164 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

The Google Pixel 2/2 XL Official Thread V.1, New updates !

Someonesim
post Nov 4 2017, 11:33 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(yewfatt @ Nov 3 2017, 10:40 PM)
Still waiting my white to arrive from techbug. Seems like got delayed
I always aiming white, but not sure if pixel 2 xl's panda white are good looking or not, due to that power button color as well as coating.
Share the pics once it arrive your hand.
MR 8925
post Nov 4 2017, 01:38 PM

118 posts

Hey guys, I'm total noob when it comes to customs and stuff. I have got a friend in states and he's ready to help me buy and send Pixel 2 XL. But he asked me "what about customs in Malaysia?" To which I've got no idea. So I'm asking your help - what would happen if he was to buy one and send it to me through courier? Would I need to do some customs clearance stuff or what? Please help me. Never done these stuffs before.

This post has been edited by MR 8925: Nov 4 2017, 01:39 PM
kamikraze
post Nov 4 2017, 02:34 PM

Iphone 12 Pro Max + Magicwatch 2
6,425 posts

QUOTE(MR 8925 @ Nov 4 2017, 01:38 PM)
Hey guys, I'm total noob when it comes to customs and stuff. I have got a friend in states and he's ready to help me buy and send Pixel 2 XL. But he asked me "what about customs in Malaysia?" To which I've got no idea. So I'm asking your help - what would happen if he was to buy one and send it to me through courier? Would I need to do some customs clearance stuff or what? Please help me. Never done these stuffs before.
Apply Sirim online or go apply at custom counter.

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 31 2017, 04:27 PM)
Sirim usually will only take most 2 days if done online. Walkin application within hours. There is also 6% GST to be paid based on phone declared value and courier charges
Someonesim
post Nov 4 2017, 02:43 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(MR 8925 @ Nov 4 2017, 01:38 PM)
There's 'high chance' that kastam will hold your parcel, you'll need to pay SIRIM and GST.

Since send by your friend, he/she could try send it back as 'phone repair part' etc ( might escape SIRIM and all )
and declare it at much lower value like RM900 biggrin.gif ( so if kena GST also pay lower )
irenic
post Nov 4 2017, 03:11 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Nov 4 2017, 09:47 AM)
Eh MO stocked Pixel 2 XL ady? That's niceeeeee. Thanks for the info bruh
Ya they are very fast since all the cutting are online from their server.

QUOTE(Kagekiyo @ Nov 4 2017, 10:56 AM)
Nah, just helping to make others aware of the hardware related issues for the Pixel 2 XL.
Congrats on getting your Pixel 2 XL! Fingers crossed that it'll be free of any problems!

It looks like your unit doesn't have a very strong blue tint which is great!

P.S: I've seen a couple of videos/read user feedback that battery charging on the Pixel 2 XL is relatively slow. Almost taking 2.5 hours from 0% --> 100%. Can you kindly confirm if this is true in your case?

Additional reading that battery charging on the Pixel 2 XL:

"the HTC Pixel 1 Mini used multi-stage Li-Ion rapid charging. Two stages of constant-current, followed by a final constant-voltage stage.

However the LG Pixel 2 XL uses a SINGLE stage of constant-current, followed by constant-voltage. This seems far less "optimized".

Source URL: https://plus.google.com/1026122545939171013...sts/dnYcjUFxsg7
Nope. My Pixel 2 (thankfully) doesn't have any of the 2 above issues. It only affects some models (if you're unlucky) - not all.
Thanks! Yeah thank god.. buying device nowadays is like a lottery lol.

I will check on the charging rate and update u guys here.
pluginbaby
post Nov 4 2017, 03:46 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Nov 4 2017, 03:11 PM)
Ya they are very fast since all the cutting are online from their server.
Thanks! Yeah thank god.. buying device nowadays is like a lottery lol.

I will check on the charging rate and update u guys here.
The charging is definitely slower after 65%. Google implemented it to preserve battery lifespan maybe because all the nexus6p battery kaput fiasco. With 3yrs of update promise, surely the battery need to be at least survive that long.

