International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor

limeuu
post May 26 2007, 01:00 AM

12,290 posts

imu got masters meh?.............or you are referring to their pharmacy programme which strangely awards a masters as a first degree?........

as to the "best" med uni in Malaysia............no lah.......remember the majority will twin to overseas, so are not awarded the imu degree.........the local programme is nothing to shout about.........

on paper, the best ipta med uni would be um, and ipts would be monash........well established med schools and programmes.........with degrees that has a reasonable international repute..........
limeuu
post May 26 2007, 03:02 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Blumarooz @ May 26 2007, 01:26 AM)
yeah i'm doing master there. Their postgrad is quite new. a few years old if i'm not mistaken. but the lecturers are good. my supervisor just transferred from UM to IMU.
you mean the masters in medical sciences and Community health. these are not medical postgraduate programmes ie not specialisation programme........
limeuu
post May 26 2007, 03:18 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ May 26 2007, 03:14 PM)
The only thing i know about this uni is that its one of the unis that all the students who can't afford private colleges/unis will opt for this as their primary choice. All my friends who wants med, who failed to get jpa, all vying for places here.
you are confusing me............what do you mean??? blink.gif

cannot affort private college/unis (like which ones?) then go imu?????

do you have ANY idea how much the imu local programme cost?????????let along the twinning one............ cry.gif
limeuu
post May 26 2007, 03:41 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ May 26 2007, 03:21 PM)
Erh? Wasn't it 200k plus minus? Thats much better than 500 grand to study in the uk isn't it? tongue.gif
study in uk in "private" colleges/uni??????????????? blink.gif
limeuu
post May 26 2007, 05:42 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ May 26 2007, 05:31 PM)
Overseas uni not considered private? Are they considered government then? Or local? Heh xD
no.................the majority of the unis in uk/australia are state-funded unis, ie government unis...........the mechanism for state funding are varied, depending on the country...........

however, for "international students" ie foreign students, they charge the full tuition fees , sometimes with a profit margin on top................

before "full fees" came in, about 10 years ago, foreign students were subsidised by their taxpayers, in the 70's completely (ie need NOT pay any fees) and then partially from the 80's as the fees was gradually increased till the present level..............

a similar scenerio would be say, our ukm charging rm2k fees for locals, when the actual cost of educating a student is rm20k, the rest is subsidised, and then they take in students from say nigeria, and charge them 20k fees...............that is if the nigerians think ukm is good enough to pay 20k a year for...............

understand now?............
limeuu
post May 26 2007, 05:59 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ May 26 2007, 05:49 PM)
Ooooh! Thanks for clearing that for me biggrin.gif
So i should use the term "those that can't afford overseas uni" go for IMU biggrin.gif
thumbup.gif

but it is more complicated than that..........direct entry into the foreign unis, especially aussia, is VERY competitive, and in spite of the cost, there are LOTs of people from all over the world who recognise the quality of their education, as well as the chance to work/settle in these countries eventually, and all trying to get directly into the uni...........

the entrance requirements for international students can be so high, and the number of places available is so few, most will not achieve the required levels, eg a ter of 99 to get in..............

so an alternative, or "backdoor" way is imu, where after 2 1/2 years here, they twin with a list of unis for another 2-3 years, and graduate officially from these unis.........and the entry requirement into imu is less stringent, about ter 95 at the moment, which will NOT get you directly into the aussie unis.
limeuu
post Oct 10 2007, 02:24 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Oct 10 2007, 10:30 AM)

basically if you scored well enough and impressed the interviewer, you're almost certainly guaranteed a place... but surviving through the course is a different matter... :-/
if someone is selected and fails to cope with the course, it means that someone is WRONGLY sellected.....if the selection process is sufficiently stringent, all the selected students should be able to cope..........by and large, anyone with a levels AAA, stpm A-A-A- or TER 95 should have NO problem, academically and intellectually, in completing the course.........

