11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

> Name of MY edible fish & Fish eating concern, Fish name in Malaysia & mercury in fish Q&A

upcars
post Jan 23 2018, 01:50 PM

95 posts

by the way, here are some more pics for all of u to enjoy.

this is what i feed my babies coz they aint gonna be choking on synthetic feed.

here's around 800 of them swimming and waiting to be grown to 5" before they get transferred.

some info for everyone in case someone is interested

my lab equipment which i use to monitor quite a lot of stuff including diseases

in case u didnt know, fishes change sex from F to M or M to F. they are like.....transgenders lol.

scoop7
post Jan 23 2018, 01:54 PM

orly? mai pen rai
1,154 posts

eat what also die one la
yeezai
post Jan 23 2018, 01:59 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

QUOTE(upcars @ Jan 23 2018, 01:45 PM)
i'm not in traditional farming. nobody is in traditional farming. yield is too low using traditional farming. its 2018.

and sardines is in their list of safe to eat seafood ? lol. u should consume more.

genetic mod like what ? durian ? i dont think any of our durians are GMO. only cross breeding, which isnt genetic mods. neither is your grouper species cross breeding a genetic mod. our palm oil also isnt genetically modded. only cross breeding. AFAIK GMO not available for any marine species otherwise u'd see some giant sized snappers and giant sized mackerel and some giant sized oysters. u have giant sized patin which is called Mekong but that's in its original form still.

antibiotics do not work in saltwater where salinity is high. neither does FGH.
how is the profit margin in your case ?
upcars
post Jan 23 2018, 02:05 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Jan 23 2018, 01:59 PM)
how is the profit margin in your case ?
healthy
post Jan 23 2018, 02:14 PM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(upcars @ Jan 23 2018, 12:19 PM)
inside a fish, u cant . in the waters, u can.
i dont know what's the damn scare with mercurial poisoning. u'd need quite a bit to poison yourselves with it. consuming shit loads of fish wont be enough to poison u unless those fish are caught in waters that are laden with high conductivity. if its too much mercury, the fish will die first before u even get to it. if it's swimming, its fine.

more than 65% of your fish is now farmed. i have inspected many hatcheries and grow-out premises and i find that they are all good and doing well. regardless taiwan, msia, thailand, norway, indoensia, all their hatcheries and grow out are in good conditiion.

The ones using RAS & CRAS farms are the best. No contaminants at all. As a certified personnel in the aquafarming industry, u guys should just relax and eat up. If its caught in the natural, then u can raise some flags. If its farmed, which most likely it is, then eat with ease.
Errr.....

QUOTE(upcars @ Jan 23 2018, 01:45 PM)
i'm not in traditional farming. nobody is in traditional farming. yield is too low using traditional farming. its 2018.

and sardines is in their list of safe to eat seafood ? lol. u should consume more.

genetic mod like what ? durian ? i dont think any of our durians are GMO. only cross breeding, which isnt genetic mods. neither is your grouper species cross breeding a genetic mod. our palm oil also isnt genetically modded. only cross breeding. AFAIK GMO not available for any marine species otherwise u'd see some giant sized snappers and giant sized mackerel and some giant sized oysters. u have giant sized patin which is called Mekong but that's in its original form still.

antibiotics do not work in saltwater where salinity is high. neither does FGH.
Palm oil no GMO? You sure? I wonder what we're sequencing in ACGT, Sime Darby, MARDI, etc? Antibiotics given in feed can still accumulate in fish. They also accumulate in the sediments in cages.
upcars
post Jan 23 2018, 02:34 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jan 23 2018, 02:14 PM)
Errr.....
Palm oil no GMO? You sure? I wonder what we're sequencing in ACGT, Sime Darby, MARDI, etc? Antibiotics given in feed can still accumulate in fish. They also accumulate in the sediments in cages.
few months ago i was in a discussion with PORIM about the effects of fertilizer and pesticide impact on conventional aquaculturing. i also did ask them naturally about GMO on Palm Oil trees and other variable enhancements. I was told there was no genetic modifications going on and that they would know cause they are the board.

