Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

47 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> ASUS RT-AC86U, Feature-packed advanced wireless router (Review)

views
     
capiche
post Sep 4 2019, 10:25 PM

Casual
***
Junior Member
376 posts

Joined: Jan 2007
From: Malacca
Hi everyone,

I’m considering to get this router. But I have limited space, can any kind soul help measure the base width?

I checked on Asus’ website, it says 8.5cm. I’m not entirely sure that’s the router width, or base.

Thanks in advance !
krayden
post Sep 4 2019, 11:38 PM

Casual
***
Junior Member
445 posts

Joined: Jun 2006


QUOTE(capiche @ Sep 4 2019, 10:25 PM)
Hi everyone,

I’m considering to get this router. But I have limited space, can any kind soul help measure the base width?

I checked on Asus’ website, it says 8.5cm. I’m not entirely sure that’s the router width, or base.

Thanks in advance !
*
22.5x8.5cm

blstz
post Oct 17 2019, 09:58 AM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
798 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
thinking of getting the AC86U. hope to clarify a few things...

1. anyone here got china units from local shopee sellers? stated 3 years warranty.
2. does this router still have issues with unifi tv with latest firmware? as in need to wait long for unifi tv to connect and run?

thanks
Jason
post Oct 17 2019, 10:23 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,381 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(blstz @ Oct 17 2019, 09:58 AM)
thinking of getting the AC86U. hope to clarify a few things...

1. anyone here got china units from local shopee sellers? stated 3 years warranty.
2. does this router still have issues with unifi tv with latest firmware? as in need to wait long for unifi tv to connect and run?

thanks
*
1. Who provides the warranty? ASUS Malaysia doesn't. If the seller provide, they close shop.. your warranty bye bye...
2. Dunno
Nando's
post Oct 17 2019, 10:26 AM

Casual
***
Junior Member
386 posts

Joined: Dec 2012
From: Kitchen
QUOTE(blstz @ Oct 17 2019, 09:58 AM)
thinking of getting the AC86U. hope to clarify a few things...

1. anyone here got china units from local shopee sellers? stated 3 years warranty.
2. does this router still have issues with unifi tv with latest firmware? as in need to wait long for unifi tv to connect and run?

thanks
*
If I'm not mistaken, it stated International Warranted instead of Local.

Anyway, using 3 China set here thumbup.gif
sHawTY
post Oct 17 2019, 10:42 AM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
12,448 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(Nando's @ Oct 17 2019, 10:26 AM)
If I'm not mistaken, it stated International Warranted instead of Local.

Anyway, using 3 China set here  thumbup.gif
ASUS does not provide international warranty for their routers
That's a lie by the seller to convince gullible buyers to buy from them

If you buy it from China, you have to send it back to China
If you buy it from US, you have to send it back to US
If you buy it from Singapore, you have to send it back to Singapore
blstz
post Oct 17 2019, 10:51 AM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
798 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(Jason @ Oct 17 2019, 10:23 AM)
1. Who provides the warranty? ASUS Malaysia doesn't. If the seller provide, they close shop.. your warranty bye bye...
2. Dunno
*
QUOTE(Nando's @ Oct 17 2019, 10:26 AM)
If I'm not mistaken, it stated International Warranted instead of Local.

Anyway, using 3 China set here  thumbup.gif
*
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Oct 17 2019, 10:42 AM)
ASUS does not provide international warranty for their routers
That's a lie by the seller to convince gullible buyers to buy from them

If you buy it from China, you have to send it back to China
If you buy it from US, you have to send it back to US
If you buy it from Singapore, you have to send it back to Singapore
*
noted guys. thanks for the reply.

i just saw that ASUSmy posted a beta firmware in his signature supposedly to help solve the UnifiTV slow to connect issue with the AC86U. Not sure anyone here is using that firmware can confirm that it solves the problem?


billysiah
post Oct 17 2019, 08:08 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
123 posts

Joined: Jan 2008


Hi guys, just bought ac86u twin pack. 1 router as main, another as node using aimesh. got no problem connected to the 5ghz. but my old laptop only able to connect 2.4ghz. But the problem is it keeps disconnecting itself . What is the problem here?
joepeace70015
post Oct 19 2019, 07:38 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Feb 2016


Okay guys....to get super fast internet and browsing : Can try other Asus routers also...

at WAN settings : change ur DNS to CloudFlare : 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1

Change also at WAN Settings :
MTU : 1500
MRU : 1500

At LAN Settings :
OFF DHCP DNS settings, or dont enter any DNS. Leave it empty.

