68 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Official TP-Link C1200 V1(EU) Firmware is out, Hidden WDS functionality works!, Page 29

fkinmeng
post Jul 9 2018, 12:49 PM

6,372 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 9 2018, 12:40 PM)
Eh? Didn't realize your post......

There are two firmwares for C1200, one is Malaysian firmware (TIME, Maxis, TM), the other is EU firmware (for European regions)
Nope.
sigh, thought can bring it out again since unifi might free increase speed. rolleyes.gif
TSJohnLai
post Jul 9 2018, 12:53 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jul 9 2018, 12:49 PM)
sigh, thought can bring it out again since unifi might free increase speed.  rolleyes.gif
On the other hand, you could use C1200 as wireless repeater (with EU firmware) to cover deadspot/weak signal area in your house after buying new router........
SilentVampire
post Jul 9 2018, 01:28 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jul 9 2018, 12:49 PM)
sigh, thought can bring it out again since unifi might free increase speed.  rolleyes.gif
Just get a new router. TP Link C7 v4 or Asus RT-AC1300UHP.
hafiez
post Jul 9 2018, 04:28 PM

2,980 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jul 9 2018, 01:28 PM)
Just get a new router. TP Link C7 v4 or Asus RT-AC1300UHP.
Thanks for ur suggestion last time. I settled with ac87u. 🤟🏼
SilentVampire
post Jul 9 2018, 06:06 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Jul 9 2018, 04:28 PM)
Thanks for ur suggestion last time. I settled with ac87u. 🤟🏼
That is a great router, good for you.
hurricane21
post Jul 10 2018, 12:25 AM

Senior Probation
1,388 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 9 2018, 12:53 PM)
On the other hand, you could use C1200 as wireless repeater (with EU firmware) to cover deadspot/weak signal area in your house after buying new router........
Can setup C1200 as wireless repeater? I upgraded mine to EU firmware but only found AP mode, no wireless bridging mode to be found.
voncrane
post Jul 10 2018, 12:39 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Jul 10 2018, 12:25 AM)
Can setup C1200 as wireless repeater? I upgraded mine to EU firmware but only found AP mode, no wireless bridging mode to be found.
AUS fw here and I believe it's wired AP to wireless mode..

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jul 10 2018, 12:41 AM
TSJohnLai
post Jul 10 2018, 12:46 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Jul 10 2018, 12:25 AM)
Oh crap, I think I better rephrase it. My mistake. I shouldn't call it as wireless repeater.

There is no WDS mode (wireless bridging). There is only AP mode via LAN cable. I was saying connecting via LAN cable between two routers and use the AP mode to extend wireless coverage.

EDIT:
But...playing around with the firmware seem to indicate WDS is hidden and might work.........

I wonder if it will work? Problem is = I don't have spare router to test.....

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Jul 10 2018, 01:33 AM
hurricane21
post Jul 10 2018, 07:29 AM

Senior Probation
1,388 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 10 2018, 12:39 AM)

Yeah only AP mode found. unsure.gif

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 10 2018, 12:46 AM)
Oh crap, I think I better rephrase it. My mistake. I shouldn't call it as wireless repeater.

There is no WDS mode (wireless bridging). There is only AP mode via LAN cable. I was saying connecting via LAN cable between two routers and use the AP mode to extend wireless coverage.
EDIT:
But...playing around with the firmware seem to indicate WDS is hidden and might work.........
I wonder if it will work? Problem is = I don't have spare router to test.....
Wow, mind to teach how to activate it? tongue.gif
TSJohnLai
post Jul 10 2018, 01:59 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 10 2018, 12:39 AM)

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Jul 10 2018, 07:29 AM)
Yeah only AP mode found. unsure.gif
Wow, mind to teach how to activate it?  tongue.gif
Inspect source?

https://ufile.io/p5gju
https://www96.zippyshare.com/v/mTp1OMpj/file.html

edit: new url

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Aug 30 2018, 10:27 PM
hurricane21
post Jul 10 2018, 05:56 PM

Senior Probation
1,388 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 10 2018, 01:59 PM)
Inspect source?

https://ufile.io/p5gju

voncrane, can you test if WDS really works?
Thanks for the video, it successfully saved my wifi but at internet tab keep saying WAN is not connected no matter I choose Static IP or Dynamic IP. hmm.gif
Maybe is there any other stuffs related?

