Huh? If you run all your 3D cards on the same computer setup, it wouldn't matter which benchmarking softwares you are using, no?
Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2
Jun 26 2007, 01:43 AM
2,659 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Miri, PJ & KL |
Huh? If you run all your 3D cards on the same computer setup, it wouldn't matter which benchmarking softwares you are using, no?
Jun 26 2007, 01:51 AM
1,898 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: N.S.A |
QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 25 2007, 11:03 AM) @ TomatomanzSeedlezz Well, i didnt chg fanspeed, esp. i dont even know where to chg fanspeed.. Do you change the fan speed of your GC to 100% or are you running on default?I tried checking with PC Wizard. It stating i am running 100% even i did not tweak anything.. Where to chg ah?.. tried Rivaturner.. but it cant recognize my drivers. Btw, didcha try using MSI D.O.T?.. Cheers |
Jun 26 2007, 08:24 AM
7,689 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: The Land of No Return |
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 26 2007, 01:06 AM) thats EXACTLY the reason why i keep asking for 3D MARK 05 scores. its a better measure for GC as the CPU doesnt really affect the final scores that much. LOL...Maybe i should retest my card once i settle all my stuff with my current PC. Bad day with my LCD and PSU going kaput..Guys, any idea what might be the lowest wattage i could go with my current 8800GTS setup?Do you guys recommending me going with CM 430 Extreme or FSP 400W or maybe (kinda expensive) ST400? Do you think my rig can support them? QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 26 2007, 01:51 AM) Well, i didnt chg fanspeed, esp. i dont even know where to chg fanspeed.. Well, i also duno where to change but i heard from kmarc, you can install speedfan, go to configuration and change the speed from there. Just put the minimum fan speed to 100%. However, for me, the PC Wizard is still stating my GPU fan is at 100% even though i did not touch anything..Where to chg ah?.. tried Rivaturner.. but it cant recognize my drivers. Btw, didcha try using MSI D.O.T?.. Cheers Never tried the D.O.T before cause i never touch that CD before as well..LOL..Maybe i should give it a try but Ntune also have the ability to let you OC the card as well right? |
Jun 26 2007, 10:13 AM
2,825 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri |
QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 26 2007, 01:36 AM) Holy smokes!.. thats nearly 4Ghz... Still far away from 4GHz, HSF is Scythe Ninja and temperature i have forgotten to watch as i am just running a quick test on 3DMark What CPU HSF are u using man?.. and dont mind asking what temp. are u getting at 3.85Ghz?.. Cheers |
Jun 26 2007, 12:01 PM
2,810 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bangsar |
QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 22 2007, 01:02 AM) Wait... its yer aircond split-unit?.. How to determine whether its a split or not? As normal the fan compressor part is outside the room where as the 1 in the room is the blower la. Its not a too old model and if I not mistaken its the 1st panasonic model with ionizer which I bought around year 2004If yers really aircond split-unit, thats really comforting to know its quiet enough for me coz im quite picky in terms of noise Btw, weird abt MSI 8800GTS OC here, doesnt comes with COH, considering SG has it bundled (coz i thought its juz asia region only, apparently its juz here Anyone knows MSI HQ tel.no in KL?.. Cheers |
Jun 26 2007, 01:12 PM
1,139 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 25 2007, 11:39 PM) =_="... dude... if u didnt see juz previous posts... do read it again... Oooo. Pardon me Mr-1337-in-3Dmark06. I didnt know that because the last 3DMark I've tested is the 05.To be sure any more 3Dmark06 n00bs out there doesnt know... 3DMARK06 its CPU DEPENDENT BENCHMARK!!!... I gotta say... this really getting on my nerves for those who thinks that AthlonXP 2.4GHz its same as C2D 2.4Ghz... And esp. those who o/c their C2D and compares with my X2 3800 non-o/c. Stop comparing and think its the same all bcoz its same MHz/GHz... it doesnt work that way!!!... Damit!.. this really reminds of those ppl thinks AthlonXP 3000+ its 3000MHz... /rants-off Cheers And btw, I do know that a 2.4ghz C2D and A64 is not the same, ipc's are not the same on both. Just I didnt know the difference would be this big in 06 compared to 05. Again, you're the 1337 for calling non-3dm06 awares as n00bs |
Jun 26 2007, 06:34 PM
10,530 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Petaling Jaya & Mid Valley |
eh guys.... how to know if ur PCIe slot is running at 4x or 8x or 16x?
