245 Pages « < 237 238 239 240 241 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V19, 5% with M2 Amex on ALL WEEKEND spend

UncleTinsel
post Aug 24 2018, 06:26 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Aug 23 2018, 06:27 PM)
How to know whether the card is cancel? Mine still look as usual. Nothing special after call for cancellation.
I can only tell from their written (e-mail) confirmation. I could probably try to use the card to verify but I didn't.

For World MasterCard, it just disappeared from M2U about 3 days after cancellation.

For the VISA Infinite, I received the email that says the card have been cancelled effective <such-and-such> date. But it did not disappear from M2U. 2 weeks after effective cancellation date, I emailed them asking about the link. They replied and told me the link would disappear in 3-5 more days, and then off it went.

So yeah...apart from the written email confirmations, I don't know how else to tell at this point. For the 2 weeks that they did not remove the link from VISA Infinite, RM800 annual fee would have been way overdue (for me), and the charge never appeared. That would be the only other way I can justify my assumption.
jiaen0509
post Aug 24 2018, 06:55 PM

3,305 posts

QUOTE(UncleTinsel @ Aug 24 2018, 06:26 PM)
I can only tell from their written (e-mail) confirmation. I could probably try to use the card to verify but I didn't.

For World MasterCard, it just disappeared from M2U about 3 days after cancellation.

For the VISA Infinite, I received the email that says the card have been cancelled effective <such-and-such> date. But it did not disappear from M2U. 2 weeks after effective cancellation date, I emailed them asking about the link. They replied and told me the link would disappear in 3-5 more days, and then off it went.

So yeah...apart from the written email confirmations, I don't know how else to tell at this point. For the 2 weeks that they did not remove the link from VISA Infinite, RM800 annual fee would have been way overdue (for me), and the charge never appeared. That would be the only other way I can justify my assumption.
I call again to confirm with Maybank and my credit card account already cancel. So I believe it has been cancelled.Then I request to remove from M2U. Then CS request for my debit card number to remove the cancel supp card from M2U.

Still waiting it disappear from my M2U.
UncleTinsel
post Aug 24 2018, 07:57 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Aug 24 2018, 06:55 PM)
I call again to confirm with Maybank and my credit card account already cancel. So I believe it has been cancelled.Then I request to remove from M2U. Then CS request for my debit card number to remove the cancel supp card from M2U.

Still waiting it disappear from my M2U.
Hmm...not sure why they would need debit card number to remove credit card link from M2U. Then again, I can't pretend to know Maybank very well tongue.gif

I did all the cancellation in writing (email). My initial phone calls to CS were made; just to understand the process.

Link removal takes place 3-5 days after cancellation according to them or 3-5 days after you remind them I think.

Best do it in writing if possible. I've had confusing responses this year when I cancelled VI and WM and only renewed M2C Platinum.
JuneResources
post Aug 24 2018, 08:40 PM

ONE Stop Resources
4,168 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 23 2018, 06:09 PM)
i'm aware of the rm25/card.

each bank has different type of card products. most are pretty straightforward. some are hard-bundled (e.g. mbb m2cards). some are soft-bundled (e.g. pbb quantum cards)

sst charging is straight-forward. it's a must.

whether bank has a special treatment to certain card(s) is another matter.

1) will bank absorb/waive certain card sst?
2) will bank offer waiver conditions? by spending amount? by points redemption? what are the internal policies to waive/not to waive?
3) what are the options for consumers?

so, keep monitor each bank's annoucenment/faq/etc.
The worst is last minit bank officially announcement bank wont absorb the cost sst.

Then most of ppl beratur call to call center request terminate.
But until now mostly bank still silent.. Seems like they cannot accept the fact of downsizing credit card cancellation.
SUSDavid83
post Aug 24 2018, 08:42 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Aug 24 2018, 08:40 PM)
The worst is last minit bank officially announcement bank wont absorb the cost sst.

