Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

47 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 >Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> ASUS RT-AC86U, Feature-packed advanced wireless router (Review)

views
     
jimbet1337
post Jan 29 2020, 08:03 AM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,824 posts

Joined: Sep 2006
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 28 2020, 07:47 PM)

but seeing this statement make me wonder either there is still an issue with RT-AC86U. so far with AC68U, didnt face any overheat issue (based on 4.5years of ownership) - or perhaps not significant that make me noticed it.

*
It's the design that cause the heat issue. I'm using official local set & can't escape from it lol. I bought the double fan kit after 2 weeks of use & it's been 1.5 years now with peace of mind.
pokchik
post Jan 29 2020, 09:33 AM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,010 posts

Joined: Mar 2010
From: JHB-MLK-KUL


QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Jan 29 2020, 08:03 AM)
It's the design that cause the heat issue. I'm using official local set & can't escape from it lol. I bought the double fan kit after 2 weeks of use & it's been 1.5 years now with peace of mind.
*
question :

what are the symptoms of overheating, since i've yet to see any issues with my current usage pattern.

my experience with 2x RT-AC86U so far :

- been using for 2 years, mesh wifi.
- always on 24/7, once a month off it on the weekends to go back to hometown.
- no issues except i have to run on older firmware (since the beginning of usage) due to newer firmware kept on having internet disconnection.
- devices connected :
---- 2 Android TVs (Netflix, Youtube, Astro on The Go).
---- 3 mobile phones.
---- 1 laptop.
---- 1 desktop, connected via LAN cable.

no torrenting, just some downloading perhaps ~10GB in a month (only for downloads).
squall_kay
post Jan 29 2020, 09:50 AM

~ B-o-R-e-D ~
*******
Senior Member
5,489 posts

Joined: Feb 2006
From: ~ pEnAnG ~



QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Jan 29 2020, 08:03 AM)
It's the design that cause the heat issue. I'm using official local set & can't escape from it lol. I bought the double fan kit after 2 weeks of use & it's been 1.5 years now with peace of mind.
*
I see. Thanks for the feedback.
KIntos
post Jan 29 2020, 11:16 AM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,095 posts

Joined: Dec 2008
QUOTE(pokchik @ Jan 29 2020, 09:33 AM)
question :

what are the symptoms of overheating, since i've yet to see any issues with my current usage pattern.

my experience with 2x RT-AC86U so far :

- been using for 2 years, mesh wifi.
- always on 24/7, once a month off it on the weekends to go back to hometown.
- no issues except i have to run on older firmware (since the beginning of usage) due to newer firmware kept on having internet disconnection.
- devices connected :
---- 2 Android TVs (Netflix, Youtube, Astro on The Go).
---- 3 mobile phones.
---- 1 laptop.
---- 1 desktop, connected via LAN cable.

no torrenting, just some downloading perhaps ~10GB in a month (only for downloads).
*
Bro, which firmware you using? I felt newer firmware not stable compare to initial release version.

pokchik
post Jan 29 2020, 03:09 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,010 posts

Joined: Mar 2010
From: JHB-MLK-KUL


QUOTE(KIntos @ Jan 29 2020, 11:16 AM)
Bro, which firmware you using? I felt newer firmware not stable compare to initial release version.
*
I'm still using FW 3.0.0.4.384.21140 since Oct'18, I believe.

Other FW versions just intermittently give me internet disconnect.

I've shared it in my old post here:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=93271257
KIntos
post Jan 30 2020, 01:29 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,095 posts

Joined: Dec 2008
QUOTE(pokchik @ Jan 29 2020, 03:09 PM)
I'm still using  FW 3.0.0.4.384.21140 since Oct'18, I believe.

Other FW versions just intermittently give me internet disconnect.

I've shared it in my old post here:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=93271257
*
Tankiu
edmund_yung
post Jan 31 2020, 11:18 AM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
890 posts

Joined: Aug 2009


QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 28 2020, 07:47 PM)
but seeing this statement make me wonder either there is still an issue with RT-AC86U. so far with AC68U, didnt face any overheat issue (based on 4.5years of ownership) - or perhaps not significant that make me noticed it.
Any comment?
*
My AC86U is on version 384.8_2 seems to be working fine even the temperature average around 80C. I think my 500mbps internet is not fast enough for it show any thermal throttling. lol.gif

Jason
post Feb 3 2020, 01:16 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,381 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 28 2020, 07:47 PM)

Quite tempted with China version RT-AC86U (much cheaper pricing) but just worry with warranty.
*
Confirm warranty need to send back to China.

