61 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Nvidia Shield TV 2017

gobiomani
post Jun 25 2019, 11:54 AM

707 posts

My Kodi stopped working a few days ago. When I launch it I get a black/grey screen and nothing happens. Cleared cache and I saw it loading with the Kodi logo and then back to the black screen. Anyone face this problem? Do I need to uninstall and reinstall Kodi?
voncrane
post Jun 25 2019, 12:37 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Jun 25 2019, 11:54 AM)
My Kodi stopped working a few days ago. When I launch it I get a black/grey screen and nothing happens. Cleared cache and I saw it loading with the Kodi logo and then back to the black screen. Anyone face this problem? Do I need to uninstall and reinstall Kodi?
Most likely. Now if you enabled logging .. You might be able to decipher what might have corrupted the booting and fix it.. Typically some corrupt file or dbase, etc.. This be why it's good to keep backups handy.. Say once per week at minimum. Just automate it and there will always be a backup to restore on a fresh install.
gobiomani
post Jun 26 2019, 10:40 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 25 2019, 12:37 PM)
Most likely. Now if you enabled logging .. You might be able to decipher what might have corrupted the booting and fix it.. Typically some corrupt file or dbase, etc.. This be why it's good to keep backups handy.. Say once per week at minimum. Just automate it and there will always be a backup to restore on a fresh install.
Don't know how to enable logging and may not understand the logs anyway. Will try uninstalling first and see if it works. Thanks.
voncrane
post Jun 30 2019, 11:39 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Jun 26 2019, 10:40 AM)
Don't know how to enable logging and may not understand the logs anyway. Will try uninstalling first and see if it works. Thanks.
A re-install should clear it right up.. How did it go?
gobiomani
post Jul 1 2019, 11:36 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 30 2019, 11:39 PM)
A re-install should clear it right up.. How did it go?
Reinstalled and it worked for awhile but its now back to the grey screen. The only thing I use in Kodi is to link it to my NAS for videos, music and photos. Quite strange that its crashing.
How do I do the logging and troubleshoot? Enable developer status and there seems to be a lot of logging related options. Any guides on what to do next?
voncrane
post Jul 1 2019, 12:59 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Jul 1 2019, 11:36 AM)
Reinstalled and it worked for awhile but its now back to the grey screen. The only thing I use in Kodi is to link it to my NAS for videos, music and photos. Quite strange that its crashing.
How do I do the logging and troubleshoot? Enable developer status and there seems to be a lot of logging related options. Any guides on what to do next?
Yep.. For just that? It's a bit strange... For logging and viewing.. You can use the Kodi logs uploader addon.. Then check the logs for the error. Googling it might bring up others who've suffered the same issue and possibly solved it. However, i did do some light reading. I assume you are using the latest Kodi V18.3? As there were reports about issues with the Shield & SMB protocol used. Did you use Shield's "connect" or created through Kodi?
gobiomani
post Jul 1 2019, 05:48 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 1 2019, 12:59 PM)
Yep.. For just that? It's a bit strange... For logging and viewing.. You can use the Kodi logs uploader addon.. Then check the logs for the error. Googling it might bring up others who've suffered the same issue and possibly solved it. However, i did do some light reading. I assume you are using the latest Kodi V18.3? As there were reports about issues with the Shield & SMB protocol used. Did you use Shield's "connect" or created through Kodi?
Mine is 18.2 and I'm using NFS not SMB. Will try to reinstall and use the logs uploader addon. I'm not sure what that bolded part means.
voncrane
post Jul 1 2019, 07:44 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Jul 1 2019, 05:48 PM)
Mine is 18.2 and I'm using NFS not SMB. Will try to reinstall and use the logs uploader addon. I'm not sure what that bolded part means.
Try installing the latest Kodi version... The bold part referred to 2 ways to set up NAS connectivity.. Either using the Shield's settings OR through Kodi itself. I don't own the device itself and so can't troubleshoot between those 2.. Wish you luck.
Dannyoski
post Jul 30 2019, 03:54 PM

226 posts

Hi all shield sifu. I just got my shield today after COD with a shopee seller here in Penang island.