I'm on the fence about the implementation for battery. I think it is ok. If there's any custom kernel providing tweaks to buff it, I'll give it a try but the stock charge speed is reasonable enough. Gonna miss dash charging on my 3T surely.
jimbet1337
post Nov 4 2017, 04:49 PM

meh
2,671 posts

Talking abt Google "throttling" batt charging to increase the lifespan on batt... I don't see OnePlus is doing it and their products are just fine. I'm jealous with my wife's OP3 btw.
pluginbaby
post Nov 4 2017, 05:24 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Nov 4 2017, 04:49 PM)
Talking abt Google "throttling" batt charging to increase the lifespan on batt... I don't see OnePlus is doing it and their products are just fine. I'm jealous with my wife's OP3 btw.
Dash Charge is a different implementation where the heat is at the charger, not the phone. So that helps to help to reduce the effect compared to Qualcomm's fast charge. Google is pushing for the Power Delivery standard and new pixel 2 users are among the first to be lab rats unfortunately of this new standard
irenic
post Nov 4 2017, 10:06 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

Pixel 2 XL vs iPhone X

jimbet1337
post Nov 4 2017, 10:18 PM

meh
2,671 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Nov 4 2017, 10:06 PM)
Pixel 2 XL vs iPhone X

What's the vertical red line near the right side bezel of P2XL?
irenic
post Nov 4 2017, 11:07 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Nov 4 2017, 10:18 PM)
What's the vertical red line near the right side bezel of P2XL?
That's an apps for immersive softkey buttons.. i hv to do this in case the burn in or image retention issue is real.. hopefully google will push the OTA fix soon .
jimbet1337
post Nov 4 2017, 11:10 PM

meh
2,671 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Nov 4 2017, 11:07 PM)
That's an apps for immersive softkey buttons.. i hv to do this in case the burn in or image retention issue is real.. hopefully google will push the OTA fix soon .
Oh ya, the GMD app.
irenic
post Nov 4 2017, 11:17 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Nov 4 2017, 11:10 PM)
Oh ya, the GMD app.
Yups. Simple app..
sembilan
post Nov 5 2017, 01:02 AM

644 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Nov 4 2017, 10:06 PM)
Pixel 2 XL vs iPhone X

Screen looks good
ruffstuff
post Nov 5 2017, 10:26 AM

3,345 posts

Looks like it is cheaper if buy direct from google and use forwarder. The estimated shipping+tax for Google Pixel 2 64GB:

Total cost is RM30xx.

Waiting for kinda blue come in stock.
benny888
post Nov 5 2017, 10:30 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Nov 5 2017, 10:26 AM)
Looks like it is cheaper if buy direct from google and use forwarder. The estimated shipping+tax for Google Pixel 2 64GB:

Total cost is RM30xx.

Waiting for kinda blue come in stock.
Add in rm106 for sirim and another 6% GST based on phone value and courier charges
ruffstuff
post Nov 5 2017, 10:47 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 5 2017, 10:30 AM)
Add in rm106 for sirim and another 6% GST based on phone value and courier charges
GST is inclusive when use forwarder. Bought electronic items once and pay tax in advance. So you don't have to worry about import tax and gst when courier arrive to your doorstep . Add SIRIM fees, still inline with the rest of bulk sellers, who don't provide any personal warranty. Only thing is, dealing with SIRIM may be a hassle.
kinwawa
post Nov 5 2017, 12:33 PM

2,181 posts

T&L selling pixel 2 128gb @3899 now...got rm300 voucher to make it 3599...not a bad deal if buying locally and not buying from Google directly...11street

jimbet1337
post Nov 5 2017, 12:40 PM

meh
2,671 posts

QUOTE(kinwawa @ Nov 5 2017, 12:33 PM)
T&L selling pixel 2 128gb @3899 now...got rm300 voucher to make it 3599...not a bad deal if buying locally and not buying from Google directly...11street
Where can get the voucher? Can it be used for p2 64gb?
kinwawa
post Nov 5 2017, 03:55 PM

2,181 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Nov 5 2017, 12:40 PM)
Where can get the voucher? Can it be used for p2 64gb?
Just add to cart n go to your shopping cart to download the voucher.

P2 64gb also can use but rm200 only unless u add other stuff make it around 3800 or 3900...forgot actual value...to get rm300 voucher

164 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0389sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:42 AM