anyway my case few pages back has been settled. dell person call me few times to apologize
Dell Inspiron 6400 Enthusiasts' thread #5, Inspiron 1520 is released ... classic
May 5 2007, 07:13 PM
2,006 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KLANG |
just got my 6400 this afternoon... using it for 1 hour and start getting giddy cause of the reflections from truelife lcd lol.
anyway my case few pages back has been settled. dell person call me few times to apologize |
May 5 2007, 08:10 PM
1,239 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
My Windows Xp Sticker starts to rip off... use pc too much everyday
Anyone know how much it cost? i plan to get 1 if its cheap. |
May 5 2007, 08:31 PM
751 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(triangle @ May 5 2007, 06:01 PM) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_GMA So I am wondering how much does santa rosa cost if it's avaliable for dell laptop ? the best intel can offer to fill vista needs + santa rosa, c2d with low voltage= longer battery correct me if im wrong.. Btw , anyone know whether the GMA X3100 is comparable with which graphic card geforce and radeon ? |
May 5 2007, 08:48 PM
141 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(kingmax @ May 5 2007, 08:31 PM) So I am wondering how much does santa rosa cost if it's avaliable for dell laptop ? though the clock/core speed is very high, it still uncomparable as it is an intergrated gc if not mistaken.. for gaming, a dedicated gc is always a winner. most big game manufactures do support games by nVidia, then onli ATI.. for gaming needs, nVidia is recommended. wait for a while.. i think nvidia n ati will release certain gc for santa rosa.Btw , anyone know whether the GMA X3100 is comparable with which graphic card geforce and radeon ? intel is mainly a processor/chipset manufacture.. nVidia n ATI r mainly gc manufacture.. hmm.. ask urself, which is better in gc ler? |
May 5 2007, 10:08 PM
97 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(kingmax @ May 5 2007, 08:31 PM) So I am wondering how much does santa rosa cost if it's avaliable for dell laptop ? well not really sure when dell can come out with santa rosa ..but if u surf arround about notebook, hp and asus r ready with santa rosa.Btw , anyone know whether the GMA X3100 is comparable with which graphic card geforce and radeon ? n news about dell, it will spice up with ubuntu ... |
May 5 2007, 10:23 PM
2,221 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
May 5 2007, 11:32 PM
141 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
May 5 2007, 11:50 PM
6,447 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(triangle @ May 5 2007, 10:08 PM) well not really sure when dell can come out with santa rosa ..but if u surf arround about notebook, hp and asus r ready with santa rosa. There are no reasons for dell to be outdated from other manufacturer...n news about dell, it will spice up with ubuntu ... they will come out wif it soon...and will be either the 1st or 2nd to do so...from the past experience |
May 5 2007, 11:55 PM
846 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(popiah04 @ May 3 2007, 02:58 PM) this is the response i got from some lowyat shops: I just got my DELL Inspiron 6400 yesterday!!! hehe so so happy..so so nice..DELL is nice!! "performance wise, take hitachi. want longer warranty, take seagate (5years). western d is like.. middle" no one seem to mention about maxtor or samsung though ask you guys a simple question, will you guys buy one 160gb 2.5" or get 3.5" with casing and get more capacity? what does it mean by hard disc (PATA)? planning to buy cooler master notebook cooler also..but i heard if run with USB very lousy..need adapter ka? This post has been edited by giggsyy: May 5 2007, 11:57 PM |
May 6 2007, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(giggsyy @ May 5 2007, 11:55 PM) I just got my DELL Inspiron 6400 yesterday!!! hehe so so happy..so so nice..DELL is nice!! name added ....welcome to the club what does it mean by hard disc (PATA)? planning to buy cooler master notebook cooler also..but i heard if run with USB very lousy..need adapter ka? for notebook hdd , take hitachi , it is cooler than other brand . Unless u plan to switch ur hdd all the time , i mean change it to use in notebook and vice versa, take SATA ....if not IDE will do ... PATA is not supported by Dell 6400 . Sata hdd enclosure is more expensive than IDE . . but i advice u to take bigger capacity SATA hdd like 120gb , so that in case u need a larger capacity hdd for Vista purposes o watsoever , it is more convenience PATA QUOTE Parallel ATA (Parallel Advanced Technology Attachment or PATA) is a standard for connecting hard drives into computer systems. As its name implies, PATA is based on parallel signaling technology, unlike Serial ATA (SATA) devices that use serial signaling technology. Parallel ATA dates back to the 1980s. Integrated Drive Electronics (IDE) drives operate according to this standard. The connections for PATA devices were originally made using 40-conductor ribbon cables. These were later supplanted by 80-conductor cables in which every other conductor is grounded, minimizing mutual capacitance (and consequent crosstalk) between conductors. The maximum workable cable length is 46 centimeters (about 18 inches). This means that PATA cables are only practical for use with internal drives. Parallel ATA was originally called Advanced Technology Attachment (ATA) until the year 2003 when SATA was introduced. The cable for a SATA connection has seven conductors. These cables are more flexible than PATA cables and can be much longer, allowing the designer more latitude in the physical layout of a system. Because there are fewer conductors, crosstalk is less likely to be troublesome in SATA than in PATA. The signal voltage is lower as well (250 mV for SATA as compared with 5 V for PATA). from http://whatis.techtarget.com/definition/0,...1180433,00.html cooler master notepad use adapter kar ? i nvr know bout it ...i tot use usb 1.... noisy ? i dun think so ....u wont realised it 1... This post has been edited by steventan85: May 6 2007, 12:08 AM |
May 6 2007, 12:06 AM
97 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
u can google arround about deep definition of it..