caveat: this excludes when the student decides to quit or flunk out because he/she does not want to do the course, (and was forced to do it..........but that is another story........)
limeuu
post Oct 11 2007, 05:04 PM

12,290 posts

imu is hardly a good example of stringent intake selection........but the cut off is getting higher all the time.........but it is certainly better than many of the other ipts med schools.........

look carefully at those who dropped out.........they are either with poorer entrtance qualification, or they didn't want to do it anyway, and decided to flunk out........
limeuu
post May 6 2008, 05:02 PM

12,290 posts

c
limeuu
post May 6 2008, 06:15 PM

12,290 posts

let's get one thing straight here......if you manage to get into imu (easy), and chooses the pmr option, you will not know where you will end up till late into your 5th (last) semester......so do NOT go in with ANY expectation of where you end up.......

as for the 4 places mentioned, on a scale of 1-10, 10 being the hardest and below 4 being flunking out somewhere along the way in imu, it will be something like........

a. 8
b. 10
c. 5
d. 5

note this is NOT an indication of the ranking or quality of the uni, but the popularity with imu students......
limeuu
post May 24 2008, 09:07 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(starryangel @ May 24 2008, 07:48 AM)
Is it true that its harder to get into Medicine August intake compared to February intake?
Is it harder to get into PMS option compared to completing the full course in IMU?
what is the minimum qualification for A-Level required to stand a chance for interview for Medicine August intake, PMS option?
the cut offs seem higher for the second intake usually.......mainly i think because of competition from stpm students......they are too late for 1st intake........

they have to be strict with the quality of students going to pms....the standards are set by the respective pms, not imu........and generally, standards are lower in local med schools than the 1st world........due to nep compliance in ipta, and money compliance in ipts.........we do NOT choose the BEST for our future doctors.......
limeuu
post May 29 2008, 07:39 AM

12,290 posts

standard imu SOP........

at least they are tight with their assessments, after being loose with their selection.........unlike some other schools.......the thing about imu is, they are relatively transparent, due to the requirements of the pms.........
limeuu
post Jun 15 2008, 06:34 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(indyariya @ Jun 7 2008, 11:26 AM)
*** they have to be strict with the quality of students going to pms....the standards are set by the respective pms, not imu........and generally, standards are lower in local med schools than the 1st world..
I am a graduate of IMU and I think the above statement is definitely incorrect and offensive.

IMHO, the only thing different of those going PMS and local is the financial status after they completed their study.

I strongly advise those interest to study at IMU, pls visit the website and visit the schools.
i said generally......and did not specifically say anything about mbbs (imu).......

the calibre of students taken in generally will determine the quality of products of the med school.......it is not a perfect correlation of course, there are exceptions........but the fact remains.........

i know the arguments this is going to spur forth, but try understand this simple axiom: the exceptions cannot be extrapolated to apply to, and justify the general.......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jun 15 2008, 06:36 PM
limeuu
post Jun 18 2008, 10:41 PM

12,290 posts

that is a seriously delayed patello-spino-quadratus reaction.......
limeuu
post Jun 19 2008, 08:41 AM

12,290 posts

you should know if you are a medical student........
limeuu
post Jun 19 2008, 07:57 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jun 19 2008, 07:12 PM)
Well, you actually go all the way to find my posts. Do you have to go so far just to counter someone who you think is not worthy to debate with?
Intake of Melaka-Manipal and AIMST is dubious?? May i know where's the basis to this statement? In the end, you are just another superficial idiot who likes to bash others without any basis.
Also, i din say Manipal is the best. I did SAM, so the only option for me back then was to join a private medical school. You expect me to join local public U with SAM? Amazing logic you have.
Well, i didn't say you were wrong. I was simply pointing out what is written on the web site. Pls, dun be so sensitive.  rolleyes.gif
If you are not happy with what i had said back then, why didn't you counter me? Why now??  biggrin.gif
Dude, come on, you should have posted this in the thread back then, not here. This thread is meant for IMU for heaven's sake. Oh man, that is a seriously delayed patello-spino-quadratus reaction.  biggrin.gif
So, let me ask, how can someone who is neither a medical student nor a doc judge whether a medical school produces competent doctors? It takes a panel of medical experts to do that. So, i was only asking whether he's qualified enough to judge.
Same logic applies, can a doctor judge whether a particular IT school produces competent software engineers?
OMG, you even know i am into casing modding?? Wow, isn't that a stalker or what?  biggrin.gif
Haha, well well well. You seriously are an idiot, aren't you? If i wanna fake, why dun i say i am from UM, Harvard or some other Western Us? After all, Manipal is still not as pretigious as those mentioned above.  doh.gif

