147 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Bottom

International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor

irisss
post Jan 8 2013, 12:25 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(swayforlife @ Jan 8 2013, 10:41 AM)
If i am not mistaken, you will need to hit the cut-off score to have your application submitted, and sit for an interview. I was told that it is the "minimum requirement to apply".  All the best!! smile.gif
Hi,the mimimumrequirement in their website is really low,like bbc.
But the real cut off is much higher than that.
I think they still give out interview offers to those who meet bbc but under real cut off

swayforlife
post Jan 8 2013, 12:30 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(irisss @ Jan 8 2013, 12:25 PM)
Hi,the mimimumrequirement in their website is really low,like bbc.
But the real cut off is much higher than that.
I think they still give out interview offers to those who meet bbc but under real cut off
I was told that the cut off for the mbbs local program is indeed bbc/bbb, so you can apply with bbc/bbb; while the cut off for the pms stream is aab/aaa.
limeuu
post Jan 8 2013, 01:12 PM

12,290 posts

imu has always maintained that there is no difference between the pms and local programme...the students are all mixed up during phase 1 anyway...

however, it is a fact that the cut off are higher for pms compared to the local programme...the local licence has been increased to 150 per batch, or 300 a year, so they have to fill the vacancies.....

there is no information on what the results of exams are like, and how the 2 cohort compare to each other, but anecdotal experience suggest more failures from the pms cohort....why that is so, and whether there is different assessment standards for the 2 is unknown.....but certainly, the pms generally set a high requirement for their selection....

since 2010, the minimum cut off is no more bbc, but bbb, based on the directive from mmc....

the pms-undergraduate programme remains very popular for obvious reasons, and places are always fully subscribed and restricted, in fact less than the past, due to several pms backing out from the arrangement....that is compensated for by increase in the pms-graduate entry stream....but that is quite unpopular.....never seems to fill up all vacancies...
podrunner
post Jan 8 2013, 01:14 PM

2,214 posts

Anyone know someone who got bbc, and now undergoing local MBBS? How is this student doing/coping compared to say, a student with AAA. Just curious as many have said that even AAA students struggle in the course (not specifically in IMU).
irisss
post Jan 8 2013, 02:15 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(swayforlife @ Jan 8 2013, 12:30 PM)
I was told that the cut off for the mbbs local program is indeed bbc/bbb, so you can apply with bbc/bbb; while the cut off for the pms stream is aab/aaa.
I am applying to pms by the way.
They looked at my result and said I am eligible to apply,but I am not sure whether i will meet the cut off or not.
I am still waiting them to give me the interview date.
cckkpr
post Jan 8 2013, 02:30 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 8 2013, 01:12 PM)
imu has always maintained that there is no difference between the pms and local programme...the students are all mixed up during phase 1 anyway...

however, it is a fact that the cut off are higher for pms compared to the local programme...the local licence has been increased to 150 per batch, or 300 a year, so they have to fill the vacancies.....

there is no information on what the results of exams are like, and how the 2 cohort compare to each other, but anecdotal experience suggest more failures from the pms cohort....why that is so, and whether there is different assessment standards for the 2 is unknown.....but certainly, the pms generally set a high requirement for their selection....

since 2010, the minimum cut off is no more bbc, but bbb, based on the directive from mmc....

the pms-undergraduate programme remains very popular for obvious reasons, and places are always fully subscribed and restricted, in fact less than the past, due to several pms backing out from the arrangement....that is compensated for by increase in the pms-graduate entry stream....but that is quite unpopular.....never seems to fill up all vacancies...
if the "assessment" of local medic graduates is true and IMU grads rank highly, the local programme could also be very popular due to its overall reputation.

Also looks like the pms stream is the only option for many who wanted to go to oz and uk. Not sure how many will get to uk direct for this Sept 2013 intake. Just hope that the authorities there consider bolehland more favourable as most if not all the applicants meet the minimum requirements. Most lost out on the personal statement.
cckkpr
post Jan 8 2013, 02:33 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jan 8 2013, 01:14 PM)
Anyone know someone who got bbc, and now undergoing local MBBS? How is this student doing/coping compared to say, a student with AAA. Just curious as many have said that even AAA students struggle in the course (not specifically in IMU).
the guy who got into medic should be in third year by now as the bbb requirements was implemented about 2 years ago.
podrunner
post Jan 8 2013, 03:44 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 8 2013, 02:30 PM)
if the "assessment" of local medic graduates is true and IMU grads rank highly, the local programme could also be very popular due to its overall reputation.

Also looks like the pms stream is the only option for many who wanted to go to oz and uk. Not sure how many will get to uk direct for this Sept 2013 intake. Just hope that the authorities there consider bolehland more favourable as most if not all the applicants meet the minimum requirements. Most lost out on the personal statement.
I think doing medicine is a terrible idea, in light of existing and potential issues.
cckkpr
post Jan 8 2013, 04:52 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jan 8 2013, 03:44 PM)
I think doing medicine is a terrible idea, in light of existing and potential issues.
It could be very stressful for the sponsors as well!
confirm
post Jan 8 2013, 05:58 PM

205 posts

Two relatives were comparing their courses recently and were shocked to find out contact hours[lectures,tutorial,lab] were vastly different. From day one,relative taking medicine has around 28 hours a week whereas so far in the first term, the business course attended by the other relative only consists of 4 hours of lectures and a couple hours of tutorials increasing to all in 12 hours in the coming second term.