Having not much knowledge on networking so hope someone will eventually enable it.
TSJohnLai
post Jul 10 2018, 06:31 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Jul 10 2018, 05:56 PM)
Thanks for the video, it successfully saved my wifi but at internet tab keep saying WAN is not connected no matter I choose Static IP or Dynamic IP. hmm.gif
Maybe is there any other stuffs related?

Having not much knowledge on networking so hope someone will eventually enable it.
Well, my guinea pig, you gonna be my test subject. tongue.gif

Of course there are other settings you need to do.

Please follow the instruction at page 96 and 97

Attached File  Archer_C1200_User_Manual_2016_08_08_3114096.pdf ( 5.59mb ) Number of downloads: 1717

EDIT:
There is hidden 5Ghz WDS page too, did you test with 2.4ghz? blink.gif

EDIT2:
Hmm...there is "wds_mode" hidden as well.
I am not sure what these modes might do.

Assuming if it works....then :

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Jul 10 2018, 08:32 PM
hurricane21
post Jul 10 2018, 08:29 PM

Senior Probation
1,388 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 10 2018, 06:31 PM)
Well, my guinea pig, you gonna be my test subject. tongue.gif

Of course there are other settings you need to do.

Please follow the instruction at page 96 and 97

Attached File  Archer_C1200_User_Manual_2016_08_08_3114096.pdf ( 5.59mb ) Number of downloads: 1717

EDIT:
There is hidden 5Ghz WDS page too, did you test with 2.4ghz?  blink.gif
Seems like WDS can't activate simultaneously for both 2.4G and 5G.

Currently bridging 2.4G and the WDS status is showing 'Run'

I did try both Wifi and LAN, able to surf no problem.

Haven't try 5G yet because my main router is broadcasting on channel 149.
I read some post previously can enable more 5G band, same method?

And the DHCP is acting weird as it won't follow my main router's setting, it just simply give my device an IP. hmm.gif

Btw these keyword below for easy searching:
2g_wds_status
5g_wds_status

This post has been edited by hurricane21: Jul 10 2018, 08:32 PM
TSJohnLai
post Jul 10 2018, 08:34 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Jul 10 2018, 08:29 PM)
Seems like WDS can't activate simultaneously for both 2.4G and 5G.

Currently bridging 2.4G and the WDS status is showing 'Run'
[attachmentid=9907851]

I did try both Wifi and LAN, able to surf no problem.

Haven't try 5G yet because my main router is broadcasting on channel 149.
I read some post previously can enable more 5G band, same method?

And the DHCP is acting weird as it won't follow my main router's setting, it just simply give my device an IP. hmm.gif
Btw these keyword below for easy searching:
2g_wds_status
5g_wds_status
EH? So fast....I was playing with microsoft paint to let you know where is the status of WDS..... sad.gif

K lah...tell me....does WDS works?
Need to disable secondary router DHCP server. (Didn't you read page 96 and 97?)

Keep the primary router (the one with WAN access) DHCP server active.

EDIT: Yes, it should work with 5ghz too. Same method

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Jul 10 2018, 08:38 PM
hurricane21
post Jul 10 2018, 08:37 PM

Senior Probation
1,388 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 10 2018, 08:34 PM)
EH? So fast....I was playing with microsoft paint to let you know where is the status of WDS..... sad.gif

K lah...tell me....does WDS works?
Need to disable secondary router DHCP server.

Keep the primary router (the one with WAN access) DHCP server active.
WDS showing 'Run", but my device won't follow the assigned IP from main router.