After a brief reading through all your posts, you seem to be an old timer who likes bashing others just to make yourself look good. This is not the attitude for intelligent discussion in the forum. rolleyes.gif

Also, pls Quit being so emo dude. It's bad for health.  biggrin.gif
i thought haya is a student in oz?........
limeuu
post Jun 20 2008, 08:51 AM

12,290 posts

qut

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/622683
limeuu
post Jun 21 2008, 09:01 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(edge85 @ Jun 21 2008, 03:30 AM)
It doesn't really matter if the university is automatically recognised by other countries. You can always sit for an examination and get the license. It beats me why do many people actually think that this is a hassle (I mean, if it's already your passion to heal, then just make do with whatever obstacles you have to meet)

The same applies to Malaysia. As long as you have graduated from any foreign university, you will have to sit for an examination before you can practice locally.

*btw AIMST University is recognised by LAN.
wrong........

for the case of msia, if you graduate from a 'scheduled' (recognised) uni, you can register with the mmc WITHOUT any further exams........only those from unscheduled universities will then need to sit for the qualification exams.......

they are given 3 attempts........many of these unscheduled graduates cannot pass......this is why the gov now allows them to 're-enrol' into a local meed school to redo the last 3 years (recently reduced to 1 1/2) years to get 'retrained'.........go form your own opinions about why they have so much difficulty passing......unis are 'unscheduled' for good reasons.......msia is the only country which goes to great lengths to try to retrain these doctors....other countries, if you fail, go do something else lah.....

as for sitting for an exam to qualify to practice, yes it is VERY difficult and expensive and troublesome and takes a long time.........and IS a hassle.....see the example of unscheduled uni graduates above...another eg, to sit for the oz amc exams, in 2 parts, will cost you about a$10,000 in fees along, and the part 2 you have to travel there to sit......and there is a waiting list of 18 months for the exams......

YES please ensure your degree is recognised in the country you intend to eventually practice......

it is best, if you don't know, NOT to make comments......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jun 21 2008, 09:16 AM
limeuu
post Jun 23 2008, 03:07 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Jun 23 2008, 12:34 PM)
i heard of an example of an imu seremban graduate passed the exam and working in US now
but that shudn't be easy i think
to be eligible to practice in the states, you need umsle step 1 and 2.........some medical schools, especially new ones, routinely make their students sit, as it is a good benchmarking test to see if the students are up to standard......and most med students in medical schools in canada/central america/carribeans will sit for, as it is licence to go to the states for training and maybe migration......it is easiest to sit for when you are in the final stages of med school, or in the first few years after graduation, when knowledge is fresh in you mind.....

it is not easy, and is expensive and a hassle......
limeuu
post Jun 23 2008, 08:19 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(edge85 @ Jun 23 2008, 03:30 PM)
Sorry, but I'm pretty sure medical graduates from foreign countries, including UK/NZ/Aust/India/Indonesia/Russia etc (graduation year: 2012 onwards) will have to sit for that exam. It was in the local newspapers. Not sure when was it announced though.
what are you referring to here? the us umsle, or a proposed msian qualifying exam?

for the former, ALL med graduates need that to practice (actually including their own graduates, as they sit for umsle too)......

if the later, it was proposed........but i can tell you it is NOT gonna happen......not in the next 10-15 years anyway.........probably never.......you can trust me on that........it will be political suicide......

25 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0413sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:09 PM