41 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

DFI Infinity 965-S Disscussion, Talk About How to Tweak

Joseph Hahn
post Jun 22 2007, 04:00 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Is this board better than 965P-DS3 ? (don't tembak me i'm noob >_>) Coz i was so unlucky lightning struck my board killing it's network adapter, so now i'm using PCI network adapter on it. I will send for RMA but i can't wait 2 weeks for replacement. Thinking of getting this board. Do you think i can reach 500FSB with this board or am i just getting another bad luck with a bad batch CPU? T.T How much is it btw and how many variety ?
sHawTY
post Jun 22 2007, 04:08 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Is this board better than 965P-DS3 ?
Yes. smile.gif
Do you think i can reach 500FSB with this board or am i just getting another bad luck with a bad batch CPU?
If you have a good batch of an e6600, yes you can, i've seen many end user reviews manage to reach more than 500FSB on this motherboard with sufficient cooling. smile.gif
How much is it btw and how many variety ?
IINM, It's around RM540 - RM580 at Lowyat Plaza. Nope, it only has one variety.
Original plas was two variety that is:

DFI Infinity P965-S
[Complete board with Firewire and bigger northbridge heatsink and aluminium heatsink on southbridge]

DFI Infinity P965
[Doesn't come with Firewire, the northbridge heatsink is smaller and on southbridge only has small heatsink.]

But, up until today, i have yet to see the Infinity P965 [Non S] selling anywhere. smile.gif
Joseph Hahn
post Jun 22 2007, 04:12 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Ook then cool. I'll get this board lol. blush.gif
remysix
post Jun 22 2007, 05:57 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 22 2007, 04:08 PM)
Yes. smile.gif
If you have a good batch of an e6600, yes you can, i've seen many end user reviews manage to reach more than 500FSB on this motherboard with sufficient cooling. smile.gif
IINM, It's around RM540 - RM580 at Lowyat Plaza. Nope, it only has one variety.
Original plas was two variety that is:

DFI Infinity P965-S
[Complete board with Firewire and bigger northbridge heatsink and aluminium heatsink on southbridge]

DFI Infinity P965
[Doesn't come with Firewire, the northbridge heatsink is smaller and on southbridge only has small heatsink.]

But, up until today, i have yet to see the Infinity P965 [Non S] selling anywhere. smile.gif
one more thing...the 'S" using solid caps all around thumbup.gif

sHawTY
post Jun 22 2007, 06:06 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jun 22 2007, 05:57 PM)
one more thing...the 'S" using solid caps all around thumbup.gif
Daing it, i totally forgot about that. sweat.gif
Skylinestar
post Jun 22 2007, 06:11 PM

Mega Duck
10,472 posts

how about the non-dark version rumour?
AceCombat
post Jun 22 2007, 06:17 PM

5,434 posts

ya lo,u wont use that board for running 24/7 oc-ed for 3 years right?
haha....forget about solid cap la,it just make money for themselves only.

ahsiah
post Jun 22 2007, 09:14 PM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

Hey guys. I just checked out the web site and know the latest BIOS being released. version 0613.

Check it out.
sHawTY
post Jun 22 2007, 09:25 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(ahsiah @ Jun 22 2007, 09:14 PM)
Hey guys. I just checked out the web site and know the latest BIOS being released. version 0613.

Check it out.
That is a BETA bios, it's not an official release yet.

Official Release bios is in this page:
http://us.dfi.com.tw/Support/Download/bios..._FLAG=A&SITE=US

BETA bios is in this page:
http://us.dfi.com.tw/Support/Download/bios..._FLAG=B&SITE=US
Eoma
post Jun 23 2007, 06:07 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

I think I have a +/- 390Mhz FSB wall lah.

My L629F125 E6600 refuses to boot at 400Mhz, 395Mhz and will finally go into Vista at 390Mhz FSB. At 3131Mhz (391x8), RAM at 4:5

vcore: 1.425v
vNB: 1.45v
VTT: 1.325v
VDimm (standard) : 2.12v

Even 400x6 will not work!. Aieee.

After all the tweaking, i'm back at 345x9 = ~ 3108Mhz, RAM at 2:3 for DDR2 ~1036.

Some pics and benches.

Memory read:

Memory write

Memory copy

CPU-Z & Orthos (although after this screenshot I'm running the system with 1.344v)

Any other way to tweak the Dark for high FSB ?

p/s: Will the Noctua UHF-12 fit the Dark ? Will it touch the NB ? Bear in mind i have a fan over the NB. Or any othe recommended HSF.

