Nvidia Shield TV 2017

AVFAN
post Aug 17 2018, 09:58 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ Aug 17 2018, 04:57 PM)
iflix is native android tv apps. install from google play.so far ok

astro go, playtv unifi also ok, need side load but i have problem with screen orientation on the menu, but once the content played, its in landscape, only menu on potrait. so far tried few orientation apps didnt work.

im on latest android oreo.
there was a user in this thread (maybe u already read)... he couldn't even get astrogo to work.

maybe something not straight about the firmware... astrogo, orientation app works fine on my sharp androidtv.
jhleo1
post Aug 17 2018, 11:13 PM

4,379 posts

I read that. That's why I wonder the same go to Njoi Now app (same parents). Since now the Astro Go no issue, should be OK.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 17 2018, 09:58 PM)
there was a user in this thread (maybe u already read)... he couldn't even get astrogo to work.

maybe something not straight about the firmware... astrogo, orientation app works fine on my sharp androidtv.
AVFAN
post Aug 18 2018, 01:40 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Aug 17 2018, 11:13 PM)
I read that. That's why I wonder the same go to Njoi Now app (same parents). Since now the Astro Go no issue, should be OK.
should be.

if u want to be sure, best pm a couple of other users to confirm.
megahertz
post Aug 18 2018, 12:56 PM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 17 2018, 08:19 PM)
I install Rotation Control and it is working, but I am using Mi Box.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...rotationcontrol
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 17 2018, 09:58 PM)

yes, im talking about nvidia shield. each devices hv diff firmware by each manufacturer, so each apps hv diff experience.

jhleo1
post Aug 21 2018, 05:58 AM

4,379 posts

Anyone bought Nvidia Shield thru taobao before? Same firmware as US?
fx_53_xt
post Aug 22 2018, 01:41 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ Aug 17 2018, 04:57 PM)
iflix is native android tv apps. install from google play.so far ok

astro go, playtv unifi also ok, need side load but i have problem with screen orientation on the menu, but once the content played, its in landscape, only menu on potrait. so far tried few orientation apps didnt work.

im on latest android oreo.
Sorry if this has been asked before, but how to sideload Unifi TV apps into shield ?
megahertz
post Aug 22 2018, 02:52 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Aug 22 2018, 01:41 PM)
Sorry if this has been asked before, but how to sideload Unifi TV apps into shield ?
same as other apps.

find the .apk files on internet or backup from ur phone.
put into nvidia shield using pendrive, run it on shield then it will install it.
darkmusses
post Aug 23 2018, 09:13 AM

595 posts

Guys, I plan to get NVIDIA® SHIELD™ TV Pro but not many seller in Malaysia. It cost around USD300 which is not a small amount.

Appreciate if someone give some comment or feedback as this is my first time getting such devices.

Is it worth it to buy through Amazon for my new apartment and pair it with TIME broadband ?
voncrane
post Aug 23 2018, 09:49 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Aug 23 2018, 09:13 AM)
Guys, I plan to get NVIDIA® SHIELD™ TV Pro but not many seller in Malaysia. It cost around USD300 which is not a small amount.

Appreciate if someone give some comment or feedback as this is my first time getting such devices.

Is it worth it to buy through Amazon for my new apartment and pair it with TIME broadband ?
Read a couple pages back to determine if it's for you.. Don't be lazy.. Read 2 or 3 pages also, you'll know.. As for price.. It's the Rolls-Royce of boxes, so you know what they say.. If you are concerned about the price, then it's not for you. biggrin.gif
jhleo1
post Aug 23 2018, 10:18 AM

4,379 posts

I still doing research on either get Nvidia Shield TV or Nvidia Shield TV Pro since not much difference besides the size of the machine and Pro got additiona 500mb harddisk. My concern is use on Recommended USB Flash Drives (cheaper than built in pro version) for Nvidia Shield TV . Will the flash drive will effect the performance of this machine? Any user can comment on this since the Basic version only have 16gb.

