5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Dell Inspiron 6400 Enthusiasts' thread #5, Inspiron 1520 is released ... classic

calvin_gsc
post Apr 11 2007, 02:02 AM

10,261 posts

A new thread and this is my congratulation gift to all dell users. My first post on 6400 thread on my Birthday!

You can also use it yo view your battery info. Here's mine with my 6 cell battery. Check out the stats/info.

I highly recommend this program because it is really small, simple to use and also very convenient for me.

NHC has this function, but I don't need the other stuff, and I find NHC slow at startup. This on the other hand is just great!

To get it, you can go to http://www.snapfiles.com/get/Notebook-BatteryInfo.html

or just get it from here. I uploaded it.

This post has been edited by calvin_gsc: Apr 11 2007, 12:16 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  bi_1_2_0_20.zip ( 515.26k ) Number of downloads: 132
calvin_gsc
post Apr 11 2007, 02:33 AM

10,261 posts

About 8 months already, and my battery wear level is 5% now......

how about u guys?
calvin_gsc
post Apr 11 2007, 03:09 AM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Apr 11 2007, 02:37 AM)
me 17% cry.gif  cry.gif

~ how come i cant view my batt wear level in the software u given ? rclxub.gif
Mine can wor.

Can post your screenshot?
calvin_gsc
post Apr 11 2007, 12:15 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Apr 11 2007, 03:12 AM)
Here it is .. blush.gif  blush.gif
Maybe your battery model is diff from mine. Diff production time.

QUOTE(moto-moto @ Apr 11 2007, 10:17 AM)
this battery info software not compatible wif vista?
Not sure, give it a try and report back please? icon_question.gif

Added on April 11, 2007, 12:19 pm
QUOTE(android @ Apr 11 2007, 12:02 PM)
Want to ask, can i use ram with different speeds and sizes? What brand ram known to work with 6400 no prob?
Yes they can!

Any brand would work......

But it's best that you get both of the similar speed and size. To utilize the dual channel function!

This post has been edited by calvin_gsc: Apr 11 2007, 12:19 PM
calvin_gsc
post Apr 14 2007, 12:08 AM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(youliang @ Apr 13 2007, 11:55 PM)
didnt know their service improved so much..

4 years ago i had an inspiron 5150 or something cant remember the model..
took 3 weeks to arrive..

btw, the motherboard for all inspiron 6400 is the same right?
im worried if they giv me 533mhz then next time i cant add 667 mhz ram type.

Added on April 14, 2007, 12:00 amand howcome im seeing people using dell 6400 with 15.4" WSXGA TFT TrueLife with 1680 x 1050??? howcome i cant find that option on the website???

Added on April 14, 2007, 12:00 amworth it for me to change from 1440x900 to 15.4" WSXGA TFT TrueLife with 1680 x 1050 if there is an option?

Added on April 14, 2007, 12:03 ambtw, does inspiron 6400 have a 5 in 1 card reader built in?
The current all 6400 models will support 667MHz rams. Only in the past the 6000 model supports up to 533MHz only.

I am using 1280x800 truelife only. I think tis resolution is prefect! laugh.gif

If you go for higher resolutions, your desktop and all will look really really small. You wont be used to it.

These resolutions are best for graphic designers.

calvin_gsc
post Apr 14 2007, 12:47 AM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Apr 14 2007, 12:45 AM)
hmm... hmm.gif  really???
the one on promotion in PC fair is just T5500 only wo...
which means 533mhz...not meh???
hopefully it's 667mhz
T5500 can support 667Mhz mah.

http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SL9SH
calvin_gsc
post Apr 14 2007, 09:45 AM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(hanissyazwan @ Apr 14 2007, 05:28 AM)
Whenever i launch CNC3,my lappy goes blank screen.

i'm using a x1300 128 radeon.isit something wrong?
anyone can help me troubleshoot this?  blush.gif
Are you on windows XP?

If you are, try installing http://www.omegadrivers.net/ati/win2k_xp.php

Remove your old ati driver before doing so.