Anyway happy RT-AC86U user here. Router placed in front of the house, living room. So far the coverage for a double story linked house is very good.
alucard89
post Feb 3 2020, 01:50 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
3,328 posts

Joined: Apr 2006
QUOTE(Jason @ Feb 3 2020, 01:16 PM)
Confirm warranty need to send back to China.

Anyway happy RT-AC86U user here. Router placed in front of the house, living room. So far the coverage for a double story linked house is very good.
*
What's your fiber speed?
Can utilize full speed when downloading?
alucard89
post Feb 3 2020, 02:01 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
3,328 posts

Joined: Apr 2006
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 28 2020, 07:47 PM)
folks,

Currently i'm in the process upgrading my streamyx 8mbs to 300mbps which schedule in the next 2-3 days.

Currently i'm using RT-AC68U which connected to DSL-N12U.

I'm planning to buy RT-AC86U to be the main router connect to unifi modem and use RT-AC68U to create AiMesh with it.

but seeing this statement make me wonder either there is still an issue with RT-AC86U. so far with AC68U, didnt face any overheat issue (based on 4.5years of ownership) - or perhaps not significant that make me noticed it.
Any comment?

Quite tempted with China version RT-AC86U (much cheaper pricing) but just worry with warranty.
*
What's the price for china version RT-AC86U there?
Do you buy it from shopee or taobao?


Nevermind, scrolled a few pages back

This post has been edited by alucard89: Feb 3 2020, 02:05 PM
Jason
post Feb 3 2020, 02:22 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,381 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 3 2020, 01:50 PM)
What's your fiber speed?
Can utilize full speed when downloading?
*
Only 30mbps... lol.. yes. I use it for video streaming a lot, and very consistent no lag, even when streaming 4k YouTube.

alucard89
post Feb 3 2020, 04:05 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
3,328 posts

Joined: Apr 2006
QUOTE(Jason @ Feb 3 2020, 02:22 PM)
Only 30mbps... lol.. yes. I use it for video streaming a lot, and very consistent no lag, even when streaming 4k YouTube.
*
I recently subscribed to maxis fiber 500mbps, but I'm only getting that speed on speedtest, not for my downloads (hovers between 100-240mbps) with the default router. Testing using 5ghz wifi with the router just across the table

Thinking of buying this model, but still viable for 2020 or got other option now?

aa123aa, maxxxxx0123, sHawTY

You guys manage to utilize max speed on your 500/800mbps connection for download (not speedtest) with asus router?
sHawTY
post Feb 3 2020, 06:09 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
12,448 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 3 2020, 04:05 PM)
You guys manage to utilize max speed on your 500/800mbps connection for download (not speedtest) with asus router?
I can get full speed of my 800Mb/s on Steam, UPlay, Origin, Battle.net & Epic Game Store
And downloading directly from HTTP/HTTPS can get 800Mb/s too depending on the server and the file size

Some files is too small to even reach 800Mb/s download speed

I can get those speeds just fine on my RT-AC86U & GT-AC5300
But I would strongly suggest you to buy RT-AX88U instead. Future ready for wireless AX / Wi-Fi 6

Also, buy ASUS Malaysia unit, not imported units, not China units
ASUS Malaysia only provide support for ASUS Malaysia units. China unit you have to send back to China for warranty claims, and that's not an easy process
squall_kay
post Feb 5 2020, 11:33 AM

~ B-o-R-e-D ~
*******
Senior Member
5,489 posts

Joined: Feb 2006
From: ~ pEnAnG ~



QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Jan 31 2020, 11:18 AM)
My AC86U is on version 384.8_2 seems to be working fine even the temperature average around 80C. I think my 500mbps internet is not fast enough for it show any thermal throttling.  lol.gif
*
QUOTE(Jason @ Feb 3 2020, 01:16 PM)
Confirm warranty need to send back to China.

Anyway happy RT-AC86U user here. Router placed in front of the house, living room. So far the coverage for a double story linked house is very good.
*
Thanks for all the feedback.
i had bough RT-AC86U last weekend from hikari85 and mesh with older RT-AC68U.
on last weekend also TM came and upgrade my measly 8mbps streamyx to Unifi 300mbps.

with 5Ghz; able to hit 250-310mbps; while with 2.4Ghz, <100mbps.

have a question(s) regarding Asus AiMesh.