Which Kodi version best to play softcopy movie with Dolby vision and Atmos support? I would like to rip all my 4k uhd movie disk into my Nas.

juzmafia
post Jul 30 2019, 05:22 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(Dannyoski @ Jul 30 2019, 03:54 PM)
Hi all shield sifu. I just got my shield today after COD with a shopee seller here in Penang island.

Which Kodi version best to play softcopy movie with Dolby vision and Atmos support? I would like to rip all my 4k uhd movie disk into my Nas.
Obviously use the latest Kodi 18.3 but unfortunately Shield TV can't do Dolby Vision due to no DV license.
Dannyoski
post Jul 30 2019, 11:20 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Jul 30 2019, 05:22 PM)
Obviously use the latest Kodi 18.3 but unfortunately Shield TV can't do Dolby Vision due to no DV license.
Thanks. Will try setup Kodi 18.3 later. Too bad DV not working. Guess I still need to rely on netflix playing from my android TV to get DV.
juzmafia
post Jul 30 2019, 11:40 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(Dannyoski @ Jul 30 2019, 11:20 PM)
Thanks. Will try setup Kodi 18.3 later. Too bad DV not working. Guess I still need to rely on netflix playing from my android TV to get DV.
Yup true but there is no indication that NVIDIA will not add DV support for NSTV. wink.gif

mfa682
post Jul 31 2019, 08:12 AM

1,799 posts

https://www.xda-developers.com/hulu-updates...tv-app-live-tv/

Finally hulu update after nearly 2 years for android TV OS smile.gif
Dannyoski
post Jul 31 2019, 01:06 PM

226 posts

I installed Kodi 18.3 and failed to output Atmos to my Samsung soundbar.any advice?
sonypshomer
post Jul 31 2019, 01:17 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(Dannyoski @ Jul 31 2019, 01:06 PM)
I installed Kodi 18.3 and failed to output Atmos to my Samsung soundbar.any advice?
I replied your PM
juzmafia
post Jul 31 2019, 11:06 PM

562 posts

Both NSTV 2015 & 2017 spotted with Android Pie on Google Play Console. It's been almost 3 months under closed beta since May 2019.
Maybe public release will be announced together with the new NSTV in September.

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Aug 1 2019, 12:30 AM
juzmafia
post Aug 1 2019, 12:46 AM

562 posts

Pie is here!

https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/11...ce-upgrade-8-0/

Know issues:-
  • "OK Google" hotword detection may not function immediately after pairing SHIELD Controller (reboot SHIELD to resolve issue)
  • SHIELD Pro: Display may go blank during accessory pairing after factory reset
  • Blank screen observed when connecting RII Mini X1 keyboard USB receiver
  • Rare occurrence where private listening does not enable when inserting headphones in SHIELD remote 2015
  • Streaming apps failing to play if using secure storage
  • Cropped content in Emby not playing in HDR
  • Can't set the default launcher. (Will be fix in next release)
  • Issue with incorrect color space on some AVR
  • Volume UI with android P too bright and takes too long to disappear. (Proper adjustment will be applied)
  • AV1 playback not working.
  • Shield Controller 2017 analog stick range issue. (Will be fix in next release)

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Aug 1 2019, 10:54 PM
mfa682
post Aug 1 2019, 08:06 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Aug 1 2019, 12:46 AM)
Pie is here!

Finally!
jhleo1
post Aug 1 2019, 09:58 AM

4,381 posts

Those upgraded TV apps need to install separately right? Some not in my list or I may uninstall previously.

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Aug 1 2019, 12:46 AM)
Pie is here!

This post has been edited by jhleo1: Aug 1 2019, 09:58 AM
kopiride
post Aug 1 2019, 12:30 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Jul 31 2019, 01:17 PM)
I replied your PM
What's the solution in your PM to him? Can share it here?

61 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:38 AM