118 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

65" TV recommendation

TSphoenixxx
post Sep 7 2017, 11:52 PM, updated 3y ago

Sesquipedalian hittin' the quasihemdemisemiquaver
1,232 posts

Looking for a new 65" TV.... been surveying different brands / models but end up getting more confusing with their model and other mumbo jumbo details rclxub.gif

For TVs of this size it seems there are "cheap" versions of RM4k+, then the higher end ones (such as LG's new 65SJ850T with the Nano cell thingy) that goes up to 10k+, and finally the OLED ones which are out budget.

Can sifus here recommend me / help me narrow down on models to consider? From most to least frequent, the TV will be used for:

1) Movies
2) PS3 & PS4
3) Youtube, Netflix (LG is the clear winner here since I like their interface and the magic remote)
4) Normal TV (astro, etc) - don't really watch a lot. Mostly I just binge on whatever series I want selectively and these are usually via Netflix or downloaded.

If you noticed, I seem to be biased towards LG- I've only owned a LG 42" up till now, and I've been pretty satisfied with it (love the 100Hz picture smoothening thing "Motionflow" eventhough some says it makes the show looks "fake" due to the smoothness)

I have no experience with other brands and standing in the shop side by side, after 10 mins everything starts to look the same rclxub.gif however, I don't like Sharp, Toshiba and Phillips. Not sure what reason, just don't like tongue.gif

Budgetary-wise I hope to get one under RM10k. Most of the "cheap" versions (RM4k+) seems to get pretty horrible reviews online but I don't know how bad they will be in real life setting.

There's also an OLED version going for around RM12k in one of the shops (display set) - LG E6 if I recall. Not sure if worth it.
cyberic
post Sep 7 2017, 11:59 PM

912 posts

http://m.11street.my/productdetail/samsung...ks7500-13167721

This is very good and fit your budget.
avantasia
post Sep 9 2017, 02:20 PM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

Yes ...samsung 65KS7500 below 8k now
Sharp 630LX 65inch less than 6k...not bad too.
mymadmax
post Sep 13 2017, 09:18 AM

82 posts

If you don't mind 60" http://www.lazada.com.my/lg-super-uhd-tv-6...96995.html?ff=1 Supports dobly vision, HDR and supposed to be QLED type technology
mymadmax
post Sep 13 2017, 09:21 AM

82 posts

Just saw this at 11street meet your price target and 65" http://www.11street.my/productdetail/lg-65...-ultra-12991083 with dobly vision, HDR and supposed to be QLED type technology
TSphoenixxx
post Sep 13 2017, 12:10 PM

1,232 posts

Thanks, the 65SJ850T is exactly what I bought, I placed my order last Thursday. I bought the +2 years warranty too. Total 4 years warranty. Is it worth it? Paid another 900 extra.

Didn't get the the Samsung recommended above because I couldn't find any display unit in a few shops I went to.

This post has been edited by phoenixxx: Sep 13 2017, 12:12 PM
win44
post Sep 13 2017, 03:23 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ Sep 13 2017, 12:10 PM)
Thanks, the 65SJ850T is exactly what I bought, I placed my order last Thursday. I bought the +2 years warranty too. Total 4 years warranty.  Is it worth it? Paid another 900 extra.

Didn't get the the Samsung recommended above because I couldn't find any display unit in a few shops I went to.
Nice. Im thinking of getting the same one.
Did you buy it from the Linked 11-street?
Ivan_T
post Sep 13 2017, 03:36 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ Sep 13 2017, 12:10 PM)
Thanks, the 65SJ850T is exactly what I bought, I placed my order last Thursday. I bought the +2 years warranty too. Total 4 years warranty.  Is it worth it? Paid another 900 extra.

Good buy, enjoy the great picture from this TV. To me the only limitation on this TV is the peak brightness for SDR and lack of 3D compared to UH series from last year. Additional warranty is actually like buying insurance, it is definitely worth it when you need it.

There is still display set for KS7500, also the new set on 11street is at very reasonable price now. Simply because it is a curved panel, if flat it will have been out of stock for long time.
mymadmax
post Sep 14 2017, 10:20 AM

82 posts

you bought from store? cheaper than 11street?
TSphoenixxx
post Sep 14 2017, 09:39 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(mymadmax @ Sep 13 2017, 09:21 AM)
Just saw this at 11street meet your price target and 65" http://www.11street.my/productdetail/lg-65...-ultra-12991083 with dobly vision, HDR and supposed to be QLED type technology
WTF, when you linked this is was 8.8k or something? Today it's 8,280.

I contacted the store (TBC Elektrik) from one of the 11street links. They had listed the price last week around 9.2k. They offered me 8.7k straight, no nego at all. I bought it from them.

Today your link shows 8,280 blink.gif

Something wrong with this TV model?
ultraportable
post Sep 15 2017, 09:36 AM

311 posts

A guy was selling @ mudah, brand new 7k same model. I went for the LG 65UH770T-5.5K-1 step below yours. HDR10/Dolby Vision. Value for money. 2k extra i wait buy Ultra HD 4K Bluray player. I took Speaker stand from Sony NX series, work great-Dolby/DTS/Dolby ProLogic support. Then Harman Kardon speaker on the tv not bad actually.
Zot
post Sep 15 2017, 09:45 AM

7,592 posts

If you want great picture, you should go for either OLED (which is LG famous for) or QLED (or so called SUHD - Super UHD).