Attached Image

setup 1
from above pic (left pic); in orange box
1. the setting based on AiMesh with wifi. RT-AC68U placed on 2nd Floor. Z-height distance from 1st floor around 3.2m; while X-axis distance round 5m. the speed drop to range of 110-170mbps with 5ghz.
2. is normal for AiMesh to drop is such away?
3. in my in-law house, which using Unifi 30mbps; i setup their router with powerline (aztech AV500) to connect between 1st floor and 2nd floor router, the speed in both floor condition hovering between 24-28mbps.
4. is related the higher the speed, the bigger discrepancy it will be?

setup 2
referring red box
1. i setup using TP-LInk AV1300 homeplug AV2 to connect between RT-AC68U and RT-AC86U. during initial pairing for this setup, im using ethernet cable to setup the AiMesh between these 2 routers.
2. the speedtest shows (with 5ghz); just between 70-80mbps. not able to get pass 80mbps at all.
3. in my previous setup (prior to unifi with streamyx 8mbps); connecting RT-AC68U (1st floor) ---> Powerline AV500----> Powerline AV500 --->Dlink router (2nd floor); still able to maintain 7-8mbps which was comparable to 1st floor speed.

anyone can shed some light as i thought with AiMesh; both can produce smaller difference between these 2 routers in regards to speed.

Thanks in advance.
neuromancerx
post Feb 6 2020, 11:01 AM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


QUOTE(squall_kay @ Feb 5 2020, 11:33 AM)
Thanks for all the feedback.
i had bough RT-AC86U last weekend from hikari85 and mesh with older RT-AC68U.
on last weekend also TM came and upgrade my measly 8mbps streamyx to Unifi 300mbps.

with 5Ghz; able to hit 250-310mbps; while with 2.4Ghz, <100mbps.

have a question(s) regarding Asus AiMesh.

Attached Image

setup 1
from above pic (left pic); in orange box
1. the setting based on AiMesh with wifi. RT-AC68U placed on 2nd Floor. Z-height distance from 1st floor around 3.2m; while X-axis distance round 5m. the speed drop to range of 110-170mbps with 5ghz.
2. is normal for AiMesh to drop is such away?
3. in my in-law house, which using Unifi 30mbps; i setup their router with powerline (aztech AV500) to connect between 1st floor and 2nd floor router, the speed in both floor condition hovering between 24-28mbps.
4. is related the higher the speed, the bigger discrepancy it will be?

setup 2
referring red box
1. i setup using TP-LInk AV1300 homeplug AV2 to connect between RT-AC68U and RT-AC86U. during initial pairing for this setup, im using ethernet cable to setup the AiMesh between these 2 routers.
2. the speedtest shows (with 5ghz); just between 70-80mbps. not able to get pass 80mbps at all.
3. in my previous setup (prior to unifi with streamyx 8mbps); connecting RT-AC68U (1st floor) ---> Powerline AV500----> Powerline AV500 --->Dlink router (2nd floor); still able to maintain 7-8mbps which was comparable to 1st floor speed.

anyone can shed some light as i thought with AiMesh; both can produce smaller difference between these 2 routers in regards to speed.

Thanks in advance.
*
This is a well known drawback from wireless mesh. The bandwidth will be reduced half for every hop count.
As for the powerline, the only bottleneck will be the bandwidth available/supported between the homeplug.
Extending the wireless coverage using traditional copper cable or homeplug is more preferred than relying on wireless mesh.

Readings:
https://commotionwireless.net/docs/cck/netw...lines-for-mesh/
https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wi...e-wireless-mesh

squall_kay
post Feb 6 2020, 01:50 PM

~ B-o-R-e-D ~
*******
Senior Member
5,489 posts

Joined: Feb 2006
From: ~ pEnAnG ~



QUOTE(neuromancerx @ Feb 6 2020, 11:01 AM)
This is a well known drawback from wireless mesh. The bandwidth will be reduced half for every hop count.
As for the powerline, the only bottleneck will be the bandwidth available/supported between the homeplug.
Extending the wireless coverage using traditional copper cable or homeplug is more preferred than relying on wireless mesh.

Readings:
https://commotionwireless.net/docs/cck/netw...lines-for-mesh/
https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wi...e-wireless-mesh
*
Thanks for the feedback.
Regarding AiMesh, if it’s that the case, thus it’s the same outcome as typical repeater mode which reduce 50% of speed. Thought the mesh can be better than repeater.
For powerline, i guess need to wait AV2000 model become cheaper. Haha.