How to remove old drivers completely: http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php...readid=33606840

If you need an all in one utility to remove the drivers, get it from here http://www.wikiupload.com/download_page.php?id=125568
calvin_gsc
post Apr 14 2007, 01:56 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(swanchew @ Apr 14 2007, 12:57 PM)
Erm hard to explain. For my laptop I didn't really see it as yellow it seem like a grey yellow even I have already adjust the brightness. This maybe due to the LCD angle.  doh.gif

I just reflash the BIOS;it really shocked me when the BIOS finish update with the sound "pop".  sweat.gif
QUOTE(tplcaik @ Apr 14 2007, 01:44 PM)
PoP sound? heard like u got a bad CAPS alr lol. sweat.gif Just guess la.
That's the system's internal speakers.
calvin_gsc
post Apr 14 2007, 02:09 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Apr 14 2007, 01:59 PM)
System internal speaker sound is "beeps" not "pop" la.
Well, for mine it pop-ed. Diff people may hear the sound differently gua.

I updated my BIOS too.

This post has been edited by calvin_gsc: Apr 14 2007, 03:01 PM
calvin_gsc
post Apr 14 2007, 03:41 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Apr 14 2007, 03:08 PM)
Ok...Well well well... Failed 2 flash my BIOS n need 2 reformat again... Try 2 flash it n end up i cant online at all vmad.gif
Gosh, you're unlucky! Reflash to old one can ar?

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Apr 14 2007, 03:08 PM)
hi for those upgraded to A14, any weird thing happen? thks~
No problem for me.

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 14 2007, 03:26 PM)
wow , this laptop now supports 802.11n , so that means you can get Broadcom/Dell 1500 card and replace it with your intel wifi and voila...802.11n
Hey bro, any development on your drivers?

calvin_gsc
post Apr 14 2007, 04:44 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Apr 14 2007, 04:38 PM)
well well well....took me 1.5hours to format all and phone to streamyx there is no problems wif me connection  blush.gif

luckily din spoilt my mobo tongue.gif

Added on April 14, 2007, 4:40 pmMY PRISON BREAK SEASON 1 3gb++ GONE D......WTH......I DOWNLOADED FOR 1 Week+++ D......... cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Oh bro, you never partition your hdd?

Got no external drive?

Never backup on dvd/cd?
calvin_gsc
post Apr 14 2007, 05:05 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Apr 14 2007, 04:54 PM)
juz try to flash...and i failed it ...

after restart my notebook , cant connect to internet , but weird , still can bit torrent at high speed  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

i wont flash it btw .....A12 is A12 ... brows.gif

Added on April 14, 2007, 4:55 pm

bro , still downloading lar...how to backup wor....

juz downloading at myt and alredi 35%  mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif

3gb++ d among 7.5gb....

even i partitoned , my bitcomet will be deleted and it will be gone too wat  cry.gif
Oh, you dont save your files in your 2nd partition.

All my downloaded items are saved in my 2nd partition.

First partition meant for windows and programs only.
calvin_gsc
post Apr 14 2007, 06:21 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Apr 14 2007, 05:40 PM)
hi , welcome to the club....name added to owner list ...

@Calvin, erh...i think u misunderstood wat i said....ya , i saved my bitcomet file in D:/ ...but since it is not completed yet , i juz can view few of my downloaded movie only....

so when i format my OS , the bitcomet will be deleted .... i cant resume to completed my another 70% of my download..
Bitcomet can't resume downloads?

