The Official iPhone X Discussion Thread | V2, Most expensive iPhone to date
kcy1606
Nov 14 2017, 03:01 PM

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 14 2017, 02:52 PM) Bro, one more question on the lack of TouchID, does that mean banking apps like Maybank2u, Citi MY, etc. won't have the quick balance check feature that we can do with our TouchID right? QUOTE(deepan84 @ Nov 14 2017, 02:54 PM) i read somewhere..all TouchID security will be channeled to FaceID automatically by Apple. direct replacement. Yes, all Touch ID changed to Face ID automatically. Have tried on Maybank app, works fine with Face ID.
attw
Nov 14 2017, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(kcy1606 @ Nov 14 2017, 03:01 PM) Yes, all Touch ID changed to Face ID automatically. Have tried on Maybank app, works fine with Face ID. Ah OK, nice. Thanks for the info bro!
yvonnesoo
Nov 14 2017, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(kcy1606 @ Nov 14 2017, 03:01 PM) Yes, all Touch ID changed to Face ID automatically. Have tried on Maybank app, works fine with Face ID. sounds great.
hensky
Nov 14 2017, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(kcy1606 @ Nov 14 2017, 03:01 PM) Yes, all Touch ID changed to Face ID automatically. Have tried on Maybank app, works fine with Face ID. Ya, something like this Attached thumbnail(s)
attw
Nov 14 2017, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(hensky @ Nov 14 2017, 03:06 PM) OK, good to know. Thanks! Still on the fence at the moment. 5k is a lot of money
hensky
Nov 14 2017, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Nov 14 2017, 03:07 PM) OK, good to know. Thanks! Still on the fence at the moment. 5k is a lot of money  touch id flow 1. open the app 2. touch home button to scan fingerprint 3. logged in it feels better & faster than touch id because step 2 is no longer needed.
OKLY
Nov 14 2017, 03:14 PM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(attw @ Nov 14 2017, 02:52 PM) Bro, one more question on the lack of TouchID, does that mean banking apps like Maybank2u, Citi MY, etc. won't have the quick balance check feature that we can do with our TouchID right? Face ID = Touch ID App developer not required to do any changes.
attw
Nov 14 2017, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(OKLY @ Nov 14 2017, 03:14 PM) Face ID = Touch ID App developer not required to do any changes.
Great! Thanks!
ftan
Nov 14 2017, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Nov 14 2017, 01:32 PM) Yes, it would be more like the i8. Probably nicer to have a iX+  I think I can get use to the smaller size even after being on the bigger screen since i6+ days. Worst case, wait for i8+ price drop and buy it. QUOTE(OKLY @ Nov 14 2017, 01:44 PM) I have to agree with fadzly on his feeling on the iPhone X after 2 days. After day 2, it’s quite similar to the same old iPhone we are so used to except for a prettier display to look at and Face ID. Whether it is really worth its price, it’s really subjective but I as an iPhone X user personally feels that the price is not worth it. I buy it just for the love of iOS and feel good factor of using the best iPhone that Apple currently has. I have the same feeling on this. But my criteria is as long as the phone / platform is reliable and intuitively familiar for ease of use, then it’s ok. As for price, that’s another story. Hehe.
kcy1606
Nov 14 2017, 03:21 PM

