125 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V6, Solid State Drive, Continued.

TShorns
post Jun 29 2018, 02:10 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jun 29 2018, 01:55 PM)
ICYMI
https://www.pcgamer.com/pro-overclocker-der...till-overclock/

Q (PCGamer): "Does M.2 vs. SATA have any impact on overclocking your system?"

A (Der8auer): "Actually we have a lot of trouble using M.2 drives. On Pinnacle Ridge, which is Ryzen 2, it has a negative impact. We saw that if we were running the Geekbench on a very highly overclocked system, and using the M.2 drive, we had a lot of stability issues. The CPU could not handle the M.2 drive. We never found out why, but using a SATA drive the system was a lot more stable. But this only applies to LN2 overclocking. We never saw this on [normal] overclocking."
for extreme oc, this can be the case because the oc'ed system is operating outside zones that are considered stable.

for normal oc, there is no such issue yet.

llk
post Jul 6 2018, 09:01 AM

4,157 posts

NVMe ssd is getting cheaper nowadays

TShorns
post Jul 6 2018, 06:33 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jul 6 2018, 09:01 AM)
very nice smile.gif

hopefully there will be more discounts with higher-capacity ones hehe
cstkl1
post Jul 7 2018, 01:26 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jul 6 2018, 09:01 AM)
yeah atleast samsung puts a disclaimer whats the actual speed after the turbo boost ( initial)

but afaik nvme samsungs hasnt solved anything in windows patches yet

samsungs says MS fault MS says samsung. but intel nvme etc all no issue...

so thats that.

what happens.. during major updates like fall etc.. u get bsod. only way to update it without fresh install is.. clone to ssd/hdd.. update and clone back.

TShorns
post Jul 9 2018, 11:11 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jul 7 2018, 01:26 AM)
yeah atleast samsung puts a disclaimer whats the actual speed after the turbo boost ( initial)

but afaik nvme samsungs hasnt solved anything in windows patches yet

samsungs says MS fault MS says samsung. but intel nvme etc all no issue...

so thats that.

what happens.. during major updates like fall etc.. u get bsod. only way to update it without fresh install is.. clone to ssd/hdd.. update and clone back.
for now, imo clean installs is the better way to go.
rurushu
post Jul 9 2018, 11:39 AM

2,021 posts

hi,

Wanted to ask, I am planning to get a new pc next year. (I know is still early to ask, but am actually researching on my setup and understand more on current tech).

I am planning to go for the Ryzen platform (hopefully to get Zen2 arch.), and am looking to have 2x M.2 drives + 2 HDD.

Hence my question is, is it better to have one M.2 NVMe as OS and M.2 SATA as game/application, or the other way around?

TShorns
post Jul 9 2018, 12:19 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jul 9 2018, 11:39 AM)
hi,

Wanted to ask, I am planning to get a new pc next year. (I know is still early to ask, but am actually researching on my setup and understand more on current tech).

I am planning to go for the Ryzen platform (hopefully to get Zen2 arch.), and am looking to have 2x M.2 drives + 2 HDD.

Hence my question is, is it better to have one M.2 NVMe as OS and M.2 SATA as game/application, or the other way around?
imo for cost-effectiveness, use at least a 240gb range nvme ssd for os drive and most commonly used applications, then a large-capacity sata-based ssd for additional application/game storage.

using nvme ssds for game storage doesn't give you much of an advantage in general.
rurushu
post Jul 9 2018, 01:51 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 9 2018, 12:19 PM)
imo for cost-effectiveness, use at least a 240gb range nvme ssd for os drive and most commonly used applications, then a large-capacity sata-based ssd for additional application/game storage.

using nvme ssds for game storage doesn't give you much of an advantage in general.
actually i was in a dilemma because I am actually going to dedicate one SSD for OS only, and a second drive for game/application.

From what I have found "reading reviews etc." Using NVMe M.2 drive as OS only in normal basis (I mainly use my PC for entertainment/leisure such as browsing, watching movies, torrents, and game, not really using it for work related) doesn't really utilize its speed advantage, hence I was thinking of M.2 SATA for OS and M.2 NVMe for game/application as let say you are doing photoshop, rendering or some other I/O intensive application, it will only be useful sweat.gif

Hence that is the reason I am asking here, sorry if my question is not clear unsure.gif

Or would just 2x M.2 SATA one for OS and one for game is enough? Am thinking of getting a 256GB for OS and another 512GB for games/application but depending on the price at that time, maybe will go for both 512GB.