If for normal UHD, LG is not the best I would say. You can read review from Europe or the US. Mostly for LCD the 3 big name is Samsung, Sony, Panasonic. For OLED, LG has headstart and being the big manufacturer of OLED screen, Panasonic and Sony are buying OLED panel from LG. Well, screen is and picture quality is different story smile.gif
SUSg104
post Sep 15 2017, 03:34 PM

657 posts

http://4k.com/65-inch-tv-reviews-best-in-d...ith-confidence/
mymadmax
post Sep 15 2017, 07:03 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ Sep 14 2017, 09:39 PM)

I contacted the store (TBC Elektrik) from one of the 11street links. They had listed the price last week around 9.2k. They offered me 8.7k straight, no nego at all. I bought it from them.

Today your link shows 8,280  blink.gif

if i am not mistaken earlier was promo with sound bar and sub woofer. check if you qualify to redeem

This post has been edited by mymadmax: Sep 15 2017, 07:07 PM
Ivan_T
post Sep 16 2017, 05:24 PM

132 posts

It is a norm for new TV that the price will just keep dropping. It will stabilized around 7k I believe by early next year when new models come out. This is from online store, so the price will change more than that of the shops. Don't look at the price after you have bought the TV, enjoy it. There are peoples who bought the OLED at 20K, now you can even get it at 11k.

QUOTE(ultraportable @ Sep 15 2017, 09:36 AM)
A guy was selling @ mudah, brand new 7k same model. I went for the LG 65UH770T-5.5K-1 step below yours. HDR10/Dolby Vision. Value for money. 2k extra i wait buy Ultra HD 4K Bluray player. I took Speaker stand from Sony NX series, work great-Dolby/DTS/Dolby ProLogic support. Then Harman Kardon speaker on the tv not bad actually.
Yes for that kind of price, definitely worth it, no TV at this price range has got the HDR10 + Dolby Vision. Just it is a used TV, not under full warranty, beware of the extended warranty as it could be tied to the 1st onwer.

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 15 2017, 09:45 AM)
If you want great picture, you should go for either OLED (which is LG famous for) or QLED (or so called SUHD - Super UHD).

If for normal UHD, LG is not the best I would say. You can read review from Europe or the US. Mostly for LCD the 3 big name is Samsung, Sony, Panasonic. For OLED, LG has headstart and being the big manufacturer of OLED screen, Panasonic and Sony are buying OLED panel from LG. Well, screen is and picture quality is different story  smile.gif
Top selling TVs are all Samsung, Sony and LG, not Panasonic. LG is world no 2 TV makers. LG UHD TVs not receiving very good reviews due to only 1 reason, the IPS panel which has got low native contrast ratio. But overall LG makes good TV.
TSphoenixxx
post Sep 16 2017, 08:48 PM

1,232 posts

Thanks guys, you are right, I got a free sound bar together. The new price probably doesn't have sound bar bundled in. TBH, I don't need the sound bar and would have preferred the lower price :-/

Yeah, review usually LG doesn't get really outstanding score except for OLED. But I don't want to think already, the TV already arrive -.-

Will not be able to use it until A few days later, still sitting in the box. Haven't buy mount yet.
mymadmax
post Sep 16 2017, 10:29 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ Sep 16 2017, 08:48 PM)
Thanks guys, you are right, I got a free sound bar together. The new price probably doesn't have sound bar bundled in. TBH, I don't need the sound bar and would have preferred the lower price :-/

Yeah, review usually LG doesn't get really outstanding score except for OLED. But I don't want to think already, the TV already arrive -.-

Will not be able to use it until A few days later, still sitting in the box. Haven't buy mount yet.
Well you can sell off the sound bar.
jovigrunge
post Sep 17 2017, 12:30 AM

2,607 posts

That't RM320 including delivery overpaying! ohmy.gif
mymadmax
post Sep 20 2017, 04:16 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Optimus90 @ Sep 20 2017, 03:59 PM)
Any feedback on this model of Samsung TV?

http://www.11street.my/productdetail/samsu...-years-41752434

Considering to get this with the 24 months installment plan.
Feature wise:
If a lot of people watching TV then go for flat screen better
If you plan to go 4k Bluray then Samsung got no plans to support Dobly Vision, but plan to push their own HDR+ standard with a few other companies

Visual:
You got to go check yourself tongue.gif

NahseK312
post Sep 25 2017, 11:50 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(Ivan_T @ Sep 13 2017, 03:36 PM)
Good buy, enjoy the great picture from this TV. To me the only limitation on this TV is the peak brightness for SDR and lack of 3D compared to UH series from last year. Additional warranty is actually like buying insurance, it is definitely worth it when you need it.

There is still display set for KS7500, also the new set on 11street is at very reasonable price now. Simply because it is a curved panel, if flat it will have been out of stock for long time.
why do you say that? people dont prefer curve?

Am considering between these two models from LG & Samsung. Quite happy with KS7500's display, but haven't seen the LG's one in action yet. Any shops in Subang have displays?
Any owners of these models care to share their reviews?
Thank you.

118 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0158sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:55 AM