International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor

seed83
post Nov 12 2009, 09:55 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Nov 12 2009, 10:40 PM)
seed83 i think i know who ur gf is

after considering current circumstances i'm afraid to say yes, just like what the lady said, it's quite unlikely to get another PMS, mainly due to the fact that all places are already fully taken.

the only more possible way i myself think of is someone failing his or her eos5 and lose his or her place (for those who are supposed to fly in jan or february la) then maybe your gf will stand a chance, though i do hope some other fellow forumers here can offer you other alternatives
thx4 urs quick reply..
limeuu
post Nov 12 2009, 10:42 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(seed83 @ Nov 12 2009, 08:55 PM)
hi.. i need help from u all IMU students.. i not IMU student, but my gf she are..

now the problem is she goin oversea study next year, but IMU sent her to a university which is not in her 10 choices list.. n her exam result not bad, but even those student who worst than her can get better university than IMU sent her.. now she already appeals the letter to the office, the office lady said tat the percent very low. she jus called up the lecturer who teaching her and realised tat new lecturer din write up recognition letter to the office..swt..

so can anyone help her, any recognition staff who can help her?? pls...
thanks u all
what is 'recognition letter' and 'recognition staff'.........

'better' uni is subjective and relative......which continent was she aiming for, and which uni did she get?...........

there has been some instances of changes and swappings, but very few........
chika138
post Nov 13 2009, 12:25 AM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 12 2009, 10:42 PM)
what is 'recognition letter' and 'recognition staff'.........

'better' uni is subjective and relative......which continent was she aiming for, and which uni did she get?...........

there has been some instances of changes and swappings, but very few........
if i'm not wrong what he meant by recognition letter is student attributes form which should be filled up by respective mentors.
but ya care to explain bout recognition staff?
i agree with the "better" uni statement.
there's no better universities, only the more reputable ones, such as edinburgh UNSW etc, even so the reputation does not apply to all specialities, for some uni might be stronger in certain fields.
u call a uni better (that's for yourself) when it suits your needs in many ways eg location, cost, having relatives and friends there etc
eg for me, my ideal uni will be so'ton for its generally warmer climate, coastal location, close proximity to london and relatively smaller city, though history, ranking and reputation wise it might seem inferior to other PMS'es.
however if my guess is not wrong (on who being your gf) i can understand your gf's pain as i understand her predicament now, u have my best wishes of luck in appealing

This post has been edited by chika138: Nov 13 2009, 12:30 AM
OmniAtlas
post Nov 21 2009, 05:02 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Nov 10 2009, 04:28 PM)
finally m207's matching result out today
i got otago
don't really like it, but well, it's life, just have to accept it loh
Hey guys, for you all that have matched to Australia / NZ, please join the IMU Australian NZ Facebook group.

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=93074556503

I'm a M206 graduate and am currently finishing off my third year at the University of Queensland. Let me know if you have any questions. I hope the music club is still going pretty strong; we were the first ones to properly set it up smile.gif

simplyfaiii
post Nov 22 2009, 02:16 AM

hey! just sent out an application for the medicine august intake. does anybody know how long it takes to know it you're shortlisted for the interview? thanks in advance!
Gorila_
post Nov 23 2009, 10:23 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(simplyfaiii @ Nov 22 2009, 02:16 AM)
hey! just sent out an application for the medicine august intake. does anybody know how long it takes to know it you're shortlisted for the interview? thanks in advance!
They'll call you up and let you know the date/time.
By the way, why August?? I thought Feb is the next intake?
simplyfaiii
post Nov 23 2009, 11:45 AM

QUOTE(Gorila_ @ Nov 23 2009, 10:23 AM)
They'll call you up and let you know the date/time.
By the way, why August?? I thought Feb is the next intake?
ooh,thats good news! i'm planning to finish up my biomedical degree by next May, and then hopefully get into the august intake. but i heard its harder to get into the august one..?
BibiMon
post Nov 23 2009, 11:08 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(simplyfaiii @ Nov 23 2009, 11:45 AM)
ooh,thats good news! i'm planning to finish up my biomedical degree by next May, and then hopefully get into the august intake. but i heard its harder to get into the august one..?
You'll get in IMU for sure if you meet the minimum requirement and answer the questions wisely asked during your interview with common sense. If they accept you but there's no more space for let's say the August intake, they'll slot you into the following year's February intake, only if you make it through the interview. In the most unlikely event that you are rejected, apply again until you get it...smile.gif

By the way, wanna ask IMU seniors here, if I wanna do the Bmed Sci then go through graduate pathway to PMS, what cgpa do I need to get a second upper class degree? How do I calculate it ar??? Does it include for I have gotten in my eos2 3 5?
Gorila_
post Nov 24 2009, 12:06 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(simplyfaiii @ Nov 23 2009, 11:45 AM)
Since you have a bachelor by that time, why dont you try apply direct into Aus uni??? Its more economical that way, and you may get a place in top uni.
monkeygirl
post Nov 24 2009, 03:36 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(BibiMon @ Nov 23 2009, 11:08 PM)
You'll get in IMU for sure if you meet the minimum requirement and answer the questions wisely asked during your interview with common sense. If they accept you but there's no more space for let's say the August intake, they'll slot you into the following year's February intake, only if you make it through the interview. In the most unlikely event that you are rejected, apply again until you get it...smile.gif

By the way, wanna ask IMU seniors here, if I wanna do the Bmed Sci then go through graduate pathway to PMS, what cgpa do I need to get a second upper class degree? How do I calculate it ar??? Does it include for I have gotten in my eos2 3 5?
i'm not 100% sure about this, but i think it won't include what you got for eos. judged solely on how you do for your bmedsci course. about which grade is 2nd upper class... i have no idea.