But until now mostly bank still silent.. Seems like they cannot accept the fact of downsizing credit card cancellation.
This is not the first time implementation!
Highly doubt that!
ClarenceT
post Aug 24 2018, 08:48 PM

14,936 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Aug 24 2018, 08:40 PM)

All the banks were acting together as a cartel, none of them absorbed govt tax without conditions.
They will do the same thing again.
JuneResources
post Aug 24 2018, 08:58 PM

ONE Stop Resources
4,168 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 24 2018, 08:42 PM)
This is not the first time implementation!
Highly doubt that!
Yes.. I know.
Normally they officially announcement at least early 1 or 2 weeks before implement.
But this time look "walking slow" already compare previous years.

Dont you think so?

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Aug 24 2018, 08:48 PM)
All the banks were acting together as a cartel, none of them absorbed govt tax without conditions.
They will do the same thing again.
Ok.. then just wait for the announcements.
Hope that implement something reasonable conditions that it wont make us run away..
ClarenceT
post Aug 24 2018, 09:09 PM

14,936 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Aug 24 2018, 08:58 PM)
Yes.. I know.
Normally they officially announcement at least early 1 or 2 weeks before implement.
But this time look "walking slow" already compare previous years.

Dont you think so?
Ok.. then just wait for the announcements.
Hope that implement something reasonable conditions that it wont make us run away..
SST not yet approved and gazetted but our Govt insist to implement it on 1/9. Banks also kelam-kabut till receiving the instructions and guidelines from Customs.

Not like the previous one, Budget in October but implemented in January, so the banks could have 2-3 months to plan and offer.
alextan99
post Aug 24 2018, 09:47 PM

Wassup
2,660 posts

Personally I find the tax a bit too much. There should be a free card allowance for each individual to hold before they will be taxed. I think the good number is 3 to promote responsible spending else for those card that does not have much benefits and CB all card holders will cancel them for sure
LostAndFound
post Aug 25 2018, 11:05 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(alextan99 @ Aug 24 2018, 09:47 PM)
Personally I find the tax a bit too much. There should be a free card allowance for each individual to hold before they will be taxed. I think the good number is 3 to promote responsible spending else for those card that does not have much benefits and CB all card holders will cancel them for sure
In fact the government is partly trying to get people to cancel cards. Our household debt keeps going up, and CC is part of the problem, especially for lower-income people who will really 'feel' this RM25 (but for various reasons don't realize that their late payment cost them much more than this before).

e-wallet also solves the 'cash' "problem", and without the ease of getting people into debt holes.
Pebbie
post Aug 25 2018, 11:45 AM

521 posts

just called OCBC and Citibank for card cancellation, not sure if Citi is trying to bullshit me but they say card without annual fee would not have SST. but nevertheless, cancelled their simplicity card.
JuneResources
post Aug 25 2018, 11:51 AM

ONE Stop Resources
4,168 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Aug 25 2018, 11:05 AM)
In fact the government is partly trying to get people to cancel cards. Our household debt keeps going up, and CC is part of the problem, especially for lower-income people who will really 'feel' this RM25 (but for various reasons don't realize that their late payment cost them much more than this before).

e-wallet also solves the 'cash' "problem", and without the ease of getting people into debt holes.
This one is unexpected. The pattern of people in Malaysia always late to payment and add-on interest until kena blacklisted. (which is normal nowadays). Only so called "smart & calculative" people are aware the serious of situations if late of payment with add-on interest.