Currently my PC was bought back in end of Dec 2015 with the following specs:

- i7 6700
- 16GB DDR4 Corsair Value RAM
- MSI R9 390 8GB
- Lite-ON 256GB 2.5" SATA SSD
- 3TB Seagate HDD
- Superflower 750W Leadex Gold
- Gigabyte H170
- Define R5 Blackout Windowed

Reason for change:
not sure why I couldn't play other games other than Overwatch or Tales of Berseria, played Bioshock 1 Remastered, freeze crash after a few hours, played Witcher 3, freeze crashes after every hour rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
TShorns
post Jul 9 2018, 07:09 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jul 9 2018, 01:51 PM)
actually i was in a dilemma because I am actually going to dedicate one SSD for OS only, and a second drive for game/application.

From what I have found "reading reviews etc." Using NVMe M.2 drive as OS only in normal basis (I mainly use my PC for entertainment/leisure such as browsing, watching movies, torrents, and game, not really using it for work related) doesn't really utilize its speed advantage, hence I was thinking of M.2 SATA for OS and M.2 NVMe for game/application as let say you are doing photoshop, rendering or some other I/O intensive application, it will only be useful  sweat.gif

Hence that is the reason I am asking here, sorry if my question is not clear  unsure.gif

Or would just 2x M.2 SATA one for OS and one for game is enough? Am thinking of getting a 256GB for OS and another 512GB for games/application but depending on the price at that time, maybe will go for both 512GB.

Currently my PC was bought back in end of Dec 2015 with the following specs:

- i7 6700
- 16GB DDR4 Corsair Value RAM
- MSI R9 390 8GB
- Lite-ON 256GB 2.5" SATA SSD
- 3TB Seagate HDD
- Superflower 750W Leadex Gold
- Gigabyte H170
- Define R5 Blackout Windowed

Reason for change:
not sure why I couldn't play other games other than Overwatch or Tales of Berseria, played Bioshock 1 Remastered, freeze crash after a few hours, played Witcher 3, freeze crashes after every hour  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
you can use a small sata ssd for os drive, and use larger nvme ssds for game storage. to me it's just more cost-effective to do it the other way around (or just use sata ssds for both), because nvme ssds cost more, and you barely get benefits from it.

in reality, the performance gap between nvme and sata ssds are not significant in client work loads like what you described. sata-based ssds are usually sufficient.

as for the reason for such a change, i'm not sure if it's ssd-related.

TShorns
post Jul 9 2018, 07:32 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kopi @ Jul 9 2018, 03:09 PM)
Question how reliable are Samsung ssd. I might get either 960/970 evo ssd. Issue I ask is I used to having hdd failures or bad sectors every 1~2yrs. And seems cheapest price is from online stores like lazada/11street.

I read an old thread we can't rma ssd directly to Samsung service centers unlike lcd monitors. If we can't rma directly through their service centers it will be a hassle. Unless it's hard to have ssd fail how do we rma then...
in general ssds, from good brands like samsung, intel, crucial, kingston and sandisk/wd, have the lowest failure rate among common hardware. specifically, samsung ssds are one of those with the lowest failure rates among ssd brands.

if you're worried about rma, just get the units from samsung official store at lazada. before purchase, ask and understand clearly how to do rma with them.

for your hdd failures, maybe it's related to something else.
TShorns
post Jul 9 2018, 10:29 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kopi @ Jul 9 2018, 07:47 PM)
Hmm I never used ssd before. Also I stop using any pc/laptop for few years. So I just ordered new laptop.

The current lazada by pc byte only selling rm965 for 970 evo 500gb.

I did email Samsung they claim only rma through shop I purchased from which would a hassle since these are online stores.
since you have confirmed their rma policy via email, yes rma for legit local units are usually from the shop that you got their ssds from. however, in lazada, make sure you check if the seller are following the same policy. previously i checked and found out that some sellers have their own policies.

alternatively you can contact idealtech to handle rma for you for a fee. know that only legit local units are eligible.
TShorns
post Jul 10 2018, 12:36 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kopi @ Jul 9 2018, 11:51 PM)
Hmm so some shop do rma for a fee? OK I will ask around since idealtech likely not in Penang. Question do people put heatsink on their drives? If so without removing the default Samsung heatsink/sticker will it be effective? I know removing heatsink/sticker voids warranty. I am wondering if putting thermal pad then heatsink on top of the sticker will remove its words from sticker after a while...
i only know idealtech offers such a service. i have no idea about the rest.