My Utorrent can wor.

calvin_gsc
post Apr 14 2007, 06:39 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Apr 14 2007, 06:23 PM)
ok....tested on bitcomet...even format the OS , as long as the downloaded file still in the other drive ...still can resume  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Hehe.... Noob... laugh.gif

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Apr 14 2007, 06:29 PM)
no blur but also very vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif

yawn.gif  yawn.gif  yawn.gif
~ not going to install so many software in my 6400 liao ...everytime flash BIOS also got problems 1  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
Say not gonna install, but I am sure after some time, slowly slowly add on to the collection of programs one. Trust me. icon_idea.gif
calvin_gsc
post Apr 14 2007, 07:36 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(utopian86 @ Apr 14 2007, 07:34 PM)
Hey ppl
6400 can use bitcomet?
I tried installing it after that it will never launch the program. i ever tried to install a few older version and none works. After i restore back to original setting also cant use. I'm using utorrent atm.
I have both bitcomet and utorrent on my computer.

Both working fine.

Maybe there's something wrong with your registry. Need to clean it up using some utility.

try getting RegscrubXP.
calvin_gsc
post Apr 14 2007, 10:03 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(moto-moto @ Apr 14 2007, 09:59 PM)
someone in this forum added kingston 1gb ram rite?if i am not mistaken is calvin rite?i have a question to ask,if calvin 6400 is compatible wif kingston ram then mine should be able to use kingston ram oso rite?hope to get reply from u guys soon...might wanna add ram from pc fair.... notworthy.gif
Hey there bro.

Yeah, I got 1GB Kingston 667Mhz ram.

Using it with my samsung ram.

No problem running dual channel on my laptop.
calvin_gsc
post Apr 14 2007, 10:37 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(moto-moto @ Apr 14 2007, 10:30 PM)
oohh..that's great!that means i can use kingston ram in 6400... rclxms.gif  but why the dell technical support said not many ram can support 6400 must go try when u buy it...is him trying to scare me?
Well, maybe he just wants to ensure that you dont waste your money and may spoil your laptop. Or on the other hand, he wants you to get the ram from dell. :-p

Gosh, rams are cheaper by RM100 compared to the time when i got them.
calvin_gsc
post Apr 14 2007, 10:59 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(leedron @ Apr 14 2007, 10:56 PM)
hmmm i'm having second thoughts on whether to take truelife or not after reading this article. Can dell users kindly give their comments  smile.gif  i'm ordering on monday....haha
I love my Truelife screen!

I think i can say almost all users here enjoys their truelife screen, and a lot of new users also opt for truelife screen.

it's the future of laptop screens.

Added on April 14, 2007, 11:01 pm
QUOTE(youliang @ Apr 14 2007, 10:59 PM)
yeay!

I've ordered a inspiron 6400 today..

c2duo 1.83 ghz
512x2 ddr2 533mhz
100gb 7200rpm sata
vista home premium
x1400 256mb
15.4 1440x900 truelife
3years completecover
dvd burner
a bag?
a printer 926 or something

rm4270

i went over to another shop to get 2x1024mb ddr 667 for rm330.
so altogether about rm4600
wana ask u guys.. if i put the new 2gb kingston to my 6400 right..it wont void my warranty right? as long as i put back the old original ram into the unit when i call dell..
Yes, what you said is true.

No problem.

But if really got problem, try not to tell dell that you fitted your own 2GB rams, later they blame the 2GB of ram.

When they fix your laptop, quickly put back your original 512MB x 2 configuration.

This post has been edited by calvin_gsc: Apr 14 2007, 11:01 PM
calvin_gsc
post Apr 14 2007, 11:37 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(leedron @ Apr 14 2007, 11:36 PM)
haha okay..... kinda funny because i read online and some people say it's the best screen they've ever seen while others say it's the most expensive bathroom mirror they bought (cos of it's reflectiveness)
Configure a Dell 6400 now with True Life and you will notice the price has dropped a lot.

And it's best that you get it now during PC Fair promotions.
calvin_gsc
post Apr 15 2007, 11:39 AM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Apr 15 2007, 11:31 AM)
ok guys, upgraded my bios to A14 this morning, running ok until now, couldn't feel the differences actually tongue.gif
Which bios upgrade made u feel a difference? hmm.gif

I think any bios upgrade is not noticeable at all. The changes are too abstract for us no notice it. icon_idea.gif

The only difference I see, is the version no. on the post bios page. laugh.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0604sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:23 AM