If the government "sound like" get people to cancel the cards. Then rather straight away "banned" no credit card in Malaysia for each bank.
Then force people to use "prepaid card" or e-wallet card.
LostAndFound
post Aug 25 2018, 02:54 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(engyr @ Aug 25 2018, 01:01 PM)
Annual fee and SST are 2 different things
QUOTE(engyr @ Aug 25 2018, 01:14 PM)
Government counts it as 2 cards. Amex and visa/master Card

Whether Maybank is willing to absorb RM25, no one knows about it yet.
QUOTE(engyr @ Aug 25 2018, 01:16 PM)
Last Monday, I paid lmall via FFP, I got 5* treatpoints.
QUOTE(engyr @ Aug 25 2018, 02:09 PM)
My card was issued in March. I have time to wait for Maybank policy.
QUOTE(engyr @ Aug 25 2018, 02:11 PM)
Me too
Please learn to multi-quote, not buta-buta post 5 times in a row....

CrackShoot
post Aug 25 2018, 03:18 PM

HSBC SST RM25.00 each card. 2 primary and 2 supplementary RM100.00 😎😎😎. Still waiting announcement from Maybank. Maybank M2C and Ikhwan 🤔🤔🤔.

This post has been edited by CrackShoot: Aug 25 2018, 03:23 PM
alextan99
post Aug 25 2018, 05:50 PM

Wassup
2,660 posts

QUOTE(winbj @ Aug 23 2018, 01:52 PM)
I feel the same..not worth to pay rm25 to visa/master 2card..
Now struggle which one to cancel, barcelona or amex 2card..if amex 2card only charge rm25 then confirm will use it..Need wait Maybank announcement first.
If I were you I will cancel the 2 card. The reason being that although Amex gives pretty good benefit but then most spending needs to happen on weekends plus Amex is not widely accepted in Malaysia compared to Visa or Master. In fact I'm super pissed with Maybank Amex as 99% of the time when I use it outside of Malaysia transaction always not succeeded. And I travel a lot and most of the time not in Malaysia

When I swipe my Ikhwan it will work on the same terminal. I have Maybank2 plat, Ikhwan Plat and also Barcelona.

Depending on how the SST is going to be charged I might just only keep my Barcelona coz at least 2% CB is confirmed and not limited to weekend spending and 2 months in a year it become 10%. Just my 2 cents
lexanoir
post Aug 25 2018, 09:41 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(Leroi2x @ Mar 29 2018, 01:17 PM)
I went there January apply for the 2 plat and Barcelona
The staff not allow ,he say due to my basic low ,tick the 2 gold for me
End up my application been rejected, and i appeal my own with email then approved , i have no idea what the 1u guy done

1u call go for collection ,i ask izzit possible to add Barcelona? She say yes ,but when i arrived the guy say no…wtf

February i pass a roadshow i ask the staff help add for Barcelona ,it done smoothly no question
Last month march ,i apply thru email for premier card approved

So what now
Im having a 2 card gold and 2 premier
What's wrong with the guy ,cant just tick me the 2 plat card , now maybank say must wait my gold more then 6 month onky can go for the platinum
God damn
Bro. Wonder why you able to get the maybank2premier? Assuming ur annual income is around 60k after add up bonus, it's quite far from the 120k requirement from m2p

My income is 9k per month with extra commision yearly yet whenever I pass by cc stall and request from m2p they normally say I can't pass ask me either dont apply or send income tax if got commision . I currently holding m2platinum and barcelona.

I thought maybank is strict ? 60k is pretty far from requirement
snowswc
post Aug 25 2018, 09:58 PM

625 posts

may i check if i apply for eazy installment. the weekend 5% cash back will be calculated based on the total amount purchase or based on the 6 months installment?
labtec
post Aug 25 2018, 10:25 PM

1,556 posts

so we still not sure maybank will charge us RM50 total for this 2 cards?
!@#$%^
post Aug 25 2018, 10:29 PM

Safe Trader
17,499 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Aug 25 2018, 10:25 PM)
so we still not sure maybank will charge us RM50 total for this 2 cards?
nothing is for sure until 1 sept
labtec
post Aug 26 2018, 12:01 AM

1,556 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Aug 25 2018, 10:29 PM)
nothing is for sure until 1 sept
that would be too late to cut the card... bangwall.gif

245 Pages « < 237 238 239 240 241 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:05 AM