voncrane
post Aug 23 2018, 11:00 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Aug 23 2018, 10:18 AM)
I still doing research on either get Nvidia Shield TV  or Nvidia Shield TV Pro since not much difference besides the size of the machine and Pro got additiona 500mb harddisk. My concern is use on Recommended USB Flash Drives (cheaper than built in pro version) for Nvidia Shield TV . Will the flash drive will effect the performance of this machine? Any user can comment on this since the Basic version only have 16gb.
Basically, if you'll require additional storage and one that's native to the OS? For games, media, apps, etc.. Especially as a single good game like Asphalt can grow to almost 2GB easy. Also for p2p streaming of large media files.. Then sure go for the Pro version. Else, the standard one is just fine. There's a feature where one can expand the internal memory by having the OS merge a USB disk with the primary storage. This too will work, except you'd have to buy a really good usb3.0 flash drive to get better read and write speeds.
jhleo1
post Aug 23 2018, 11:11 AM

4,379 posts

For me, I will use more storage on games like Asphalt. Well the Nvidia Shield TV Pro (2017) has been discontinued as per their forum. Can't really buy from Nvidia in Amazon unless buy from other sellers. Need to think of alternative beside the built in harddisk like use attached HDD/SSD etc.

Nvdia Shield Pro Discontinued

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 23 2018, 11:00 AM)
Basically, if you'll require additional storage and one that's native to the OS? For games, media, apps, etc.. Especially as a single good game like Asphalt can grow to almost 2GB easy. Also for p2p streaming of large media files.. Then sure go for the Pro version. Else, the standard one is just fine. There's a feature where one can expand the internal memory by having the OS merge a USB disk with the primary storage. This too will work, except you'd have to buy a really good usb3.0 flash drive to get better read and write speeds.
This post has been edited by jhleo1: Aug 23 2018, 11:14 AM
darkmusses
post Aug 23 2018, 11:52 AM

595 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 23 2018, 09:49 AM)
Read a couple pages back to determine if it's for you.. Don't be lazy.. Read 2 or 3 pages also, you'll know.. As for price.. It's the Rolls-Royce of boxes, so you know what they say.. If you are concerned about the price, then it's not for you. biggrin.gif
Let me clarify before you jump into conclusion.

I'm asking for advise if because I this is my first time using an android box. In the past, I don't do so. I always go for mainstream and was being suggested why not try a cheaper alternative.

Secondly, price is not the main issue but more on compatibility to use in Malaysia. Sometime, electronic gadgets get lock down just like phones. Not many post on this matter.

rclxms.gif

AVFAN
post Aug 23 2018, 12:51 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Aug 23 2018, 11:52 AM)

I'm asking for advise if because I this is my first time using an android box. In the past, I don't do so. I always go for mainstream and was being suggested why not try a cheaper alternative.

Secondly, price is not the main issue but more on compatibility to use in Malaysia. Sometime, electronic gadgets get lock down just like phones. Not many post on this matter.

rclxms.gif
what do u mean by "compatibility to use in Malaysia"?

u wun get good answers if u dun pose gud questions.

describe what u intend to do with the box - what apps, what videos, what games, what peripherals, what audio, what tv..

then only people can respond with useful answers.

voncrane
post Aug 23 2018, 02:31 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Aug 23 2018, 11:52 AM)

rclxms.gif
Your first question was to ask if it's worth buying from Amazon... Already discussed in the thread.. Last few pages.
*Reviews and feedback? Again, it's been discussed. Plus I already hinted about it being the best there out there.
*Price? Main issue or not. Irrelevant. You will either cough it up or move on to a cheaper box.
*Compatibility to use in Malaysia? You'd know this if you read even a few pages. Or even browsed anywhere else the Nvidia Shield is talked about.

I'm sorry, but this doesn't clarify anything. It also doesn't suddenly make my previous advice to you any less relevant. So again, read the previous posts and gather knowledge freely given and available. Even more important you read since you say this is your first time. First rule of noobness, is to ALWAYS do some reading on the device first and ask specific questions that SHOW you've actually done some research and are interested. None here is your paid personal assistant that keeps track of your life choices and wants.. doh.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Aug 23 2018, 02:41 PM
darkmusses
post Aug 23 2018, 08:33 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 23 2018, 12:51 PM)
what do u mean by "compatibility to use in Malaysia"?

u wun get good answers if u dun pose gud questions.

describe what u intend to do with the box - what apps, what videos, what games, what peripherals, what audio, what tv..

then only people can respond with useful answers.
I might buy the box for the sake of getting without much use out of it.

