After struggling troubleshooting the wireless instability, flashing firmware back and forth, im officially announce that my ac86u is now dead. Well not 100% dead, only the 2.4 radio is kaput.
China set. Luckily I have 4 spare routers, back to WS880 now. Planning to get AC68 or Linksys EA6900 from Amazon.
All of my routers had been abused, none of them running on stock firmware, mostly either ddwrt or openwrt. WS880 is running outdated xwrt vortex, while ac86u running merlin. So far, only this router giving me problem - running hot, unifi TV igmp proxy issue and now failed wireless radio.
I bought this model to replace a dead Archer C7 after 7 years of service. Running latest stock firmware.. just amazing so far.
I was undecided between this and AX3000, but I have no Wifi 6 compatible devices. Getting maximum speed all around the house. Pricey but no regrets. So far.
I would like to confirm for Maxis 800mbps home broadband fibre, under the LAN-IPTV setup, do we choose "Maxis-Fiber" or "Maxis-Fiber Special" option under the Select ISP Profile?
If I don't use for Astro IPTV, do we really need to setup this LAN-IPTV? If I set these to None then I have no internet connection. If I setup as "Maxis-Fiber" then the port 3 cannot use for PC/laptop LAN connection?
I would like to confirm for Maxis 800mbps home broadband fibre, under the LAN-IPTV setup, do we choose "Maxis-Fiber" or "Maxis-Fiber Special" option under the Select ISP Profile?
If I don't use for Astro IPTV, do we really need to setup this LAN-IPTV? If I set these to None then I have no internet connection. If I setup as "Maxis-Fiber" then the port 3 cannot use for PC/laptop LAN connection?
Use Maxis-Fiber special if you want to use all the ports. You have to set up the LAN-IPTV mode as Unifi and Maxis utilizes VLAN tagging, and wihout the LAN-IPTV mode which enables VLAN tagging, you will never be able to connect to the Internet, unless you use TIME which do not use VLAN tagging.
I tried changed to 'Maxis-Fiber Special'. Unfortunately, there was no connection to WAN/internet anymore! I have to use the regular :Maxis-Fiber" in order to get the WAN/internet back. That is weird. With this setup, I can only use 3 port out of 4 ports from this router? Last time with UniFi, I can use up all the 4 ports without problem. Why Maxis like that?
It is not Maxis's issue. It is an issue with Asus. I think they probably reserved one LAN port for the Maxis phone i.e different VLAN assignment from the VLAN used for Internet access.
I am running Merlin on my ac86u but having 5Ghz can't connect once in a while, and have to reboot the router. Only 5Ghz can't connect and the devices would reconnect to 2.4Ghz just fine.
Anyone having similar issue before? How to solve?
Looks like similar symptom as mine, refer post 900.
This post has been edited by neuromancerx: Apr 14 2020, 11:52 AM
i gave up. let me know if you manage to find the workaround.
I'm just wondering, anyone on official Asus firmware facing similar issue? Judging from previous posts, u both are running merlin. Those who reported high temperature (in celcius) issue are obviously running merlin as well since official firmware won't show the actual temperature.
may i know which version you bought from taobao? got usa version (cheaper) and china version with 3 year warranty? original antenna or ac88 or GT antenna recommended?
Buy from local unit lah, later your router rosak, very hard to RMA ASUS Malaysia does not provide support for units purchased from overseas
I am inching to get a new router that is 1 step above my current AC86U ( 86u will go to the office to replace the TP-Link from Unifi )
Any recommendations?
I saw the news that Xiaomi AX3600 came out but Chinese forums are saying 86u performs better than the Xiaomi I will be buying from Taobao. 86U there is about 600RMB which is same as a new AX3600.
I am inching to get a new router that is 1 step above my current AC86U ( 86u will go to the office to replace the TP-Link from Unifi )
Any recommendations?
I saw the news that Xiaomi AX3600 came out but Chinese forums are saying 86u performs better than the Xiaomi I will be buying from Taobao. 86U there is about 600RMB which is same as a new AX3600.