Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2
dattebayo
Jun 28 2007, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jun 28 2007, 03:23 PM) Is getting a 8600 GT worth it? I was saving for an 8800 GTS...but then...financial issues. I really hope there is something for me. I really can't afford RM1000+ for just a graphics card. I know because I have a 7800 GTX (it affected my life financially quite terribly) if u have a 7800gtx, i suggest u not to upgrade to 8600gt. The improvement is quite insignificant, and 7800gtx can handle better in some dx9 games. wait for 8800gts price to drop, or next gen dx10 cards come out.
akachester
Jun 28 2007, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jun 28 2007, 03:23 PM) Is getting a 8600 GT worth it? I was saving for an 8800 GTS...but then...financial issues. I really hope there is something for me. I really can't afford RM1000+ for just a graphics card. I know because I have a 7800 GTX (it affected my life financially quite terribly) Are you still using the 7800GTX right now? If you are, then try to prevent yourself from "upgrading" to the 8600GT. Its more like downgrading to me..Keep the 7800GTX and wait for some price drop before making a move. Do not regret in making the wrong decision since you are having financial difficulties. Else, if you do not have the 7800GTX, getting the 8600GT would be a good choice as well. Try to get the cheapest available and below RM500. Getting one that is over RM500 would mean its better to get the previous generation 7900/1950 series...
Hell Fire
Jun 28 2007, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(Dickong @ Jun 28 2007, 01:18 PM) As stated in my earlier post i encounter the same problem like yours n it happen to be Asus brand, in fact i send for rma n they return to me saying no problem, i think some software compatibility problem with this gpu. How do u fix it? Btw just played a while of WoW, and it happened again, now going to try running 3dmark. QUOTE Helldude : juz wondering what temperature yer card at?.. idle and load. The temperature is between 65-70 when idle, not sure bout load. This post has been edited by Hell Fire: Jun 28 2007, 05:48 PM
Dickong
Jun 28 2007, 07:13 PM
[quote=Hell Fire,Jun 28 2007, 05:39 PM] How do u fix it? Btw just played a while of WoW, and it happened again, now going to try running 3dmark. I try many driver until i get a stable one and do some tweaking on the bios and the tweaking on riva tuner, presently using 158.27 driver from 3d guru. Presently oc my gpu to 600/900 n its stable when running 3dmark 03,05,06 lop 5 time each and stable, but until today still cant run aquamark3, only way i uninstall aquamark3 and everything is fine.
chOOOk
Jun 28 2007, 09:29 PM

anybody has a unused PCIe to molex converter that is unused? my 8800 GTS didn have this in the bundle  im willing to buy at reasonable price.
dattebayo
Jun 28 2007, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(chOOOk @ Jun 28 2007, 09:29 PM) anybody has a unused PCIe to molex converter that is unused? my 8800 GTS didn have this in the bundle  im willing to buy at reasonable price.  I got one that came with x1950. PM me if interested
TomatomanzSeedlezz
Jun 28 2007, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(chOOOk @ Jun 28 2007, 09:29 PM) anybody has a unused PCIe to molex converter that is unused? my 8800 GTS didn have this in the bundle  im willing to buy at reasonable price.  Im juz curious, what PSU are u on?... must be pretty old, considering u need a convertor for it.. Cheers
akachester
Jun 28 2007, 10:18 PM
Just boot up my PC after 5 days of hibernation due to problem with my LCD. Surprisingly, my MSI is now idling on 62 - 63c. Never dropped below 60c when my previous idling temperature is around 58c...LOL..
TomatomanzSeedlezz,
Have you tried the D.O.T software? Do you have a CD with the software cause i cant seem to find it though..
chOOOk
Jun 28 2007, 10:26 PM

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 28 2007, 10:14 PM) Im juz curious, what PSU are u on?... must be pretty old, considering u need a convertor for it.. Cheers  im on a SFF shuttle XPC, smaller sized
stevenlee
Jun 28 2007, 11:18 PM
now most of true power power supply will bundle with 6 pin pcie connectors.... i think your psu quit old or outdate edi..
can your psu support the card =_=
Monster Hunter G
Jun 29 2007, 12:17 AM

