Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V19, 5% with M2 Amex on ALL WEEKEND spend

UncleTinsel
post Jul 7 2018, 03:41 PM

34 posts

I understand that Maybank normally issues a MasterCard with this 2 cards platinum package; unless you request for a VISA specifically. Is it better to take the MasterCard or ask for a VISA?
UncleTinsel
post Jul 7 2018, 03:56 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jul 7 2018, 03:50 PM)
dont think is specific card type as default. i always get Visa without asking for it.

MC or Visa, no difference to acceptance by merchants. It's more to specific promos run by them. e.g. Mastercard Wave RM10 CBTL, or Visa Wave promo.
They gave me a MasterCard by default (5+ years ago). Didn't think much about the 2 Platinum Cards because I had another VISA and a MasterCard from Maybank too. Now that I plan to cancel those 2 because of the high annual fee, I've been thinking about the 2 Platinum Cards abit as this will be my only 2 credit cards now. I think with the VISA, you have an option to use Samsung Pay but can't see any other advantages beyond that.

Anyone else care to chime in with their opinion?
UncleTinsel
post Jul 8 2018, 08:35 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Jul 8 2018, 08:47 AM)
Normally Maybank have more promo for Visa... but you can always opt for the Amex+Mastercard+Visa Barcelona combo to max out the benefit. thumbup.gif
Thanks for the advice.

I've been a member of 2 Platinum Cards since 2012 and wondering if you loose that status and membership starts again from new application date if I request for a VISA in place of a MasterCard.

Not going to bother anymore with the cards that cost RM800-1000 a year and close those accounts.
UncleTinsel
post Jul 8 2018, 10:55 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 8 2018, 09:04 PM)
It will not. Throughout the years since 2011, I believe I have changed three times. Finally settled down with MasterCard as I got lazy to change to Visa, then I got the generic VS later so live with MasterCard and finally FCB VS came out.
Thinking about doing the same; just stick with the one they gave me. Just wondering if it's worth getting the VISA for the Samsung Pay Rewards.
UncleTinsel
post Jul 8 2018, 10:56 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Jul 8 2018, 09:17 PM)
I just added the Mastercard to my M2C recently.... so now I have 3 cards for M2C. (Amex+Visa+Master) Not change to the existing cards.
Really!? 3 cards on the Maybank 2 Platinum Card account? Is it even possible?
UncleTinsel
post Aug 3 2018, 07:07 PM

34 posts

Need some advice/input, from the finance/credit card gurus here. For expatriates, normally, a card is valid for a year and every year, you need to send documents (employment verification, most recent pay slips, etc.) for the renewal card to be processed and new card to be issued.

If let's say, the renewal has lapsed and a new card was not issued because you did not send the docs for renewal process (but also not cancel the card and close the card account), what are the implications (credit score, etc.)?

PS. Card in question is a PETRONAS Maybank Visa Gold card.
UncleTinsel
post Aug 9 2018, 05:10 PM

34 posts

Had 4. M2C Plat, MBB Visa Infinite and MBB World MasterCard. Cancelled VI and WM because of the annual fee; and now left with 2 cards with no annual fee.

Loosing lounge access but even that may be scrapped after December; so maybe not be loosing much there. And yes, I think it's worth waiting it out for the announcements before downsizing the card count. No need to jump the gun, I think.

Hat tip to those with 10-20+ credit cards. 4 cards is enough to get my head going laugh.gif

UncleTinsel
post Aug 9 2018, 05:38 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(boonhan @ Aug 9 2018, 05:13 PM)
now this sst topic is up, i wish to cancel only visa and keep amex.
i hope there are no rule to keep both of it, or actually paying rm25 for both cards? as it advertised as "1 product".
Not sure if that is possible, bro. I'd say wait for a bit and see how it goes. Cancellation is hassle free and quite fast anyway. No need to rush.

And I do think it will be RM25 for both card. Why I think that: MBB Visa Infinite annual fee is RM800 a year. And annual M2C Reserved is also RM800 despite being 2 cards - for example. Based on that, I believe they will treat it as 1 account and only charge RM25.

If RM25 per card, then I also die lor. M2C plat. with supplementary...so 4 x RM25 = RM100 a year blink.gif

UncleTinsel
post Aug 9 2018, 07:49 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Aug 9 2018, 07:38 PM)
Actually I am curious, is there any reason why Maybank die die want to force Amex with the Visa together? So that people are forced to have 2 maybank cards instead of one? But from what I can tell most people will not use the visa anyway so it stands that the bank will not gain much from it?
Maybe because most would prefer to have either VISA or MasterCard (?).

And maybe because Maybank is the Authorized Vendor of American Express Cards in Malaysia, and this is an effort to promote American Express Cards (?).

Just my take.
UncleTinsel
post Aug 9 2018, 08:41 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Aug 9 2018, 08:33 PM)
A credit card can make you feel so upset and uneasy, you can always give up credit cards and use debit cards instead to enjoy better and happier life.

IMO credit cards may be dying soon and I don't see any value to hold a CC in next decade.

No political discussions in this thread.
I think there's some truth to this.

