DFI Infinity 965-S Disscussion, Talk About How to Tweak

sHawTY
post Jul 21 2007, 03:57 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Weird, why u guys always have that kind of errors?
I tweak my motherboard even up to 500MHz also never had those kind of error. laugh.gif

Never heard of anyone that has the first batch of this motherboard got this kind of problem too. hmm.gif
sup3rfly
post Jul 21 2007, 05:06 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Jul 21 2007, 01:19 PM)
Everyone,this is the method i told irangan and i wanna share it with u all.the method is real and it works with my 1066 proc,why dont just give 1333 proc a try?

bro,u got urself a E6850 right?
well,this method works fine with me.

anyway,i can confirm that P965 chipset supports 1333FSB,just depend on our D.A.R.K. bios.

anyway,i changed my E6600 to QX6700.these 2 processor are 1066FSB.

here come the story.

that day when i got my QX6700,i changed my E6600 from the mobo without reset the bios setting. (my E6600 running 400x9=3600MHz)

Then when i install the Qx6700,the proc boot up with the setting of 400x9,without reset the bios and i was shocked,thought that changing proc's stepping will cause the mobo to reset the bios.but it was not.

so base on my eperience,it worth a try with all of u here.

E6850 using 9x multiplioer which is same as E6600 9x multiplier.

so bro,hjust get urself a E6600,then set the multiplier to 9x and adjust the FSB to 1333FSB which is 333.3 in bios,after that,save the setting and boot into windows and reconfirm with CPU-Z then shut it down.

then now replace with ur E6850 and boot it, (the setting should be 333.3x9) it should be bootable cause changing different processor and different stepping will not reset the bios (from my experience la),if it bootable,then viola!!!

it wastes a bit of ur times but it saves u from changing mobo,so why dont just give a try? icon_rolleyes.gif

hope that my method can help u all.
i tot of that also but i tot when changing proc the bios will follow what the proc says...anyway i have E6700 i will set it to 9 x 333 and give it a try after i do the test fo the 4 godly heatsinks smile.gif
hope it can work else i will have to say bye bye to Dark already.... Dark is a nice mobo...so far the best P965 mobo... it offers many OC option in ram side that boost up a lot of performance smile.gif
AceCombat
post Jul 21 2007, 07:24 PM

5,434 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jul 21 2007, 05:06 PM)
i tot of that also but i tot when changing proc the bios will follow what the proc says...anyway i have E6700 i will set it to 9 x 333 and give it a try after i do the test fo the 4 godly heatsinks smile.gif
hope it can work else i will have to say bye bye to Dark already.... Dark is a nice mobo...so far the best P965 mobo... it offers many OC option in ram side that boost up a lot of performance smile.gif
ya,the only way to test it, brows.gif
i argee dark is a nice board but it brings a lot of problem to user u know.
picky,psu this cannot,that cannot,ram also same,proc also same. cry.gif

luckily mine one no problem laugh.gif

well,as for the bios rom checksum error,is it bios corrupted? ohmy.gif
sup3rfly
post Jul 21 2007, 07:56 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

ok tried...no luck cry.gif
to be frank i have no problem with the mobo...no compatibility issue.... if you are DFI NF4 LanParty user before u should expect the problem with DFI....when i 1st playing NF4 DFI the mobo really make me sweat....i tot i gotten faulty mobo at 1st sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Jul 21 2007, 07:58 PM
Hyde`fK
post Jul 21 2007, 07:59 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

DFI's boards are too pro. Lucikly I didn't encounter any major problem YET with DFI products.
irangan
post Jul 22 2007, 12:28 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Jul 21 2007, 01:19 PM)
Everyone,this is the method i told irangan and i wanna share it with u all.the method is real and it works with my 1066 proc,why dont just give 1333 proc a try?

bro,u got urself a E6850 right?
well,this method works fine with me.

anyway,i can confirm that P965 chipset supports 1333FSB,just depend on our D.A.R.K. bios.

anyway,i changed my E6600 to QX6700.these 2 processor are 1066FSB.

here come the story.

that day when i got my QX6700,i changed my E6600 from the mobo without reset the bios setting. (my E6600 running 400x9=3600MHz)

Then when i install the Qx6700,the proc boot up with the setting of 400x9,without reset the bios and i was shocked,thought that changing proc's stepping will cause the mobo to reset the bios.but it was not.

so base on my eperience,it worth a try with all of u here.