This post has been edited by Eoma: Jun 23 2007, 06:12 PM
almostthere
post Jun 23 2007, 06:25 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

What's your tRFC now? Mine I slackened to 22 to be able to get 400Mhz FSB
sHawTY
post Jun 23 2007, 07:25 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Jun 23 2007, 06:07 PM)
I think I have a +/- 390Mhz FSB wall lah.

My L629F125 E6600 refuses to boot at 400Mhz, 395Mhz and will finally go into Vista at 390Mhz FSB. At 3131Mhz (391x8), RAM at 4:5

p/s: Will the Noctua UHF-12 fit the Dark ? Will it touch the NB ? Bear in mind i have a fan over the NB. Or any othe recommended HSF.
Odd, five unit of e6600 i've found and tested are able to run at least 400x8. blink.gif

I'm now using e6600 OEM & manage to run at 400x8 @ stock vcore.
I've tested one e6600 ES & manage to run at 400x8 @ stock vcore.
I've tested one e6600 Retail that belongs to my brother also manage to run at 400x8 @ stock vcore.
And i've tested two other e6600 retail [one is from my customer, and one belongs to my friend] both of them also manage to run at 400x8 @ stock vcore.

I can't remember all the batch, but from what i can say, all the e6600 i've tested are from different batches. None of them is the same.

Maybe there's something wrong with your system.
I believe i can set your processor to run at 400x8 if that pc of yours are in my hand.

About the NH-U12F, yes, it can fit on your motherboard without any problem.
I've seen two users using NH-U12F on that board.

But, i can't give straight answer since you've said u're using one fan on top of the NB.

Maybe you should consider NH-U12F for the processor and NC-U6 for the NB. smile.gif
Joseph Hahn
post Jun 23 2007, 07:40 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

I just ordered this DFI board and a L629F125 E6600. Anyone managed to crack 500FSB with this combo ? My current setting is at my siggie. I'm targetting 500x7 at most 1.5V. ._.
Eoma
post Jun 24 2007, 05:00 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Jun 23 2007, 06:25 PM)
What's your tRFC now? Mine I slackened to 22 to be able to get 400Mhz FSB
Here are the readings from memset. 48 ?? aii caramba. Should I lower it (lower = tighter correct) ?

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 23 2007, 07:25 PM)
About the NH-U12F, yes, it can fit on your motherboard without any problem.
I've seen two users using NH-U12F on that board.

But, i can't give straight answer since you've said u're using one fan on top of the NB.

Maybe you should consider NH-U12F for the processor and NC-U6 for the NB. smile.gif
Ok cool. Will do some measurements then. Thx.
remysix
post Jun 24 2007, 05:07 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

@Eoma
What kind of casing r u using?

p/s: would be nice if u put ur system spec as ur siggy biggrin.gif
Joseph Hahn
post Jun 24 2007, 05:23 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Jun 23 2007, 07:40 PM)
I just ordered this DFI board and a L629F125 E6600. Anyone managed to crack 500FSB with this combo ? My current setting is at my siggie. I'm targetting 500x7 at most 1.5V. ._.

Hm guys i should be getting this combo around next week (latest Wednesday hopefully), will i have any problem booting up my OS on this board since this board chipsed is ICH8R compared to ICH8 on this DS3... any ideas ? icon_question.gif Really lazy to reformat lol. doh.gif
Eoma
post Jun 24 2007, 07:51 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jun 24 2007, 05:07 PM)
@Eoma
What kind of casing r u using?

p/s: would be nice if u put ur system spec as ur siggy biggrin.gif
My good ol' Chieftec BX case. It gets tight at the HDD bay since the GTX is one long card. Air flow isn't the best either, but I'm working on it.

p/s: No spec siggies for me. tongue.gif

Joseph,

No idea la. But it should be fine kua.

Frankiec91
post Jun 24 2007, 09:37 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(taxidoor @ Jun 20 2007, 12:41 PM)
lol nices thing is not good to use
haha just tell.. rclxm9.gif
anangryorc
post Jun 24 2007, 10:47 PM

597 posts

Anyone tried higher strap oc results? (modded bios)
coz mine currently walled at ~450 fsb.

btw i'm impressed with this board able to give massive bandwidth when set to fast, my everest read is 9k mb/s on ddr900, which is nice.

And one occasion I forgot to change the fsb ratio when I was changing bios settings upon clearing cmos, the ram was running at ddr1368 booted, quite shocking.

This post has been edited by anangryorc: Jun 24 2007, 10:50 PM
Joseph Hahn
post Jun 24 2007, 11:25 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Jun 24 2007, 07:51 PM)
Joseph,
No idea la. But it should be fine kua.
Yea i think so too haha coz same P965 chipset... hopefully lol. sweat.gif

41 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top