63 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Dell XPS M1210 Support Thread #1, COD4? No problem...

derred
post Jul 4 2007, 12:36 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

I understand the pain. I believe i had mentioned somewhere in this thread about to hold on XP if we r talking about current and old games. I know Vista is the way of the future but it is obviously not since the day it launched till today. I heard more problems than compliment about Vista. IMO, might as well wait and get the m1330 later, combine with matured and fixed Vista. Now that's really the way of samurai (transformers-fever). Heeeiiyah ! If not, better stick with XP as our gpu are not fully Vista-capable indeed. Plus some performance gains in games & 3dmarks and less headache in others. The ultimate drawback is, again, some games just wont run in Vista. That's really wtf. No offense guys, sometimes it is better not to be bias and be honest to ourselves tongue.gif. Ask ourselves, what are we using our notebooks for? gaming? else? No need to regret or anything if i were to own an m1210 i myself would prob go for Vista. Ah, F it.
AzeL
post Jul 4 2007, 01:16 AM

304 posts

okay found out which is the quickset thinghy...its the installshield thinghy

autohotkey seems complicated to do...and since quickset doesnt eat up thaaaaat much memory...about 2.5mb only...i guess im okay with it...btw how much mem does autohotkey uses?

QUOTE(derred @ Jul 4 2007, 12:36 AM)
I understand the pain. I believe i had mentioned somewhere in this thread about to hold on XP if we r talking about current and old games. I know Vista is the way of the future but it is obviously not since the day it launched till today. I heard more problems than compliment about Vista. IMO, might as well wait and get the m1330 later, combine with matured and fixed Vista. Now that's really the way of samurai (transformers-fever). Heeeiiyah ! If not, better stick with XP as our gpu are not fully Vista-capable indeed. Plus some performance gains in games & 3dmarks and less headache in others. The ultimate drawback is, again, some games just wont run in Vista. That's really wtf. No offense guys, sometimes it is better not to be bias and be honest to ourselves tongue.gif. Ask ourselves, what are we using our notebooks for? gaming? else? No need to regret or anything if i were to own an m1210 i myself would prob go for Vista. Ah, F it.
on my xp desktop i can play like lord of the realms 2 which is like a 1995 game and even play CnC 1...but im not regretting either getting vista...sure id like to play some of my old favorites but thats coz i currently dun have new favs to play...because games are F EXPENSIVE in sabah....yes even the fake ones...ori?...forget about it..only seen like ONE shop through the entire city selling ori games...and those are like OLD games...warcraft 3 etc etc...anyways...very happy with the xps now...after hearing stories about lemons and dodgy lcds...im pretty lucky to get a problem free xps...except the cheap keyboard tho..now some keys make a slight squeaking sound if i hit them at an angle or hit like at a corner of the key...worst sounding one is my backspace lol

btw if service pack for vista comes out.....do we need to buy it or will dell send us a copy?

TSEiraku
post Jul 4 2007, 01:31 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Jul 4 2007, 12:36 AM)
I'm here for the GUI enhancements (oooh pretty effects)... Quite shallow, but Vista proves very good at handling crashes and memory management too, so I'd rather forgo XP and stick with tweaking everything until it works on Vista... icon_rolleyes.gif
derred
post Jul 4 2007, 01:51 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

I think it will be just an update. So u dont need to buy anything. Just that if buy Vista SP1 it come as a whole. Especially for those who dont have internet access. Im thinking building my desktop rig myself but it wont be somewhere near future tho. Especially when Vista and dx10 games are not a necessary yet. In fact, need more money to save for the future and the rest will be funded into my ultimate gaming rig account.

Added on July 4, 2007, 1:57 am
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 3 2007, 12:31 PM)
I'm here for the GUI enhancements (oooh pretty effects)... Quite shallow, but Vista proves very good at handling crashes and memory management too, so I'd rather forgo XP and stick with tweaking everything until it works on Vista... icon_rolleyes.gif

like i said i prob will go with the same move, if i were to own an XPS. Who knows. Just I hate when the performance drops and stuff. I dont refer myself as an elite gamer, but have to admit at least I am a true gamer. I used to deny it everytime as it is not cool (if u guys know me I dont look like one) and other personal reasons. Haha some of u already understand what im talking about aye brows.gif