QUOTE(Gorila_ @ Nov 24 2009, 12:06 AM)
Since you have a bachelor by that time, why dont you try apply direct into Aus uni??? Its more economical that way, and you may get a place in top uni.
how is it more economical? unless you hold an australian citizenship or PR.
with IMU you at least spend 2 years here paying rm rather than aud.
chika138
post Nov 24 2009, 07:06 AM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(monkeygirl @ Nov 24 2009, 03:36 AM)
i'm not 100% sure about this, but i think it won't include what you got for eos. judged solely on how you do for your bmedsci course. about which grade is 2nd upper class... i have no idea.
oh nope. eos 2 3 5 are counted, 30-50% (i'm not sure with the exact percentage) of the total cgpa
u'll need cgpa 3.0 to get a 2nd upper grade
that's why they dun take in students who just repeated, resit-ed or barely passed (borderline)
at least u need C+ and B- for EoS 2 and 3 to be considered and accepted by prof mak because if u get lower than that it's not logically or sometimes even mathematically feasible to get a CGPA of 3.0
Gorila_
post Nov 24 2009, 01:25 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(monkeygirl @ Nov 24 2009, 03:36 AM)
Using IMU-PMS, lets say if you apply for Melb/ANU, you need to go through Med Sc then procede to the 4 year program at Aus. If he gets a direct entry, then can save the $$ spend in M'sia.
simplyfaiii
post Nov 24 2009, 01:41 PM

QUOTE(Gorila_ @ Nov 24 2009, 01:25 PM)
Using IMU-PMS, lets say if you apply for Melb/ANU, you need to go through Med Sc then procede to the 4 year program at Aus. If he gets a direct entry, then can save the $$ spend in M'sia.
Yeah, it's actually cheaper to just go thru the undergrad route in Malaysia and then go abroad halfway. Didn't apply for the graduate route...
is the interview a formal or an slightly more laidback kind?
BibiMon
post Nov 24 2009, 03:03 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Nov 24 2009, 07:06 AM)
oh nope. eos 2 3 5 are counted, 30-50% (i'm not sure with the exact percentage) of the total cgpa
u'll need cgpa 3.0 to get a 2nd upper grade
that's why they dun take in students who just repeated, resit-ed or barely passed (borderline)
at least u need C+ and B- for EoS 2 and 3 to be considered and accepted by prof mak because if u get lower than that it's not logically or sometimes even mathematically feasible to get a CGPA of 3.0
Wao... Thanks for the info =)
monkeygirl
post Nov 24 2009, 05:34 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Gorila_ @ Nov 24 2009, 01:25 PM)
oh, you're referring to Melb Uni. yup... for that uni, going direct is cheaper.
but for ANU, if you do imu-pms, you only do 2 years overseas. i think compared to 2.5 year in m'sia and 2 years in aus, 2.5 year here is cheaper.

QUOTE(simplyfaiii @ Nov 24 2009, 01:41 PM)
Yeah, it's actually cheaper to just go thru the undergrad route in Malaysia and then go abroad halfway. Didn't apply for the graduate route...
is the interview a formal or an slightly more laidback kind?
interview depends on which interviewer you get. some might appear very strict, some more laidback. but i doubt that the interview process actually affects if you will be accepted. cause i know i screwed up mine and i was still accepted tongue.gif
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Dec 12 2009, 08:13 PM

1,396 posts

hey chika how was your eos5 results? leaving for Otago soon?

haha, 16 more days to EOS3!! still on gi, finished the rest but need to run through most of cvs and respi again!! sad.gif

This post has been edited by Cristiano-Ronaldo-7: Dec 12 2009, 08:13 PM
diegoadriadona
post Dec 17 2009, 10:07 AM

363 posts

just a question..really confused about it

Is the cut-off TER (for SAM Course) the same for both IMU-Local and IMU-PMS Option?? coz i've seen my friends letters. One stated minimum TER91 and the other minimum TER95

Sorry for any inconvenience caused..just wanna clear this up smile.gif
onelove89
post Dec 17 2009, 10:58 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(diegoadriadona @ Dec 17 2009, 10:07 AM)
just a question..really confused about it

Is the cut-off TER (for SAM Course) the same for both IMU-Local and IMU-PMS Option?? coz i've seen my friends letters. One stated minimum TER91 and the other minimum TER95

Sorry for any inconvenience caused..just wanna clear this up smile.gif
they'll require you to have a higher TER for PMS option due to the limited spaces. Top scorers / achievers in both academic and interview will get a spot in the PMS program. so ultimately, the requirement should be higher than IMU-local.
diegoadriadona
post Dec 17 2009, 11:27 AM

363 posts

say if the conditional offer letter stated TER 95..and one obtained a TER 94..low chance of entry?
limeuu
post Dec 17 2009, 12:26 PM

12,290 posts

wait for 2nd round offers.....

147 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:21 AM