E6850 using 9x multiplioer which is same as E6600 9x multiplier.

so bro,hjust get urself a E6600,then set the multiplier to 9x and adjust the FSB to 1333FSB which is 333.3 in bios,after that,save the setting and boot into windows and reconfirm with CPU-Z then shut it down.

then now replace with ur E6850 and boot it, (the setting should be 333.3x9) it should be bootable cause changing different processor and different stepping will not reset the bios (from my experience la),if it bootable,then viola!!!

it wastes a bit of ur times but it saves u from changing mobo,so why dont just give a try? icon_rolleyes.gif

hope that my method can help u all.
Tested and its wont works.. E6850 cont POST due to voltage stuff. Need new bios to amend that.

rlhc17
post Jul 22 2007, 04:44 AM

835 posts

For Irangan & Sanko biggrin.gif

I'm using I96PD703 bios modded bios : http://www.lejabeach.com/DFI/dfiinfinity965s/I96PD703RHX.zip
Not sure about DFI original 703 beta bios

ahsiah
post Jul 22 2007, 09:00 AM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

When I replaced my processor from E6600 to E6750, it didn't boot at all. I reset the bios and it boots. I guess due to Multipler that it had in E6600 is 9 and E6750 didn't support 9 at all. However, this is just my assumeption.
sup3rfly
post Jul 22 2007, 09:01 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

hmmm....mind to tell me how do u set the values in bios before u changing ur pric????izzit all defualt or u set to 333 x 9 then only change to the E6850
irangan
post Jul 22 2007, 09:26 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(rlhc17 @ Jul 22 2007, 04:44 AM)
For Irangan & Sanko biggrin.gif

I'm using I96PD703 bios modded bios :  http://www.lejabeach.com/DFI/dfiinfinity965s/I96PD703RHX.zip
Not sure about DFI original 703 beta bios
LOLZ.... Ya la... I didnt test modded bios as it is not in .bin format.

Anyway too late already sad.gif

I already bought new board
Hyde`fK
post Jul 22 2007, 09:34 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Raymond, I believe that belongs to someone right. brows.gif

Damn, with that, you're making me more tempted to get E6850 liao.
sup3rfly
post Jul 22 2007, 09:44 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

now i dun dare to open up my proc to try coz its still brand new in a box sad.gif
if cant boot i might just consider selling it without opening it.... latest lose more money sweat.gif
tAmp0i
post Jul 22 2007, 10:57 AM

The name is Poi
2,825 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jul 22 2007, 09:44 AM)
now i dun dare to open up my proc to try coz its still brand new in a box sad.gif
if cant boot i might just consider selling it without opening it.... latest lose more money sweat.gif
Bro what's the stepping you got there, fast-fast test the modded bios and 4GHz you go drool.gif
rlhc17
post Jul 22 2007, 11:43 AM

835 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jul 22 2007, 09:01 AM)
hmmm....mind to tell me how do u set the values in bios before u changing ur pric????izzit all defualt or u set to 333 x 9 then only change to the E6850
clear cmos then load in new proc biggrin.gif

QUOTE(irangan @ Jul 22 2007, 09:26 AM)
LOLZ.... Ya la... I didnt test modded bios as it is not in .bin format.

Anyway too late already sad.gif

I already bought new board
stock dfi 703 bios can boot too np bro...........
new mobo good ka !!!
ASUS OH............

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Jul 22 2007, 09:34 AM)
Raymond, I believe that belongs to someone right. brows.gif

Damn, with that, you're making me more tempted to get E6850 liao.
icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
sup3rfly
post Jul 22 2007, 11:47 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

u reaslly just clear cmos and put in the proc???i really scared after i open and it wont work then i have to sell it....and its opened it will be lower price liao sad.gif
rlhc17
post Jul 22 2007, 11:57 AM

835 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jul 22 2007, 11:47 AM)
u reaslly just clear cmos and put in the proc???i really scared after i open and it wont work then i have to sell it....and its opened it will be lower price liao sad.gif
confirm can boot 1 if can't sell it to me biggrin.gif
sup3rfly
post Jul 22 2007, 12:31 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

well tried the official 0703.... it wont work...a bit reluctant to try to modded one...btw the modded one u just change the file extension to .bin rite?
rlhc17
post Jul 22 2007, 12:41 PM

835 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jul 22 2007, 12:31 PM)
well tried the official 0703.... it wont work...a bit reluctant to try to modded one...btw the modded one u just change the file extension to .bin rite?
yup thumbup.gif
almostthere
post Jul 22 2007, 01:00 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(nicotyne @ Jul 21 2007, 03:00 PM)
bios rom checksum error - system halted
any clue on why these error message appear?
2weeks old dfi 965-s board
bad BIOS flash case there. Usually for DFi boards (Been there too many times already), you need to (If using windows based flasher) unload all software which are running, select all options for flashing and set CLEAR CMOS before proceeding with flash. And post flashing, always reboot and set Default settings to get it to relearn some values before you proceed with anything else. Trust me, it works since I've learnt that to prevent dead BIO's on my good old nForce2 (Very nuisance the hot flash job)

This post has been edited by almostthere: Jul 22 2007, 01:01 PM
irangan
post Jul 22 2007, 06:12 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(rlhc17 @ Jul 22 2007, 11:43 AM)
clear cmos then load in new proc  biggrin.gif
stock dfi 703 bios can boot too np bro...........
new mobo good ka !!!
ASUS OH............
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
As expected from Asus, high quality and rock stable board. I like it quite alot.

Anyway, I shouldnt sell my DFI that fast. sigh sigh....

41 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0302sec    1.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:24 PM