Sharp LC50UA6800X, Review

Harddisk
post Jul 27 2018, 04:30 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 27 2018, 04:24 PM)
do u also have a box player?

the way i see it, the usb playback function of a tv is worth rm300-600 only.

rm300 box, u get all the basics played, incl dd/dd+/dts, hevc, 4k; rm600, u get it all - dtshdma, ddtruehd, atmos, hdr, dtsx, dolby vision even.
Nope, no box player. Just use TV all the way. Via DLNA or Plex, if I lazy to find subtitle.

But fortunate enough, most media from torrent are playable, except for the BD rip. For 4k, I'd go with x265 for the HDR. Since I don't have ATMOS system, so I'd just go with DTS-HD.

PS: Another thing with the TV player. It's quite picky on subtitle file. So sometimes it depends on luck, if the SRT file could load.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Jul 27 2018, 04:31 PM
AVFAN
post Jul 27 2018, 04:42 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Jul 27 2018, 04:30 PM)
Nope, no box player. Just use TV all the way. Via DLNA or Plex, if I lazy to find subtitle.

But fortunate enough, most media from torrent are playable, except for the BD rip. For 4k, I'd go with x265 for the HDR. Since I don't have ATMOS system, so I'd just go with DTS-HD.

PS: Another thing with the TV player. It's quite picky on subtitle file. So sometimes it depends on luck, if the SRT file could load.
the subtitle part is definitely correct - which is why i never use the tv player.

if u do playback a lot, and is a "collector" rather than casual "watch and delete", a box will make more sense.

a good box will play almost anything, whatever rip, whatever format, whatever audio, whatever subtitle.

and the video quality comes out better on the TV than the tv player.

which is why i hv said several times - a good tv is wasted if playback is limited to a poor source and a poor player.

ok... enough of boxes... that's another topic, better not derail this thread! biggrin.gif
Harddisk
post Jul 27 2018, 04:44 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 27 2018, 04:42 PM)
the subtitle part is definitely correct - which is why i never use the tv player.

if u do playback a lot, and is a "collector" rather than casual "watch and delete", a box will make more sense.

a good box will play almost anything, whatever rip, whatever format, whatever audio, whatever subtitle.

and the video quality comes out better on the TV than the tv player.

which is why i hv said several times - a good tv is wasted if playback is limited to a poor source and a poor player.
ok... enough of boxes... that's another topic, better not derail this thread! biggrin.gif
TV box advocate! thumbup.gif

But I'm more watch & delete. Hence I don't have a big library.
DriksoN
post Jul 28 2018, 02:00 AM

119 posts

May I know why my play store keeps stucking at install pending when I wanna dl apps. What's the issue?
nyunyu
post Jul 28 2018, 07:50 AM

His Royal Highness
1,392 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 27 2018, 09:56 AM)
not going nas anytime but a little curious...

what android box are u using?
himedia q5 and Videostrong KII Pro

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Jul 27 2018, 03:11 PM)
UJ630T.

DTS, DTS-HD (probably downstream to DTS only), AC3, E-AC3 (DD+) all can play. Built-in player a bit picky. Doesn't work well with mp4 file coded with complex audio codec, but MKV's are ok. Sometimes it said Audio not supported, but still has sound.  laugh.gif
You also stream from Plex right? Seeing the TV itself supports loads of audio codec and VP9, I think it shouldn't be a problem to decode dts. I'll see if I can find a display unit to get the feel.

Btw, if using Plex, you shouldn't have any issue diplaying subtitle, although if you have you can set the setting to burn in the subtitle from Plex server.

This post has been edited by nyunyu: Jul 28 2018, 07:53 AM
Harddisk
post Jul 28 2018, 08:20 AM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Jul 28 2018, 07:50 AM)
Btw, if using Plex, you shouldn't have any issue diplaying subtitle, although if you have you can set the setting to burn in the subtitle from Plex server.
You can try ESH @ Starling. The staff members there were accommodating when I wanted to test some Dolby video files. They even install VLC upon my request.

Plex can download online subtitle automatically. Displaying it usually is not a problem for Plex. That's why I was tempted to get an Intel NUC to host my PMS, but costly.
rayfoo
post Jul 28 2018, 08:32 AM

2,562 posts

Just got my TV, no manual included?
AVFAN
post Jul 28 2018, 09:52 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(DriksoN @ Jul 28 2018, 02:00 AM)
May I know why my play store keeps stucking at install pending when I wanna dl apps. What's the issue?
does it happen to all apps u tried to download?

is any app working good? youtube?

this happens when the internet connection speed is too low.

If connection speed is not a problem, try... settings, about, restart.. this clears cache, restarts the android.

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Jul 28 2018, 07:50 AM)
himedia q5 and Videostrong KII Pro
old q5 or newer q5pro?

old q5 won't do.

if q5pro, i remember reading a case where the nas app player did not work well but the q5pro media center's native player handled nas well.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 28 2018, 11:21 AM
nyunyu
post Jul 28 2018, 10:46 AM

His Royal Highness
1,392 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Jul 28 2018, 08:20 AM)
You can try ESH @ Starling. The staff members there were accommodating when I wanted to test some Dolby video files. They even install VLC upon my request.