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jun 28 2007, 03:23 PM) Is getting a 8600 GT worth it? I was saving for an 8800 GTS...but then...financial issues. I really hope there is something for me. I really can't afford RM1000+ for just a graphics card. I know because I have a 7800 GTX (it affected my life financially quite terribly) Why do you want to upgrade to a 8600GT when you already have a 7800GTX? IMHO its not that worth it performance wise you will see little to no difference at all, what you are truly paying for is DirectX10 support and shader model 4 support for upcoming games. Added if you have financial issues then getting a 8800 card is just hurting yourself since the upcoming GeForce 9 series have already been announced to be out late this year. My advise "Play the waiting game" and see how the price go. However I would say 8600 series are already quite affordable only within 500 price range can get one already excluding the higher end 8600GTS that is.
ronaldjoe
Jun 29 2007, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(Monster Hunter G @ Jun 29 2007, 12:17 AM) Why do you want to upgrade to a 8600GT when you already have a 7800GTX? IMHO its not that worth it performance wise you will see little to no difference at all, what you are truly paying for is DirectX10 support and shader model 4 support for upcoming games. Added if you have financial issues then getting a 8800 card is just hurting yourself since the upcoming GeForce 9 series have already been announced to be out late this year. My advise "Play the waiting game" and see how the price go. However I would say 8600 series are already quite affordable only within 500 price range can get one already excluding the higher end 8600GTS that is.  Yup, I agree. Now it's not the time to upgrade.
alwizbthere
Jun 29 2007, 01:19 AM
any1 using asus smartdoctor tat comes with 8800gts? i downloaded the latest edition of drivers from asus sites for my windows vista ultimate, and suddenly the smartdoctor software dun display the temperature and fan control di
before this was using windows xp, and using the drivers/utilities from the cd bundled there is the fan control and temp readings but now with the latest editions, this has disappeared, as if as my 8800gts 320mb dun have a monitor, which i'm pretty sure it has
any1 faced this problem before or has any solution?
edit: pls ignore my questions, as i found from the asus forum itself this is a problem with the software itself, not my problem alone
This post has been edited by alwizbthere: Jun 29 2007, 01:31 AM
stevenlee
Jun 29 2007, 06:59 AM
i not using asus be4... if you feel the driver is good...why u still bother with smartdoctor... if u wan to check the temp..u can use nvtune...complete with temp and oc section also
akachester
Jun 29 2007, 08:37 AM
Guys, i am using 158.22 driver for my 8800GTS. Anyone have any newer and better (more stable) driver to recommend?
I just had one problem yesterday. When i switch on RivaTuner and change my GC fan speed to 100%, the monitor turned off in about 5 minutes. I am wondering, would my previous LCD problem is also caused by this here. But after i restarted, everything seem fine (of course, fan speed back to auto)..
What might be the problem here?Driver?Hardware?
defaultname365
Jun 29 2007, 08:07 PM
akachester
Jun 30 2007, 01:08 AM
No problem. Whatever it is, just dont rush and make a wrong decision..Good luck..
SlayerXT
Jun 30 2007, 09:26 AM
christopher_mhm
Jun 30 2007, 12:17 PM

hey guys, i got a question, my com specs r like tis, p4 2.8, 965 ds3, 512 mb ddr533 ram, n recently bought galaxy 8600 gt. wen i benchmark 3dmark05 graphic test only i get bout 2.5k score, wats wrong wif my system? i use forceware 158.22 driver..
TomatomanzSeedlezz
Jun 30 2007, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(christopher_mhm @ Jun 30 2007, 12:17 PM) hey guys, i got a question, my com specs r like tis, p4 2.8, 965 ds3, 512 mb ddr533 ram, n recently bought galaxy 8600 gt. wen i benchmark 3dmark05 graphic test only i get bout 2.5k score, wats wrong wif my system? i use forceware 158.22 driver.. Hmmmz.. have u tried "Project Search & Compare" and do "Match your active 3DMark06 project (exact CPU & GPU speed)" in ORB (which after u submitted yer scores online), easier to find out that way. Cheers This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 30 2007, 05:22 PM