I would just keep and use my debit card if liability is the same and I can use it everywhere. Hotels and airlines needed credit cards but no longer the case with some of them these days. The only time (in the past 6 months) that I needed a "Credit Card" was once for a MAS booking and once for an Emirates booking.
UncleTinsel
post Aug 9 2018, 11:23 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Aug 9 2018, 09:14 PM)
Also, going to Potong off  most of CC from MY "Huge" Collection Keep them in an Album like Stamp Collection  tongue.gif
18 CC + 1 Charge Card from 9 Banks, Keep only 1 HSBC, 1 Citi, 1 SCB, 1 MBB , 1 MBB Islamic.... whistling.gif

fruitie Did you manage to get PBB VS / Quantum  recently, heard that u want to apply again on August...? blink.gif hmm.gif  brows.gif
So, some people actually keep and collect the old cards? shocking.gif

I just throw all the old cards in the card shredder every year.
UncleTinsel
post Aug 10 2018, 06:55 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 10 2018, 07:19 AM)
why not?
I also keep them just for fun.
QUOTE(fly126 @ Aug 10 2018, 09:42 AM)
Yeah, still kept all my ten years decade Old Cards in an Album nod.gif 
OT: I love Montblanc pens too and watches however I X got any lolex watch,yet...  innocent.gif
Ok. I thought old cards and chips still contain enough information that can be risky if fallen into wrong hands. Since it was normally advised by banks to destroy the old/expired cards, I just go crazy with the shredder biggrin.gif
UncleTinsel
post Aug 10 2018, 07:12 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Aug 10 2018, 06:23 PM)
Ya enjoy it when it lasts...
I enjoy beyond credit cards... + Debit cards + prepaid cards + e-wallets...
Words to live by, Mr. T! thumbsup.gif
UncleTinsel
post Aug 10 2018, 07:56 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 10 2018, 07:39 PM)
your own old cards, of course you keep it safely and secured la  laugh.gif  not distribute like public album mah  laugh.gif

if you worry the risk of old cards fallen into wrong hands, then even the current active cards definitely are/will be at risk whenever it exchanges hands!

this benefits vs security risk argument will never end too biggrin.gif  thumbup.gif
No No. You have a point. I totally agree.

I just never considered Credit Cards to be collectibles like this. In fact, I almost regret not doing what you are doing with the old cards.

'tis an interesting idea for a memorabilia smile.gif
UncleTinsel
post Aug 10 2018, 08:58 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Aug 10 2018, 09:42 AM)
Yeah, still kept all my ten years decade Old Cards in an Album nod.gif 
OT: I love Montblanc pens too and watches however I X got any lolex watch,yet...  innocent.gif
Now is probably a good time to pick up a Rolex OP. When the new movement with 70hr power reserve is launched, the current models may get even cheaper. Get the dial (any color) without the colored indices and all lume markers.
UncleTinsel
post Aug 23 2018, 05:07 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Aug 23 2018, 03:13 PM)
Firstly, she said have to ask Principal to call. Then I told her, last time when I call Maybank ask about card cancellation process. All said I am card holder can request to cancel. Even 1U Card Center told me the same.

End up can liao. Then told me it will take immediately cancel the card. Ask m cut and throw the card for security purpose.

I asked about M2U, she said will automatically remove after 5days... ermmmm? really?
My World MasterCard was removed automatically after cancellation.

For the VISA Infinite, I had to request removal from M2U.
UncleTinsel
post Aug 24 2018, 06:26 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Aug 23 2018, 06:27 PM)
How to know whether the card is cancel? Mine still look as usual. Nothing special after call for cancellation.
I can only tell from their written (e-mail) confirmation. I could probably try to use the card to verify but I didn't.

For World MasterCard, it just disappeared from M2U about 3 days after cancellation.

For the VISA Infinite, I received the email that says the card have been cancelled effective <such-and-such> date. But it did not disappear from M2U. 2 weeks after effective cancellation date, I emailed them asking about the link. They replied and told me the link would disappear in 3-5 more days, and then off it went.

So yeah...apart from the written email confirmations, I don't know how else to tell at this point. For the 2 weeks that they did not remove the link from VISA Infinite, RM800 annual fee would have been way overdue (for me), and the charge never appeared. That would be the only other way I can justify my assumption.
UncleTinsel
post Aug 24 2018, 07:57 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Aug 24 2018, 06:55 PM)
I call again to confirm with Maybank and my credit card account already cancel. So I believe it has been cancelled.Then I request to remove from M2U. Then CS request for my debit card number to remove the cancel supp card from M2U.

Still waiting it disappear from my M2U.
Hmm...not sure why they would need debit card number to remove credit card link from M2U. Then again, I can't pretend to know Maybank very well tongue.gif

I did all the cancellation in writing (email). My initial phone calls to CS were made; just to understand the process.

Link removal takes place 3-5 days after cancellation according to them or 3-5 days after you remind them I think.

Best do it in writing if possible. I've had confusing responses this year when I cancelled VI and WM and only renewed M2C Platinum.
UncleTinsel
post Aug 27 2018, 06:04 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Aug 27 2018, 01:22 AM)
Any real difference between the gold and platinum version?

Thank you in advance.
As far as I can tell?

Travel Insurance.
UncleTinsel
post Aug 28 2018, 03:25 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Aug 28 2018, 10:49 AM)
Principal can redeem the TP on sup card. Not sure can supp card redeem the tp or not. But the TP gain from Supp card, add to Principal account. Correct me if I wrong.
For my Maybank Cards, supplementary card holder can "earn" treat points, but not "redeem".

Hence...my wife stopped using the supplementary cards I applied for her. Good in a way tongue.gif

0.1368sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:46 AM