132 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 128 > » Bottom

65" TV recommendation

Kahlamx
post Apr 4 2025, 11:54 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Apr 3 2025, 04:10 PM)
Most movies mastered have a peak brightness of 1000 nits for certain scenes usually at a small area of the screen, but most of the film is sustained between 400-600 nits. OLED/MicroLED makers are hyping up too much on nits, marketing newer TVs at 4000 nits when it is redundant.
I take this as a positive thing though sweat.gif , most of the time these "highest peak brightness" TVs is only for vivid (cold) mode. When calibrated to 6500k then it's lower than those numbers. Accounting for ABL and ambience bright room condition to overcome the glare (cause most if not all people don't watch in a dark room), there will be plenty of head room and less to none tone mapping required. I think sweet spot would be 1300-1500 nits (at least for 1000 nits content)

Dolby Pulsar used for Dolby Vision mastering is actually a 4000 nits monitor which is available for many years already and recently I believe Sony Pictures want to set the minimal content target to 4000 nits. I guess the general direction is moving towards a higher and fuller Rec.2020 coverage + 4000 nits target.

Yes I do agree that APL (not to be confused with ABL) for movies “in general” (especially Netflix ones since deliverable requirements is 1000 nits) never exceed that level but there is another thing called color luminance >1000 nits (at higher brightness) to look into also.

Also, I believe that filmmakers or cameras they are using can already shoot out to these high dynamic ranges? But whether or not post houses want to master at those level that one I am not sure la. But I saw on some "colorists" thread, they say it looks gorgeous on the HX3110 at least and save them time working on one color space and not both SDR and HDR 1000 nits workflow (540 nits transform).

Just a mere discussion on this topic. Peace thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Kahlamx: Apr 4 2025, 12:55 PM
Convael
post Apr 6 2025, 11:08 AM

1,109 posts

Your abstract 'studies' does not even answer my argument on Projector(size) vs OLED(PQ) on immersiveness.
Obviously HDR is immersive, but please post your study that TV is more immersive than a Projector.
Apparently you still have not gotten to the " TV has HDR and Projects don't " part.
Since HDR contributes to a significant portion of the immersion (even you admitted this ), it is actually a rather straight forward equation.

I get it, critical thinking isn't for everyone but do us a favor and try some before replying.

Most movies mastered have a peak brightness of 1000 nits for certain scenes usually at a small area of the screen, but most of the film is sustained between 400-600 nits. OLED/MicroLED makers are hyping up too much on nits, marketing newer TVs at 4000 nits when it is redundant.
Yet another ignorant and smarmy remark from you.

Think for a sec, why did the industry spent billions and billions of dollars in R&D every year on making TV brighter if they are pointless ?

Peak brightness alone is far more crucial than just being a very bright surface. They :

-Are the direct contributor of Contrast and Dynamic Range, which play the most crucial roles in determining perceived realism and visual impacts. More so for OLED because it started at perfect black. You can't do better than 0 unless maybe you are in some kind of blackhole. That means having a brighter screen is ultimately essential to increasing PQ.

-Assist with color performance which rely on light intensity to display a wider and more vivid color spectrum ( color volume ).

-Strengthen perceived contrast and fight glares, most ppl don't put their TV in a completely dark room.

TL;DR , In short, brightness improvement is a key factor in maximizing overall picture quality.”
Again yet you continue to disregard them all, to go as far as calling them redundant, a little too convenient no ?

Your " statement ' also shows you have no clue how HDR or light outputs even work .

While there are some truth that a lot of newer movies emphasize on extracting more on WCG than focusing just on peak brightness, light output is still required to bring out the most of HDR.
High brightness also means better tonemapping on details which is why a lot of docs and games are also mastered at 4000 or even 10000 cd/m2 .
Not because there are a lot of commercial TV that can do 10k nits , but because they are able to render finer details at greater depth.

So nope the brands aren't hyping on them , you are downplaying them .

Again with the videophile numbers instead of actual practical experience/usage.

Please, do continue to tell calibrators they have no practical exp. The second hand embarassment is leaking from my screens ( pun intended tongue.gif ).