This post has been edited by derred: Jul 4 2007, 01:57 AM
AzeL
post Jul 4 2007, 09:34 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Jul 4 2007, 01:51 AM)
like i said i prob will go with the same move, if i were to own an XPS. Who knows. Just I hate when the performance drops and stuff. I dont refer myself as an elite gamer, but have to admit at least I am a true gamer. I used to deny it everytime as it is not cool (if u guys know me I dont look like one) and other personal reasons. Haha some of u already understand what im talking about aye brows.gif
well i dunno how to categorize between elite and true gamer...but as long as ur not those ppl 24/7 mmorpg whole day nvr see sunlight nor moonlight....then you're OKAY! laugh.gif

man the full range HDR in half life 2 episode 1 is REALLY pretty...but makes the game REALLY stutter...so had to turn off sad.gif

TSEiraku
post Jul 4 2007, 10:37 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(AzeL @ Jul 4 2007, 09:34 AM)
well i dunno how to categorize between elite and true gamer...but as long as ur not those ppl 24/7 mmorpg whole day nvr see sunlight nor moonlight....then you're OKAY!  laugh.gif

man the full range HDR in half life 2 episode 1 is REALLY pretty...but makes the game REALLY stutter...so had to turn off  sad.gif
Myself I'm a HDR freak, so I bumped the res for HL2E1 down to 700(something) x 400(something) + full HDR... Ah, the lights, the lights... notworthy.gif

Far Cry isn't far behind in the HDR stakes too, once you've patched it up to 1.4 (or something like that) + lower res... Sometimes it slows down a bit in daytime outdoor scenes but, ah, the glow... notworthy.gif

And, if you notice, C&C 3 has HDR too, but I'm not quite a big fan of strat games... sweat.gif

But, IMHO any other games with HDR beside these three simply kills the M1210's 7400go... sweat.gif
AzeL
post Jul 4 2007, 11:52 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 4 2007, 10:37 AM)
Myself I'm a HDR freak, so I bumped the res for HL2E1 down to 700(something) x 400(something) + full HDR... Ah, the lights, the lights... notworthy.gif

Far Cry isn't far behind in the HDR stakes too, once you've patched it up to 1.4 (or something like that) + lower res... Sometimes it slows down a bit in daytime outdoor scenes but, ah, the glow... notworthy.gif

And, if you notice, C&C 3 has HDR too, but I'm not quite a big fan of strat games... sweat.gif

But, IMHO any other games with HDR beside these three simply kills the M1210's 7400go... sweat.gif
u mean oblivion?...hehe...and since bethesda is doin fallout 3...there goes hdr for vault boy zzzz
derred
post Jul 4 2007, 02:29 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

Im experiencing something that is really unpleasant right now. This freaking thing really makes me regret to go for "ultimate desktop" rather than getting the best gaming laptop at the specific given time. My ultimate desktop project brings such a problem that makes me think laptop is much simpler to handle even we r facing technical problem. Laptop comes in one, lighter, easier to detect the cause of problem bla bla. This ultimate desktop is bothering me so much right now. F u argh F u u know who.
AzeL
post Jul 4 2007, 06:29 PM

304 posts

best gaming laptop = price = oohh lala
ultimate desktop = achievable whistling.gif

hmm ur desktop u assemble?...my old desktop assembled too and so far nothing major happen to it yet...but then again u can hardly call mine "ultimate" desktop haha...pretty basic only

btw what kinda probs u facing?...hardware failure etc?

okay someone recommend me a good program that can create virtual dvd drive and image burning...i tried alcohol 120% but the game still ask me for the disc even after i mounted the image so i guess its vista issue coz i tried on my xp and it worked fine...as for roxio...it only lets u make an image but not a virtual dvd drive...or it does but i havent found out yet?

This post has been edited by AzeL: Jul 4 2007, 06:32 PM
TSEiraku
post Jul 4 2007, 06:34 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Jul 4 2007, 02:29 PM)
Im experiencing something that is really unpleasant right now. This freaking thing really makes me regret to go for "ultimate desktop" rather than getting the best gaming laptop at the specific given time. My ultimate desktop project brings such a problem that makes me think laptop is much simpler to handle even we r facing technical problem. Laptop comes in one, lighter, easier to detect the cause of problem bla bla. This ultimate desktop is bothering me so much right now. F u argh F u u know who.
Relax man, that's the thing about laptops, mobile, compact, convenient... And at the same time, always slower and not as value for money as the cheaper and faster desktop alternative... But the bits and pieces that makes a desktop a desktop will always give you more problems... sweat.gif