antibiotics inserted into feed is mainly for freshwater farms, specifically prawn farms. no one in the aquamarin industry would pile on costs to give antibiotics as it is just added cost with very little value or no value. cages is soon to be a thing of the past, and i dont know many who give pellet feed when grow-out is done in cages. most of those i know have a diff diet for those grow-outs in cages out in the sea.
post Jan 23 2018, 02:59 PM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(upcars @ Jan 23 2018, 02:34 PM)
few months ago i was in a discussion with PORIM about the effects of fertilizer and pesticide impact on conventional aquaculturing. i also did ask them naturally about GMO on Palm Oil trees and other variable enhancements. I was told there was no genetic modifications going on and that they would know cause they are the board.

antibiotics inserted into feed is mainly for freshwater farms, specifically prawn farms. no one in the aquamarin industry would pile on costs to give antibiotics as it is just added cost with very little value or no value. cages is soon to be a thing of the past, and i dont know many who give pellet feed when grow-out is done in cages. most of those i know have a diff diet for those grow-outs in cages out in the sea.
Nahhh..MPOB isn't the sharpest knife in the kitchen. They are genetically modded to increase yield, lower cost, resistance to pest, etc. The problem with these plantations, they don't talk to each other and they don't tell MPOB everything. Too many trade confidentiality. MPOB, 3-MCPD pun tak pandai nak buat efficiently. Dioxin pun belum tahap expert lagi. When we validate their NGS, at least 40% short read errors, like we have to redo, and not cheap wei.

Much uneaten feed, waste, etc laden with peroxide, antibiotics, copper etc end up there la, bro. While you may not actively supply, they still end up at the same place. We find a/b in farmed salmon too. Fish are full of zoonotic pathogens. Also some antibiotic is use as growth promoters. You may not use it, others may. The fertiliser and pesticide you mentioned, also gets back into the water system and might end up at the fish farm.

Back to Hg....a total Hg analysis isn't going to cut it now that we know MeHg is toxic....to us when we ingest some over a period of time.
upcars
post Jan 23 2018, 03:19 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jan 23 2018, 02:59 PM)
Nahhh..MPOB isn't the sharpest knife in the kitchen. They are genetically modded to increase yield, lower cost, resistance to pest, etc. The problem with these plantations, they don't talk to each other and they don't tell MPOB everything. Too many trade confidentiality. MPOB, 3-MCPD pun tak pandai nak buat efficiently. Dioxin pun belum tahap expert lagi. When we validate their NGS, at least 40% short read errors, like we have to redo, and not cheap wei.

Much uneaten feed, waste, etc laden with peroxide, antibiotics, copper etc end up there la, bro. While you may not actively supply, they still end up at the same place. We find a/b in farmed salmon too. Fish are full of zoonotic pathogens. Also some antibiotic is use as growth promoters. You may not use it, others may. The fertiliser and pesticide you mentioned, also gets back into the water system and might end up at the fish farm.

Back to Hg....a total Hg analysis isn't going to cut it now that we know MeHg is toxic....to us when we ingest some over a period of time.
no choice, in this industry what they say we have to follow. if they say dont have, then dont have. we aren't gonna be the ones arguing with the board, otherwise we jeopardize our business.

your zoo plankton only applicable to very few types of marine species. siakap , jenahak and those ikan merah tahan lasak types. kerapu, tongkol and others cannot. only use pure cultivated rotifer and artemia. even copipot also we leave out. i know someone who owns a mahi-mahi farm here in malaysia. doing pretty well, and he is only purely on 0.03 micron artemia.

you are partially right but still uninformed. the trend is already moving away from conventional farming of grow-out in sangkar. those are the ones baru nak masuk join in the crowd or yang takde modal. every medium sized player has already moved to partial RAS. low discharge, sludge kek, low maintanence, high efficiency. works well especially for those located at perairan selat melaka. those who export gotta comply with LKIM and their respective jabatan perikanan (moa). since i'm qualified, i was put to certify a few plants and premises and all i see are RAS and CRAS systems. no foreign objects, no foreign modules, no foreign particles, no foreign matter.

the only reason why there was a discussion between us and MPOB is the worries of the discharge flow, industrial waste and the pesticide/ferti that seeps into the soil and slushed away by rainfall into the sea. palm oil plantation and aquafarming dont really work hand in hand. we're more like i hate u, u hate me kind of thing.