the simple way is..PATA= Paralel ATA is an old school type of HDD cable n SATA =Serial ATA new type of hdd cable...n the latest 1 is SATA2..^^ n for ur convenience buy a SATA type of external since ur 6400 hdd is SATA |
May 6 2007, 12:14 AM
618 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sri Damansara |
QUOTE(triangle @ May 5 2007, 10:08 PM) well, thats a good news i'm using my 6400 with ubuntu feisty+beryl.. and it rawks! But there's one downside which is the card reader can only work wif Sd.. dunno how to make it work wif MS/MS Duo... anyone can help? |
May 6 2007, 12:22 AM
QUOTE(steventan85 @ May 6 2007, 12:06 AM) name added ....welcome to the club Thank you Steven! ehehe for notebook hdd , take hitachi , it is cooler than other brand . Unless u plan to switch ur hdd all the time , i mean change it to use in notebook and vice versa, take SATA ....if not IDE will do ... PATA is not supported by Dell 6400 . Sata hdd enclosure is more expensive than IDE . . but i advice u to take bigger capacity SATA hdd like 120gb , so that in case u need a larger capacity hdd for Vista purposes o watsoever , it is more convenience PATA from http://whatis.techtarget.com/definition/0,...1180433,00.html cooler master notepad use adapter kar ? i nvr know bout it ...i tot use usb 1.... noisy ? i dun think so ....u wont realised it 1... Oh..take hitachi better ah? hmm okok..cos WD used to be a famous hard disc brand..hitachi is quite new brand rite? Dun think im gonna change the default 80GB hard disc in my inspiron 6400...planning to buy at least a 120 gb one...then just connect it to the lappie as an extra external hard disc...but should i get a SATA external hard disc? as i said..i dun think i want to install it into my laptop..just using it as an external device...will SATA be worth it?...cos seems USB 2.0 will still limit the SATA Fast speed transfer rite? since sata (from external HDD) to USB 2.0 (to my lappie)...thanks for clarifying what PATA is.. Yeap..my fren who bought a cooler master 2 fan notepad cooler told me at 1st he used USB..then he said the fan not powerful...so he bought an adapter for the cooler master W1 model..then he say now fan more powerful...but he din test the temperature difference la.... Another fren of mine also told me he bought the same cooler master notepad cooler...he said..only made a 1 degree reduction in his lappie... Steven..hehe i said lousy...the fan lousy..when using USB..not noisy..hehe |
May 6 2007, 12:34 AM
QUOTE(giggsyy @ May 6 2007, 12:22 AM) Thank you Steven! ehehe if like tis , take IDE .... cheaper and better Oh..take hitachi better ah? hmm okok..cos WD used to be a famous hard disc brand..hitachi is quite new brand rite? Dun think im gonna change the default 80GB hard disc in my inspiron 6400...planning to buy at least a 120 gb one...then just connect it to the lappie as an extra external hard disc...but should i get a SATA external hard disc? as i said..i dun think i want to install it into my laptop..just using it as an external device...will SATA be worth it?...cos seems USB 2.0 will still limit the SATA Fast speed transfer rite? since sata (from external HDD) to USB 2.0 (to my lappie)...thanks for clarifying what PATA is.. Yeap..my fren who bought a cooler master 2 fan notepad cooler told me at 1st he used USB..then he said the fan not powerful...so he bought an adapter for the cooler master W1 model..then he say now fan more powerful...but he din test the temperature difference la.... Another fren of mine also told me he bought the same cooler master notepad cooler...he said..only made a 1 degree reduction in his lappie... Steven..hehe i said lousy...the fan lousy..when using USB..not noisy..hehe try Zalman and see....the design quite cool....saw it at All IT hypermart... |
May 6 2007, 01:14 AM
QUOTE(steventan85 @ May 6 2007, 12:34 AM) if like tis , take IDE .... cheaper and better Oh...or should i get firewire? Does Dell 6400 have firewire? the 4 pin one? and can i buy a notebook firewire? cos heard its more stable..but very hard to find rite?try Zalman and see....the design quite cool....saw it at All IT hypermart... Zalman also very famous rite?hehe...hmm..which model u recommend? Things to shop for my new DELL inspiron 6400... 1. Mouse 2. Notepad Cooler 3. External Harddisc Are Razer mouses good? I do play games..so is this brand good? or A4TECH gaming mouse? any other brands to recommend?hehe |
May 6 2007, 01:21 AM