Blame the law of universal equality... My house has converted totally to a full laptop config (right after the creaking old desktop died, God rest its soul - if it ever had one)... sweat.gif

My resources don't seem to cover the expenses incurred with running a full fledged L33T desktop (not now, or ever), as my dream rig entails at least a quad core GPU setup, phase-charge cooling AND DDR3 main RAM... sweat.gif

Something to look forward to if I ever get lucky and become a multi-billionaire though... whistling.gif

About the gaming part of the deal, I'm just gonna get myself a console of some sort... At least it'll let me play some next gen games for a few more years... The 360 looks nice, but reliability problems (well, do you guys realise that most 360s break down after only a few months!!?) continue to wreck havoc with my decision making process... And if only the PS3 wasn't so expensive out here in the land of the Red, White, Yellow and Blue... rolleyes.gif

Till then, it's a whole lot of retro gaming for me! Buzz me if any of you encounter any old (or new) games that refuses to run on Vista, and lets try to work it out... If people can get old Knights Of The Old Republic 2 to run on Vista (which is a pain in its own right), anything is possible... icon_rolleyes.gif

And the Eee PC is looking nicer every moment I see it... The promise of a sub-sub-notebook the with the price of a PDA seems very interesting indeed... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 4 2007, 06:35 PM
AzeL
post Jul 4 2007, 06:55 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(AzeL @ Jul 4 2007, 06:29 PM)
best gaming laptop = price = oohh lala
ultimate desktop = achievable whistling.gif

hmm ur desktop u assemble?...my old desktop assembled too and so far nothing major happen to it yet...but then again u can hardly call mine "ultimate" desktop haha...pretty basic only

btw what kinda probs u facing?...hardware failure etc?

okay someone recommend me a good program that can create virtual dvd drive and image burning...i tried alcohol 120% but the game still ask me for the disc even after i mounted the image so i guess its vista issue coz i tried on my xp and it worked fine...as for roxio...it only lets u make an image but not a virtual dvd drive...or it does but i havent found out yet?
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

TSEiraku
post Jul 4 2007, 08:40 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(AzeL @ Jul 4 2007, 06:55 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Sorry bout that, I missed it somehow... Try Daemon Tools... That should work fine on Vista... icon_rolleyes.gif

But then, Daemon Tools is just for mounting... Try creating the image with Alcohol, and mounting them with DT... Or creating the image with Alcohol in an XP machine, then transferring it to your Vista M1210 and mount it using DT... icon_rolleyes.gif

Good luck... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 4 2007, 08:42 PM
AzeL
post Jul 4 2007, 09:11 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 4 2007, 08:40 PM)
Sorry bout that, I missed it somehow... Try Daemon Tools... That should work fine on Vista... icon_rolleyes.gif

But then, Daemon Tools is just for mounting... Try creating the image with Alcohol, and mounting them with DT... Or creating the image with Alcohol in an XP machine, then transferring it to your Vista M1210 and mount it using DT... icon_rolleyes.gif

Good luck... sweat.gif
hmm the image made from alcohol can be used by any mounting program?...i tot alcohol to alcohol only haha...thx ill try it out

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by AzeL: Jul 4 2007, 09:13 PM
hi54ever
post Jul 4 2007, 10:39 PM

744 posts

alchohol can mount image as well isn't it, shouldnt nid daemon tool i think??
TSEiraku
post Jul 4 2007, 10:54 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(hi54ever @ Jul 4 2007, 10:39 PM)
alchohol can mount image as well isn't it, shouldnt nid daemon tool i think??
Not sure, but maybe Alc has issues with Vista (who doesn't)... That's why we gotta take the long way round... icon_rolleyes.gif

UNLESS, you have the latest, Vista compatible (fully paid) version of Alc120 that is... whistling.gif
AzeL
post Jul 4 2007, 11:46 PM

304 posts

okay i have both alcohol and daemon (the version says vista compatible)

i create image using alcohol, mount using daemon

*drumroll*

it didn't work doh.gif

however the image was mounted...but when i run the game it still asked me to insert cd

did the same procedure on the xp desktop...went w/o a problem

so im guessing it's vista issue?

but both versions are vista compatible...or so the version update says

hmmmmm
TSEiraku
post Jul 5 2007, 12:00 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(AzeL @ Jul 4 2007, 11:46 PM)
okay i have both alcohol and daemon (the version says vista compatible)

i create image using alcohol, mount using daemon

*drumroll*

it didn't work doh.gif

however the image was mounted...but when i run the game it still asked me to insert cd

did the same procedure on the xp desktop...went w/o a problem

so im guessing it's vista issue?

