Sharp LC50UA6800X, Review

Harddisk
post Jul 11 2018, 10:12 AM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(kaejni @ Jun 29 2018, 04:58 AM)
Hi, anyone has idea to compare SHARP LC60ua6800x and LG 60UJ630T? I’m comparing these 2 TV and got no idea which to get?
LG UJ630 series kinda sucked. I owned the 49" one and keep having problems with DD+ audio decoding.

If you don't hook up with receiver, then it's a fine TV. YouTube 4K playback would make the UI laggy though.

EDIT: Looking at LC60UA6800X. Anyone this series with AV receiver/soundbar? Able to output video files with DD+ (E_AC3) codec?

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Jul 11 2018, 03:51 PM
Harddisk
post Jul 12 2018, 08:30 AM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(magnesium @ Jul 12 2018, 12:31 AM)
I have this lg

What do u mean by keep having problems with DD+ audio decoding?

How to check if i have similar problem?
Hook it up to a soundbar/receiver (with HDMI ARC), then download some TV series AMZN rip (usually use DDP audio codec).

Then check on your soundbar/receiver on the codec sent by the TV.

PS: At digital audio setting, set to Auto, instead of PCM.

Sorry, OOT, but I'm still hoping someone with LC60UA6800X + sound bar setup to test out DDP/DTS-HD output.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Jul 12 2018, 08:31 AM
Harddisk
post Jul 13 2018, 09:44 AM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(fixgd @ Jul 13 2018, 07:37 AM)
60 inch 6500x is 2.95k at 11 street. if i prefer to use my amazon firetv, is this a better choice than 6800x?
6800x is Android TV. Imagine the possibilities with Android OS.

I've tried and tested this TV with some Dolby videos (different file container, encoded with different audio codec). Built-in player basically sucked. So, download VLC, and voila. Everything plays! Though I've yet to try if the output audio is fully Dolby Digital stream to a receiver/soundbar.

And again, the spec only listed Dolby Digital.
Harddisk
post Jul 13 2018, 11:35 AM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 13 2018, 10:57 AM)
internal player suck as always.

on older ue630x, VLC or mx won't deliver DD5.1, only 2.0.[B]

better get separate player if into high grade audio/AVR.
I've been wondering about this too. Though it plays the videos fine, with sound output via the speakers. But would the correct stream be sent through HDMI ARC or not.

Still no owner here came back with a test result.
Harddisk
post Jul 13 2018, 02:32 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 13 2018, 12:55 PM)
i think the player/arc/audio functions of ua6800x is the same as the ue630x, not so good.

on ue630x, i have not used hdmi arc but the digital toslink arc.

the results, i already mentioned.

to get the best out of this tv, better get a good player box - the tv can produce great video with good player and source.
i will be visiting AV fair on 20/7, will see what is available there.
Optical cable can't support DD+ though.

I guess I'm now siding more toward Sony. No headache about Dolby audio support.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Jul 13 2018, 02:35 PM
Harddisk
post Jul 14 2018, 03:38 AM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 13 2018, 03:43 PM)
True about optical.

Hdmi arc... dd+... better be sure, test before u buy.

Becos tv makers are not generous when it comes to paying for licenses, usually limited to dd, dts only.
That particular Sony model I'm eyeing do support DD, DD+ and Dolby Pulse. As listed on Sony's website.
Harddisk
post Jul 19 2018, 11:29 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 18 2018, 11:38 PM)
i haven't got mine!

it was from:
smart tv = "do things while connected to internet".

diff tv brands use diff smart platforms.

google's androidtv platform is good becos u can do almost any app like u do with android phone, android tablet or android box.

found only in sony and sharp 4k tv's.
And Toshiba. Seems like nobody cares. laugh.gif
Harddisk
post Jul 19 2018, 11:33 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(happyhaka @ Jul 18 2018, 11:42 PM)
Best deal I found so far is Lazada 3599 with 5 years warranty
If purchase from store (ESH), the 5 yrs warranty is by Sharp Malaysia itself. My sister just bought a Sharp TV from ESH recently and I asked if the +3 yr warranty given by store, sales rep said all 5 yrs warranty by manufacturer.

QUOTE(SemenyihCHEN @ Jul 19 2018, 03:05 AM)
Guys,which sound bar you use for your 6800X? Is sony HT-CT 800 a good choice? Or others sound bar you can recommend?
Here comes the problem...

Please share with us your hooking up to soundbar's experience after you've got it. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Jul 19 2018, 11:40 PM
Harddisk
post Jul 19 2018, 11:35 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 19 2018, 11:31 PM)
becos very few models.

actually, i read some PHILIPS models also have androidtv, just not sold locally.
If not available locally, no point mentioning dy.

Since I'm hunting for AndroidTV TV, that's why I came across Toshiba. Ugly design too, but front firing speakers though.
Harddisk
post Jul 22 2018, 02:10 PM

2,957 posts

Did you guys try downloading x265 10-bit coded video, which is HDR. Then you can test it out. Usually the x264 8-bit counterpart is available too.
Harddisk
post Jul 23 2018, 09:14 AM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(wilson7847 @ Jul 23 2018, 08:38 AM)
I'm looking for new TV (Sharp 60" or Samsung 65" NU7100).
Which one better.
Btw, the Sharp 60ua 6800x & 6500x(2x HDMI, 1x USB) different are Android & smart TV.
Currently 6500x is RM2999 with 5 yrs warranty, does it worth it?