And in that regards, you are deflecting my argument. I did not change the topic, audio is also a sub category for immersion. So your solution of sitting closer shouldn't even be part of a suggestion.

sub-category of w..what ? I wasn't deflecting your points or argument because you weren't making any to begin with lol. And yes sitting closer is a relevant suggestion because it affects FOV and perceived sharpness .

And where was it mentioned that he prefers 100" despite getting no HDR? I see that you keep jumping to conclusions and fixated on an argument of HDR/Higher PQ is more immersive than non HDR/lower PQ when that isn't even the argument in the 1st place.
I grew rather tired of the charade, you must be one of those kids who insist your art teacher to draw out every organ on a rabbit.

Follow this train of thoughts -> Projectors can't achieve any sort of HDR effects at the time of writing this. -> If he insist on watching on his projector than on a C3, he must have been awared that he is getting no HDR from it. That should be common sense in the AV world no ? Especially when the guy is an editor of a tech site.

I am not going to fully analyze the whole article but this is exactly what arguing for the sake of arguing is. You were just throwing a fit. I see your opening your jaws moving (in this case , typing) but I see no points . Respectfully, I am only interested in those points. But I also find it very hard to " argue " back when you are just blabbering at this point. bangwall.gif

For clarification, I continue to be hypercritical against ppl are objectively wrong ( including myself, which is why some of the posts were edited at midnight ). I'm awared that these topics show up in google search often and some of these threads are racking up to a half a million views ! Wouldn't want ppl to say the MY TV community are a bunch of blabbering fools, right ?

While I often go in depth to correct someone, I typed every single one of these word which makes me read like an AI but its not. I've been doing that long before chatgpt exists. To suggest that I copied and pasted them is a severe insult to my experience, my enthusiasm.

I don't post very often anymore but I'm very grateful and opened to have been given chance to share my findings. More than 500 ppl have msged me in the last few years including some big names I wouldn't have even guessed ! Didn't know that typing very long post in AV forum can garner so much attention but very fortunately for me ppl do end up reading and in most cases , agreed with me.

Sadly there are no shortage of morons who take advantage of this , such as that H****** PR guy you don't see around the forum thesedays.
While I do enjoy watching them making a complete mockery out of themselves, sadly this isn't one of them. Not when someone is telling us multiple papers written by a visual lab and scientist are " abstract studies " .

TBH, I've no quarrels with the audience that are in love with their projectors. The same reason why there are still some of those who like the Plasma TV screens despite its dated specification , as long as that remained personal biases and they don't tell the world 4000 nits are a pointless hype. Therefore , this will be my last reply on the whole topic and I don't debate against myths. I am not a figure of authority in the AV. blink.gif

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 6 2025, 11:30 AM
westlife
post Apr 6 2025, 03:28 PM

14,248 posts

So many choices, I think it will be a tough decision making for buyers. tongue.gif

jimbet1337
post Apr 7 2025, 08:37 AM

meh
2,670 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 6 2025, 03:28 PM)
So many choices, I think it will be a tough decision making for buyers.  tongue.gif

So now got 2 II and 8 II ?

westlife
post Apr 7 2025, 08:48 AM

14,248 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Apr 7 2025, 08:37 AM)
So now got 2 II and 8 II ?
yes and also Bravia 5.
GamersFamilia
post Apr 8 2025, 04:50 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,779 posts

So many choices, I think it will be a tough decision making for buyers.  tongue.gif

I will go for the one got hdmi2.1 input plus 120hz refresh rate, cuz more on console gaming and movies 😃🖤
westlife
post Apr 8 2025, 07:23 PM

14,248 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Apr 8 2025, 04:50 PM)
I will go for the one got hdmi2.1 input plus 120hz refresh rate, cuz more on console gaming and movies 😃🖤
Bravia 5 and above… tongue.gif
GamersFamilia
post Apr 8 2025, 07:41 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,779 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 8 2025, 07:23 PM)
Bravia 5 and above… tongue.gif
Noted, i will screenshot this, thank you 😃🖤
senscents
post Apr 10 2025, 03:15 PM

418 posts

Easy. Just go for King of Oled. 😃 😊
GamersFamilia
post Apr 10 2025, 03:31 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,779 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Apr 10 2025, 03:15 PM)
Will go for it if the budget allow 😎🔥
westlife
post Apr 10 2025, 06:24 PM

14,248 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Apr 10 2025, 03:15 PM)
Indeed, for best viewing experience, nothing can beat oled for now.

