147 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor

irisss
post Jan 9 2013, 05:31 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Jan 9 2013, 09:10 AM)
Not meaning to scare you, my niece's friend (they are JPA scholars) was deemed "not qualified" for pms by IMU, based on the interview which was conducted prior to A Level exam. He went on to scored straight As in A Levels, appealed to IMU to qualify him for pms but was turned down (the boy cheekily post his A Level results and the 2nd rejection letter from IMU for the pms program on his FB for all his friends to see.  smile.gif ).

Fortunately JPA allowed him to maintain his scholarship but he had to do his medical course at IMU for the full 5 years. And he excelled in the pre-clinical phase (probably to show to IMU that he's a truly doctor material  biggrin.gif ). He will continue the clinical phase at the Seremban Hospital soon.

Well, moral of the story is, you'd better do well in the interview. Getting straight As in ALevels does not guarantee a place in pms. Good luck!  wink.gif
Wow,straight As even get rejected? shocking.gif
I think they do care about interview performance.
Guess I have to prepare more. rclxub.gif
irisss
post Jan 9 2013, 05:32 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(swayforlife @ Jan 9 2013, 09:44 AM)
I see, are you applying for the feb 2013 intake? All the very best irisss, hope to see you there!
Nah,I am applying for August intake,February intake is filled long time ago.are you going February?
Thank you and good luck on your future studies!

This post has been edited by irisss: Jan 9 2013, 05:36 PM
irisss
post Jan 9 2013, 05:48 PM

33 posts

Do they ask about you clinical involvement or volunteer work during interview?anyone knows?and is the case scenario hard to answer?
cckkpr
post Jan 9 2013, 06:31 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(irisss @ Jan 9 2013, 05:48 PM)
Do they ask about you clinical involvement or volunteer work during interview?anyone knows?and is the case scenario hard to answer?
Just a mere formality. If too many applicants, can be a bit subjective though.
irisss
post Jan 9 2013, 06:34 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 9 2013, 06:31 PM)
Just a mere formality. If too many applicants, can be a bit subjective though.
So what you are saying is that they only care about your result and money not the interview performance?
cckkpr
post Jan 9 2013, 08:08 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(irisss @ Jan 9 2013, 06:34 PM)
So what you are saying is that they only care about your result and money not the interview performance?
More or less. When applicants are more than places available, some will be disappointed. Can asked to be considered for subsequent intake. Keep fingers crossed.
irisss
post Jan 9 2013, 08:21 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 9 2013, 08:08 PM)
More or less. When applicants are more than places available, some will be disappointed. Can asked to be considered for subsequent intake. Keep fingers crossed.
I apply quite early.maybe thats a plus for me.fingers crossed. biggrin.gif

cckkpr
post Jan 9 2013, 09:27 PM

4,514 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Jan 9 2013, 09:29 PM
limeuu
post Jan 9 2013, 10:04 PM

12,290 posts

people have to understand a bit how this works in bolehland (or some call bodohland)....

All these entrance processes like interviews, exams like isat, minimum pre-u results etc are based on the system of selection in well managed countries, where the number of qualified applicants far outnumber the places available....thus the need to screen them to select the best....

msia wants to show it is also a 'well managed' country, so the mmc have decreed that minimum pre-u and interviews are needed....

however, the real situation in msia is somewhat different....

unlike the other countries, the number of places outnumber the number of suitable qualified applicants.....why so few applicants?.....because it cost a small fortune.....and the vast majority of qualified students CANNOT afford it....(look at msia's economic figures....less than 10% of the population earn above rm10k/mth.....families not earning that can forget ipts med schools)....ie only a small portion of the entire student population are potential applicants.....the VERY rich.....and those with public taxpayer's money (ie scholarships).....

in this situation, the unis will have to comply with whatever rules, and conduct interviews, conduct tests (eg isat), but when selecting, will ignore all these, as complying with mmc minimum qualification (that one they cannot escape) means often less qualified applicants than places available....even monash sunway ignores the isat test results.....

in this madness, only one programme seems to have risen about the mess.....and that is the imu-pms programme....where they are now in the happy situation of having MORE qualified applicants than places, and hence can apply interviews in the selection process....and apply more stringent criteria....