At Wireless Settings for 5GHZ, im sure everyone using 5ghz now :
Change to :
Wireless Mode : N/AC Mixed
Un-tick Optimized For Xbox...
Channel bandwidth : 80mhz
Control Channel : 40

After that, of coz, restart your router for every setting you make.

hope it helps.

This post has been edited by joepeace70015: Feb 26 2020, 01:17 AM
uberific
post Nov 14 2019, 08:26 PM

On my way
****
Senior Member
606 posts

Joined: Mar 2007
From: Selangor


Hi i just bought a unit, now my unifi cant connect even settings are done correctly. WAN led on the router is forever red. Any idea how i fix this?
TSJayceOoi
post Nov 15 2019, 07:24 AM

Pro Blogger
******
Senior Member
1,969 posts

Joined: Jan 2007
QUOTE(uberific @ Nov 14 2019, 08:26 PM)
Hi i just bought a unit, now my unifi cant connect even settings are done correctly. WAN led on the router is forever red. Any idea how i fix this?
*
Did you set ISP profile?

neuromancerx
post Dec 17 2019, 12:33 AM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


384.14 (14-Dec-2019)
- NEW: Implement option to prevent Firefox's automatic usage of DoH.
By default, this will only apply if you have DNSPrivacy
enabled, or if you have DNSFilter enabled with a global
filter, to ensure that Firefox will not bypass either of
these. You can also have this override applied all the
time, or completely disable it.
- NEW: Added "split" busybox applet.
- NEW: Added IPv6 support to Network Analysis webui
- NOTE: You might need to reconfigure your device hostname on the
LAN -> LAN IP page due to a GPL-level change (exclusing
the RT-AX88U)
- UPDATED: RT-AX88U to GPL 384_6436 (with Let's Encrypt fixes
backported from 384_81351)
- UPDATED: RT-AC68U, RT-AC86U to GPL 384_81351
- UPDATED: RT-AC88U, RT-AC3100 to GPL 384_81351 and binary
blobs from 384_81116
- UPDATED: RT-AC5300 to GPL 384_81351 and binary blobs from
384_81219.

- UPDATED: miniupnpd 20190824
- UPDATED: dnsmasq 2.80-95-g1aef66b (themiron)
- UPDATED: OpenSSL 1.0.2 to 1.0.2t (themiron)
- UPDATED: OpenSSL 1.1.1 to 1.1.1d (themiron)
- UPDATED: Curl 7.66.0
- UPDATED: nano 4.4
- UPDATED: OpenVPN 2.4.8
- UPDATED: OUI database to 2018-08-17 version
- UPDATED: CA root certificates to October 9th 2019
- CHANGED: Made webui SSL certificate generation compliant with
IOS 13 and MacOS 10.15 new requirements.
- CHANGED: Rewrote the faketc script used to inject Codel into
Adaptive QoS as a C program for improved performance.
- CHANGED: Moved /usr/bin/ip to /usr/sbin/ip on the RT-AC86U and
RT-AX88U to match other models.
- CHANGED: IPv6 firewall now accepts empty values for local IP
(which means any local IP).
- FIXED: Webui wouldn't notify when running dangerously low on
free nvram (feature was lost at some point in the past)
- FIXED: Non-working link to YandexDNS on the webui for
Russian models.
- FIXED: Backported various httpd fixes to RT-AX88 from other
models.
- FIXED: Custom clientlist would be wiped if stopping an
OpenVPN server instance.
- FIXED: Incorrect detection of EUI64 addresses on the IPv6
firewall (would prevent using ::/0 for instance).
- FIXED: EUI64 support missing while in Load Balancing or
using Multicast IPTV.
- FIXED: Asus DDNS failing to update due to an invalid
certificate on Asus's server.
- FIXED: Let's Encrypt support would sometime fail when using
Asus DDNS (fixed DNS publishing of validation record)
(in addition to general failure fixed by GPL 81351)
- FIXED: IPv6 neighbour solicitation drop toggle not working
for some models
- FIXED: openvpn-event scripts would be executed even if custom
scripts were globally disabled