The business relative was shouting it was day light robbery despite the vast difference in fees !

Conclusion is medicine is tough and should really consider accounting !

This post has been edited by confirm: Jan 8 2013, 06:01 PM
podrunner
post Jan 8 2013, 07:13 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 8 2013, 04:52 PM)
It could be very stressful for the sponsors as well!
Without a doubt!
podrunner
post Jan 8 2013, 07:22 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(confirm @ Jan 8 2013, 05:58 PM)
Two relatives were comparing their courses recently and were shocked to find out contact hours[lectures,tutorial,lab] were vastly different. From day one,relative taking medicine has around 28 hours a week whereas so far in the first term, the business course attended  by the other relative only consists of 4 hours of lectures and a couple hours of tutorials increasing to all in 12 hours in the coming second term.

The business relative was shouting it was day light robbery despite the vast difference in fees !

Conclusion is medicine is tough and should really consider accounting !
This is obvious. Look at entrance requirements for both courses in a proper university. Going forward, I think if kids are quite "worldly" they should be encouraged to take up finance, economics or accounting as these are more versatile courses. At least they don't have to worry about internships and further specialty training spots.
Stamp
post Jan 9 2013, 09:10 AM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(irisss @ Jan 8 2013, 02:15 PM)
They looked at my result and said I am eligible to apply,but I am not sure whether i will meet the cut off or not.
Not meaning to scare you, my niece's friend (they are JPA scholars) was deemed "not qualified" for pms by IMU, based on the interview which was conducted prior to A Level exam. He went on to scored straight As in A Levels, appealed to IMU to qualify him for pms but was turned down (the boy cheekily post his A Level results and the 2nd rejection letter from IMU for the pms program on his FB for all his friends to see. smile.gif ).

Fortunately JPA allowed him to maintain his scholarship but he had to do his medical course at IMU for the full 5 years. And he excelled in the pre-clinical phase (probably to show to IMU that he's a truly doctor material biggrin.gif ). He will continue the clinical phase at the Seremban Hospital soon.

Well, moral of the story is, you'd better do well in the interview. Getting straight As in ALevels does not guarantee a place in pms. Good luck! wink.gif

This post has been edited by Stamp: Jan 9 2013, 09:17 AM
Stamp
post Jan 9 2013, 09:30 AM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 8 2013, 02:30 PM)

I heard a year ago that our Health Ministry conducted a closed survey amongst senior doctors on the HOM in the GH. HOM's from IMU was ranked no 1 and those from UM was no 4. This survey results were never made public.
podrunner
post Jan 9 2013, 09:34 AM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Jan 9 2013, 09:30 AM)
I heard a year ago that our Health Ministry conducted a closed survey amongst senior doctors on the HOM in the GH. HOM's from IMU was ranked no 1 and those from UM was no 4. This survey results were never made public.
So meritocracy proves itself ... hmm.gif
swayforlife
post Jan 9 2013, 09:44 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(irisss @ Jan 8 2013, 02:15 PM)
I see, are you applying for the feb 2013 intake? All the very best irisss, hope to see you there!
limeuu
post Jan 9 2013, 10:49 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Jan 9 2013, 09:10 AM)
Not meaning to scare you, my niece's friend (they are JPA scholars) was deemed "not qualified" for pms by IMU, based on the interview which was conducted prior to A Level exam. He went on to scored straight As in A Levels, appealed to IMU to qualify him for pms but was turned down (the boy cheekily post his A Level results and the 2nd rejection letter from IMU for the pms program on his FB for all his friends to see.  smile.gif ).

Fortunately JPA allowed him to maintain his scholarship but he had to do his medical course at IMU for the full 5 years. And he excelled in the pre-clinical phase (probably to show to IMU that he's a truly doctor material  biggrin.gif ). He will continue the clinical phase at the Seremban Hospital soon.

Well, moral of the story is, you'd better do well in the interview. Getting straight As in ALevels does not guarantee a place in pms. Good luck!  wink.gif
the selection of medical students into uk med schools has NOT depended on a levels results for a long time already....there are tens of thousands of students with 3a, they need to find other means of selection....offers are made long before students even sit for the a2...

for oxbridge, all courses, they also have NOT depended on a levels results for several decades.....selection is done on the basis of specific entrance exams (course dependant) and interviews.....they assume all potential students will have 3as....otherwise they will not be applying..... smile.gif

it is quite easy to get 3as so that means little nowadays....

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 9 2013, 10:55 AM
limeuu
post Jan 9 2013, 10:51 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(swayforlife @ Jan 9 2013, 09:44 AM)
I see, are you applying for the feb 2013 intake? All the very best irisss, hope to see you there!
places for the feb intake into the pms stream is already all taken up.....if you apply now, it will have to be for 2/13 or 1/14 intake.....
cckkpr
post Jan 9 2013, 01:07 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Jan 9 2013, 09:30 AM)
But it was accessible to doctors registered with their association. If IMU can maintained its position in the next survey, it will be a big boost to its reputation.
Dalmin_07
post Jan 9 2013, 03:27 PM

64 posts

What is the minimum requirement to enter IMU if u take a-levels ?

147 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:55 AM