but both versions are vista compatible...or so the version update says

hmmmmm
Number one question, what game CD...
AzeL
post Jul 5 2007, 12:16 AM

304 posts

Fallout Tactics : Bundles of Sh!t doh.gif
TSEiraku
post Jul 5 2007, 12:54 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(AzeL @ Jul 5 2007, 12:16 AM)
Fallout Tactics : Bundles of Sh!t doh.gif
If you're trying to image a Ori CD, then make sure you get the SecureROM (or whatever CD protection the game uses) settings rite... Or better, get a no-cd for the game... Not that I'm trying to advocate piracy or something, but for Vista, with the myriad of copy protection problems surfacing lately (which KOTOR 2 suffers from too, it's the copy protect thingy that's actually not Vista compatible), a no-cd is sometimes the best solution for it... sweat.gif

derred
post Jul 5 2007, 04:36 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 4 2007, 05:34 AM)
Relax man, that's the thing about laptops, mobile, compact, convenient... And at the same time, always slower and not as value for money as the cheaper and faster desktop alternative... But the bits and pieces that makes a desktop a desktop will always give you more problems...  sweat.gif

Blame the law of universal equality... My house has converted totally to a full laptop config (right after the creaking old desktop died, God rest its soul - if it ever had one)... sweat.gif

My resources don't seem to cover the expenses incurred with running a full fledged L33T desktop (not now, or ever), as my dream rig entails at least a quad core GPU setup, phase-charge cooling AND DDR3 main RAM... sweat.gif

Something to look forward to if I ever get lucky and become a multi-billionaire though... whistling.gif

About the gaming part of the deal, I'm just gonna get myself a console of some sort... At least it'll let me play some next gen games for a few more years... The 360 looks nice, but reliability problems (well, do you guys realise that most 360s break down after only a few months!!?) continue to wreck havoc with my decision making process... And if only the PS3 wasn't so expensive out here in the land of the Red, White, Yellow and Blue...  rolleyes.gif

Till then, it's a whole lot of retro gaming for me! Buzz me if any of you encounter any old (or new) games that refuses to run on Vista, and lets try to work it out... If people can get old Knights Of The Old Republic 2 to run on Vista (which is a pain in its own right), anything is possible... icon_rolleyes.gif

And the Eee PC is looking nicer every moment I see it... The promise of a sub-sub-notebook the with the price of a PDA seems very interesting indeed... thumbup.gif

it's actually the case. Im not satisfied with the quality. It got some super-minor scratches, its prolly like not even 1cm in diameter wutsoeva but the thing is they are everywhere (each part of panel and its too many of it). The tense came from the warranty approval. I want it to be replace but its really pain in the s to settle this. I called like 8 times including right now but we weren't going anywhere. They just want to replace the right window which is bs. I got scratches on every part of panel so they shud replace every part that scratched. Too bad for them to replace all part of scratches they have to replace the whole case. Do u know any good place i shud refer my problem for them to take this more seriously? I don't care no matter what i wont just stand still here, they are like what, the most well-known and respected brand in computing yet their quality is somewhat questionable. I take this as a special case and not trying to generalize as a the whole brand. They really tested my patient for now. I'll get back to you guys and see what happen next. Darn this is wasting my time. I almost give up on the "brand" but thank god i have deal such problems before this one, and last time they were giving me 5-stars customer service. I think this is just the odd one. Thanks Eiraku for your part.

Added on July 5, 2007, 7:14 amIgnore everything i said, it must be bcoz im alil bit tense with the previous position that I was in, so somehow emotion filled me. There was a fault on my part too, which i supposed to give clearer proofs and stuff. I redo my effort with full co-operation at last they are kind enough to replace both left and right panel of the case. The main panel/main body has a super-duper tiny scratches that doesn't qualify for a new one. I give em that one as I myself would consider it is "too minor" scratches. In fact, i believe no matter how gentle one could handle the case, within a week of time or at most a month, people (or human haha) will somehow accidentally make those super-duper tiny scratches anyway. So far im happy with the solution. Hopefully i won't receive any defects/problems for the replacement panels but just a perfect pair of em.

This post has been edited by derred: Jul 9 2007, 05:02 PM

63 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:52 AM