nitehawk
post Jan 11 2020, 01:59 AM

On my way
****
Senior Member
640 posts

Joined: May 2006


QUOTE(sHawTY @ Aug 30 2019, 05:40 PM)
Some people would say number 1 is better
But to me number 2 is better because less dust would go into the router instead of directly blowing into the router
*
Where do you install the radiator sheet between router & fan or between fan & grill? Is it better to suck hot air or blow cool into the router?

This post has been edited by nitehawk: Jan 12 2020, 09:40 PM
TSJayceOoi
post Jan 22 2020, 03:37 PM

Pro Blogger
******
Senior Member
1,969 posts

Joined: Jan 2007

nasilemaksedap
post Jan 24 2020, 05:39 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
120 posts

Joined: Sep 2019



QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Jan 22 2020, 03:37 PM)

*
Since the price of the ax88u is so near the ax11000 might as well buy one ax11000 put in the middle of the house I think better.
TSJayceOoi
post Jan 25 2020, 07:58 AM

Pro Blogger
******
Senior Member
1,969 posts

Joined: Jan 2007
QUOTE(nasilemaksedap @ Jan 24 2020, 05:39 PM)
Since the price of the ax88u is so near the ax11000 might as well buy one ax11000 put in the middle of the house I think better.
*
Yes, if don't need Merlin firmware and using AiMesh. Get AX11000 is better choice. nod.gif
nitehawk
post Jan 25 2020, 11:51 PM

On my way
****
Senior Member
640 posts

Joined: May 2006


QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Jan 25 2020, 07:58 AM)
Yes, if don't need Merlin firmware and using AiMesh. Get AX11000 is better choice.  nod.gif
*
Is it possible to use Merlin firmware on RT-AC86U and still maintain AiMesh functions?

jimbet1337
post Jan 26 2020, 11:35 AM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,824 posts

Joined: Sep 2006
QUOTE(nitehawk @ Jan 25 2020, 11:51 PM)
Is it possible to use Merlin firmware on RT-AC86U and still maintain AiMesh functions?
*
Latest Merlin supports AiMesh if I'm not mistaken
TSJayceOoi
post Jan 28 2020, 02:55 PM

Pro Blogger
******
Senior Member
1,969 posts

Joined: Jan 2007
QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Jan 26 2020, 11:35 AM)
Latest Merlin supports AiMesh if I'm not mistaken
*
Yeah... 384.13 (31-July-2019) onward supports AiMesh.
squall_kay
post Jan 28 2020, 07:47 PM

~ B-o-R-e-D ~
*******
Senior Member
5,489 posts

Joined: Feb 2006
From: ~ pEnAnG ~



folks,

Currently i'm in the process upgrading my streamyx 8mbs to 300mbps which schedule in the next 2-3 days.

Currently i'm using RT-AC68U which connected to DSL-N12U.

I'm planning to buy RT-AC86U to be the main router connect to unifi modem and use RT-AC68U to create AiMesh with it.

but seeing this statement make me wonder either there is still an issue with RT-AC86U. so far with AC68U, didnt face any overheat issue (based on 4.5years of ownership) - or perhaps not significant that make me noticed it.

QUOTE
Important Note - Do buy local unit with Asus Malaysia warranty at Lazada. Install fans to avoid overheat issue.
Any comment?

Quite tempted with China version RT-AC86U (much cheaper pricing) but just worry with warranty.

This post has been edited by squall_kay: Jan 28 2020, 07:51 PM

47 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0386sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th June 2020 - 04:51 PM