battery life isnt that good but understandable since it focus on performance. 4 hours light surfing maybe translate to less than 2 hours video/gaming. By the way I noticed this battery pack which is to replace the hard disk drive. Do you know how much battery time it can provide and how much it will increase the overall weight? the bigger battery pack will increase the battery life by 40-60% as mentioned by other reviewer
Prince J
Nov 11 2018, 06:31 PM
QUOTE(tr|n|ty @ Nov 9 2018, 04:20 PM) Thx bro for the info. Seems battery life isnt that good but understandable since it focus on performance. 4 hours light surfing maybe translate to less than 2 hours video/gaming. By the way I noticed this battery pack which is to replace the hard disk drive. Do you know how much battery time it can provide and how much it will increase the overall weight? Hi trlnlty, The weight is slightly reduced if you replaced the HDD to big battery. The new battery life with big battery is about 4 to 6 hours depend on usage. This post has been edited by Prince J: Nov 11 2018, 06:32 PM
limewekit
Nov 11 2018, 07:56 PM
Hi guys is this normal on my Onyx screen ? with a completely black background it seems distinct the screen panel lights somehow have some discolouration? or light bleed ??? Attached thumbnail(s)
TSEiraku
Nov 11 2018, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(limewekit @ Nov 11 2018, 07:56 PM) Hi guys is this normal on my Onyx screen ? with a completely black background it seems distinct the screen panel lights somehow have some discolouration? or light bleed ??? I think this is "IPS Glow" (with a bit of bleed). The "glow" we can't do much about (it's an avoidable part of the IPS tech) but the bleed severity depends on your particular panel (and - to a lesser extent - how it's installed). This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 11 2018, 09:08 PM
limewekit
Nov 11 2018, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 11 2018, 09:06 PM) I think this is "IPS Glow" (with a bit of bleed). The "glow" we can't do much about (it's an avoidable part of the IPS tech) but the bleed severity depends on your particular panel (and - to a lesser extent - how it's installed). how do you differentiate a bleed and a glow ? seems like mine is more to a glow ? here's another pic.. it's a black wallpaper but my phone somehow capture it with a different colour abit Attached thumbnail(s)
TSEiraku
Nov 12 2018, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(limewekit @ Nov 11 2018, 10:00 PM) how do you differentiate a bleed and a glow ? seems like mine is more to a glow ? here's another pic.. it's a black wallpaper but my phone somehow capture it with a different colour abit The white "bar of light" coming from the center bottom frame (and a few smaller ones on the top edge) looks like bleed, while the larger orange-ish patches seems to look like IPS Glow to me. And yeah, don't worry about glow. Depending on the angle you're shooting the photo you can actually make it even worse or go away completely, but it's not gonna mess up your screen in actual use. Bad bleed however, can show up in actual use and can be pretty distracting in a dark setting. Fortunately, yours look pretty tame from my experience, I've seen far worse bleed for sure. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 12 2018, 12:58 AM
limewekit
Nov 12 2018, 06:34 AM
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 12 2018, 12:54 AM) The white "bar of light" coming from the center bottom frame (and a few smaller ones on the top edge) looks like bleed, while the larger orange-ish patches seems to look like IPS Glow to me. And yeah, don't worry about glow. Depending on the angle you're shooting the photo you can actually make it even worse or go away completely, but it's not gonna mess up your screen in actual use. Bad bleed however, can show up in actual use and can be pretty distracting in a dark setting. Fortunately, yours look pretty tame from my experience, I've seen far worse bleed for sure. thanks for enlighten me on this. if this case was to be yours, would you take it back to fix under warranty or just leave it ? it doesn't really bother me on normal usage but it's disturbing to now know that my screen have this kind of light bleed.. kinda like unconsciously i know this issue exists but doesnt affect my normal jsage in a normal light setting though
TSEiraku
Nov 12 2018, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(limewekit @ Nov 12 2018, 06:34 AM) thanks for enlighten me on this. if this case was to be yours, would you take it back to fix under warranty or just leave it ? it doesn't really bother me on normal usage but it's disturbing to now know that my screen have this kind of light bleed.. kinda like unconsciously i know this issue exists but doesnt affect my normal jsage in a normal light setting though TBH, even if you go back for repairs, there's will always be a slight chance that whatever "fixes" they do is just gonna make the bleed worse (unfortunately), unless the bleed is bad enough to necessitate a full LCD panel replacement - and even THEN there is NO guarantee that the new panel is gonna be any better. Plus, even harder to "repair" to begin with due to the thin bazels on the Onyx. So if you can live with it, don't go back. If you can't, then you'll have to gamble a bit. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 12 2018, 09:37 AM
Tracer3
Nov 14 2018, 07:48 AM
Can someone who has replaced the keyboard switches to brown please give some feedback on the process. What does the upgrade kit consist of and how did you replace the keys?