This post has been edited by squall_kay: Feb 6 2020, 07:29 PM
PsychoJoe
post Feb 6 2020, 06:12 PM

Casual
***
Junior Member
312 posts

Joined: Dec 2008
If you want to avoid the speed drop, you need to get mesh routers that support a dedicated backhaul channel.
hongli.11.hongli
post Feb 18 2020, 02:12 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
24 posts

Joined: Sep 2017
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Feb 5 2020, 11:33 AM)
Thanks for all the feedback.
i had bough RT-AC86U last weekend from hikari85 and mesh with older RT-AC68U.
on last weekend also TM came and upgrade my measly 8mbps streamyx to Unifi 300mbps.

with 5Ghz; able to hit 250-310mbps; while with 2.4Ghz, <100mbps.

have a question(s) regarding Asus AiMesh.

Attached Image

setup 1
from above pic (left pic); in orange box
1. the setting based on AiMesh with wifi. RT-AC68U placed on 2nd Floor. Z-height distance from 1st floor around 3.2m; while X-axis distance round 5m. the speed drop to range of 110-170mbps with 5ghz.
2. is normal for AiMesh to drop is such away?
3. in my in-law house, which using Unifi 30mbps; i setup their router with powerline (aztech AV500) to connect between 1st floor and 2nd floor router, the speed in both floor condition hovering between 24-28mbps.
4. is related the higher the speed, the bigger discrepancy it will be?

setup 2
referring red box
1. i setup using TP-LInk AV1300 homeplug AV2 to connect between RT-AC68U and RT-AC86U. during initial pairing for this setup, im using ethernet cable to setup the AiMesh between these 2 routers.
2. the speedtest shows (with 5ghz); just between 70-80mbps. not able to get pass 80mbps at all.
3. in my previous setup (prior to unifi with streamyx 8mbps); connecting RT-AC68U (1st floor) ---> Powerline AV500----> Powerline AV500 --->Dlink router (2nd floor); still able to maintain 7-8mbps which was comparable to 1st floor speed.

anyone can shed some light as i thought with AiMesh; both can produce smaller difference between these 2 routers in regards to speed.

Thanks in advance.
*
Best solution setup:
RT-AC86U main router, AiMesh with RT-AC68U, if possible you could use LAN cable to connect both of them, even your client connect to RT-AC68U, It will give you full speed as you connect to RT-AC86U.
Powerline is the limitation, when your broadband throughput is low you can't see the different, if you want to run more than 100Mbps or above you can see the different.

AiMesh could work in LAN, WiFi 2.4GHz, 5GHz concurrently.
And the best thing is it give your centralized control of your home network.

This post has been edited by hongli.11.hongli: Feb 18 2020, 02:13 PM
pokchik
post Feb 18 2020, 02:58 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,010 posts

Joined: Mar 2010
From: JHB-MLK-KUL


QUOTE(squall_kay @ Feb 6 2020, 01:50 PM)
Thanks for the feedback.
Regarding AiMesh, if it’s that the case, thus it’s the same outcome as typical repeater mode which reduce 50% of speed. Thought the mesh can be better than repeater.
For powerline, i guess need to wait AV2000 model become cheaper. Haha.
*
i seem to remember my AiMesh with 2x RT-AC86U doesn't show significant drop when i connect to the Mesh node.

problem now is that my furniture positioning changed and i disabled my Mesh node for a while.

i'll share my speedtest outcome once I have it setup again.

----------------

Update :

My ISP speed is 100Mbps/50Mbps DL/UL.
I've tested these only when I'm firm that the connection of my phone is to the Main/Mesh nodes respectively.

Mesh Node : RT-AC86U (Gnd Floor)
Ping 9-10ms
Jitter 6-7ms

Attached Image

Main Node : RT-AC86U (1st Floor)
Ping 8-9ms
Jitter 1-2ms

Attached Image

Dunno why the 1st trial for Main Node goes low.. shakehead.gif

Positioning :

Attached Image

This post has been edited by pokchik: Feb 18 2020, 07:31 PM
neuromancerx
post Mar 4 2020, 05:19 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


suddenly my 5Ghz client disappear and they all were connected to 2.4Ghz. Did wifi scanning from my phone, dont see my SSID under 5Ghz. Rebooting the router temporarily fixed the issue. anyone is having the same issue? running the latest merlin code, 384.15

47 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 >Top
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0302sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th June 2020 - 04:57 PM