any software that can be used to check? |
Jun 26 2007, 07:08 PM
522 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Bolehland |
All the gc is using PCI-e x16
except for the agp's 1 correct me if I'm wrong. |
Jun 26 2007, 07:42 PM
552 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Jun 26 2007, 07:44 PM
522 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Bolehland |
MSI 8800gts still got bundle with CoH?
the other time saw a forumer said that his MSI is not bundled with CoH. This post has been edited by Lemmings: Jun 26 2007, 07:44 PM |
Jun 26 2007, 07:54 PM
1,139 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 26 2007, 08:24 AM) LOL...Maybe i should retest my card once i settle all my stuff with my current PC. Bad day with my LCD and PSU going kaput.. I think the important thing of the PSU that you choose is the Ampere rating of the 12V rails. The extreme 430W's A's you're looking at seems to be abit low. I wouldnt use that one Guys, any idea what might be the lowest wattage i could go with my current 8800GTS setup?Do you guys recommending me going with CM 430 Extreme or FSP 400W or maybe (kinda expensive) ST400? Do you think my rig can support them? Well, i also duno where to change but i heard from kmarc, you can install speedfan, go to configuration and change the speed from there. Just put the minimum fan speed to 100%. However, for me, the PC Wizard is still stating my GPU fan is at 100% even though i did not touch anything.. Never tried the D.O.T before cause i never touch that CD before as well..LOL..Maybe i should give it a try but Ntune also have the ability to let you OC the card as well right? QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 26 2007, 06:34 PM) eh guys.... how to know if ur PCIe slot is running at 4x or 8x or 16x? Try Cpu-Zany software that can be used to check? |
Jun 26 2007, 08:52 PM
1,634 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Ipoh @ Puchong |
Jun 26 2007, 08:55 PM
guys...i know how to see PCIe slot etc etc... what i wanna know is...at what speed is the slot CURRENTLY running... CPU-Z as suggested by sleepy is the only relevant answer to my question so far will check with CPU-Z when i get home. |
Jun 26 2007, 08:58 PM
1,634 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Ipoh @ Puchong |
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 26 2007, 08:55 PM) guys...i know how to see PCIe slot etc etc... what i wanna know is...at what speed is the slot CURRENTLY running... CPU-Z as suggested by sleepy is the only relevant answer to my question so far will check with CPU-Z when i get home. i think all the PCIE graphic card is running on 16X speed, is that any PCIE GC running on non-16X PCIE slot? |
Jun 26 2007, 09:05 PM
yeah...i remember reading long ago in this forum.. some dude running his PCIe GC at 4x...so i wanna check...coz for some reason my 3D Mark 05 im only getting 8k.
not sure the reason. but i suspect the main reason is that my HDD is dying. but just wanna make sure its not the PCIe slot. and there are 8x PCIe slots built into the mobos. and speaking of 3dmark 05... i just re-downloaded it a few days ago....and for some reason i have to check my scores online. i cant check it WITHOUT submitting the ORB. how do i do it without having to check it online ah?? the previous 3dm05 i downloaded a year ago didnt have this..can check without going online. |
Jun 26 2007, 10:26 PM
645 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuching, Sarawak |
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 26 2007, 09:05 PM) yeah...i remember reading long ago in this forum.. some dude running his PCIe GC at 4x...so i wanna check...coz for some reason my 3D Mark 05 im only getting 8k. nowaday graphic card only using pcie 16x slot with 75 watt supplynot sure the reason. but i suspect the main reason is that my HDD is dying. but just wanna make sure its not the PCIe slot. and there are 8x PCIe slots built into the mobos. and speaking of 3dmark 05... i just re-downloaded it a few days ago....and for some reason i have to check my scores online. i cant check it WITHOUT submitting the ORB. how do i do it without having to check it online ah?? the previous 3dm05 i downloaded a year ago didnt have this..can check without going online. low 3dmark score does not mean anything gua? y worried? as long as play as good as other gamer fps then it just fine This post has been edited by eluna: Jun 26 2007, 10:29 PM |