559 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(minghao @ May 5 2007, 04:53 PM) Actually,6400 can put X1600.Just dell dont provide it..about the temperature no big diff i tell u.My friend acer dunno wat wat with X1600 GPU runs the same game wif me(NFS Carbon),he at800x600 medium,me at 800x600 also medium.Then i can feel the smoothness for the X1600,while the X1400 is average but if put higher abit settings will start have some lagging isue.And for notebook range..dun have 7300GS GPU..people call Goforce 7300,only plain version Thanks for the reply.. i now can see that x1400 and x1600 are far from each other. Added on May 5, 2007, 4:57 pmNOtebook GPU cant be overclocked i can tell u..becuz i tried b4..in my lappy..last time no things do,i go try overclock my X1400..when i juz increase few MHZ from the core..the display starts comeout some block..realy shocked me deeply. No oc + hard/expensive upgrade in laptop mean that my first choice is really important as it decides the laptop that i gonna live with for the next 2-3 yrs I think i will wait till next month or the next offer and see. |
May 6 2007, 03:04 AM
2,171 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: K.lumpur ... heart of M'sia |
QUOTE(swanchew @ May 5 2007, 08:23 AM) Well, it depend whether you think is worth it or not. If you are a clumsy person who always drop your laptop or accidentially hit the laptop here and there then I prefer you to get the extend warranty. Else, is it not necessary to extend the warranty.It is recommended to extend the warranty to 3yr on the 1st time purchase. If your laptop already over 3yrs, you might think of buying a new laptop rather than extending the warranty. i dare to say , i'm not a clumsy person Main expensive cost of laptop is LCD screen, motherboard and the processor where we can't really able to buy it from the normal computer shop. So anything happen on this 3 part, you normally need to call the dell to replace it with charges. The rest of the laptop part able to get from computer shop either replace it as internal/external/portable. but i just worry that any internal hardware will damage or just doesnt wanna work anymore then to replace one ,it gonna cost me a boom anyway the laptop has already pass 3 year C&C , that y i wanna consider of buying another 2 years C&C what you guys think ? QUOTE(williamlee_1985 @ May 5 2007, 10:11 AM) if my warranty period is over and i dont plan to extend it, then when something happened to my laptop how? send to pc shops? do they know how to repair a dell laptop? this one , etiher you repair yourself , send to shop the best way send back to dell since they have all the part for your laptop just it gonna cost u a boom QUOTE(utopian86 @ May 5 2007, 08:10 PM) My Windows Xp Sticker starts to rip off... use pc too much everyday the Window xp sticker very easy goes off,Anyone know how much it cost? i plan to get 1 if its cheap. you buy another one and stick it there , not longer later it will come off also |
May 6 2007, 08:46 AM
10,261 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(giggsyy @ May 6 2007, 01:14 AM) Oh...or should i get firewire? Does Dell 6400 have firewire? the 4 pin one? and can i buy a notebook firewire? cos heard its more stable..but very hard to find rite? Dell 6400 does have firewire. There is a 4 pin port on the right side of the laptop. The first port from the right.Zalman also very famous rite?hehe...hmm..which model u recommend? Things to shop for my new DELL inspiron 6400... 1. Mouse 2. Notepad Cooler 3. External Harddisc Are Razer mouses good? I do play games..so is this brand good? or A4TECH gaming mouse? any other brands to recommend?hehe What is a notebook firewire? I am using this mouse from A4tech ![]() It's really comfortable and it's a Laser mouse. Very sensitive. it even has a one click = double click button. I think it's only RM50-60 |
May 6 2007, 11:49 AM
3 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
HELP!! after i format my window and instal the ati and reboot it, it come out the box say that The applicatio failed to initialize properly (0xc0000135) click on ok to terminate the application. anyone can help me solve the problem???
May 6 2007, 12:29 PM
2,006 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KLANG |
heyhey steven u didnt add me in the list! i'm also a proud owner of 6400! hehe
Added on May 6, 2007, 12:30 pm QUOTE(Guess^hunter @ May 6 2007, 11:49 AM) HELP!! after i format my window and instal the ati and reboot it, it come out the box say that The applicatio failed to initialize properly (0xc0000135) click on ok to terminate the application. anyone can help me solve the problem??? theres info on how to format at the 1st page.. next time follow that to avoid troubles right now hope some forumers can help u This post has been edited by williamlee_1985: May 6 2007, 12:30 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0185sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:36 AM |