but do rest assure, majority are moving or have moved to RAS. its the only way to obtain a higher yield and control diseases and water quality. the protein skimmer, degasser, inducer, ozone and biomedia + UV is enough. conductivity is monitored constantly so i can assure u, there are little or next to no elements of metal. its pretty much a stripped up clean water pretty close to De-ionised water system (cept we retain salinity)
post Jan 23 2018, 03:22 PM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(upcars @ Jan 23 2018, 03:19 PM)
no choice, in this industry what they say we have to follow. if they say dont have, then dont have. we aren't gonna be the ones arguing with the board, otherwise we jeopardize our business.

your zoo plankton only applicable to very few types of marine species. siakap , jenahak and those ikan merah tahan lasak types. kerapu, tongkol and others cannot. only use pure cultivated rotifer and artemia. even copipot also we leave out. i know someone who owns a mahi-mahi farm here in malaysia. doing pretty well, and he is only purely on 0.03 micron artemia.

you are partially right but still uninformed. the trend is already moving away from conventional farming of grow-out in sangkar. those are the ones baru nak masuk join in the crowd or yang takde modal. every medium sized player has already moved to partial RAS. low discharge, sludge kek, low maintanence, high efficiency. works well especially for those located at perairan selat melaka. those who export gotta comply with LKIM and their respective jabatan perikanan (moa). since i'm qualified, i was put to certify a few plants and premises and all i see are RAS and CRAS systems. no foreign objects, no foreign modules, no foreign particles, no foreign matter.

the only reason why there was a discussion between us and MPOB is the worries of the discharge flow, industrial waste and the pesticide/ferti that seeps into the soil and slushed away by rainfall into the sea. palm oil plantation and aquafarming dont really work hand in hand. we're more like i hate u, u hate me kind of thing.

but do rest assure, majority are moving or have moved to RAS. its the only way to obtain a higher yield and control diseases and water quality. the protein skimmer, degasser, inducer, ozone and biomedia + UV is enough. conductivity is monitored constantly so i can assure u, there are little or next to no elements of metal. its pretty much a stripped up clean water pretty close to De-ionised water system (cept we retain salinity)
We'll see....I just hope we don't impose a voluntary ban like we did a few years ago. Better that than getting banned by EU.
upcars
post Jan 23 2018, 03:25 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Jan 23 2018, 03:22 PM)
We'll see....I just hope we don't impose a voluntary ban like we did a few years ago. Better that than getting banned by EU.
freshwater con9lan7firm will kena. marine no way. none of your protein feed, antibiotic feed will hold in high salinity waters. this is the reason why protein sources are kept at a minimal in pellet feed for marine species. its more krill and less fats less protein. the younger the fries are, the less then protein and fats the higher the krill content.
TSLeo.Lee
post Jan 23 2018, 05:37 PM

QUOTE(Allen.89 @ Jan 22 2018, 06:56 PM)
Extra stuff about snakehead in ang moh place  hmm.gif

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif Our place.

This post has been edited by Leo.Lee: Jan 23 2018, 05:38 PM
Kim Bi Jan
post Jan 23 2018, 05:43 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(upcars @ Jan 23 2018, 01:50 PM)
in case u didnt know, fishes change sex from F to M or M to F. they are like.....transgenders lol.

many dunno this..pls share more...so /k can be enlightened..
SUSKLboy92
post Jan 23 2018, 05:44 PM

189 posts

Quality thread here +1000

upcars so if I want to eat fish almost every day what kind of fish, both fresh and canned, should I buy?
Kim Bi Jan
post Jan 23 2018, 05:50 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(upcars @ Jan 23 2018, 03:19 PM)
i know someone who owns a mahi-mahi farm here in malaysia.
wat there's a mahi2 farm? damn..to think i accompanied my friend out deep sea fishing when we were in nz...
upcars
post Jan 23 2018, 06:05 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Jan 23 2018, 05:44 PM)
Quality thread here +1000

upcars so if I want to eat fish almost every day what kind of fish, both fresh and canned, should I buy?
Too much of a single thing also not good leh bro. Those farmed groupers/kerapu should be on gred A these days. We export alot to HK and China.

Siakap is like the tilapia. Manyak tahan lasak. I don't like siakap cause the meat is not so chewy and not because farmed siakap not good.

U wallap those snapper family daily also no issue. Your jenahak, Kaci, ikan merah, u rotate la. Snapper not expensive and affordable. Just 1 up from siakap pricing nia.