Jun 26 2007, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(sleepy @ Jun 26 2007, 01:12 PM) Oooo. Pardon me Mr-1337-in-3Dmark06. I didnt know that because the last 3DMark I've tested is the 05. Other than u sounded sarcastic, sorry abt that... bring out frustration on u there.And btw, I do know that a 2.4ghz C2D and A64 is not the same, ipc's are not the same on both. Just I didnt know the difference would be this big in 06 compared to 05. Again, you're the 1337 for calling non-3dm06 awares as n00bs Abt calling u n00bs, not like i saying ur #$@$@%... Well, at least u know now... heh QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 26 2007, 09:05 PM) yeah...i remember reading long ago in this forum.. some dude running his PCIe GC at 4x...so i wanna check...coz for some reason my 3D Mark 05 im only getting 8k. Yea, u can check yer PCIE speeds on CPU-Z.not sure the reason. but i suspect the main reason is that my HDD is dying. but just wanna make sure its not the PCIe slot. and there are 8x PCIe slots built into the mobos. and speaking of 3dmark 05... i just re-downloaded it a few days ago....and for some reason i have to check my scores online. i cant check it WITHOUT submitting the ORB. how do i do it without having to check it online ah?? the previous 3dm05 i downloaded a year ago didnt have this..can check without going online. And abt 3DMark05, yea, it used to show result straightaway w/o going online Now the latest version of it, needs to check yer results thru online. QUOTE(eluna @ Jun 26 2007, 10:26 PM) nowaday graphic card only using pcie 16x slot with 75 watt supply Yea, juz take it lightly when comparing with 3DMark06, as i said, best to benchmark using games low 3dmark score does not mean anything gua? y worried? as long as play as good as other gamer fps then it just fine Cheers This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 26 2007, 11:12 PM |
Jun 26 2007, 11:18 PM
7,689 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: The Land of No Return |
QUOTE(sleepy @ Jun 26 2007, 07:54 PM) I think the important thing of the PSU that you choose is the Ampere rating of the 12V rails. The extreme 430W's A's you're looking at seems to be abit low. I wouldnt use that one Well, out of the choices i have thus far, only the FSP 400W offers higher A at around 30+. Most are below 30A. I do not want to spend too much on this PSU cause i am still going to use back my ST56F after it is back from RMA. Therefore, i prefer to spend < RM150 on it though...Try Cpu-Z QUOTE(RokXIII @ Jun 26 2007, 08:58 PM) i think all the PCIE graphic card is running on 16X speed, is that any PCIE GC running on non-16X PCIE slot? |
Jun 26 2007, 11:39 PM
3,569 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 26 2007, 11:18 PM) Well, out of the choices i have thus far, only the FSP 400W offers higher A at around 30+. Most are below 30A. I do not want to spend too much on this PSU cause i am still going to use back my ST56F after it is back from RMA. Therefore, i prefer to spend < RM150 on it though... 570 SLI is on 8x when SLIWell, on default, most of the PCIE card will be running on 16X. They will only be reduced if you are running SLi on some motherboard. However, there are some cases (weird ones) that i had seen before where on some way, it only runs on 8x.. |
Jun 26 2007, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(sniperwolf @ Jun 26 2007, 12:01 PM) How to determine whether its a split or not? As normal the fan compressor part is outside the room where as the 1 in the room is the blower la. Its not a too old model and if I not mistaken its the 1st panasonic model with ionizer which I bought around year 2004 Hey snipey,Yea, basically yers its split-unit, meaning theres 2 separate parts/units, one the blower and the other its the compressor. Thats really quiet, esp. considering with yer air-con on. Cheers Added on June 26, 2007, 11:56 pm QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 26 2007, 08:24 AM) Never tried the D.O.T before cause i never touch that CD before as well..LOL..Maybe i should give it a try but Ntune also have the ability to let you OC the card as well right? I see.. well, according the reviews, they said the MSI's D.O.T pretty solid 3Dcard utility.If not mistaken it can o/c, see temperatures, check artifacts, and best of all, auto o/c. I might try that later, esp. after i gotten a new PSU And yea, nTune can do o/c too. Cheers This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 26 2007, 11:57 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0188sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:13 PM |