i do suggest putting heat sinks on top of your nvme ssds. starting from 960 evo/pro samsung do something to their stickers to help dissipate heat, so putting thermal pad + heat sink without removing sticker is still good. i did remove stickers of the older models previously, but i did not do this on 960 evo/pro. currently the temperature is like 45c max, under load. i don't notice 'any words being removed' yet.
TShorns
post Jul 10 2018, 02:02 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kopi @ Jul 10 2018, 01:26 AM)
So other than Samsung what other nvme ssd would be good? Intel 760p? I know the shop I am going to upgrade my ram and getting them to do thermal pasting seems to have Intel 760p maybe rm100 over Lazada pricing while their Samsung 970 evo is rm200 over Lazada pricing.
it's fine for you i guess

rurushu
post Jul 10 2018, 10:33 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 9 2018, 07:09 PM)
you can use a small sata ssd for os drive, and use larger nvme ssds for game storage. to me it's just more cost-effective to do it the other way around (or just use sata ssds for both), because nvme ssds cost more, and you barely get benefits from it.

in reality, the performance gap between nvme and sata ssds are not significant in client work loads like what you described. sata-based ssds are usually sufficient.

as for the reason for such a change, i'm not sure if it's ssd-related.
Thank you for the advice, was just debating whether using SATA for OS or NVMe for OS. Sorry for the rant sweat.gif

So you think just M.2 SATA is enough for both OS and game/applications in my usage?

Does this means that NVMe SSDs are only applicable for work-related or video editing scenarios? hmm.gif
TShorns
post Jul 10 2018, 10:44 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jul 10 2018, 10:33 AM)
Thank you for the advice, was just debating whether using SATA for OS or NVMe for OS. Sorry for the rant  sweat.gif

So you think just M.2 SATA is enough for both OS and game/applications in my usage?

Does this means that NVMe SSDs are only applicable for work-related or video editing scenarios?  hmm.gif
no problem hehe

yes i do think so. nvme ssds do improve performance. however the improvements are not really significant if the use case is for home use. even for work purposes, it might not be as useful as you thought (depending on work loads)

since the price gap between sata and nvme ssds are large in general, i think it's better to get sata ssds with larger capacities instead.

rurushu
post Jul 10 2018, 11:14 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 10 2018, 10:44 AM)
no problem hehe

yes i do think so. nvme ssds do improve performance. however the improvements are not really significant if the use case is for home use. even for work purposes, it might not be as useful as you thought (depending on work loads)

since the price gap between sata and nvme ssds are large in general, i think it's better to get sata ssds with larger capacities instead.
okay, understood.

Thanks for the patience in explaining notworthy.gif

I will go for 2 M.2 SATA drives then.

Do you think 256GB for OS is enough? I plan to get another one with 512GB for game/applications. Saves the hassle in case I fked up something and needed to clean install/ system restore sweat.gif
TShorns
post Jul 10 2018, 12:24 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jul 10 2018, 11:14 AM)
okay, understood.

Thanks for the patience in explaining  notworthy.gif

I will go for 2 M.2 SATA drives then.

Do you think 256GB for OS is enough? I plan to get another one with 512GB for game/applications. Saves the hassle in case I fked up something and needed to clean install/ system restore  sweat.gif
you're welcome smile.gif

if it's for os only + some common productivity applications for daily use, it's more than enough. in my case, i do an over-provisioning of 20%, so the usable space is about 200gb; i disabled hibernate and set a minimal page file only, since my systems have a lot of system ram. only 31gb is used so far.

right, having a small sized dedicated os drive is a better practice. it's more convenient to do maintenance tasks e.g. to create regular system backups before and after windows updates, and restore the systems when shits happen. you should also relocate documents folders to separate data drives. (after clean installs, just restore the locations will do)

having a dedicated application/game storage is good, because game files are huge (if you had a considerable large game library), meaning they will consume more ssd writes every time you re-download them. since these days game clients like origin and steam lets you load game libraries from different drives, what you should do is just that. this saves a lot of download time, and help reduce unnecessary and significant write consumption in ssds.
cstkl1
post Jul 10 2018, 03:07 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 9 2018, 11:11 AM)
for now, imo clean installs is the better way to go.
this issue is a big deal for me though

its been like this for years. sam blaims ms. ms says samsung.

no issue with other brand nvme.
TShorns
post Jul 10 2018, 06:30 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jul 10 2018, 03:07 PM)
this issue is a big deal for me though

its been like this for years. sam blaims ms. ms says samsung.

no issue with other brand nvme.
wow i'm not aware of this issue actually. i did clean installs all this while.

it's just terrible.
cstkl1
post Jul 10 2018, 10:54 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 10 2018, 06:30 PM)
wow i'm not aware of this issue actually. i did clean installs all this while.

it's just terrible.
thats the thing.. its been there for years.. just google..

but nobody talked about it...

i came from z87 to x299..

cause in the x299 a friend of mine told me about this.

my 960pro/evo i am just using them now lol as storage for games and another one as os for stresstesting/overclocking OS.

will never use them as daily driver

u will even find this issues on laptops etc.. fallupdate etc etc.. all bsod.

125 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0247sec    1.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:55 AM