I know most ppl here use it for streaming or maybe even gaming but I don't have time for that.

So I cant ans your qst too .. For the time being just display it in living room, play with it by on and off.

Just hope it can work if I ppl come over for a visit and intend to use it I suppose.
darkmusses
post Aug 23 2018, 08:36 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 23 2018, 02:31 PM)
Your first question was to ask if it's worth buying from Amazon... Already discussed in the thread.. Last few pages.
- Someone post on the kastam clearance bla bla bla if thats is what you are referring .. I just don't want to go through such hassle if money can settle without troubling me

*Reviews and feedback? Again, it's been discussed. Plus I already hinted about it being the best there out there.
- I can get it from youtube

*Price? Main issue or not. Irrelevant. You will either cough it up or move on to a cheaper box.
- Box also looks stupid with their issue for their troubleshooting

*Compatibility to use in Malaysia? You'd know this if you read even a few pages. Or even browsed anywhere else the Nvidia Shield is talked about.
- No one post on the latest upgrade much on the new OS

I'm sorry, but this doesn't clarify anything. It also doesn't suddenly make my previous advice to you any less relevant. So again, read the previous posts and gather knowledge freely given and available. Even more important you read since you say this is your first time. First rule of noobness, is to ALWAYS do some reading on the device first and ask specific questions that SHOW you've actually done some research and are interested. None here is your paid personal assistant that keeps track of your life choices and wants..  doh.gif
- I'm not here for choice as I know what to get already .. just that both also contain similar if not same issues
megahertz
post Aug 23 2018, 08:45 PM

1,846 posts

pro version dont sell any more
got problem with sleep issue on HDD and slow boot etc.

for me, better take normal 2017 is enough, as the price diff can buy u external SSD 120GB, which much cheaper and larger size and much faster read/write than normal HDD.

like mine, i just use 128gb usb3.0 pendrive and set it as internal storage to store games purpose. so far no issue. if u dont games, the internal 16gb is enough for streaming apps.

i think, if u dont hv time for gaming, its good for streaming( netflix, chromecast etc). but of cos to pricy for just streaming device since u can get mi box for that.
but since u hv budget, why not.

yes, if u hv time or unifi much better cos u need those high speed to stream 4k content. ( if ur tv support 4k), else 1080 still require at least 10mbps speed for good buffering
darkmusses
post Aug 23 2018, 09:34 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ Aug 23 2018, 08:45 PM)
pro version dont sell any more
- Link : http://amzn.to/2qziCxs

got problem with sleep issue on HDD and slow boot etc.
- I'm not sure if I'm going to use it or my patience is there

for me, better take normal 2017 is enough, as the price diff can buy u external SSD 120GB, which much cheaper and larger size and much faster read/write than normal HDD.
like mine, i just use 128gb usb3.0 pendrive and set it as internal storage to store games purpose. so far no issue. if u dont games, the internal 16gb is enough for streaming apps.
- Point noted .. Most user do that

i think, if u dont hv time for gaming, its good for streaming( netflix, chromecast etc). but of cos to pricy for just streaming device since u can get mi box for that.
but since u hv budget, why not.
- I buy for my partner to use

yes, if u hv time or unifi much better cos u need those high speed to stream 4k content. ( if ur tv support 4k), else 1080 still require at least 10mbps speed for good buffering
- Not yet buy TV. Just furnish basic item for the house to take adv on 0% GST

voncrane
post Aug 23 2018, 09:46 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Aug 23 2018, 08:36 PM)
- I'm not here for choice as I know what to get already .. just that both also contain similar if not same issues
What else can be said but good luck with your purchase of a stupid looking product you already decided you want but not sure if you are going to use..But still going to buy anyway cuz money is not not the issue.. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Aug 23 2018, 09:48 PM

61 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:36 PM