and this is also a recent phenomena....as recent as 4 years ago, they were still taking in bbc students and the interview serves ONLY to confirm the student CAN pay the fees......and their local programme is still firmly under water in this madness....

and thus....the SHOCK....that 3a students can actually fail the interview.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 9 2013, 11:48 PM
limeuu
post Jan 9 2013, 10:09 PM

12,290 posts

oh, and someone reading the above may then realised something....and asks 'what happens to the 90% who cannot afford?'....

well, the really good one, and the lucky earth princes will get scholarships...others get into ipta....if you are lucky, matrik will help enormously....

and the rest don't dream, suppress their 'passions' and go do other courses....
rossmike
post Jan 14 2013, 04:26 PM

Hi im an Australian student but I have a NZ citizenship, could I still get a PMS placement in an Aus Uni?

Also would a 93 ATAR meet the cut-off this year? I'm applying for the August intake.
cckkpr
post Jan 14 2013, 05:08 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 9 2013, 10:09 PM)
oh, and someone reading the above may then realised something....and asks 'what happens to the 90% who cannot afford?'....

well, the really good one, and the lucky earth princes will get scholarships...others get into ipta....if you are lucky, matrik will help enormously....

and the rest don't dream, suppress their 'passions' and go do other courses....
.....a few years down the road, some will say what a blessing in disguise!
limeuu
post Jan 14 2013, 06:08 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(rossmike @ Jan 14 2013, 04:26 PM)
Hi im an Australian student but I have a NZ citizenship, could I still get a PMS placement in an Aus Uni?

Also would a 93 ATAR meet the cut-off this year? I'm applying for the August intake.
australian and nz citizens and pr can enroll in imu but CANNOT be matched to oz/nz pms....because that would be considered a backdoor entry....

minimum atar for the pms stream is 95....
rossmike
post Jan 14 2013, 06:15 PM

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 14 2013, 08:08 PM)
australian and nz citizens and pr can enroll in imu but CANNOT be matched to oz/nz pms....because that would be considered a backdoor entry....

minimum atar for the pms stream is 95....
Omg are you serious? They didn't even mention anything like this on their website! And to think I just wasted $330 on the IELTS exam for nothing...
limeuu
post Jan 14 2013, 06:16 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(rossmike @ Jan 14 2013, 06:15 PM)
Omg are you serious? They didn't even mention anything like this on their website! And to think I just wasted $330 on the IELTS exam for nothing...
it's was there in the website....

they have removed the condition....

it is part of the partnership agreement, that the respective citizens and pr of the partner countries cannot be matched to their own country....

it is best you call them directly, to clarify this....

in fact, they have removed a few information.....and added some wrong information...

in particular, for international students.....they CANNOT do housemanship in msia....

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 14 2013, 06:42 PM
rossmike
post Jan 14 2013, 06:23 PM

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 14 2013, 08:16 PM)
it's there in the website....
Could you please show me where? I've tried searching the website.
irisss
post Jan 14 2013, 07:24 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 14 2013, 06:16 PM)
it's was there in the website....

they have removed the condition....

it is part of the partnership agreement, that the respective citizens and pr of the partner countries cannot be matched to their own country....

it is best you call them directly, to clarify this....

in fact, they have removed a few information.....and added some wrong information...

in particular, for international students.....they CANNOT do housemanship in msia....
Say if imu students match to their own country and pay the local fees,it is a bit unfair to the other local students IMO.
swayforlife
post Jan 14 2013, 10:53 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(rossmike @ Jan 14 2013, 06:23 PM)
Could you please show me where? I've tried searching the website.
http://www.imu.edu.my/imu/index.php/progra...ical-school-pms

Go to the end of the page, click "matching process......"
limeuu
post Jan 14 2013, 11:30 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(swayforlife @ Jan 14 2013, 10:53 PM)
http://www.imu.edu.my/imu/index.php/progra...ical-school-pms

Go to the end of the page, click "matching process......"
ah.....there it is....they hide it well..... biggrin.gif
rossmike
post Jan 15 2013, 06:48 AM

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 15 2013, 01:30 AM)
ah.....there it is....they hide it well..... biggrin.gif
Lol they did hide it quite well.

147 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top