Plex can download online subtitle automatically. Displaying it usually is not a problem for Plex. That's why I was tempted to get an Intel NUC to host my PMS, but costly.
Try lurking at reddit, they have a sub for sharing plex with others. If you look hard enough, you'll get a share that doesn't need you to share back.
nyunyu
post Jul 28 2018, 10:49 AM

His Royal Highness
1,392 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 28 2018, 09:52 AM)
does it happen to all apps u tried to download?

is any app working good? youtube?

this happens when the internet connection speed is too low.
old q5 or newer q5pro?

old q5 won't do.

if q5pro, i remember reading a case where the nas app player did not work well but the q5pro media center's native player handled nas well.
Yup, sorry it's q5pro. Played dts with no problem. Actually, none of my android box has issue handling nas. Youtube and other streaming apps working fine. Not sure what makes you think it's the box problem? Oh, streaming from nas doesn't need fast internet speed, although I'm on 100Mbps.
AVFAN
post Jul 28 2018, 10:56 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Jul 28 2018, 10:49 AM)
Yup, sorry it's q5pro. Played dts with no problem. Actually, none of my android box has issue handling nas. Youtube and other streaming apps working fine. Not sure what makes you think it's the box problem? Oh, streaming from nas doesn't need fast internet speed, although I'm on 100Mbps.
Sorry.. then i dun understand below...

But never mind, as long as u get waht u want. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Jul 26 2018, 02:46 PM)
Kodi works on mine, only that I don't use external drive. All my medias are on Synology server and have Plex Server installed. Plex server can direct stream dts just fine, only plex app has a bug that won't play media with dts/dd. This is where the plugin comes in where it neatly configured Kodi with Plex library, meta etc and able to direct play dts movie.
nyunyu
post Jul 28 2018, 11:42 AM

His Royal Highness
1,392 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 28 2018, 10:56 AM)
Sorry.. then i dun understand below...

But never mind, as long as u get waht u want. biggrin.gif
Oh, what I meant was using plex app on android box, for some reason it won't play media with dts or dd 5.1. But if I play it using kodi it played just fine.

good_juju
post Jul 28 2018, 02:46 PM

29 posts

i dont understand y ppl bother getting the 45" model lol... for just extra 300 u can get 50" (or if you really want to save get the non-Android TV version and then buy ur own TV box)... price per inch also relatively same... so value wise the 50" is much a better buy IMO... and pls dont tell me that extra 5" is not worth it... makes a significant difference... as for me 60" is the way to go... for futureproofing

45" vs 50" vs 70/80"

This post has been edited by good_juju: Jul 28 2018, 02:47 PM
Harddisk
post Jul 28 2018, 02:53 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(good_juju @ Jul 28 2018, 02:46 PM)
i dont understand y ppl bother getting the 45" model lol... for just extra 300 u can get 50" (or if you really want to save get the non-Android TV version and then buy ur own TV box)... price per inch also relatively same... so value wise the 50" is much a better buy IMO... and pls dont tell me that extra 5" is not worth it... makes a significant difference... as for me 60" is the way to go... for futureproofing

45" vs 50" vs 70/80"
SenQ at 1U?

Yes, Sharp's 60" UA6800x is a good deal, if it meets your requirements.
good_juju
post Jul 28 2018, 02:56 PM

29 posts

50" - RM2279 - https://shopee.com.my/SHARP-LC50UA6800X-50%...6374.1159435350
45" - RM1999 - https://www.lazada.com.my/products/sharp-45...s564700284.html

only RM280 difference... not worth getting the 45"... better deal with the 50"

This post has been edited by good_juju: Jul 28 2018, 03:02 PM
good_juju
post Jul 28 2018, 02:57 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Jul 28 2018, 02:53 PM)
SenQ at 1U?

ya how u know lol... yes but more expensive at SenQ... i just went there to see the picture quality for myself before i decide to buy
good_juju
post Jul 28 2018, 03:01 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Jul 28 2018, 02:53 PM)
SenQ at 1U?

however im still unsure if its worth getting the android tv version or not... yes slightly better specs with bluetooth and 4 HDMI instead of 2 and better speakers... but i already have a soundbar and Mi TV box... found a good price on Lazada https://www.lazada.com.my/products/sharp-lc...s581654234.html less than 2.8k... looks tempting... but not sure how much i am losing from not getting the Android TV version
Harddisk
post Jul 28 2018, 03:04 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(good_juju @ Jul 28 2018, 02:57 PM)
ya how u know lol... yes but more expensive at SenQ... i just went there to see the picture quality for myself before i decide to buy
That bloody cage was there 2 weeks ago when I went. Lol.

QUOTE(good_juju @ Jul 28 2018, 03:01 PM)
however im still unsure if its worth getting the android tv version or not... yes slightly better specs with bluetooth and 4 HDMI instead of 2 and better speakers... but i already have a soundbar and Mi TV box... found a good price on Lazada https://www.lazada.com.my/products/sharp-lc...s581654234.html less than 2.8k... looks tempting... but not sure how much i am losing from not getting the Android TV version
Just stick with normal one, everything else you have your Mi Box.

good_juju
post Jul 28 2018, 03:08 PM

29 posts

one thing that really annoys me with Sharp is... y didnt they release a 55" model? that would be the perfect size IMO... the sweet spot and price and size would have been much greater deal... and if they made the price slightly lower around 200-300 less than the 60" i would still think its a great buy... but sadly not

This post has been edited by good_juju: Jul 28 2018, 03:10 PM
good_juju
post Jul 28 2018, 03:09 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Jul 28 2018, 03:04 PM)
That bloody cage was there 2 weeks ago when I went. Lol.
Just stick with normal one, everything else you have your Mi Box.
but big problem is only got 2 HDMI... no Bluetooth not really an issue tho... hmm dilemma

123 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0172sec    0.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:40 AM