*I'm often t use my HDD to watch movie.
Go with Android TV. The internal video player is almost useless. Limited support on format.
Harddisk
post Jul 24 2018, 12:18 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 24 2018, 02:42 AM)
can't do dts or other higher - u just get video, no audio. this is not a problem for me as i dun use the tv for hdd playback.
If you're willing and your Denon AVR supports ARC, you could try installing VLC to test out media files with DTS/DTS-HD/DD+/DD ATMOS and etc.

VLC could play them (with sound on TV speakers), just dunno if ARC passthrough would be DTS/DTS-HD/DD+/DD ATMOS streams or not. Can get those files from Dolby website or search for Dolby trailers hosted on thedigitaltheater.com.

I'm curious.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Jul 24 2018, 12:20 PM
Harddisk
post Jul 24 2018, 09:49 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 24 2018, 09:08 PM)
i dun hv any mp4 videos anymore, not a file type i wanna keep long term.

but i wud suggest u check if the file has dolby, dts or other audio.

many tv's can't do dts or higher... do only dolby or lower... some can... that, u gotta ask in other tv threads.

this sharp tv for this thread - NO, it can't do dts and higher.
one thing... if u MUST do mp4, u can always buy a cheap box... rm300 or so - it will work.

becos mp4 is basic.
or install VLC player to support a lot of formats. laugh.gif
Harddisk
post Jul 24 2018, 09:57 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 24 2018, 09:51 PM)
u tried already? what tv? results?
45UA6800X (I think it was 45", definitely smaller than 50 one). Tested it at ESH Starling Mall, cause I wanna find out if the TV could output DD+/DTS-HD.

Like I said earlier, VLC could play them + sound from TV speakers. But dunno about ARC side. Hopefully this pique your curiosity. laugh.gif
Harddisk
post Jul 25 2018, 06:20 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(shebbycs @ Jul 25 2018, 06:15 PM)
One more noob question but b4 that my mistake that one not mp4 size but mkv size

My question is when u said sharp tv cannot do dts and higher, it is related with himedia pro? Still confused sad.gif
The built-in TV player app itself can't decode files with DTS and DD+ and higher.
Harddisk
post Jul 26 2018, 12:12 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Jul 26 2018, 09:06 AM)
Hmm..so running Plex would probably not wise as I won't be able to play movies with dts from it.
Wonder if a shop would allow me sideload the app to test.
Try and let us know. I know VLC could play most files, if not all, on this TV with audio decoded and output to the TV's speakers. So I think Plex might just works fine.

QUOTE(Melvin117 @ Jul 26 2018, 11:48 AM)
Just want to ask that has anyone compared this to the X9000e from Sony?
Sony has DD+ support and of course DTS.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 26 2018, 11:53 AM)
What is the price of this sony?
And this too. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Jul 26 2018, 12:15 PM
Harddisk
post Jul 26 2018, 05:24 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Jul 26 2018, 02:46 PM)
Kodi works on mine, only that I don't use external drive. All my medias are on Synology server and have Plex Server installed. Plex server can direct stream dts just fine, only plex app has a bug that won't play media with dts/dd. This is where the plugin comes in where it neatly configured Kodi with Plex library, meta etc and able to direct play dts movie.
Is this Plex app on Android (AndroidTV?) that has bug?

My Plex app for LG webOs seems fine though. No problem with all those audio.
Harddisk
post Jul 27 2018, 03:11 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Jul 27 2018, 07:28 AM)
Yeah, only on android box. Not sure androidtv has similar bug.
Which LG you using? able to play dts ac3?
UJ630T.

DTS, DTS-HD (probably downstream to DTS only), AC3, E-AC3 (DD+) all can play. Built-in player a bit picky. Doesn't work well with mp4 file coded with complex audio codec, but MKV's are ok. Sometimes it said Audio not supported, but still has sound. laugh.gif
Harddisk
post Jul 27 2018, 04:30 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 27 2018, 04:24 PM)
do u also have a box player?

the way i see it, the usb playback function of a tv is worth rm300-600 only.

rm300 box, u get all the basics played, incl dd/dd+/dts, hevc, 4k; rm600, u get it all - dtshdma, ddtruehd, atmos, hdr, dtsx, dolby vision even.
Nope, no box player. Just use TV all the way. Via DLNA or Plex, if I lazy to find subtitle.

But fortunate enough, most media from torrent are playable, except for the BD rip. For 4k, I'd go with x265 for the HDR. Since I don't have ATMOS system, so I'd just go with DTS-HD.

PS: Another thing with the TV player. It's quite picky on subtitle file. So sometimes it depends on luck, if the SRT file could load.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Jul 27 2018, 04:31 PM
Harddisk
post Jul 27 2018, 04:44 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 27 2018, 04:42 PM)
the subtitle part is definitely correct - which is why i never use the tv player.

if u do playback a lot, and is a "collector" rather than casual "watch and delete", a box will make more sense.

a good box will play almost anything, whatever rip, whatever format, whatever audio, whatever subtitle.

and the video quality comes out better on the TV than the tv player.

which is why i hv said several times - a good tv is wasted if playback is limited to a poor source and a poor player.
ok... enough of boxes... that's another topic, better not derail this thread! biggrin.gif
TV box advocate! thumbup.gif

But I'm more watch & delete. Hence I don't have a big library.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:16 AM