Mini chewables u all try avoid. Belanak, kembung , cencaru, mabong , sadin . Eat less of it. Those very high heavy metal content
upcars
post Jan 23 2018, 06:07 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Kim Bi Jan @ Jan 23 2018, 05:50 PM)
wat there's a mahi2 farm? damn..to think i accompanied my friend out deep sea fishing when we were in nz...
Mahi farm in Msia for >6 years jor. The one even I also impressed is the beluga farm.....in Msia. This when I first visit also I shit brix. No trout or spot farm yet in Msia though.
SUSKLboy92
post Jan 23 2018, 06:29 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(upcars @ Jan 23 2018, 06:05 PM)
Too much of a single thing also not good leh bro. Those farmed groupers/kerapu should be on gred A these days. We export alot to HK and China.

Siakap is like the tilapia. Manyak tahan lasak. I don't like siakap cause the meat is not so chewy and not because farmed siakap not good.

U wallap those snapper family daily also no issue. Your jenahak, Kaci, ikan merah, u rotate la. Snapper not expensive and affordable. Just 1 up from siakap pricing nia.

Mini chewables u all try avoid. Belanak, kembung , cencaru, mabong , sadin . Eat less of it. Those very high heavy metal content
Ok thanks a lot thumbup.gif

I don't eat every day but can be quite often when the mood strikes... like every 2 days
Allen.89
post Jan 23 2018, 06:32 PM

QUOTE(xxhenry89xx @ Jan 17 2018, 07:33 PM)
P.S. I do not own any of the photo as below.

Saltwater fish

Unicorn Leatherjacket
Also known as : Unicorn Filefish 
Mandarin name : 鹿仔鱼 (Lù zǐ yú), 鸡鱼 (Jī yú), 肉竹 (Ròu zhú)
Hokkien name : Keh Hu, Bak Teik
Malay name : Ikan Barat-barat, Kerosok Padi, Ayam Laut
Details:
• This fish is sold/marketed as "Chicken Fish" in Malaysia.

https://www.tripadvisor.co.za/LocationPhoto...ersekutuan.html
The links above show the photo of the fish sold at Jalan Alor.

When I try to search about the fish, I found that the fish is called Unicorn Leatherjacket in English, Ikan Barat-barat in Malay and Keh Hu in Hokkien. And the image results based on using the information above are definitely showing the same fish. However, when I search using the terms "Chicken Fish", I found some fish image that definitely not Ikan Barat-barat/Unicorn Leatherjacket, instead it is another type of fish called Starry triggerfish and Ikan Jebong/Ayam Laut in Malay. Most of the search results are from Malay blog and as such, saying that Starry triggerfish is the "Chicken Fish".

http://sharingthotsandluv.blogspot.my/2013...asam-manis.html
One of the blog that write about Starry triggerfish/Ikan Jebong.

My question is which is the real identity of "Chicken Fish" in Malaysia. Note that when i say in Malaysia because there is another Chicken fish from Vanuatu near Solomon Islands called poulet fish.

Or is it both consider as the Chicken fish? Just like how the Chinese identify both freshwater catfish and marine/saltwater catfish as Tong Sat (Cantonese)?

[attachmentid=9525747]
It is said to be taste like chicken. Hence, it is sold under the name of “Chicken Fish” in Malaysia.

xxhenry89xx, I found someone say they ate "Starry triggerfish/Ikan Jebong" in Museum of Kopitiam.

QUOTE(yuusuke-kun @ Apr 20 2013, 03:39 PM)
QUOTE(liquidsny @ Apr 20 2013, 04:00 PM)
i was about to post this 
it tasted like chicken really tasty
This post has been edited by Allen.89: Jan 26 2018, 10:04 AM
Allen.89
post Jan 23 2018, 06:44 PM

QUOTE(upcars @ Jan 23 2018, 01:50 PM)

https://i.imgur.com/5YaOeuH.jpg 

Don't tell me that this is the Goliath Grouper that you mention in previous few post?
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Jan 23 2018, 06:44 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(upcars @ Jan 23 2018, 06:05 PM)

What a great description!! *mini chewables*

Which reminds me someone told me not to buy that itty bitty ikan bills - whitebait; claimed that it's bleached.

I wonder if it's true.

I like it fried garing2 so much.

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » 

0.0149sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:05 PM