Not even the highest end Bravia 9 even despite more expensive than Bravia 8.
senscents
post Apr 10 2025, 08:22 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 10 2025, 06:24 PM)
Indeed, for best viewing experience, nothing can beat oled for now.

Not even the highest end Bravia 9 even despite more expensive than Bravia 8.
Once you go black you never go back. 😃 😁 🤣
GamersFamilia
post Apr 10 2025, 10:42 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,779 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Apr 10 2025, 08:22 PM)
Once you go black you never go back. 😃 😁 🤣
Well said indeed 😅
Max
post Apr 11 2025, 10:48 AM

1,705 posts

after long time scouting for TV replacement.. online/shop

initial was 65" .. then partner said seems small after looking around at physical shop.. so upgrade option to 75"..

scouting again..

yesterday accidently bought 85" at lazada.. haha.. price cheaper than 75".. rclxm9.gif

Toshiba 85Z670MP

what u guys think.. nod.gif
westlife
post Apr 11 2025, 07:31 PM

14,248 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Apr 11 2025, 10:48 AM)

initial was 65" .. then partner said seems small after looking around at physical shop.. so upgrade option to 75"..

scouting again..

yesterday accidently bought 85" at lazada.. haha.. price cheaper than 75"..  rclxm9.gif

Toshiba 85Z670MP

what u guys think..  nod.gif
never share the price.. how to comment... tongue.gif
GamersFamilia
post Apr 11 2025, 08:13 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,779 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Apr 11 2025, 10:48 AM)

scouting again..

yesterday accidently bought 85" at lazada.. haha.. price cheaper than 75"..  rclxm9.gif

Toshiba 85Z670MP

what u guys think..  nod.gif
Cannot think because you didn't mention the price of the tv
How much for 75
How much for 85 the one you bought from lazada

🙂⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🙂
Max
post Apr 11 2025, 09:27 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 11 2025, 07:31 PM)
never share the price.. how to comment...  tongue.gif
QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Apr 11 2025, 08:13 PM)
Cannot think because you didn't mention the price of the tv
How much for 75
How much for 85 the one you bought from lazada

🙂⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🙂
Aih.. sori²..
Forgot to add.. typing in middle of something..

Ok. For the 85" listed price Rm5190 when i was scouting.
75" listed price RM5751.

Got it at RM4600 delivered. (minus all available voucer, + rm130 coins equivalent)

I check back price already adjusted for 85" to RM5951

I think thats the cheapest 85" i got for the specs.

This post has been edited by Max: Apr 11 2025, 09:28 PM
GamersFamilia
post Apr 11 2025, 09:55 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,779 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Apr 11 2025, 09:27 PM)
Aih.. sori²..

75" listed price RM5751.

Got it at RM4600 delivered. (minus all available voucer, + rm130 coins equivalent)

You hit a jackpot i guess, that's a good price for 85 inch 😲

Me got a 65 inch 4k tv, already big enough, i can imagine 85 inch it's freaking huge 😁
westlife
post Apr 11 2025, 11:11 PM

14,248 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Apr 11 2025, 09:27 PM)
Aih.. sori²..

75" listed price RM5751.

That’s totally a good deal no doubt.
Max
post Apr 11 2025, 11:46 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Apr 11 2025, 09:55 PM)
You hit a jackpot i guess, that's a good price for 85 inch 😲

Me got a 65 inch 4k tv, already big enough, i can imagine 85 inch it's freaking huge 😁
QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 11 2025, 11:11 PM)
That’s totally a good deal no doubt.
Yea.. its very huge .

Yeah.. lucky i guess..

Now need to upgrade Netflix to premium.. 😑
Last time only use FHD 50" tv.

132 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 128 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:27 PM