However, the internet runs fine, so consider it successful?

TSJohnLai
post Jul 10 2018, 08:39 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Jul 10 2018, 08:37 PM)
WDS showing 'Run", but my device won't follow the assigned IP from main router.

However, the internet runs fine, so consider it successful?
Strange......did you disable the secondary router DHCP server? hmm.gif

edit: about your question on the missing 5ghz channels for EU firmware, the inspect method CANNOT be used. sad.gif You need to gain ssh and root access.

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Jul 10 2018, 08:47 PM
hurricane21
post Jul 10 2018, 08:47 PM

Senior Probation
1,388 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 10 2018, 08:39 PM)
Strange......did you disable the secondary router DHCP server? hmm.gif
Yes, I disabled DHCP on the C1200 as per instruction.

Now I got 3 devices connected to the C1200, but the wireless statistics page only show my main router and iPhone.
PC via LAN, iPhone via Wifi 2.4G

Btw restart won't affect those setting. laugh.gif

Guess have to continue explore tomorrow. hmm.gif
TSJohnLai
post Jul 10 2018, 08:53 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Jul 10 2018, 08:47 PM)
Yes, I disabled DHCP on the C1200 as per instruction.

Now I got 3 devices connected to the C1200, but the wireless statistics page only show my main router and iPhone.
PC via LAN, iPhone via Wifi 2.4G
Btw restart won't affect those setting. laugh.gif

Guess have to continue explore tomorrow. hmm.gif
hmm.gif
What kind of IP assigned to your devices after you connect at secondary router (c1200)?
Just wanna know how 'weird' the IP might be......
hmm.gif

Well, I still think it is better for you to setup WDS using 5ghz (more bandwidth and less interference) as backhaul instead of 2.4ghz

Oh, please enable 5ghz TX Beamforming too. I saw you didn't enable it in your previous screenshot.
Here a funny thing, there is hidden 2.4ghz TX Beamforming too. One can enable it, but I am not sure if beamforming works for 2.4ghz.
hurricane21
post Jul 10 2018, 09:00 PM

Senior Probation
1,388 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 10 2018, 08:53 PM)
hmm.gif
What kind of IP assigned to your devices after you connect at secondary router (c1200)?
Just wanna know how 'weird' the IP might be......
hmm.gif

Well, I still think it is better for you to setup WDS using 5ghz (more bandwidth and less interference) as backhaul instead of 2.4ghz 
Oh, please enable 5ghz TX Beamforming too. I saw you didn't enable it in your previous screenshot.
Here a funny thing, there is hidden 2.4ghz TX Beamforming too. One can enable it, but I am not sure if beamforming works for 2.4ghz.
My main router DHCP range is 192.168.0.200 ~ 230.
But I assigned my PC to .10 and iPhone to .20.

When connect via C1200, is will assign me the IP from the DHCP pool from my main router, example: 192.168.0.218
That's why I find it strange because I got another repeater (Xiaomi router mini) and it will give me my assigned IP from main router (.10). hmm.gif

Found some info regarding 5G channels at LEDE forum thread, have to take time to read. sweat.gif

TSJohnLai
post Jul 10 2018, 09:08 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Jul 10 2018, 09:00 PM)
My main router DHCP range is 192.168.0.200 ~ 230.
But I assigned my PC to .10 and iPhone to .20.

When connect via C1200, is will assign me the IP from the DHCP pool from my main router, example: 192.168.0.218
That's why I find it strange because I got another repeater (Xiaomi router mini) and it will give me my assigned IP from main router (.10). hmm.gif

Found some info regarding 5G channels at LEDE forum thread, have to take time to read. sweat.gif
hmm.gif That is definitely strange, probably it just a WDS incompatibility / interoperability between vendors.

About those 5ghz channel.........
I posted my experience in gaining back channels 149 - 165 from few pages ago..... good luck, you might want to use LAN cable for the setting up..... whistling.gif

68 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:41 AM