QUOTE(hensky @ Nov 14 2017, 03:12 PM) touch id flow 1. open the app 2. touch home button to scan fingerprint 3. logged in it feels better & faster than touch id because step 2 is no longer needed. But using Apple Pay is slower than TouchID. TouchID = Put your phone on the reader (with finger on sensor) -> Done Face ID = Double click side button -> Face Scan -> Put the phone on the reader -> Done Much slower but still acceptable.
fadzly
Nov 14 2017, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Nov 14 2017, 02:52 PM) Bro, one more question on the lack of TouchID, does that mean banking apps like Maybank2u, Citi MY, etc. won't have the quick balance check feature that we can do with our TouchID right? ah.. never test it yet. will inform u once tested. because i havent install the maybank apps since 1 year ago because they wont allow it on the jailbroken devices and it cant be bypassed with a flex apps or any other jailbreak tweaks. seems someone answered it already. my bad to reply it late. sorry. but the password management for other apps seems good with IOS11. with faceID u can prefill password in your dedicated apps such as facebook, twitter etc without the need to type in the login/password information. with faceid i can also unlock password protected notes. This post has been edited by fadzly: Nov 14 2017, 03:24 PM
OKLY
Nov 14 2017, 03:27 PM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(kcy1606 @ Nov 14 2017, 03:21 PM) But using Apple Pay is slower than TouchID. TouchID = Put your phone on the reader (with finger on sensor) -> Done Face ID = Double click side button -> Face Scan -> Put the phone on the reader -> Done Much slower but still acceptable. Malaysians still can’t experience Apple Pay though.
hensky
Nov 14 2017, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(kcy1606 @ Nov 14 2017, 03:21 PM) But using Apple Pay is slower than TouchID. TouchID = Put your phone on the reader (with finger on sensor) -> Done Face ID = Double click side button -> Face Scan -> Put the phone on the reader -> Done Much slower but still acceptable. ya, but then no chance to use apple pay in Malaysia yet.
kcy1606
Nov 14 2017, 03:32 PM

QUOTE(OKLY @ Nov 14 2017, 03:27 PM) Malaysians still can’t experience Apple Pay though.  QUOTE(hensky @ Nov 14 2017, 03:27 PM) ya, but then no chance to use apple pay in Malaysia yet.  Oh...Since Samsung Pay has started in Malaysia, hope that Apple will roll out Apple Pay in Malaysia soon.
deepan84
Nov 14 2017, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(kcy1606 @ Nov 14 2017, 03:32 PM) Oh...Since Samsung Pay has started in Malaysia, hope that Apple will roll out Apple Pay in Malaysia soon. Physicak Apple Store pun xde.. Apa lagi Apple Pay. Hahaha..
TOMEI-R
Nov 14 2017, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(koonghx @ Nov 14 2017, 02:43 PM) My 7+ lasts less than half a day.. If this 7+ feels like bad battery life, then X will be worse?  You gotta be kidding me. Mine could last at least a day with heavy usage. QUOTE(attw @ Nov 14 2017, 02:52 PM) Bro, one more question on the lack of TouchID, does that mean banking apps like Maybank2u, Citi MY, etc. won't have the quick balance check feature that we can do with our TouchID right? QUOTE(deepan84 @ Nov 14 2017, 02:54 PM) i read somewhere..all TouchID security will be channeled to FaceID automatically by Apple. direct replacement. Yes. All touch ID security will be channeled to Face ID for iphone x and future iphone models. That is why I am still a bit skeptical when any apps which requires authentication scans our face again to access "more private" details eg banking or purchasing apps on Applestore. But for banking I still use safari to access because I feel it is more secure compared to using apps. This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Nov 14 2017, 03:56 PM
TOMEI-R
Nov 14 2017, 04:05 PM
For those who are using the 64GB, how much is the available storage on your phone before you restore?
Reventon
Nov 14 2017, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(fadzly @ Nov 14 2017, 02:35 PM) Seems only Netflix has an issue. [attachmentid=9334217][attachmentid=9334269] Go into setting, turn on the search in siri & search suggestion. I have turned off search in iOS 10, after upgrading to iOS 11 most of the app are not searchable except of exact name is typed fully in the search bar or else it wont show up. Turn the specific app on for search and siri and you will able to get the app show up.
fadzly
Nov 14 2017, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(Reventon @ Nov 14 2017, 04:21 PM) Go into setting, turn on the search in siri & search suggestion. I have turned off search in iOS 10, after upgrading to iOS 11 most of the app are not searchable except of exact name is typed fully in the search bar or else it wont show up. Turn the specific app on for search and siri and you will able to get the app show up. i see.. specific apps.
ryan18
Nov 14 2017, 06:49 PM
QUOTE(OKLY @ Nov 14 2017, 03:27 PM) Malaysians still can’t experience Apple Pay though.  Just change the country and you can see Apple Pay option Can if you have supported countries bank account/card(eg Singapore) Tried in Singapore and hongkong